DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 (similarly in Claim 19 & 20), the applicant recites “wherein, in a process of inserting the oil pipe into the rotating shaft body from either of the first hole and the second hole, the oil pipe is configured to form an interference fit with the one used as a non-inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole first, and then to form an interference fit with the other one used as an inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole.” The claim appears to be mainly regarded to an apparatus (motor rotating shaft). Then the claim recites a method step (process of inserting). Is the claim regarded to an apparatus or a method step? The scope appears to be unclear.
Moreover, the applicant recites “wherein, in a process of inserting the oil pipe into the rotating shaft body from either of the first hole and the second hole, the oil pipe is configured to form an interference fit with the one used as a non-inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole first, and then to form an interference fit with the other one used as an inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole”. The inserting of the oil pipe appears optional as “either the first hole or second hole”. Moreover, the non-inserting hole is also unclear if the inserting hole appears optional to either the first or second hole. What is the inserting hole and what is the non-inserting hole?
Therefore, the claim is vague and indefinite.
Claims 2-18 are rejected based on the dependency from Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Long (US 2025/0112524).
Regarding Claim 1, Long discloses a) a motor rotating shaft, comprising:
b) a rotating shaft body [70], having a cavity [“cavity” of 94, 114, 106 & 124], a first hole [94] and a second hole [114], wherein the first hole [94] and the second hole [114] are both in communication with the cavity [“cavity” of 94, 114, 106 & 124] (FIG. 3-3A); and
c) an oil pipe [84], inside the rotating shaft body [70], the oil pipe [84] and the rotating shaft body [70] both having through holes [inlet hole for 86, holes for 114 for oil circulate through 106] for leading cooling liquid in the oil pipe out of the rotating shaft body [70] (FIG. 3-3A, 4 & 7-9, [0040]; To reduce heat-related wear on the components of the drive motor 32, the drive motor 32 is provided with a cooling circuit that distributes coolant (e.g., liquid oil) throughout the drive motor 32. This disclosure pertains to cooling the rotor 62, and the following discussion details aspects of the disclosed rotor cooling arrangement);
d) wherein, in a process of inserting [by 88] the oil pipe [84] into the rotating shaft body [70] from either of the first hole and the second hole, the oil pipe [84] is configured to form an interference fit with the one used as a non-inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole first, and then to form an interference fit with the other one used as an inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole (FIG. 3-3A, [0047]; in one example implementation of a rotor cooling circuit 80 the coolant is delivered from a coolant tank or other source 82 through one or more plumbing lines 84 (via a suitable coupler, not shown) to an inlet opening 86 of a fitting 88 that may be coupled to or integrated with the drive motor casing 52).
Regarding Claim 2, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 1, wherein, the oil pipe [84] has a first fitting surface [left side of the oil pipe 84 by 114] and a second fitting surface [right side of the oil pipe by 114] (FIG. 3-3A, ¶ [0043]);
the first fitting surface [left side of the oil pipe 84 by 114] is used for being in an interference fit with the first hole [84], and the second fitting surface [right side of the oil pipe by 114] is used for being in an interference fit with the second hole (FIG. 3-3A, [0043]; in one example implementation of a rotor cooling circuit 80 the coolant is delivered from a coolant tank or other source 82 through one or more plumbing lines 84 (via a suitable coupler, not shown) to an inlet opening 86 of a fitting 88 that may be coupled to or integrated with the drive motor casing 52);
the first hole [94] is used as the inserting hole, an outer diameter of the second fitting surface [the surface of the right side of the oil pie is shows smaller] is smaller than an outer diameter of the first fitting surface (FIG. 3-3A); OR.
Regarding Claim 3, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 2 [see rejected Claim 2], wherein, the oil pipe has a first oil pipe segment [left side of 84 by 114 as a reference] and a second oil pipe segment [right side of 84 by 114 as a reference] with unequal diameters in an axial direction [both diameters are unequal], and the first fitting surface is a circumferential outer surface of the first oil pipe segment, and the second fitting surface is a circumferential outer surface of the second oil pipe segment (FIG. 3A and also refer to rejected Claim 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 3 [see rejected Claim 3], wherein, the first hole is used as the inserting hole, a length of a contact surface between the second fitting surface and the second hole extending in the axial direction is larger than a length of a contact surface between the first fitting surface and the first hole extending in the axial direction (FIG. 3 shows right side of the oil pipe using the first hole and second hole as reference” as “larger length”); OR
Regarding Claim 5, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein, the rotating shaft body is of an integrated structure (¶ [0043]; in one example implementation of a rotor cooling circuit 80 the coolant is delivered from a coolant tank or other source 82 through one or more plumbing lines 84 (via a suitable coupler, not shown) to an inlet opening 86 of a fitting 88 that may be coupled to or integrated with the drive motor casing 52).
Regarding Claim 6, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein, the rotating shaft body is of a split structure (¶ [0043]; in one example implementation of a rotor cooling circuit 80 the coolant is delivered from a coolant tank or other source 82 through one or more plumbing lines 84 (via a suitable coupler, not shown) to an inlet opening 86 of a fitting 88 that may be coupled to or integrated with the drive motor casing 52).
Regarding Claim 7, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 6 [see rejected Claim 6], wherein, the rotating shaft body [70] comprises a main body portion [132] and a shaft head portion [90], the second hole [114] is in the shaft head portion [132], and the shaft head portion is detachably [by 88] connected with the main body portion [132] (FIG. 3A).
Regarding Claim 8, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein:
the through holes comprise a first through hole and a second through hole (FIG. 4 shows several 114s, ¶ [0045]);
the first through hole [one of 114] is in a wall of the rotating shaft body for enabling the cavity to communicate with an outside [through one of 116] of the rotating shaft body (FIG. 4, ¶ [0045]); and
the second through hole [one of 114] is in a wall of the oil pipe for enabling an interior of the oil pipe to communicate with the cavity [through one of 116] (FIG. 4, ¶ [0045]).
