DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office Action is in response to the communication and claim Amendment filed on 03/06/2026; claims 1 and 5-7 have been amended; claims 8-10 has been added; claims 1, 5, 6, and 7 are independent claims. Claims 1-10 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
The objection to claim 5 is withdrawn as the claim has been amended.
Applicants’ arguments with respect the amended limitation “wherein the list distinguishes between an image processing apparatus that may be remotely operated and an image processing apparatus that may not be remotely operated” have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeno (“Ikeno,” US 8,326,161) in view of Hattori (“Hattori, US 9,131,087), further in view of Schlonski et al. (“Schlonski ,” US 2002/0196463).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeno teaches a remote operation system provided with an image processing apparatus for which physical authentication at the time of a login is set, and a client PC personal computer (client PC) configured to remotely operate the image processing apparatus, the remote operation system comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 47-51, Aspects of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus (or devices such as a CPU or MPU) that reads out and executes a program recorded on a memory device to perform the functions of the above-described embodiment (s); Claim 1, fig. 2); and
at least one processor (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 47-51, Aspects of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus (or devices such as a CPU or MPU) that reads out and executes a program recorded on a memory device to perform the functions of the above-described embodiment (s); claim 1, fig. 2) executing the instructions causing the remote operation system to:
receive a remote operation request for the image processing apparatus from the client PC (Ikeno: Col. 1, lines 36-41, "However, in the image forming apparatus provided with multiple functions, even when the image forming apparatus enters the service mode via an operation panel and is in a dedicated menu state to maintenance/repair, a printing job can be received whenever necessary via a network."; Col. 12, lines 41-43; "Next, when the service engineer executes a job using the authentication information, the management server performs an authentication operation.": Col. 12, lines 36-40; "the management server transfers information for the authentication (a job ticket or the like) to the image forming apparatus (for local test printing) and a terminal (for remote test printing) of the service engineer");
determine whether or not a classification of a user account that is included in the remote operation request is a designated account (Ikeno: Col. 1, lines 8-12; “The present invention relates to an image forming apparatus configured to be switchable between operation modes including a normal mode for performing processing such as receiving a job from a general user and a service mode for receiving a work by a service engineer."; Col. 12, lines 36-40; "the management server transfers information for the authentication (a job ticket or the like) to the image forming apparatus (for local test printing) and a terminal (for remote test printing) of the service engineer recognized by the management server."; Col. 12, lines 16-19, "the MFP 101 is in a state in which only a job of the service engineer can be received via the authentication"); and
authorize the remote operation request when the classification determining unit has determined that the classification of the user account is determined to be the designated account (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 41-43; "Next, when the service engineer executes a job using the authentication information, the management server performs an authentication operation."; Col. 2, lines 44-49, "when the image forming apparatus exits the service mode in response to the receiving unit receiving the operation to exit the service mode before the work related maintenance ends, processing of the job is performed if authentication based on the authentication information generated by the generation unit is successful."; Col. 12, lines 16-18; "the MFP 101 is in a state in which only a job of the service engineer can be received via the authentication"); and
a coordinating service that connects to both the image processing apparatus and the client PC, and relays transmission and reception of remote operations data (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 36-49; "the management server transfers information for the authentication (a job ticket or the like) to the image forming apparatus (for local test printing) and a terminal (for remote test printing) of the service engineer recognized by the management server."; Col. 12, lines 41-42; "Next, when the service engineer executes a job using the authentication information, the management server performs an authentication operation."),
wherein executing the instructions by the processor further causes the remote operation system to require a login authentication to the coordinating service (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 33-35, "by selecting a menu for starting a work to be performed by the service engineer, the image forming apparatus is switched to the authentication mode in which the authentication is carried out by the management server."; Col. 12, lines 12-41; "Next, when the service engineer executes a job using the authentication information, the management server performs an authentication operation."), and
Ikeno teaches wherein when the login authentication to the coordinating service is succeeded (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 33-35, "by selecting a menu for starting a work to be performed by the service engineer, the image forming apparatus is switched to the authentication mode in which the authentication is carried out by the management server; Col. 12, lines 28-41, a terminal (for remote test printing) of the servicer engineer recognized by the management server. Next, when the service engineer executes a job using the authentication information, the management server performs an authentication operation; Col. 2, lines 47-49, processing of the job is performed if authentication based on the authentication information generated by generation unit is successful) but does not explicitly disclose
a list of the image processing apparatus managed by the coordinating service is displayed on the client PC.
