DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/650,918 filed on 04/30/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 04/30/2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11, 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuruyama et al. (US 2020/0008301) in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2016/0073499).
Regarding claim 1, Kuruyama discloses (in Fig. 9) a circuit module comprising: a substrate [1] including a first main surface [bottom surface of 1] and a second main surface [top surface of 1]; a resin layer [5] on the first main surface [bottom surface of 1] of the substrate [1]; an electronic component [4] on the first main surface [bottom surface of 1] or the second main surface [top surface of 1] of the substrate [1]; a penetrating portion [opening portion formed in resin layer 5] penetrating the resin layer [5] in a thickness direction; a first conductor [3a2] being a pillar conductor [opening portion formed in resin layer 5] present in the penetrating portion [opening portion formed in resin layer 5], the first conductor [3a2] including a first bottom [top surface of 3a2] closer to the substrate [5] and a second bottom [bottom surface of 3a2] inward of an outer surface [P3] of the resin layer [5]; a second conductor [3b1] being a metal film covering at least a portion of a side surface of the first conductor [3a2]; and a solder bump [3c] covering an opening of the penetrating portion [opening portion formed in resin layer 5] adjacent to the outer surface [P3] of the resin layer [5], the solder bump [3c] including a portion present in the penetrating portion [opening portion formed in resin layer 5] and electrically connected to the second bottom [bottom surface of 3a2] of the first conductor [3a2] in the penetrating portion [opening portion formed in resin layer 5].
Kuruyama does not disclose the second conductor including a portion extending continuously from the side surface of the first conductor to a same plane with the outer surface of the resin layer.
Ogawa teaches (in Fig. 2) the second conductor [6] including a portion extending continuously from the side surface of the first conductor [5a] to a same plane with the outer surface [bottom surface of 7a] of the resin layer [7a].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit module of Kuruyama to have the second conductor including a portion extending continuously from the side surface of the first conductor to a same plane with the outer surface of the resin layer, as taught by Ogawa, in order to protect the first conductor against corrosion.
Regarding claim 2, Kuruyama, as applied to claim 1, further discloses (in Fig. 9) wherein the second bottom [bottom surface of 3a2] of the first conductor [3a2] is in direct contact with the solder bump [3c].
Regarding claim 3, Kuruyama, as applied to claim 2, further discloses (in Fig. 9) wherein the second conductor [3b1] comprises a metal material harder than the first conductor [3a2] (See paragraph 0104: “For example, the metal column 3a.sub.2 is constituted of a metal material selected from Cu, a Cu alloy, and the like, the second plating film 3b.sub.1 is constituted of a metal material selected from Ni, an Ni alloy, and the like, and the covering film 3b.sub.2 is constituted of a metal material selected from Au, an Au alloy, and the like.” Nickel is harder than copper).
Regarding claim 4, Kuruyama, as applied to claim 2, further discloses (in Fig. 9) a third conductor [3b2] being a metal film covering at least a portion of a side surface of the second conductor [3b1].
Regarding claim 12, Kuruyama, as applied to claim 3, further discloses (in Fig. 9) a third conductor [3b2] being a metal film covering at least a portion of a side surface of the second conductor [3b1].
Communication
/SHERMAN NG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847