DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 have been amended.
This office action is in response to the amendment submitted on 14-APR-2026.
Response to Arguments – 35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejections have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection provided below.
Examiner’s Note (EN)
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendert et al. (US20240338184A1 – Prior art of record) in view of Hulick et al. (US20250265346A1 – Prior art of record) and further in view of He et al. (Automating Dependency Updates in Practice – Prior art of record not previously relied on)
Regarding Claim 1, Bendert teaches A computer-implemented method for proactive dependency management in software development projects, the computer-implemented method comprising: initiating a dependency scan within a version-controlled repository of a software development project of the software development projects to identify and list project dependencies at predetermined intervals ([0012-0016] "Disclosed in some examples are methods, systems, devices, and machine-readable mediums for a dependency tracking service that automatically identifies and tracks information about dependencies of a software component and provides one or more visualizations displaying that information. The system may identify the dependencies through automated metadata analysis of the software component, behavior analysis of the software component, or source code analysis of the software component. The system may track status of the software component by reference to one or more code management systems, vulnerability reporting systems, or the like. Dependency status may be determined based upon one or more of whether a new version is released, whether a vulnerability exists, whether the dependency is end-of-life, or the like. In some examples, the system may additionally provide recommendations regarding the dependencies. For example, a recommendation to switch to a different dependency based upon a trend in other software components to switch to the dependency, a better performance, or the like. The status may be tracked periodically, via an event-driven architecture, for example. The system may then provide one or more GUIs that provide a visualization of the dependencies and their statuses, among other information. … Dependency identification components may scan the software component periodically or based upon a specified event. Specified events include a request from a user (e.g., on-demand), a change in the software component, a notification of a change in a dependency, or the like. … In some examples, an event driven architecture may be used to automatically track status changes in dependencies. For example, a software code repository, a project website, a developer website, or a vulnerability reporting service or the like may send a notification to the dependency tracking service when a dependency status changes. Example status changes include new versions, newly identified vulnerabilities, and the like. In other examples, other methods of identifying changes in dependency status may be utilized, such as using a request/response model, scraping or otherwise interfacing with a software code repository, project website, developer website, vulnerability reporting service, analysis of release notes of a most recent version, and the like. For vulnerabilities, a vulnerability reporting service may notify the dependency tracking system of vulnerabilities. In these examples the dependency tracking system may subscribe to the dependency tracking system for a dependency and may be notified when a vulnerability is identified in that dependency. In other examples, the dependency tracking system may periodically poll the vulnerability system." and [0020] "FIG. 1 illustrates a software dependency tracking environment 100 of some examples of the present disclosure. Developer computing device 125 and one or more computing services may communicate over a network 135. Network 135 may be a local network, such as a Local Area Network (LAN), a network that spans a wider area such as a Wide Area Network (WAN), the Internet, an Intranet, or the like. Code repository service 130 may be a service that implements software source code control, such as storage and backup of software code; version management; access management; software defect management; software component code building services; and the like" [0030] "Dependency management service may also include a dependency tracker component 212. Dependency tracker component 212 may register for updates to each of the dependencies identified by the determiner identifier component with a code repository service (such as code repository service 130) or other service").
