DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to Claim/Drawing Objections & 112 Rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim/Drawing Objections & 112 Rejections of Office Action dated 01/27/2026 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the 102 Rejection, the applicant states:
“Vartiainen fails to disclose, teach, or suggest inter alia, "one or more supports (i) having an entire structure positioned within an air gap between the stator and the rotor and (ii) extending along an entire axial length of the rotor," as recited in claim 1. Claim 15 recites similar features”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Vartiainen discloses (i) having an entire structure [FIG. 4 shows 82 & 84 as “an entire element” 8] positioned within an air gap [details shown in FIG. 6] between the stator [2] and the rotor [4] (FIG. 3-6, Claim 3; wherein the at least one locking member comprises a separation portion adapted to extend in an air gap between the stator and the rotor) and (ii) extending along an entire axial length of the rotor [FIG. 7 shows 8 “extending an entire axial length of the rotor” 4] (FIG. 4-7);
Vartiainen specifically teaches that the "The locking member 8 comprises a separation portion 82 and a securing portion 84. The separation portion 82 is adapted to extend in an air gap between the stator 2 and the rotor 4" (Id., paragraph [0022]). Therefore, Vartiainen teaches that the entire structure of locking member is not in the air gap.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Vartiainen discloses in para [0022] “The separation portion 82 is adapted to extend in an air gap between the stator 2 and the rotor 4”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vartiainen (US 2023/0163668).
Regarding Claim 1, Vartiainen discloses a support structure [Claim 1 – locking system] used for transportation [¶ 0021 – The locking state shown in FIG. 3 can be utilized during a transportation of the electric machine assembly] of a shaft-less rotating electrical machine [Claim 2 – The electric machine assembly according to claim 1, wherein in the operational position of the shaft, the shaft is unsupported relative to the body part] comprising a stator [2] supported by a stator frame [10], and a rotor [4] that is mechanically connectable to a shaftline [“shaftline” from element 8 extending to element right side of 4 as shown in FIG. 3] and is positioned radially inside the stator [2] (FIG. 3, Claim 1-2, ¶ [0021]. Vartiainen discloses a design that the rotor can be locked and transported without the shaft installed, i,e., the shaft is optional during handling and only needed during the operational state as stated in ¶ [0010] and shown in FIG. 3), the support structure comprising:
one or more supports [FIG. 4 – 82, 84] (i) having an entire structure [FIG. 4 shows 82 & 84 as “an entire element” 8] positioned within an air gap [details shown in FIG. 6] between the stator [2] and the rotor [4] (FIG. 3-6, Claim 3; wherein the at least one locking member comprises a separation portion adapted to extend in an air gap between the stator and the rotor) and (ii) extending along an entire axial length of the rotor [FIG. 7 shows 8 “extending an entire axial length of the rotor” 4] (FIG. 4-7); and
one or more transport brackets [841] fixedly connectable [details shown in FIG. 4] between the stator frame [2] and the rotor [4] (FIG. 3-6, Claim 5; wherein the at least one locking member comprises at least one bolt hole such that the at least one locking member is adapted to be secured stationarily relative to the rotor and/or the stator).
Regarding Claim 2, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein the one or more of supports [82, 84] are within the air gap at circumferentially spaced intervals (FIG. 3-4, Claim 3; wherein the at least one locking member comprises a separation portion adapted to extend in an air gap between the stator and the rotor).
Regarding Claim 3, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein each support [82, 84] is made of a non-magnetic material (Claim 4; wherein the at least one locking member comprises a securing portion whose material is non-magnetic and harder than material of the separation portion).
Regarding Claim 4, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein the one or more transport brackets [841] fixedly connectable between the stator frame [10] and a first axial end of the rotor [4] and one or more transport brackets [841] fixedly connectable between the stator frame [10] and a second axial end of the rotor [4] (FIG. 3, ¶ [0020]; Herein, a distal end of a bolt is an end at an opposite end of the bolt compared to a head of the bolt).
Regarding Claim 5, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein the one or more transport bracket [841] includes at least one first part [top part of 82 or 84] that is fixedly connectable to the stator frame and at least one second part [bottom of 82 or 84] that is fixedly connectable to the rotor (FIG. 4, ¶ [0020]; The locking system comprises a plurality of locking members 8 and a plurality of radial bolts holes provided in the rotor 4. Each of the locking members 8 is adapted to be in a separating position between the rotor 4 and the stator 2 in the locking state of the electric machine assembly).
