CTNF 18/650,872 CTNF 101680 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-27 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN2023105526031 , filed on 05/16/2023 . 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings 06-37 AIA The drawings were received on 04/30/2024 . These drawings are acceptable . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 10, 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Trichopoulos et al. ( Hereinafter “Trichopoulos”, US 20200163040), in view of CHANG (Hereinafter “Chang”, WO-2022001479-A1). Regarding claim 1, and 10 Trichopoulos disclose : An intelligent beam prediction method and system comprising a processor configured to: (i.e., The exemplary computer system 900 in this embodiment includes a processing device 902 or processor, a main memory 904. As described in paragraph [0066] ) . obtaining an environment image, the environment image including environmental location information of a base station and a terminal; (i.e., In some examples, a three-dimensional (3D) image of the environment around the antenna (or antenna array) is produced. As described in paragraph [0033] ) . based on the environmental location information in the environment image, determining obstacle information on a direct path from the base station to the terminal; (i.e., The image processing includes constructing a map of line-of-sight (LOS) and non-line-of-sight (NLOS) objects in the environment by distinguishing NLOS objects and correctly projecting their positions relative to the LOS objects. As described paragraph [0033] ) . in response to the obstacle information indicating that an obstacle exists on the direct path, determining a target edge point of the obstacle; (i.e., because the roughness of the surface 18 is comparable to mmWaves 28, the mmWaves 28 reflect with both specular and diffuse components, which allows for imaging both LOS surfaces 18 (e.g., through the diffuse components) and NLOS surfaces 18 (through the specular components). As described in paragraph [0037] ) . And based on the target edge point, determining an emission angle, an incidence angle, and a propagation distance of a target beam between the base station and the terminal; (i.e., To locate the wireless device 16, this approach first estimates the AoA and ToA of the dominant paths of the channel between the antenna array 12 and the wireless device 16. Then, leveraging knowledge of the geometry of the environment 10, the estimated AoA and ToA are projected on the acquired 3D image (e.g., map) to localize the wireless device 16. As described in paragraph [0048] ) . Trichopoulos disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam, determining a target beam direction. In similarly endeavor, Chang discloses: based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam, determining a target beam direction. (i.e., if there is an occlusion, the 3D model is used to find the Find out the reflection or scattering path between the base station and the UE, determine the best reflection or scattering path and reflection/scattering point, and determine the length of the path and the position and angle of the reflection/scattering point, and then control the base station antenna to emit to this point directional beam. As described on page 18 line 9-16 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chang into the invention of Trichopoulos in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Regarding claim 5, and 14 Trichopoulos and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: further comprising, after determining the obstacle information on the direct path from the base station to the terminal based on the environment location information: in response to the obstacle information indicating that no obstacle is on the direct path, determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam based on the direct path. In similarly endeavor, Chang discloses: further comprising, after determining the obstacle information on the direct path from the base station to the terminal based on the environment location information: in response to the obstacle information indicating that no obstacle is on the direct path, determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam based on the direct path. (i.e., If there is no occlusion, the base station calculates the straight-line path distance and angle between the base station and the UE according to the coordinates, and controls the base station antenna to send a shaped beam to the UE. As described on page 18 line 10-13 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chang into the invention of Trichopoulos in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Regarding claim 6, and 15 Trichopoulos and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: wherein in response to the obstacle information indicating that an obstacle exists on the direct path, determining the target edge point based on the obstacle includes: determining edge points visible in a straight line from the base station to the terminal based on edge information of the obstacle; and based on path information from each edge point to the base station and the terminal, determining the target edge point. In similarly endeavor, Chang discloses: wherein in response to the obstacle information indicating that an obstacle exists on the direct path, determining the target edge point based on the obstacle includes: determining edge points visible in a straight line from the base station to the terminal based on edge information of the obstacle; (i.e., if there is an occlusion, the 3D model is used to find the Find out the reflection or scattering path between the base station and the UE, determine the best reflection or scattering path and reflection/scattering point. As described on page 18 line 13-16 ). And based on path information from each edge point to the base station and the terminal, determining the target edge point. (i.e., and determine the length of the path and the position and angle of the reflection/scattering point; As described on page 18 line 13-16 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chang into the invention of Trichopoulos in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Regarding claim 8, and 17 Trichopoulos and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: further comprising, after obtaining the environment image: detecting the environmental location information of the base station