DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kinzer et al. (US 2017/0222644 and Kinzer hereinafter)
Regarding claim 16, Kinzer discloses an integrated circuit [see fig. 3B] comprising: a bi-directional switch [Q5/Q6] coupled between a first terminal [A] and a second terminal [B], the bi-directional switch having a switch control terminal [control terminal connected to G1]; a driver circuit [G1] having a power terminal [power terminal G1 ], a reference terminal [terminal connected to C1 and lower G1] and a driver output [G1 output connected to gate Q5/Q6], the driver output coupled to the switch control terminal; and a bias circuit [Q7, D1, D2 and Q8] coupled between the first terminal [A] and the second terminal [B], the bias circuit having configurable to set a voltage [set a voltage at node between D1 and d2 through C1] of the reference terminal through a direct current (DC) path [path from Q7 (is active bias setting transistor) through D1 (allow DC current to pass from Q7 toward the reference terminal) and C1 (receives the DC bias and charges set by Q7)], wherein the bi-directional switch and the bias circuit are on a semiconductor die [par. 0038].
Regarding claim 17, Kinzer discloses [see fig. 3B] wherein the bias circuit comprises: a first transistor [Q7] coupled between the first terminal and a bias output [output connected to node between D1 and D2] coupled to the reference terminal, the first transistor having a first control terminal [control terminal Q7] coupled to the driver output; and a second transistor [Q8] coupled between the bias output and the second terminal, the second transistor having a second control terminal [control terminal Q8] coupled to the driver output, the first and second transistors configurable to set the bias voltage at the bias output and the reference terminal.
Regarding claim 20, Kinzer discloses an integrated circuit [see fig. 3B] comprising: a driver circuit [G1] for driving a bidirectional switch [Q5/Q6] between a first terminal [A] and second terminal [B], the driver circuit having a reference terminal [terminal connected to node between through C1 and lower G1] and a driver [output G1 output connected to gate Q5/Q6]; and a bias circuit [Q7, D1, D2 and Q8] including a first circuit [Q7 and D1] coupled between the first terminal and the reference terminal and a second circuit [Q8 and D2] coupled between the reference terminal and the second terminal, wherein the first circuit and the second circuit are configurable to connect the reference terminal to the first terminal to set a bias voltage [a voltage at the reference terminal through a direct current (DC) path [path from Q7 (Q7 is active bias setting transistor) through D1 (D1 allow DC current to pass from Q7 toward the reference terminal) and C1 (receives the DC bias charges set by Q7)] responsive to the first terminal having a lower voltage level than the second terminal [par. 0042-0055].
Regarding claim 21, Kinzer discloses an integrated circuit [see fig. 3B] wherein the first circuit includes a first transistor [Q7] or a first diode [D1], and the second circuit includes a second transistor [Q8] or a second diode [D2].
Regarding claim 22, Kinzer discloses an integrated circuit [see fig. 3B] wherein each of the first circuit and the second circuit has a respective control terminal [control terminal Q7 and Q8] coupled to the driver output [via driver G1 when switches Q7 and Q8 are closed].
Regarding claim 23, Kinzer discloses an integrated circuit [see fig. 3B] comprising: a driver circuit [G1] having a reference terminal [terminal connected to C1] and a driver output [G1 output]; and a bias circuit [Q7, D1, D2 and Q8] coupled between a first terminal [A] and a second terminal [B], the bias circuit includes a first switch [Q7] coupled between the first terminal and a bias output [output from node between D1 and D2] and a second switch [Q8] coupled between the bias output and the second terminal, the bias output coupled to the reference terminal to set a bias voltage at the reference terminal through a direct current (DC) path [path from Q7 (Q7 is active bias setting transistor) through D1 (D1 allow DC current to pass from Q7 toward the reference terminal) and C1 (receives the DC bias charges set by Q7)], wherein each of the first switch and the second switch has a respective control terminal [control terminal Q7 and Q8] coupled to the driver output [via driver G1 when switches Q7 and Q8 are closed], or each of the first switch and the second switch has a respective diode [D1 and D2] or a diode-connected transistor.