However, in an analogous art, Hattori teaches discloses a list of the image processing apparatus managed by the coordinating service is displayed on the client PC (Hatttori: Col. 1, lines 52-56, The print manager service providing apparatus may be configured to provide a list of candidate printers through a network to a print manager service client agent operating on a terminal apparatus in the network environment." (Col. 14, lines 46-49, "FIG. 8B shows a screenshot of a printer list menu provided to a user (e.g. User A) in the network environment who uses the services provided by the printers in the network environment, for example, at the terminal 103"; Col. 14, lines 50-52, "the number of printers shown is different from that of FIG. 8A, because User A is unable to access or has not installed some of the printers registered in the network environment").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hattori with the method and system of Ikeno to include a list of the image processing apparatus managed by the coordinating service is displayed on the client PC. One would have been motivated to provide an improved approach for IT administrators to manage print services provided in a network environment." (Hattori: Col. 1, lines 42-44).
Ikeno and Hattori do not explicitly disclose wherein the list distinguishes between an image processing apparatus that may be remotely operated and an image processing apparatus that may not be remotely operated.
However, in an analogous art, Schlonski discloses
wherein the list distinguishes between an image processing apparatus that may be remotely operated and an image processing apparatus that may not be remotely operated (Schlonski: par. 0042, the status of any queues on the server can be remotely queried (step 812). As needed, another printer can be selected (step 814). Then, the results of the pinging of the printer and the associated server are compiled and displayed (step 816); par. 0043, .. the results of the pinging of each printer and its associated server, which populates a database through known means, is displayed in a list; FIGS. 4 and 5 are, respectively, screen views of a printer or a set of printers on a network or subnetwork; par. 0033, FIG. 4 shows a screen representing information about all discovered printers on a particular network.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schlonski with the method and system of Ikeno and Hattori to include “wherein the list distinguishes between an image processing apparatus that may be remotely operated and an image processing apparatus that may not be remotely operated.”. One would have been motivated to provide substantially simultaneous “views” of printers and queues in servers, problems within a large network can be readily isolated (Schlonski: abstract: pars. 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski teaches the remote operation system according to claim 1. The combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski further teaches wherein the designated account is a support account that has been assigned to a user who is in charge of maintenance for the image processing apparatus (Ikeno: Col. 1, lines 8-12,, "The present invention relates to an image forming apparatus configured to be switchable between operation modes including a normal mode for performing processing such as receiving a job from a general user and a service mode for receiving a work by a service engineer."; Col. 1 lines 14-19, "To perform maintenance and repair of the image forming apparatus, it has been the general practice to cause the image forming apparatus to shift to an operations mode referred to as a service mode, and to provide a special menu for the maintenance and repair, which is different from a menu for a normal printing operation."; Col. 12, lines 10-12 , "the service engineer performs a setting change and performs a confirmation work by the test printing").
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski teaches the remote operation system according to claim 1. The combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski further teaches the coordinating service comprises at least one first memory storing first instructions, and at least one first processor executing the first instructions causing the coordinating service to determine whether or not the classification of the user account is the designated account (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 37-43, the management server performs an authentication operation on a service engineer recognized by the management server ; Hattori: Col. 10, line 64 to Col. 11, lines 1).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 is directed to a remote operation method for an image processing apparatus for which physical authentication at the time of a login is set, wherein the remote operation method associated with the remote operation system claimed in claim 1; claim 6 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 is directed to a non-transitory recording medium storing a program (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 47-51; claim 1; fig. 2) that, when executed by a processor (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 47-51; claim 1; fig. 2), causes to perform steps associated to with the remote operation system claimed in claim 1; claim 7 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski teaches the remote operation system according to claim 1. The combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski further teaches, wherein the image processing apparatus on the list that may not be remotely operated due to being in a state in which the image processing apparatus is not connected to the network (Schlonski: par. 0043, .. the results of the pinging of each printer and its associated server, which populates a database through known means, is displayed in a list; par. 0041,“This status check is typically a 'ping,' which is known in the art as the sending of a special code to a network device, this special code simply causing the network device to repeat the code that was sent. If the repeated code is not detected from the printer within a predetermined period of time, this is an indication that the printer is not properly functional. Also, one or more servers to which the printer is available are similarly pinged. If the status check of one server fails, the problem with the system can then be isolated”;figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski teaches the remote operation system according to claim 1. The combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski further teaches, wherein the image processing apparatus on the list that may not be remotely operated due to being in a state in which remote operation settings are not valid (Schlonski: par. 0041, “If the repeated code is not detected from the printer within a predetermined period of time, this is an indication that the printer is not properly functional.”; figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski teaches the remote operation system according to claim 1. The combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski further teaches, wherein the image processing apparatus on the list that may not be remotely operated due to being in a state in which the image processing apparatus is being remotely operated by another user (Schlonski: par. 0041, “If the repeated code is not detected from the printer within a predetermined period of time, this is an indication that the printer is not properly functional.”; figs. 4-5.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeno (“Ikeno,” US 8,326,161) in view of Hattori (“Hattori, US 9,131,087), and Schlonski et al. (“Schlonski ,” US 2002/0196463), further in view of Tonegawa (“Tonegawa,” US 9,756,216)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski teaches the remote operation system according to claim 1. The combination of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski teaches authentication for access forming apparatus via management but does not explicitly disclose wherein the physical authentication is integrated circuit (IC) card authentication or biometric authentication.