conducting a health analysis for the project dependencies listed by accessing and utilizing data from a plurality of vulnerabilities databases, the health analysis uncovering current security vulnerabilities and assessing a frequency and recency of maintenance updates of the project dependencies ([0016] "The dependency tracking system may create one or more health indicators for each dependency based upon the dependency status information. For example, a health indicator may be binary—that is the dependency is healthy or not, tri-nary (e.g., not healthy, healthy, or of intermediate health), or the like. In these examples, the health indicator may be determined based upon one or more specified rules. For example, a healthy indicator may be assigned to a dependency when the dependency version used by the software component is up-to-date with no known vulnerabilities. An unhealthy or intermediate indicator may be assigned when one or both of the dependency of the software component is not up-to-date, or has vulnerabilities. In some examples, multiple health indicators may be combined to produce an overall dependency health indicator for the software component. By rolling up the health of dependencies, one-by-one, the health of the software component's dependencies may be assessed and displayed." [0030] "In addition, the dependency tracker component 212 may determine whether any vulnerabilities exist to one or more of the versions of the dependency. For example, by registering for vulnerability or defect notices from a defect management system (such as defect management system 110). In some examples, rather than receive push notifications from the defect management service and/or the code repository service, the dependency tracker component 212 may periodically poll these services" [0023] "In addition, dependency management service 115 may interface with a vulnerability reporting component to determine one or more vulnerabilities that are reported for one or more of the dependencies tracked by the dependency management service 115. Defect management service 110 may be a service where developers, such as developer computing device 125 report and manage defects in their software components or may be a database where vulnerabilities are reported and/or stored, such as a Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures system" and [0012] "The system may track status of the software component by reference to one or more code management systems, vulnerability reporting systems, or the like. Dependency status may be determined based upon one or more of whether a new version is released, whether a vulnerability exists, whether the dependency is end-of-life, or the like")
applying, based on the conducting of the health analysis, a multifaceted criteria matrix to the project dependencies to isolate at-risk dependencies of the project dependencies, wherein the at-risk dependencies exhibit indicators of a potential risk, and the indicators of the potential risk include known security vulnerabilities and 216 may calculate one or more status indicators for one or more of the dependencies identified by the dependency determiner component 210 based upon the status information retrieved by the dependency tracker component 212. For example, based upon whether a new version of the dependency exists, whether a vulnerability has been reported for the version used by the software component, or the like. Status may be a binary status where one binary value means that the dependency is good and another value means the dependency is bad. Good may be indicated, for example, when the dependency is one or more of: up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. Bad may be indicated, for example, when the dependency is not one or more of: up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. Status indicators may be a score, based upon a specified formula that considers the above factors. In some examples, the status may include a testing status of a current version of the dependency. For example, if the software component was tested with the current version. In examples in which the status indicators are a score, points may be assigned based upon whether the dependency is up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. In some examples, for the version points, different points may be added (or subtracted) from the score based upon how close the utilized and/or tested version is to the current version. For example, if the software component has incorporated and/or tested version 1.6 of a dependency, but a version 2.1 is the latest version, fewer points may be given to the software component than if it had incorporated and/or tested version 1.9 of the dependency. In some examples, the status indicator may be converted to a percentage of the total points possible." [0039-0040] "A trend graph 310 shows a number of dependencies of the software component over time. A dependency status table 315 shows each dependency and a status score in the form of a percentage. Each dependency may be selectable and when selected the information about the dependency (current version; newest available version; vulnerabilities; and the like) may be displayed. In some examples, each dependency may have its box colored based upon the score. For example, a red box means a low score, a vulnerability, an updated version is available or the like; a green box may mean that the software component is using the current version, the dependency does not have a current vulnerability, or the like. As disclosed, vulnerabilities of a dependency may factor into the status score, color of the dependency as displayed in a dashboard, and the like. In some examples, the severity of the vulnerability may also factor into the score, color of the dependency, and the like. A high severity vulnerability may color the dependency red in the dashboard, whereas a medium severity may cause a yellow color, and a low severity may allow the box to stay green." Also see [0016] for the health indicators)