Regarding claim 24, Kinzer discloses an integrated circuit [see fig. 3B] comprising: a bidirectional switch [Q5/Q6] coupled between a first terminal [drain terminal Q5/A], a second terminal [drain terminal Q6/B], and a common source [common source Q5/Q6] of the bidirectional switch; a driver circuit [driver G1] having a reference terminal [terminal connected to C1] and a driver output [output G1], the reference terminal being electrically isolated from the common source [when output G1 low and Q5 and Q6 are off]; and a bias circuit [Q7, D1, D2 and Q8] coupled between the first terminal and the second terminal, the bias circuit includes a first switch [Q7] coupled between the first terminal and a bias output [output at node between D1 and D2] and a second switch [Q8] coupled between the bias output and the second terminal, wherein the bias output is coupled to the references terminal of the driver circuit, and wherein each of the first switch and the second switch has a respective control terminal [control terminal Q7 and Q8] coupled to the driver output, or each of the first switch and the second switch has a respective diode [D1 and D2] or a diode-connected transistor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 2, 5, 7, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzer et al in view of Veliadis (US 2011/0121883).
Regarding claim 1, Kinzer discloses an integrated circuit [see fig. 3B] comprising: a driver circuit [G1] having a driver input [terminal C], a driver output [G1 output connected to gate Q5/Q6], a power terminal [terminal connected to node between D1 and D2], and a reference terminal [terminal connected to C1]; and a bias circuit [Q7, D1, D2 and Q8] having a first terminal [terminal connected to terminal A], a second terminal [terminal connected to terminal B], a bias control terminal [control terminal to terminals E and F], and a bias output [output at node between D1 and D2], the bias output coupled to the reference terminal to provide, through a direct current (DC) path, a bias voltage to the reference terminal [path from Q7 (Q7 is active bias setting transistor) through D1 (D1 allow DC current to pass from Q7 toward the reference terminal) and C1 (receives the DC bias charges set by Q7)], the bias circuit including a first transistor [Q7] coupled between the first terminal and the bias output and a second transistor [Q8] coupled between the bias output and the second terminal, the first transistor having a first control terminal [terminal E], and the second transistor having a second control terminal [terminal F], wherein the first control terminal and the second control terminal are coupled to the bias control terminal. Kinzer does not explicitly disclose the first and second control terminals receive a same control signal from the bias control terminal.
However, Veliadis discloses [see fig. 6] a first transistor [210] and second transistor [220] control terminals [G] receive a same control signal [VG] from the bias control terminal [230]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kinzer by incorporating bias control terminal as taught in Veliadis in order to operate with low conduction losses, low switching losses, high frequency, and small physical size [par. 0030] and using a shared control signal for a bias circuit transistor is well known to ensure operation and stable biasing in bidirectional power switch circuits.
Regarding claim 2, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses [see fig. 3B] wherein the bias control terminal is electrically coupled to the driver output.
Regarding claim 5, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses [see fig. 3B] further comprising a bi-directional switch [Q5/Q6] coupled between the first terminal [A] and the second terminal [B], the bi-directional switch having a bi-directional switch control terminal [control terminal of Q5 and Q6] coupled to the driver output.
Regarding claim 7, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses [see fig. 3B] wherein the bi-directional switch includes: a single gate [gate to G1] structure coupled to the bi-directional switch control terminal; a first switch terminal [D terminal of Q5] coupled to the first terminal; and a second switch terminal [D terminal of Q6] coupled to the second terminal.
Regarding claim 8, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses [see fig. 3B] the bi-directional switch includes a third transistor [Q5] and a fourth transistor [Q6] serially connected between the first terminal and the second terminal; and the bi-directional switch control terminal is coupled to both a third control terminal [control terminal connected to G1] of the third transistor and a fourth control terminal of the fourth transistor.