and the terminal; and in response to the environmental location information changing, updating the environment image based on the environment location information. In similarly endeavor, Chang discloses: further comprising, after obtaining the environment image: detecting the environmental location information of the base station and the terminal; (i.e., Detect the target moving object by using the active detection perception signal and/or the passive detection perception signal, and track the position change of the target moving object according to the detection result of the target moving object. As described on page 16 line 4-6 ). And in response to the environmental location information changing, updating the environment image based on the environment location information. (i.e., The three-dimensional environment model is updated according to the position change of the target moving object. As described on page 16 line 7-8 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chang into the invention of Trichopoulos in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Claims 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Trichopoulos et al. ( Hereinafter “Trichopoulos”, US 20200163040), in view of CHANG (Hereinafter “Chang”, WO-2022001479-A1), and further in view of Gummadi et al. (Hereinafter “Gummadi”, US11619702). Regarding claim 2, and 11 Trichopoulos and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: further comprising, after determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam between the base station and the terminal based on the target edge point: determining whether beam strength information between the base station and the terminal is obtained; in response to obtaining the beam strength information, determining a strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information; and based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam, and the strength feature, determining the target beam direction In similarly endeavor, Gummadi discloses: further comprising, after determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam between the base station and the terminal based on the target edge point: determining whether beam strength information between the base station and the terminal is obtained; (i.e., A location server, such as the LMF 152, may be capable of providing positioning assistance data to UE 105 including, for example, information regarding signals to be measured. As described in paragraph (30).) in response to obtaining the beam strength information, determining a strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information; (i.e., The UE 105 may measure one or more of a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), a Receive-Transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference, an Angle of Arrival (AOA), a Round Trip signal propagation Time (RTT), an Angle of Departure (ADD), a Reference Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ). As described in paragraph (31).) and based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam, and the strength feature, determining the target beam direction. (i.e., The measured AOA of the Tx beam is the angle of the paired Rx beam. Using the AOA of the Rx beam or the AOD of the TX beam, the direction between the UE 105 and base station 110-1 can be estimated. As described in paragraph (50) ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Gummadi into the invention of Trichopoulos and Chang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Regarding claim 3, and 12 Trichopoulos and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: wherein determining the target beam direction based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam includes: determining a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam; and determining the target beam direction based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam. In similarly endeavor, Gummadi discloses: wherein determining the target beam direction based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam includes: determining a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam; (i.e., the UE 105 may use several antennas or an antenna array to acquire and measure a signal in such a manner that a signal arriving over a certain narrow range of contiguous horizontal angles and/or a certain narrow range of contiguous vertical angles is received and measured with higher strength than signals arriving from other directions. As described in paragraph (48) ). And determining the target beam direction based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam. (i.e., the location of the UE 105 may be obtained by triangulation from the intersection point of the three center PRSs or the intersection area of the three PRS beams. As described in paragraph (23) ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Gummadi into the invention of Trichopoulos and Chang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Regarding claim 4, and 13 Trichopoulos and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: further comprising: in response to not obtaining an environment image, obtaining beam strength information between the base station and the terminal; based on strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information, determining a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam; and determining the target beam direction based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam. In similarly endeavor, Gummadi discloses: further comprising: in response to not obtaining an environment image, obtaining beam strength information between the base station and the terminal; (i.e., The UE 105 may measure one or more of a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), a Receive-Transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference, an Angle of Arrival (AOA), a Round Trip signal propagation Time (RTT), an Angle of Departure (ADD), a Reference Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ). As described in paragraph (31) ). based on strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information, determining a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam; (i.e., the UE 105 may use several antennas or an antenna array to acquire and measure a signal in such a manner that a signal arriving over a certain narrow range of contiguous horizontal angles and/or a certain narrow range of contiguous vertical angles