Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledge that no prior art rejection was made for the Non final rejection mailed on 01/21/2025, Instead only an Obvious Double patent rejection was made. The Obviousness Double Patent rejection is withdrawn since applicant filed a terminal disclaimer. Examiner in updating his search found some prior art that obviously read on the claims that was necessitated by the amendments made to claims 1, 3, 8, 15, 17. Because of the amendments this office action was made final.
In claim 1, the claims were amended to read “show a plurality of tabbed images on the display, each of the tabbed images”.
In claim 3, the claims were amended to read “filter a list in accordance with a received search term, and generate a revised list in accordance with the received search term,
In claim 8, the claims were amended to read “showing a plurality of tabbed images on a display, each of the tabbed images
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dare 2012/0036552 in view of Biran (US20200084115)
Claim 1, Dare discloses a system comprising (fig. 9) :
a processor (Fig. 10, Processor and system controller Hub 1002) ;
a network interface;(Ethernet 102 or Wi-Fi 1018 shown in 10)
a memory configured to receive device information corresponding to each of a
plurality of multifunction peripherals; (Embedded Microprocessor and Peripherals 1202) and
a user interface including a user input and a display; (LCD display and Touch panel- shown in 1114 and 1116)
wherein the processor is configured to:
show a plurality of tabbed images on the display, (Fig. 26 shows “Log out, Home, Group Management and Statistical Logs) each of the tabbed images
associated with device information associated with one or more of a device
information category or a device information query, (Fig. 26 shows Open Frame Device Management based on an input search engine “Search input”)
determine an open tab among the tabbed images, wherein information relative
to the open tab is displayable (Fig. 31 opens up when the “Home tab” is clicked on Fig. 26) and information relative to remaining tabs is hidden, (The rest of the information relating to Group Management and Statistical Logs are hidden)
retrieve device information associated with the open tab, (Information about the Home tab is retrieved as clearly shown in fig. 31 “Phone, Call Log, Message, Contacts, Weather and News etc….)
show a list of retrieved device information on the display, (Fig. 31 shows a list of information for the “Home tab” also see Fig. 41 where when the tab videos are clicked list of images under the video tab is listed)
Dare does not disclose that fig 31 discloses a show indicia corresponding to a number of entries in a list on the open tab,
retrieve device information associated with unopened tabs,
show placeholder indicia corresponding to a number of devices in each
unopened tab while the device information associated with the unopened tabs is
being retrieved, and replace the placeholder indicia from each unopened tab with indicia corresponding to the number of entries in each unopened tab after its associated
device information has been retrieved.
Biran clearly discloses a show indicia corresponding to a number of entries in a list on the open tab, retrieve device information associated with unopened tabs, (Fig. 7E shows that 3 entries are associated with the unopened tabs)
show placeholder indicia corresponding to a number of devices in each
unopened tab while the device information associated with the unopened tabs is
being retrieved, (Fig. 7E shows that “incidents tab is unopened the number (3) replaces the place holder the indicates the number of entries that are under incidents) and replace the placeholder indicia from each unopened tab with indicia corresponding to the number of entries in each unopened tab after its associated device information has been retrieved. (Based on Fig. 7E, the numbers 3 and 1 replaces the actual list under each tab)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Dare to include the teaching of using numbers to indicate the entries within a tab when it is selected by a user. The motivation is that users will know the number of entries within the tab.
Claim 2, Dare in view of Biran discloses wherein the processor is further
configured to receive user input comprising selection of a newly selected tab,
retrieve device information for the newly selected tab,
(Biran teaches that the user use the search window to retrieve specific information which mean new device information are retrieved based on what is entered by the user) show a list of retrieved device information for the newly selected tab, and show indicia on the newly selected tab corresponding to a number of devices listed in the newly selected tab. (Biran: Fig. 7A clearly shows Configuration item has 3 entries which is under the newly selected tab) )
Claim 3, Dare (Fig. 26 shows a search Engine that searches and generates a revised list) in view of Biran discloses wherein the processor is further configured to receive a search term from a user via the user interface,
filter a list in accordance with a received search term, (Biran: Item 702 shows a search window which can be used to enter a search term and that search updates the search results) generate a revised list in accordance with the received search term, show the revised list on the display, and update a tab associated with the revised list to show a number of entries in the revised list. (Biran: Section 0111, lines 4-8 thus return information reads on the revised list)
Claim 4, Dare in view of Biran discloses wherein the processor is further configured to display, receive a user selection for deletion of a list entry of the revised list shown on the delete the list entry selected for deletion, and (Biran: Section 0124, lines 18-20 – thus the delete option is used to delete the represented configuration item) update the tab associated with the revised list to show a current number of entries in the revised list after deletion. (Biran: Inherently after an item is deleted the list is updated since some of the items have been deleted)
Claim 5, Dare in view of Biran discloses wherein the processor is further
configured to receive a new list entry from the user, add the new list entry to the revised list, and update the tab associated with the revised list to show a current number of entries after addition of the new list entry. (Biran, Section 0124, lines 11-16- thus the update button when clicked update the configuration item which means the new added items shows up now).