Regarding claim 11, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses [see fig. 3B] wherein the bias circuit and the bi-directional switch are in a same semiconductor die [par. 0038].
Regarding claim 15, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses [see fig. 6 wherein the bias control terminal is coupled to the bias output.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzer et al. in view of Veliadis further in view of Ellis et al. (US 2024/0195295 and Ellis hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses all the features with respect to claim 2 as indicated above. Kinzer in view of Veliadis does not disclose further comprising a resistor coupling the bias control terminal to the driver output.
However, Ellis discloses [see fig. 3] a resistor [R2] coupling a bias control terminal [Mboot control terminal] to a driver output [output coupled to gate M]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kinzer in view of Veliadis by incorporating resistor as taught in Ellis in order to utilize high impedance elements that act to bias voltage in steady-state [par. 0054].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzer et al. in view of Veliadis further in view of Draxelmayr et al. (US 8558584 and Draxelmayr hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses all the features with respect to claim 2 as indicated above. Kinzer in view of Veliadis does not disclose further comprising a voltage source coupled between the bias output of the bias circuit and the power terminal of the driver circuit.
However, Draxelmayr discloses [fig. 5] a voltage source [Vs1] coupled between a bias output [Vin] and power terminal [P1/P2] of a driver circuit [502]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kinzer in view of Veliadis by incorporating a voltage source as taught in Draxelmayr in order to utilize the power supply voltage.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzer et al. in view of Veliadis further in view of Imam et al. (US 2019/0326280 and Imam hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses all the features with respect to claim 5 as indicated above. Kinzer in view of Veliadis does not disclose wherein the bi-directional switch includes at least one high electron mobility transistor (HEMT).
However, Imam discloses [par. 0039] wherein bi-directional switch includes at least one high electron mobility transistor (HEMT). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kinzer in view of Veliadis by incorporating high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) in order to utilize a well-known, art-recognized functionally equivalent transistor device.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzer et al. in view of Veliadis.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Kinzer in view of Veliadis discloses all the features with respect to claim 8 as indicated above. Kinzer in view of Veliadis does not disclose wherein a first width ratio between the third transistor and the first transistor matches a second width ratio between the fourth transistor and the second transistor, wherein the first width ratio is greater than 100. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have used the claimed range since such a dimension, absent any criticality (i.e. unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), is generally achievable through routine optimization/experimentation, and since discovering the optimum or workable dimension, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, involves only routing skill in the art, In re Alter, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e. unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the parameter set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzer et al. in view of Ellis et al. (US 2024/0195295 and Ellis hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, Kinzer discloses all the features with respect to claim 17 as indicated above. Kinzer does not disclose wherein the first control terminal and the second control terminal are electrically coupled to the driver output through a delay circuit.
However, Ellis discloses [see fig. 3, par. 0051] a control terminal [Mboot control terminal] is electrically coupled to the driver output through a delay circuit [RC]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kinzer by incorporating delay circuit as taught in Ellis in order to utilize well known delay circuit [par. 0051].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 16, 20, 23 and 24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Kinzer fails to teach “the bias circuit configurable to set a voltage of the reference terminal”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kinzer discloses a bias generating circuit [Q7, D1, D2 and Q8] that provides a DC bias to a floating node [node between C1 and lower G1] used by the gate drive circuit [G1]. This floating node corresponds to the claimed reference terminal, and Kinzer bias circuit sets its voltage through a current path [ path from Q7 (Q7 is active bias setting transistor) through D1 (D1 allow DC current to pass from Q7 toward the reference terminal) and C1 (receives the DC bias charges set by Q7)].
Regarding claim 1, In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the combination of Kinzer and Veliadis would suggest that any person ordinary skill in the art would applying a common gate signal to multiple transistors with the Kinzer bias circuit is predictable. Using a shared control signal for a bias circuit transistor is well known to ensure operation and stable biasing in bidirectional power switch circuits.
Conclusion
/METASEBIA T RETEBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836