aggregating based on the analyzing, a set of alternative dependencies for the at-risk dependencies to identify commonly adopted replacements for the at-risk dependencies; and evaluating the set of alternative dependencies for compatibility with a technology stack of the software development projects and adherence to security and maintenance standards ([0012] " In some examples, the system may additionally provide recommendations regarding the dependencies. For example, a recommendation to switch to a different dependency based upon a trend in other software components to switch to the dependency, a better performance, or the like." [0035-0036] "In some examples, the dependency status and recommendation component 216 may provide one or more recommendations for managing the dependencies. For example, by suggesting better dependencies. Trends in dependency usages across a plurality of software components managed by the dependency management service may be analyzed to find patterns where a number of software components utilizing a first dependency declines, and a number of software components utilizing a second dependency rises. In these examples, the system may recommend moving from the first to the second dependency. In some examples, in addition to simply matching the increase in usage of the first dependency to the decrease in usage of the second dependency, the function of the dependency may be determined (e.g., using manual input, or via machine-learning) and a second dependency may be recommended only if it is a similar function to the first dependency. In other examples, the second dependency may be recommended if it performs a same function and it has fewer known vulnerabilities, as determined by a defect management service 110. In some examples, the system may automatically test replacement dependencies. For example, by scanning the software component code and replacing calls to a first dependency with calls to a second dependency, e.g., by using an AI such as a large language model. The system may automatically run one or more tests of the modified software component to determine whether it works properly (e.g., whether it has additional defects over known defects with the first dependency), and whether the performance is better, worse, or unchanged. The system may report the results to the user" [0054] "In some examples, the machine-learning model may be used to scan the software component code to determine new frameworks or software components as dependencies (e.g., as a replacement for other dependencies). For example, the AI may replace a first dependency with a second dependency in the software component and may automatically test the software component to determine whether it works properly (e.g., whether it has additional defects over known defects with the first dependency), and whether the performance is better, worse, or unchanged. The system may report the results to the user. In these examples, the model may be a large language model (LLM) that may search for specific API calls of the first dependency and replace them with corresponding API calls of a second dependency. In these examples the input prompts may include the API definitions for one or more of the dependencies").
However, Bendert doesn’t appear to explicitly teach
evidence of neglect of the maintenance updates
analyzing pull request activities in public repositories, wherein the analyzing of the pull request activities comprises: scraping pull requests from the public repositories; and filtering, based on the scraping, the pull requests that modified dependency declaration files of one or more software development projects of the software development projects, wherein the one or more software development projects are different from the software development project
Hulick teaches evidence of neglect of the maintenance updates ([0023] "the risk history module 110 analyzes data related to an amount of time that a software developer takes to remediate one or more vulnerabilities in an application. The time between identifying and remediating vulnerabilities can be indicative of the sophistication, team size, or responsiveness of a developer, as well as other organizational practices. The time to remediate vulnerabilities corresponds to risk, as a longer duration of time to remediate a vulnerability may suggest that an enterprise using that application is exposed to risk for a longer period of time, or the developer team lacks sufficient skills to timely remediate an issue. In some embodiments, the time between identifying and remediating vulnerabilities can be measured from a point at which a vulnerability became publicly-known, whereas in other embodiments, the time may be measured from a point of the earliest-known zero-day exploit (which would necessarily not be publicly-available at the time, but may later become known by a software developer or other researchers)" [0012-0013] also [0029] and [0021] "Furthermore, the risk history module 110 may obtain and analyze data that can include various data that is indicated with reference to versions of software applications. For a given software application, data can be obtained that describes a number of issues identified in each version of the software application, as well as other relevant qualitative and/or quantitative information about those issues. The data may be made available by developers or publishers of software, or can be published by researchers, such as software security investigators, governmental agencies, or other such persons or organizations. In some embodiments, the data is obtained from a system or systems that track Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVE), which can include publicly-known information security vulnerabilities and exposures. One or more repositories (e.g., database 144 of repository servers 138A-138N, which is depicted and described with reference to FIG. 1 ) can store historical data regarding the identified vulnerabilities in each version of an application. Risk history module 110 may receive instructions to obtain data for a particular application and in response, search one or more network-accessible data stores for any relevant data for the application, including data for each version of the application").
Bendert and Hulick are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in vulnerability assessment in code and dependencies. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine Bendert and Hulick to incorporate Hulick’s extended criteria for evaluating dependencies including machine learning to predict future vulnerabilities. “According to one embodiment, techniques are provided for analyzing software applications for risk. Data is obtained indicating one or more components of an application and historical data relating to one or more previous versions of the application. The historical data is analyzed to identify one or more vulnerabilities present in the one or more previous versions of the application. A software bill of materials is generated for the application based on the one or more components of the application, wherein the software bill of materials includes risk metadata descriptive of the one or more vulnerabilities of the application. The risk metadata associated with the software bill of materials is analyzed to determine a risk score for the application.” (Hulick, [0010]).
