DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-13, filed 8/20/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Logan et al. (US 2017/0090119 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gregg et al. (US 2020/0081187 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregg et al. (US 2020/0081187 A1).
Re. Claims 1, 9-10, and 20, Gregg et al. discloses a fiber laser system, comprising:
a first optical fiber 120/250 that includes a first core 251 with a first diameter (Figs. 1-2; [0018], [0021], and [0030]); and
a second optical fiber 130/280 that includes a second core 281 with a second diameter that is greater than the first diameter (Figs. 1-2; [0018], [0023], and [0031]), wherein:
an end of the first optical fiber is connected to an end of the second optical fiber at a spliced point 160 (e.g., target splice point; Figs. 1-2; [0023]),
a center axis of the first core is not aligned with a center axis of the second core at the spliced point (Fig. 2; [0031]).
However, while Gregg et al. discloses the position of the splice point is adjustable to achieve a desired offset distance between the center axis of the first core and the center axis of the second core ([0023]), Gregg et al. fails to explicitly disclose an offset distance of greater than 2 micrometers.
Gregg et al. additionally discloses the offset distance between spliced cores results in the particular modal excitation and resultant beam shapes produced by the spliced fibers ([0017]). Accordingly, the claimed range of an offset distance exceeding 2 micrometers would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the current invention was effectively filed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re. Claims 2 and 12, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above, specifically comprising a first optical fiber 120/250 that includes a first core 251 with a first diameter (Figs. 1-2; [0018], [0021], and [0030]), and a second optical fiber 130/280 that includes a second core 281 with a second diameter that is greater than the first diameter (Figs. 1-2; [0018], [0023], and [0031]).
However, Gregg et al. does not disclose an arrangement wherein the first core is a single-mode core or a reduced-mode core, and the second core is a multi-mode core.
Multimode, single-mode, and reduced-mode optical fibers are all well known in the art, and it is commonly known that the core size of multi-mode optical fibers exceeds that of both single-mode optical fibers and reduced-mode optical fibers. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed arrangement obvious for the purpose of providing optical fibers having differing sized cores as required by Gregg et al. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Re. Claim 3, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above.
However, Gregg et al. does not disclose the fiber laser system is a master oscillator power amplifier (MOPA) system; the first optical fiber is an oscillator optical fiber; and the second optical fiber is an amplifier optical fiber.
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of creating a well-known laser system using the fiber laser of Gregg et al. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Re. Claims 4 and 13, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above. Gregg et al. also discloses the fiber laser system is configured to allow laser light to propagate from the first optical fiber to the second optical fiber at the spliced point ([0004]-[0005]). The claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 5, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above.
As discussed above, while Gregg et al. discloses the position of the splice point is adjustable to achieve a desired offset distance between the center axis of the first core and the center axis of the second core ([0023]), Gregg et al. fails to explicitly disclose an arrangement wherein an entirety of a cross-sectional area of the first core contacts a portion of a cross-sectional area of the second core at the spliced point.
Gregg et al. discloses the offset distance between spliced cores results in the particular modal excitation and resultant beam shapes produced by the spliced fibers ([0017]). Accordingly, the claimed arrangement wherein an entirety of a cross-sectional area of the first core contacts a portion of a cross-sectional area of the second core at the spliced point would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the current invention was effectively filed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re. Claims 6-7, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above. Gregg et al. does not disclose numerical values for the offset distance R or the diameter of the second core 281 (Fig. 2), and therefore does not directly disclose arrangements wherein either (a) the portion of the cross-sectional area of the second core does not include a point associated with the center axis of the second core, or (b) the portion of the cross-sectional area of the second core includes a point associated with the center axis of the second core.
Gregg et al. discloses the offset distance between spliced cores results in the particular modal excitation and resultant beam shapes produced by the spliced fibers ([0017]). Accordingly, the claimed arrangements wherein either (a) the portion of the cross-sectional area of the second core does not include a point associated with the center axis of the second core, or (b) the portion of the cross-sectional area of the second core includes a point associated with the center axis of the second core would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the current invention was effectively filed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re. Claims 8 and 17, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above. Gregg et al. discloses the fiber laser splice point is adjustable along the tapered length to allow for the desired characteristics of optical coupling between the first and second optical fibers ([0017]).
However, Gregg et al. does not directly disclose an arrangement which results in
a stimulated Raman scattering (SRS) content of an output of the fiber laser system is less than or equal to 1%.
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of minimizing Raman scattering across the splice point. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Re. Claim 11, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above, specifically comprising a first optical fiber 120/250 that includes a first core 251 with a first diameter (Figs. 1-2; [0018], [0021], and [0030]), and a second optical fiber 130/280 that includes a second core 281 with a second diameter that is greater than the first diameter (Figs. 1-2; [0018], [0023], and [0031]).
However, Gregg et al. does not disclose an arrangement wherein the second diameter is greater than or equal to three times the first diameter at the spliced point.
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re. Claim 14, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above. It is noted with respect to the limitation “the fiber laser system is configured to enable kilowatt-class material processing,” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re. Claims 15-16, 18, and 19, Gregg et al. renders obvious the fiber laser system as discussed above. Gregg et al. does not disclose numerical values for the offset distance R or the diameter of the second core 281 (Fig. 2), and therefore does not directly disclose arrangements wherein either (a) an entirety of a cross-sectional area of the first core contacts, at the spliced point, a portion of a cross-sectional area of the second core that does not include a point associated with the center axis of the second core, or (b) an entirety of a cross-sectional area of the first core contacts, at the spliced point, a portion of a cross-sectional area of the second core that includes a point associated with the center axis of the second core.
Gregg et al. discloses the offset distance between spliced cores results in the particular modal excitation and resultant beam shapes produced by the spliced fibers ([0017]). Accordingly, the claimed arrangements wherein either (a) an entirety of a cross-sectional area of the first core contacts, at the spliced point, a portion of a cross-sectional area of the second core that does not include a point associated with the center axis of the second core, or (b) an entirety of a cross-sectional area of the first core contacts, at the spliced point, a portion of a cross-sectional area of the second core that includes a point associated with the center axis of the second core would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the current invention was effectively filed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 9/23/26