is received and measured with higher strength than signals arriving from other directions. As described in paragraph (48) ). And determining the target beam direction based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam. (i.e., the location of the UE 105 may be obtained by triangulation from the intersection point of the three center PRSs or the intersection area of the three PRS beams. As described in paragraph (23) ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Gummadi into the invention of Trichopoulos and Chang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Regarding claim 7, and 16 Trichopoulos and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: wherein determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam between the base station and the terminal based on the target edge point includes: determining an angle from the base station to the target edge point as the emission angle; determining an angle from the target edge point to the terminal as the incidence angle; and determining a sum of distances of paths from the base station to the target edge point and from the target edge point to the terminal as the propagation distance. In similarly endeavor, Gummadi discloses: wherein determining the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam between the base station and the terminal based on the target edge point includes: determining an angle from the base station to the target edge point as the emission angle; (i.e., Obtaining a differential Angle of Departure (DAOD) for the pair of directed beams transmitted by the at least one base station. As described in paragraph (6) ). determining an angle from the target edge point to the terminal as the incidence angle; (i.e., obtaining a differential Angle of Arrival (DAOA) for a pair of directed beams transmitted by at least one base station; As described in paragraph (6)). And Trichopoulos further discloses: determining a sum of distances of paths from the base station to the target edge point and from the target edge point to the terminal as the propagation distance. (i.e., Note that when the wireless device 16 is in NLOS, the range {circumflex over (r)} does not represent the actual distance of the wireless device 16 from the center of the antenna array 12, but rather the total travelling distance from the wireless device 16 to the antenna array 12 through the (multiple) reflections. As described in paragraph [0051] ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Gummadi into the invention of Trichopoulos and Chang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Regarding claim 9, and 18 Trichopoulos and Chang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims: wherein determining the target beam direction based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam includes: receiving a horizontal direction model of the emission beam, a vertical direction model of the emission beam, and a reception beam model, the horizontal direction model of the emission beam, the vertical direction model of the emission beam, and the reception beam model updating based on an emission angle, an incidence angle, and a propagation distance of a sampled beam and strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information; inputting the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam and/or the strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information into the horizontal direction model of the emission beam, the vertical direction model of the emission beam, and the reception beam model to obtain a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam; and based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam, determining the target beam direction. In similarly endeavor, Gummadi discloses: wherein determining the target beam direction based on the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam includes: receiving a horizontal direction model of the emission beam, a vertical direction model of the emission beam, and a reception beam model, the horizontal direction model of the emission beam, the vertical direction model of the emission beam, and the reception beam model updating based on an emission angle, an incidence angle, and a propagation distance of a sampled beam and strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information; (i.e., the UE 105 may use several antennas or an antenna array to acquire and measure a signal in such a manner that a signal arriving over a certain narrow range of contiguous horizontal angles and/or a certain narrow range of contiguous vertical angles is received and measured with higher strength than signals arriving from other directions. As described in paragraph (48) ). Chang also discloses: inputting the emission angle, the incidence angle, and the propagation distance of the target beam and/or the strength feature corresponding to the beam strength information into the horizontal direction model of the emission beam, the vertical direction model of the emission beam, and the reception beam model to obtain a horizontal direction of the emission beam, a vertical direction of the emission beam, and a reception beam; (i.e., the outline and orientation information are input into the model building software, and the outline and orientation information are entered according to the outline and orientation information. As described on page 15 line 38-43 ). And Gummadi further discloses: based on the horizontal direction of the emission beam, the vertical direction of the emission beam, and the reception beam, determining the target beam direction. (i.e., The measured AOA of the Tx beam is the angle of the paired Rx beam. Using the AOA of the Rx beam or the AOD of the TX beam, the direction between the UE 105 and base station 110-1 can be estimated. As described in paragraph (50) ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Gummadi into the invention of Trichopoulos and Chang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIC M. VO whose telephone number is (571)272-9854. The examiner can normally be reached T-F; 7:30 - 5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Eric M. Vo/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644 /KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/650,872 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/650,872 Page 3 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/650,872 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644