However, in an analogous art, Tonegawa teaches wherein the physical authentication is integrated circuit (IC) card authentication or biometric authentication (Tonegawa: Col. 4 lines 62-64; "card authentication"; Col. 4, limes 9-12, A card reader I/F 218 connects a card reader 223 with the control unit 210. The card reader 223 reads a user ID recorded in a mobile recording medium (IC card), and then inputs it into the control unit 210."; Col. 4, line 62 to Col. 5, line 1, "When the card authentication is performed... the user ID read from the IC card is transmitted to the authentication server 102... If they correspond to each other, the authentication 'OK' is notified to the MFP 101.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tonegawa with the method and system of Ikeno, Hattori, and Schlonski to include wherein the physical authentication is integrated circuit (IC) card authentication or biometric authentication. One would have been motivated to provide security because a person holds the IC card certifies that the person is the user" (Tonegawa: Col. 5, lines 5-6).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeno (“Ikeno,” US 8,326,161) in view of Hattori (“Hattori, US 9,131,087), and Tonegawa (“Tonegawa,” US 9,756,216), and further in view of Schlonski et al. (“Schlonski ,” US 2002/0196463).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeno teaches an image processing apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 47-51, Aspects of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus (or devices such as a CPU or MPU) that reads out and executes a program recorded on a memory device to perform the functions of the above-described embodiment (s)); claim 1; fig. 2); and
at least one memory (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 47-51, Aspects of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus (or devices such as a CPU or MPU) that reads out and executes a program recorded on a memory device to perform the functions of the above-described embodiment (s)); Claim 1, fig. 2) storing instructions causing the at least one processor to cause the image processing apparatus to:
receive a remote operation request via a network (Ikeno: keno: Col. 1, lines 36-41, "However, in the image forming apparatus provided with multiple functions, even when the image forming apparatus enters the service mode via an operation panel and is in a dedicated menu state to maintenance/repair, a printing job can be received whenever necessary via a network."; Col. 12, lines 36-40, "the management server transfers information... to the image forming apparatus (for local test printing) and a terminal (for remote test printing) of the service engineer"; Col. 12, lines 41-43, "when the service engineer executes a job... the management server performs an authentication operation");
determine whether or not a classification of a user account that is included in the remote operation request is a designated account (Ikeno: Col. 1, lines 8-12; "The present invention relates to an image forming apparatus configured to be switchable between operation modes including a normal mode for performing processing such as receiving a job from a general user and a service mode for receiving a work by a service engineer."; Col. 12, lines 36-40; "the management server transfers information for the authentication (a job ticket or the like) to the image forming apparatus (for local test printing) and a terminal (for remote test printing) of the service engineer recognized by the management server."; Col. 12, lines 16-19, , "the MFP 101 is in a state in which only a job of the service engineer can be received via the authentication"); and
authorize the remote operation request without the physical authentication being performed when the classification of the user account is determined to be the designated account (Ikeno: Col. 2, lines 44-49, Claim 1; "when the image forming apparatus exits the service mode in response to the receiving unit receiving the operation to exit the service mode before the work related maintenance ends, processing of the job is performed if authentication based on the authentication information generated by the generation unit is successful."; Col. 12, lines 36-40, Service engineer operates from a terminal (for remote test printing); Col, 12, lines 37-43, the management server performs an authentication operation on a service engineer recognized by the management server),
wherein when a login authentication to a coordinating service connecting to the image processing apparatus and a client personal computer (client PC) configured to transmit the remote operation request is succeeded (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 36-49 ; "the management server transfers information for the authentication (a job ticket or the like) to the image forming apparatus (for local test printing) and a terminal (for remote test printing) of the service engineer recognized by the management server."; Col. 12, lines 41-42; "Next, when the service engineer executes a job using the authentication information, the management server performs an authentication operation."; Col. 12, lines 33-35, "by selecting a menu for starting a work to be performed by the service engineer, the image forming apparatus is switched to the authentication mode in which the authentication is carried out by the management server."; Col. 12, lines 12-41,"Next, when the service engineer executes a job using the authentication information, the management server performs an authentication operation."; Col. 2, lines 47-49, processing of the job is performed if authentication based on the authentication information generated by generation unit is successful),
Ikeno teaches wherein when a login authentication to a coordinating service connecting to the image processing apparatus and a client PC that transmits the remote operation request is succeeded (Ikeno: Col. 12, lines 33-35, Col. 12, lines 28-41, Col. 2, lines 47-49) as recited above but does not explicitly disclose a list of the image processing apparatus managed by the coordinating service is displayed on the client PC.