Claim 6, Dare in view of Biran discloses wherein device information includes one or more of device serial number, device model number, device customer, device policy, device status and device network address. (Biran: fig. 6 in Biran shows clearly the Serial number and the Model ID of the device-See the screenshot below)
Claim 7, Dare in view of Biran discloses wherein the device information is obtained from a cloud device management service. (Biran: Section 0097, lines 13-15- thus the proxy servers 312 reading the serial numbers and show as demonstrated in Fig. 6)
Claim 8, Dare discloses a method comprising
receiving, into a memory, device information corresponding to each of a plurality of multifunction peripherals; (Embedded Microprocessor and Peripherals 1202)
showing a plurality of tabbed images on a display, (Fig. 26 shows “Log out, Home, Group Management and Statistical Logs) each of the tabbed images associated with device information associated with one or more of a device information category or a device information query; (Fig. 26 shows Open Frame Device Management based on an input search engine “Search input”)
determining an open tab among the tabbed images, wherein information relative to the open tab is displayable (Fig. 31 opens up when the “Home tab” is clicked on Fig. 26) and information relative to remaining tabs is hidden, (The rest of the information relating to Group Management and Statistical Logs are hidden)
retrieving device information associated with the open tab; (Information about the Home tab is retrieved as clearly shown in fig. 31 “Phone, Call Log, Message, Contacts, Weather and News etc….)
showing a list of retrieved device information on the display; (Fig. 31 shows a list of information for the “Home tab” also see Fig. 41 where when the tab videos are clicked list of images under the video tab is listed)
Dare does not disclose that fig 31 discloses showing indicia corresponding to a number of entries in a list on the open tab;
retrieving device information associated with unopened tabs;
showing placeholder indicia corresponding to a number of devices in each unopened tab while the device information associated with the unopened tabs is being retrieved;
and replacing placeholder indicia from each unopened tab with indicia corresponding to the number of entries in each unopened tab after its associated device information has been retrieved.
Biran clearly discloses a show indicia corresponding to a number of entries in a list on the open tab, retrieve device information associated with unopened tabs, (Fig. 7E shows that 3 entries are associated with the unopened tabs)
show placeholder indicia corresponding to a number of devices in each
unopened tab while the device information associated with the unopened tabs is
being retrieved, (Fig. 7E shows that “incidents tab is unopened the number (3) replaces the place holder the indicates the number of entries that are under incidents) and replace the placeholder indicia from each unopened tab with indicia corresponding to the number of entries in each unopened tab after its associated device information has been retrieved. (Based on Fig. 7E, the numbers 3 and 1 replaces the actual list under each tab)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Dare to include the teaching of using numbers to indicate the entries within a tab when it is selected by a user. The motivation is that users will know the number of entries within the tab.
Claim 9, Dare in view of Biran discloses The method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving user input comprising selection of a newly selected tab;
retrieving any missing device information required for the newly selected tab; (Biran teaches that the user use the search window to retrieve specific information which mean new device information are retrieved based on what is entered by the user)
showing a list of retrieved device information for the newly selected tab; and
showing indicia on the newly selected tab corresponding to a number of devices listed in the newly selected tab. (Biran: Fig. 7A clearly shows Configuration item has 3 entries which is under the newly selected tab) )
Claim 10, Dare in view of Biran discloses The method of claim 9, further comprising receiving a search term from a user via the user interface;
filtering a list currently shown on the display in accordance with a received search term; (Biran: Item 702 shows a search window which can be used to enter a search term and that search updates the search results)
generating a revised list in accordance with the received search term;
showing the revised list on the display; and updating a tab associated with the revised list to show the number of entries in the revised list. (Biran: Section 0111, lines 4-8 thus return information reads on the revised list)
Claim 11, Dare in view of Biran discloses The method of claim 10, further comprising receiving a user selection for deletion of a list entry of the revised list shown on the display deleting the list entry selected for deletion; (Biran: Section 0124, lines 18-20 – thus the delete option is used to delete the represented configuration item) and updating the tab associated with the revised list to show a current number of entries in the revised list after deletion. (Biran: Inherently after an item is deleted the list is updated since some of the items have been deleted)
Claim 12, Dare in view of Biran discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising receiving a new list entry from the user; adding the new list entry to the revised list; and updating the tab associated with the revised list to show a current number of entries after addition of the new list entry. (Biran, Section 0124, lines 11-16- thus the update button when clicked update the configuration item which means the new added items shows up now).
