DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zou (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0230693).
Regarding claim 1, Zou discloses a method for providing communication between an access point and a HUB of a point-to-multipoint optical network, the method comprising: causing the access point to determine a communication wavelength of the HUB (fig. 7a element 63 and paragraph 0064, where receiving the downlink wavelength with the OFDMA signals reads on determining the communication wavelength of the OLT; the OLT reads on the hub of a PON network); causing the access point to determine, using information on a control channel centered at the communication wavelength, whether the HUB has an amount of available resources allocable within a plurality of data sub-carriers to the access point (fig. 12a and paragraph 0122); and in response to determining that the HUB has the amount of available resources allocable within the plurality of data sub-carriers to the access point, establishing a bidirectional communication between the access point and the HUB (fig. 7a and paragraphs 0063-0064 in light of paragraphs 0122-0126).
Regarding claim 2, Zou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the amount of available resources is determined based on characteristics of the access point (paragraph 0122, the traffic volume and/or service priority requested by the ONUs).
Regarding claim 6, Zou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the amount of available resource are physical resources comprising bandwidth and data sub-carriers of the HUB (paragraph 0122, the traffic volume and/or service priority requested by the ONUs and the bandwidth allocated to each ONU based on the OFDMA subcarriers).
Regarding claim 7, Zou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the causing the access point to determining that the HUB has the amount of available resources allocable within the plurality of data sub-carriers to the access point comprises: receiving, by the HUB from the access point, a request comprising information indicative of the amount of available resources for a potential establishment of a bidirectional communication between the access point and the HUB and transmitting, by the HUB to the access point, information about a presence or an absence of the amount of available resources (paragraph 0122, the ONU bandwidth allocation request to the OLT, and the OLT indicating to the ONU the quantity and serial numbers of OFDMA subcarriers available for the ONU).
Regarding claim 11, Zou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in response to a bandwidth of the access point being equal or wider than a wavelength spectrum including the data sub-carriers of the HUB: assigning one or more of the data sub-carriers to the access point (paragraph 0122, where the OLT indicating the OFDMA subcarriers available to the ONU, and the ONU using the allocated subcarriers and performing zero fill processing for the non-indicated subcarriers, means the ONU’s bandwidth is equal to the wavelength spectrum of the subcarriers of the HUB); and transmitting data between the HUB and the access point on the assigned data sub-carriers (fig. 7a and paragraphs 0063-0064 in light of paragraphs 0122-0126).
Regarding claim 16, Zou discloses a system for providing communication between an access point and a HUB of a point-to-multipoint optical network, the system being configured to: cause the access point to determine a communication wavelength of the HUB (fig. 7a element 63 and paragraph 0064, where receiving the downlink wavelength with the OFDMA signals reads on determining the communication wavelength of the OLT; the OLT reads on the hub of a PON network); cause the access point to determine, using information on a control channel centered at the communication wavelength, whether the HUB has an amount of available resources allocable within a plurality of data sub-carriers to the access point (fig. 12a and paragraph 0122); and in response to determining that the HUB has the amount of available resources allocable within the plurality of data sub-carriers to the access point, establish a bidirectional communication between the access point and the HUB (fig. 7a and paragraphs 0063-0064 in light of paragraphs 0122-0126).
Regarding claim 17, Zou discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the amount of available resources is determined based on characteristics of the access point (paragraph 0122, the traffic volume and/or service priority requested by the ONUs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0230693) in view of Zhang et al. (“Zhang”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0142237).
Regarding claim 3, Zou discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose that the causing the access point to determine the communication wavelength of the HUB comprises: tuning a central frequency of a local oscillator laser of the access point to a pre-determined wavelength, and in response to the communication wavelength of the HUB matching the pre-determined wavelength, locking a frequency and a time of sampling of the access point to the HUB. Zhang discloses another PON system with a related continuous-mode transmission, including tuning a central frequency of a local oscillator laser of the ONU to a pre-determined wavelength, and in response to the communication wavelength of the OLT matching the pre-determined wavelength, locking a frequency and a time of sampling of the ONU to the OLT (fig. 1A and paragraphs 0046-0047 and fig. 3 and paragraphs 0057-0060, where the injection locking to the received frequency reads on locking a frequency of the ONU to the OLT and the ADC reads on locking a time of sampling of the ONU to the OLT). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zou to use the coherent transmission and frequency locking approach taught by Zhang, to provide the benefit of higher capacities, improved receiver sensitivity and simplified receiver DSP (Zhang: 0004 and 0041).
Regarding claim 18, Zou discloses the system of claim 16, but does not disclose that to cause the access point to determine the communication wavelength of the HUB comprises the system configured to: tune a central frequency of a local oscillator laser of the access point to a pre-determined wavelength; and in response to the communication wavelength of the HUB matching the pre-determined wavelength, lock a frequency and a time of sampling of the access point to the HUB. Zhang discloses another PON system with a related continuous-mode transmission, including tuning a central frequency of a local oscillator laser of the ONU to a pre-determined wavelength, and in response to the communication wavelength of the OLT matching the pre-determined wavelength, locking a frequency and a time of sampling of the ONU to the OLT (fig. 1A and paragraphs 0046-0047 and fig. 3 and paragraphs 0057-0060, where the injection locking to the received frequency reads on locking a frequency of the ONU to the OLT and the ADC reads on locking a time of sampling of the ONU to the OLT). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zou to use the coherent transmission and frequency locking approach taught by Zhang, to provide the benefit of higher capacities, improved receiver sensitivity and simplified receiver DSP (Zhang: 0004 and 0041).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8-10, 12-15, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0141557 – OLT determines the central frequency that ONUs lock to for LO and/or carrier.
US Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0097612 – Optical frequency comb locking for PON.
US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0294614 – OFDMA-PON with coherent detection at the ONU.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634