However, in an analogous art, Hattori teaches discloses a list of the image processing apparatus managed by the coordinating service is displayed on the client PC (Hatttori: Col. 1, lines 52-56, The print manager service providing apparatus may be configured to provide a list of candidate printers through a network to a print manager service client agent operating on a terminal apparatus in the network environment."; Col. 14, lines 46-49, "FIG. 8B shows a screenshot of a printer list menu provided to a user (e.g. User A) in the network environment who uses the services provided by the printers in the network environment, for example, at the terminal 103"; Col. 14, lines 50-52, "the number of printers shown is different from that of FIG. 8A, because User A is unable to access or has not installed some of the printers registered in the network environment").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hattori with the method and system of Ikeno to include a list of the image processing apparatus managed by the coordinating service is displayed on the client PC. One would have been motivated to provide an improved approach for IT administrators to manage print services provided in a network environment." (Hattori: Col. 1, lines 42-44).
Ikeno and Hattori do not explicitly disclose perform physical authentication at the time of a login;
However, in an analogous art, Tonegawa discloses perform physical authentication at the time of a login (Tonegawa: Col. 4 lines 62-64; "card authentication"; Col. 4, limes 9-12, A card reader I/F 218 connects a card reader 223 with the control unit 210. The card reader 223 reads a user ID recorded in a mobile recording medium (IC card), and then inputs it into the control unit 210."; "integrated circuit (IC) card authentication”; Col. 4, line 62 to Col. 5, line 1, "When the card authentication is performed... the user ID read from the IC card is transmitted to the authentication server 102... If they correspond to each other, the authentication 'OK' is notified to the MFP 101.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tonegawa with the method and system of Ikeno and Hattori to include wherein the physical authentication is integrated circuit (IC) card authentication or biometric authentication. One would have been motivated to provide security because a person holds the IC card certifies that the person is the user" (Tonegawa: Col. 5, lines 5-6).
Ikeno, Hattori, and Tonegawa do not explicitly disclose wherein the list distinguishes between an image processing apparatus that may be remotely operated and an image processing apparatus that may not be remotely operated.
However, in an analogous art, Schlonski discloses
wherein the list distinguishes between an image processing apparatus that may be remotely operated and an image processing apparatus that may not be remotely operated (Schlonski: par. 0042, the status of any queues on the server can be remotely queried (step 812). As needed, another printer can be selected (step 814). Then, the results of the pinging of the printer and the associated server are compiled and displayed (step 816); par. 0043, .. the results of the pinging of each printer and its associated server, which populates a database through known means, is displayed in a list; FIGS. 4 and 5 are, respectively, screen views of a printer or a set of printers on a network or subnetwork; par. 0033, FIG. 4 shows a screen representing information about all discovered printers on a particular network.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schlonski with the method and system of Ikeno, Hattori, and Tonegawa to include “wherein the list distinguishes between an image processing apparatus that may be remotely operated and an image processing apparatus that may not be remotely operated.” One would have been motivated to provide substantially simultaneous “views” of printers and queues in servers, problems within a large network can be readily isolated (Schlonski: abstract: pars. 0011-0012).
Conclusion
/Canh Le/
Examiner, Art Unit 2439
April 28th, 2026
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439