Claim 13, Dare in view of Biran discloses that the method The method of claim 12, wherein device information includes one or more of device serial number, device model number, device customer, device policy, device status and device network address. (Biran: fig. 6 in Biran shows clearly the Serial number and the Model ID of the device-See the screenshot below)
Claim 14, Dare in view of Biran discloses wherein the method of claim 13, further comprising obtaining the device information from a cloud device management service. (Biran: Section 0097, lines 13-15- thus the proxy servers 312 reading the serial numbers and show as demonstrated in Fig. 6)
Claim 15, Dare discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a networked computer to execute a control method, the control method comprising:
receiving, into a memory, device information corresponding to each of a plurality of multifunction peripherals; (Embedded Microprocessor and Peripherals 1202) and
showing a plurality of tabbed images on a display, (Fig. 26 shows “Log out, Home, Group Management and Statistical Logs) each of the tabbed images
associated with one or more of a device information category or a device information query; (Fig. 26 shows Open Frame Device Management based on an input search engine “Search input”)
determining an open tab among the tabbed images, wherein information relative to the open tab is displayable (Fig. 31 opens up when the “Home tab” is clicked on Fig. 26) and information relative to remaining tabs is hidden, (The rest of the information relating to Group Management and Statistical Logs are hidden) retrieving device information associated with the open tab; (Information about the Home tab is retrieved as clearly shown in fig. 31 “Phone, Call Log, Message, Contacts, Weather and News etc….) showing a list of retrieved device information on the display; (Fig. 31 shows a list of information for the “Home tab” also see Fig. 41 where when the tab videos are clicked list of images under the video tab is listed)
Dare does not disclose that fig 31 indicia corresponding to a number of entries in a list on the open tab,
retrieving device information associated with unopened tabs;
showing placeholder indicia corresponding to a number of devices in each unopened tab while the device information associated with the unopened tabs is being retrieved; and replacing placeholder indicia from each unopened tab with indicia corresponding to the number of entries in each unopened tab after its associated device information has been retrieved.
Biran clearly discloses a show indicia corresponding to a number of entries in a list on the open tab, retrieve device information associated with unopened tabs, (Fig. 7E shows that 3 entries are associated with the unopened tabs)
show placeholder indicia corresponding to a number of devices in each
unopened tab while the device information associated with the unopened tabs is
being retrieved, (Fig. 7E shows that “incidents tab is unopened the number (3) replaces the place holder the indicates the number of entries that are under incidents) and replace the placeholder indicia from each unopened tab with indicia corresponding to the number of entries in each unopened tab after its associated device information has been retrieved. (Based on Fig. 7E, the numbers 3 and 1 replaces the actual list under each tab)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Dare to include the teaching of using numbers to indicate the entries within a tab when it is selected by a user. The motivation is that users will know the number of entries within the tab.
Claim 16, Dare in view of Biran discloses The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the control method further comprises:
retrieving any missing device information required for a newly selected tab; (Biran teaches that the user use the search window to retrieve specific information which mean new device information are retrieved based on what is entered by the user)
showing a list of retrieved device information for the newly selected tab; and
showing indicia on the newly selected tab corresponding to a number of devices listed in the newly selected tab. (Biran: Fig. 7A clearly shows Configuration item has 3 entries which is under the newly selected tab) )
Claim 17, Dare in view of Biran discloses The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the control method further comprises receiving a search term from a user via a user interface; filtering a list currently shown on the display in accordance with a received search term; (Biran: Item 702 shows a search window which can be used to enter a search term and that search updates the search results)
generating a revised list in accordance with the received search term;
showing the revised list on the display; and updating a tab associated with the revised list to show a number of entries in the revised list. (Biran: Section 0111, lines 4-8 thus return information reads on the revised list)
Claim 18, Dare in view of Biran discloses The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the control method further comprises: display; receiving a user selection for deletion of a list entry of a revised search shown on the deleting the list entry selected for deletion; (Biran: Section 0124, lines 18-20 – thus the delete option is used to delete the represented configuration item) and updating the tab associated with the revised list to show a current number of entries in a revised list after deletion. (Biran: Inherently after an item is deleted the list is updated since some of the items have been deleted)
Claim 19, Dare in view of Biran discloses The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the control method further comprises: receiving a new list entry from the user; adding the new list entry to the revised list; and updating the tab associated with the revised list to show a current number of entries after addition of the new list entry. (Biran, Section 0124, lines 11-16- thus the update button when clicked update the configuration item which means the new added items shows up now).
Claim 20, Dare in view of Biran that the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein device information includes one or more of device serial number, device model number, device customer, device policy, device status and device network address. (Biran: fig. 6 in Biran shows clearly the Serial number and the Model ID of the device-See the screenshot below)
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Law (US20140237414) discloses systems and methods for displaying data, and more particularly configurable user interface displays using side tab navigation tools for use with displaying data accessible via an on-demand multi-ten ant database and/or application service.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681