Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Mergrant (WO 2018052414, see US 2019/0207075 for citations).
Mergrant teaches a method (abstract) comprising preparing a device for removal of a dielectric, removing the dielectric layer from the surface of the device (removal of native oxides on the surface of niobium; para. 0021, 0036, 0037), and preventing development of a dielectric by adding a capping layer to the surface of the device (a capping layer is disposed on the surface of the device (cap layer disposed on the surface of the device via bonding (204); fig. 2A, #202; para. 0038-0039).
Additionally, it appears that the application of the cap layer in Mergrant would prevent development of a new dielectric layer by preventing an interaction between the surface of the device and atmospheric gases (creating a vacuum cavity (250); para. 0038) and would therefore provide reducing TLS degradation of the device.
Regarding claim 5-6, Mergrant teaches niobium is formed on the surface of the device (fig. 2A, #100; para. 0035-36).
Regarding claims 7, 10, Mergrant teaches the capping layer comprises titanium (para. 0012).
Regarding claim 8, Mergrant teaches the device is a quantum circuit (para. 0003).
Regarding claim 9, Mergrant teaches that the substrate is silicon (para. 0036).
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Myneni (US 7151347).
Myneni teaches a method of preparing a device for removal of a dielectric layer from on an inner surface of the device (preparing is met by any step contemplated by Myneni such as placing the device in a position to have the dielectric layer removed), removing the dielectric layer from the inner surface of the device (removing surface oxides (dielectric layer), abstract), preventing the development of a new oxide layer (dielectric layer) on the inner surface of the device by preventing an interaction between the inner surface of the device and atmospheric gasses (abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the passivating layer of Myneni is disclosed as NbN (abstract). Similarly, the instant invention teaches that the capping (passivating) layer comprises NbN. See applicant’s specification at page 14, paragraph 0067. As the material of the passivating layer of Myneni is substantially similar to that disclosed by applicant, it appears that the properties of the passivating layer of Myneni would be substantially similar to the passivating layer of applicant including properties regarding TLS.
Regarding claim 1, Myneni teaches the removal of hydrogen or other gases that may be entrained in the bulk of the niobium through temperature and vacuum driven outgassing (preventing the introduction of atmospheric gases into the interior volume of the device; col. 2, lines 45-58).
Regarding claim 2, Myneni teaches wherein the removing step includes removal of gases absorbed in the niobium by heating (col. 2, lines 20-35).
Regarding claim 8, Myneni teaches that the device is a superconducting radio frequency cavity comprised of niobium (abstract). It appears that the cavity of Myneni would be able to be provided for quantum computing or quantum sensing absent a showing to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myneni (US 7151347) in view of Cooper (US 9343649) and Halbritter (US 4857360).
Myneni teaches a process as described above in claim 2, but fails to teach the process of claims 3-4.
Cooper teaches a method of preparing superconductor cavities (abstract) wherein the heating process to remove hydrogen and other gases include a ramp up, hold and ramp down in temperature for the purpose of carrying out gas removal from the cavity (col. 8, line 56-col. 9, line 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the heating process to remove hydrogen and other gases of Myneni to include a ramp up, hold and ramp down in temperature in order to carry out gas removal from the cavity as taught by Cooper.
Additionally, Halbritter teaches a method of making a superconductor niobium cavity (col. 2, lines 20-35) wherein the temperature of heating the niobium cavity is 300-1800 C (col. 2, lines 45-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the temperature of heating the niobium cavity is 300-1800 C in Myneni in order to provide a process parameter known in the art as taught by Halbritter.
Regarding claim 4, Cooper teaches that the hold time is 12-18 hours (col. 8, lines 60-65).
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735