DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13-21, 23-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0186026 A1 to Oshima et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Oshima discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (¶ 2728), cause the at least one processor to:
receive data (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) receives video data (content) and signal data (VLC data) from streaming laptop (8501c)) ;
determine, based on an indicator that indicates that the data comprises visual light communication (VLC) data, that the data comprises the VLC data (Fig. 480, signal data (¶ 2533, VLC data) is heralded by a signal identifier); and
cause output of the VLC data (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) projects VLC data to screen (8501b)).
Regarding Claim 2, Oshima discloses sending to a display device the VLC data (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) sends the VLC data to display device (8501b, screen)).
Regarding Claim 3, Oshima discloses by the display device, output of the first data while simultaneously sending, via VLC, the VLC data to a second computing device (Fig. 479, screen (8501b) displays the VLC and sends it to second computing device (phone, 8501d)).
Regarding Claim 4, Oshima discloses wherein the indicator comprises a VLC identifier that indicates that the VLC data is different than another portion of the data (Fig. 480, signal identifier indicates signal data is different from video data.)
Regarding Claim 5, Oshima discloses cause the at
least one processor to receive, based on the determination that the user device is within the proximity of the display device, the data (Fig. 134, 2002a, based on proximity sensor, VLC communication is started.)
Regarding Claim 7, Oshima a system comprising:
a computing device configured to:
receive data (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) receives video data (content) and signal data (VLC data) from streaming laptop (8501c)) ;
determine, based on an indicator that indicates that the data comprises visual light communication (VLC) data, that the data comprises the VLC data (Fig. 480, signal data (¶ 2533, VLC data) is heralded by a signal identifier); and
cause output of the VLC data (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) projects VLC data to screen (8501b)); and
a display device configured to output the VLC data (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) sends the VLC data to display device (8501b, screen)).
Regarding Claim 8, Oshima discloses sending to a display device the VLC data (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) sends the VLC data to display device (8501b, screen)).
Regarding Claim 9, Oshima discloses by the display device, output of the first data while simultaneously sending, via VLC, the VLC data to a second computing device (Fig. 479, screen (8501b) displays the VLC and sends it to second computing device (phone, 8501d)).
Regarding Claim 10, Oshima discloses wherein the indicator comprises a VLC identifier that indicates that the VLC data is different than another portion of the data (Fig. 480, signal identifier indicates signal data is different from video data.)
Regarding Claim 11, Oshima discloses cause the at
least one processor to receive, based on the determination that the user device is within the proximity of the display device, the data (Fig. 134, 2002a, based on proximity sensor, VLC communication is started.)
Regarding Claim 13, Oshima discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (¶ 2728), cause the at least one processor to:
receive at least a portion of a content item and an indicator (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) receives video data frame shown in Fig. 480b including an indicator (signal identifier)
determine, based on the indicator, that there is visual light communication (VLC) data to be output (Fig. 480, signal data (¶ 2533, VLC data) is heralded by a signal identifier); and
cause output of the VLC data and the portion of the content item (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) projects VLC data to screen (8501b) and the portion of the video frame).
Regarding Claim 14, Oshima discloses wherein the portion of the content item comprises the indicator (Fig. 480b, video frame includes signal identifier.)
Regarding Claim 15, Oshima discloses wherein the indicator indicates that the portion of the content item comprises the VLC data (Fig. 480b, signal identifier indicates signal data.)
Regarding Claim 16, Oshima discloses wherein the VLC data is associated with the content item and wherein the content item comprises one or more of video content, an electronic program guide, location information, or an advertisement (Fig. 480b, VLC data is in the video frame and the content is video content.)
Regarding Claim 17, Oshima discloses cause the at least one processor to cause output of the VLC data and the portion of the content item, cause the at least one processor to cause output, by a display device, of the portion of the content item while simultaneously causing output, via VLC, of the VLC data to a second computing device (Fig. 479, VLC and video is projected on screen for reception by second device (cell phone 8501d)).
Regarding Claim 18, Oshima discloses wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to embed the VLC data into the portion of the content item (Fig’s. 477, 480, VLC data is embedded with video data for projection by projector.)
Regarding Claim 19, Oshima discloses wherein the indicator comprises a VLC identifier that indicates that the VLC data is different than the portion of the content item (Fig. 480, signal identifier indicates signal data is different from video data.)
Regarding Claim 20, Oshima discloses causing the at least one processor to cause output of the VLC data, cause the at least one processor to cause a light emitting diode (LED) of a display device to modify an intensity level to output, via VLC, the VLC data (¶ 2387, intensity (on/off) of LED projector is controlled to transmit the VLC.)
Regarding Claim 21, Oshima discloses determining that a user device is within proximity to a display device; and insert based on the user device being within the proximity to the display device, the VLC data into the portion of the content item (Fig. 134, 2002a, based on proximity sensor, VLC communication is started.)
Regarding Claim 23, Oshima a system comprising:
a computing device configured to:
receive at least a portion of a content item and an indicator (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) receives video data frame shown in Fig. 480b including an indicator (signal identifier)
determine, based on the indicator, that there is visual light communication (VLC) data to be output (Fig. 480, signal data (¶ 2533, VLC data) is heralded by a signal identifier); and
cause output of the VLC data and the portion of the content item (Fig. 479, projector (8501a) projects VLC data to screen (8501b) and the portion of the video frame) and
a display device configured to:
output the VLC data and the portion of the content item (Fig. 479, screen (8501) outputs the video content and the VLC data to receiver (8501d)).
Regarding Claim 24, Oshima discloses wherein the portion of the content item comprises the indicator (Fig. 480b, video frame includes signal identifier.)
Regarding Claim 25, Oshima discloses wherein the indicator indicates that the portion of the content item comprises the VLC data (Fig. 480b, signal identifier indicates signal data.)
Regarding Claim 26, Oshima discloses wherein the VLC data is associated with the content item and wherein the content item comprises one or more of video content, an electronic program guide, location information, or an advertisement (Fig. 480b, VLC data is in the video frame and the content is video content.)
Regarding Claim 27, Oshima discloses cause the at least one processor to cause output of the VLC data and the portion of the content item, cause the at least one processor to cause output, by a display device, of the portion of the content item while simultaneously causing output, via VLC, of the VLC data to a second computing device (Fig. 479, VLC and video is projected on screen for reception by second device (cell phone 8501d)).
Regarding Claim 28, Oshima discloses wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to embed the VLC data into the portion of the content item (Fig’s. 477, 480, VLC data is embedded with video data for projection by projector.)
Regarding Claim 29, Oshima discloses wherein the indicator comprises a VLC identifier that indicates that the VLC data is different than the portion of the content item (Fig. 480, signal identifier indicates signal data is different from video data.)
Regarding Claim 30, Oshima discloses causing the at least one processor to cause output of the VLC data, cause the at least one processor to cause a light emitting diode (LED) of a display device to modify an intensity level to output, via VLC, the VLC data (¶ 2387, intensity (on/off) of LED projector is controlled to transmit the VLC.)
Regarding Claim 31, Oshima discloses determining that a user device is within proximity to a display device; and insert based on the user device being within the proximity to the display device, the VLC data into the portion of the content item (Fig. 134, 2002a, based on proximity sensor, VLC communication is started.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12, 22, and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL G DOBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 05/30/2026