Regarding Claim 6, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 5 [see rejected Claim 5], wherein the one or more transport bracket [841] includes at least one third part [part where 53 is located] that is fixedly connected to the at least one first part [top part of 82 or 84] and the at least one second part [bottom of 82 or 84] (FIG. 4, ¶ [0020]; The locking system comprises a plurality of locking members 8 and a plurality of radial bolts holes provided in the rotor 4. Each of the locking members 8 is adapted to be in a separating position between the rotor 4 and the stator 2 in the locking state of the electric machine assembly).
Regarding Claim 7, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 6 [see rejected Claim 6], wherein the at least one third part is removably connected [by 53] to the at least one first part [top of 82 or 84] and the at least one second part [bottom of 82 or 84] (FIG. 4, ¶ [0025]).
Regarding Claim 8, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 6 [see rejected Claim 6], wherein the at least one third part extends substantially axially between the at least one first part and the at least one second part (As shown in FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 6 [see rejected Claim 6], where a first end of the at least one third part is screwed into an internally screw-threaded opening provided in one of the at least one first part and the at least one second part and is received through an opening in the other one of the at least one first part and the at least one second part and fixedly connected thereto with one or more mechanical fixings (¶ [0025]; The locking member 8 is secured stationarily relative to the rotor 4 by a bolt joint comprising a fastening bolt 53 and an inner thread provided in the rotor 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 5 [see rejected Claim 5], wherein the at least one first part is adapted to be permanently connectable to the stator frame (¶ [0020]; The locking system comprises a plurality of locking members 8 and a plurality of radial bolts holes provided in the rotor 4. Each of the locking members 8 is adapted to be in a separating position between the rotor 4 and the stator 2 in the locking state of the electric machine assembly).
Regarding Claim 11, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 5 [see rejected Claim 5], wherein the at least second part is adapted to be removably connectable to the rotor (FIG. 7, ¶ [0028]; FIG. 7 shows that the locking members 8 are installed as pairs such that there are two locking members 8 in one pole clearance, and that an axial dimension of each of the two locking members 8 is less than half of an axial dimension of the rotor 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Vartiainen discloses the support structure according to claim 5, wherein the at least one second part is substantially U-shaped [as shown in FIG. 5 for element 82] and includes a channel that is adapted to receive or engage with an annular rib [841] of the rotor (FIG. 3-4).
Regarding Claim 13, Vartiainen discloses a shaft-less rotating electrical machine [The electric machine assembly according to claim 1, wherein in the operational position of the shaft, the shaft is unsupported relative to the body part] (¶ [0021]. Also refer to rejected Claim 1 above) comprising:
a stator [2] supported by a stator frame [10] (FIG. 3);
a rotor [4] [“shaftline” from element 8 extending to element right side of 4] positioned radially inside the stator [2] (FIG. 3, Claim 1-2, also refer to rejected Claim 1 above); and
the support structure according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1];
wherein the one or more supports [82, 84] are positioned in the air gap [details shown in FIG. 6] between the stator [2] and the rotor [4] and the one or more transport brackets [841] are fixedly connected between the stator frame [10] and the rotor [4] (FIG. 3-6, also refer to rejected Claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Vartiainen discloses the shaft-less rotating electrical machine according to claim 13 [see rejected Claim 13], wherein the rotor is a permanent magnet rotor (¶ [0031]; The rotor 4 comprises twenty permanent magnets 12 and twenty pole clearances each located between adjacent permanent magnets 12).
Regarding Claim 15, Vartiainen discloses a method of preparing a shaft-less rotating electrical machine for transport [The locking state shown in FIG. 3 can be utilized during a transportation of the electric machine assembly] (¶ [0021]), the shaft-less rotating electrical machine comprising a stator [2] supported by a stator frame [10], and a rotor [4] that is positioned radially inside the stator (FIG. 3-6, also refer to rejected Claim 1 above), the method comprising:
positioning one or more supports [82, 84] in an air gap [details shown in FIG. 6] between the stator [2] and the rotor [4] (FIG. 3-6, Claim 3; wherein the at least one locking member comprises a separation portion adapted to extend in an air gap between the stator and the rotor), the one or more supports (i) having an entire structure [FIG. 4 shows 82 & 84 as “an entire element” 8] positioned within an air gap [details shown in FIG. 6] and (ii) extending along an entire axial length of the rotor [FIG. 7 shows 8 “extending an entire axial length of the rotor” 4] (FIG. 4-7); and
fixedly connecting one or more transport brackets [841] between the stator [2] and frame and the rotor [4] (FIG. 3-6, Claim 5; wherein the at least one locking member comprises at least one bolt hole such that the at least one locking member is adapted to be secured stationarily relative to the rotor and/or the stator).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834