Regarding Claim 9, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 8 [see rejected Claim 8], wherein:
the first through holes comprise a plurality of first through holes and the plurality of first through holes comprise a first sub-through hole and a second sub-through hole (FIG. 4 shows several “through holes” 114);
the rotating shaft body [70] is provided with a mounting portion [130] for mounting a rotor core [52], and the first sub-through hole and the second sub-through hole [114] are formed in the mounting portion at intervals in an axial direction of the rotating shaft body (FIG. 2-3A); and
in the axial direction of the rotating shaft body [70], the second through hole is between the first sub-through hole and the second sub-through hole (FIG. 4 shows several 114 and some are between each other).
Regarding Claim 10, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 9 [see rejected Claim 9], wherein:
in the axial direction of the rotating shaft body, a distance between the second through hole and the first sub-through hole is a first distance, a distance between the second through hole and the second sub-through hole is a second distance, and the first distance is equal to the second distance (FIG. 4 shows several 190 between each other and the same distance).
Regarding Claim 11, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 10, wherein:
the second through holes comprise a plurality of second through holes, and the plurality of second through holes are arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the oil pipe, and in the axial direction of the oil pipe, the plurality of second through holes are the same in position (FIG. 4 shows several 190 between each other and arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction).
Regarding Claim 12, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 9 [see rejected Claim 9], wherein:
the first sub-through holes comprise a plurality of first sub-through holes, the plurality of first sub-through holes are arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the rotating shaft body, and in the axial direction of the rotating shaft body, and the plurality of first sub-through holes are the same in position (FIG. 4 shows several 190 between each other and arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction).
Regarding Claim 13, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 9, wherein:
the second sub-through holes comprise a plurality of second sub-through holes, the plurality of second sub-through holes are arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the rotating shaft body, and in the axial direction of the rotating shaft body, and the plurality of second sub-through holes are the same in position (FIG. 4 shows several 190 between each other and arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction).
Regarding Claim 14, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], further comprising a plug [97], wherein the plug [97] is at a part of an interior of the second hole away from the cavity [“cavity” of 94, 114, 106 & 124] (FIG. 3A), OR.
Regarding Claim 15, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 14 [see rejected Claim 14], wherein, a threaded hole is on a side of the plug away from the cavity (¶ [0045]; Like the inlet feed passage 94, these outlet passages 124 may be machined into the rotor shaft 70 using a boring or drilling process followed by closing of the axial outer ends thereof of a suitable plug or cap 126, such as shown in FIG. 6 , that may be threaded, press-fit, or otherwise coupled to the rotor shaft 70).
Regarding Claim 16, Long discloses the motor rotating shaft according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein, a mounting surface [102s] for mounting a rotor core [“core” of 70] is on an outer surface of the rotating shaft body [70] (FIG. 9);
a cut-through keyway [104s] is on the mounting surface [102s] in an axial direction of the rotating shaft body [70] (FIG. 9); and
a V-shaped opening [108] is at one end of the keyway [104s], and an opening direction of the V-shaped opening [108 is shown as a ”V-shape opening ] faces a side away from the keyway [104s] (FIG. 9).
Regarding Claim 17, Long discloses an assembly method of a motor rotating shaft, applied to the motor rotating shaft according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], and comprising:
providing the rotating shaft body [70] (FIG. 3A);
providing the oil pipe [84] (FIG. 3A); and
obtaining the motor rotating shaft by inserting and mounting the oil pipe into the rotating shaft body, wherein, through hole of the oil pipe and through hole in the rotating shaft body all communicate with the cavity (as shown in FIG. 3A).
Regarding Claim 18, Long discloses the assembly method according to claim 17 [see rejected Claim 17], wherein, the motor rotating shaft further comprises a plug, and the method further comprises: inserting the plug into the first hole or the second hole in a direction close to the cavity (refer to rejected Claim 14 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Long discloses a motor [FIG. 2, ¶ [0039]; The rotor shaft 70 may be supported for rotation relative to the drive motor casing 52 by one or more bearings (e.g., roller bearing assemblies, not shown) mounted proximate each axial end of the drive motor 32.], comprising a motor rotating shaft (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “a”), wherein, the motor rotating shaft comprises:
a rotating shaft body, having a cavity, a first hole and a second hole, wherein the first hole and the second hole are both in communication with the cavity (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “b”); and
an oil pipe, inside the rotating shaft body, the oil pipe and the rotating shaft body both having through holes for leading cooling liquid in the oil pipe out of the rotating shaft body (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “c”);
wherein, in a process of inserting the oil pipe into the rotating shaft body from either of the first hole and the second hole, the oil pipe is configured to form an interference fit with the one used as a non-inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole first, and then to form an interference fit with the other one used as an inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “d”).
Regarding Claim 20, Long discloses a vehicle [10] (FIG. 1, Abstract), comprising
a motor [52] (refer to rejected Claim 19 above) comprising a motor rotating shaft (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “a”), wherein, the motor rotating shaft comprises:
a rotating shaft body, having a cavity, a first hole and a second hole, wherein the first hole and the second hole are both in communication with the cavity (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “b”); and
an oil pipe, inside the rotating shaft body, the oil pipe and the rotating shaft body both having through holes for leading cooling liquid in the oil pipe out of the rotating shaft body (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “c”);
wherein, in a process of inserting the oil pipe into the rotating shaft body from either of the first hole and the second hole, the oil pipe is configured to form an interference fit with the one used as a non-inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole first, and then to form an interference fit with the other one used as an inserting hole in the first hole and the second hole (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “d”).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834