He teaches analyzing pull request activities in public repositories, wherein the analyzing of the pull request activities comprises: scraping pull requests from the public repositories (Pg. 4, 4.1.2 PR Collection, “We use the GitHub RESTAPIs[67] and a web scraper to find all the latest Dependabot PRs (before February 14, 2022) in the 1,823 projects and collect PR statistics, bodies, CI check results, and timeline events. By leveraging a distributed pool of Cloudflare workers [68], this web scraper empowers us to bypass the limitation of GitHub APIs (which is un handy for collecting CI check results for PRs) and retrieve pull requests events and CI checks at scale. The PR body can tell which dependency this PR is updating, its current version, and its updated version. By the end of this stage, we obtain 540,665 Dependabot pull requests (71.1% with a CI check result), updating 15,390 dependencies between 167,841 version pairs.”)
filtering, based on the scraping, the pull requests that modified dependency declaration files of one or more software development projects of the software development projects, wherein the one or more software development projects are different from the software development project (Pg. 4, 4.1.2 PR Collection, “Our next task is to identify security updates from all of the PRs created by Dependabot. However, Dependabot is no longer labeling security updates due to security reasons. Instead, Dependabot is showing a banner on the PR web page which is only visible to repository administrators by default [54]. Therefore, we choose to construct a mirror of the GitHub security advisory database [69] and identify security PRs ourselves by checking whether the PR updates a version with a vulnerability entry at the time of PR creation. More specifically, we identify a pull request to be a security update PR if: 1) the dependency and its current version matches a vulnerability in the GitHub security advisory database; 2) the updated version is newer than the version that fixes this vulnerability (i.e., no vulnerability after update); 3) the PR is not merged or closed before the vulnerability disclosure. Eventually, we identify 37,313 security update PRs (6.9%) from the 540,665 Dependabot PRs in total” and Pg. 1, Manuscript received July 31, 2022, “1, In this paper, we keep inline with developers’ common terminologies and use the term “dependency” to refer to any software that other software depends on, such as libraries, packages, frameworks, development tools, etc. The software is often managed by a dependency management tool (e.g., npm for JavaScript) and declared in a dependency specification file (e.g., package.json for npm projects).” EN: The results after the filtering based on the aforementioned criteria is 6.9% of the original data set. The dependency specification file is modified to reflect any changes to the dependencies )
Bendert, Hulick, and He are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in vulnerability assessment in code and dependencies. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine Bendert, Hulick and He to incorporate He’s scraping and analysis framework to better understand how the development community is dealing with known vulnerabilities and what are the accepted replacement options as adopted by software developers with expected results. “To update or not to update, that is the question haunting software engineers for decades. The software engineering “gurus” would argue that keeping software dependencies1 up-to-date minimizes technical debt, increases supply chain security, and ensures software project sustainability in the long term [1], [2]. Nonetheless, it requires not only substantial effort but also extra responsibility from developers. Consequently, there is no surprise that many developers adhere to the practice of “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” and the majority of existing software systems still use outdated dependencies [3], [4]. One promising solution for this dilemma is to use bots to automate all dependency updates. Therefore, dependency management bots are invented to automatically open pull requests (PRs) to update dependencies in a collaborative coding platform (e.g., GitHub) in the hope of saving developer effort. Recently, dependency management bots are increasingly visible and gaining high momentum among developers.” (He, Pg. 1, Introduction)
Regarding claim 2, Bendert in view of Hulick and further in view of He teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Hulick further teaches wherein the predetermined intervals are aligned with initiating of each new build process within a continuous integration/continuous deployment (CI/CD) pipeline ([0027] "SBOM generation module 112 may automatically generate SBOMS by implementing mechanisms such as dependency scanners, build tools, continuous integration/continuous deployment systems, software composition analysis platforms, and the like. Dependency scanners may scan software dependencies and generate SBOMs automatically by cataloging the dependencies included in an application. Likewise, build tools can include plugins or commands that can produce SBOMs as part of the build process. Continuous integration/continuous deployment systems can be configured to automatically generate SBOMs during the build or deployment process, and software composition analysis platforms may include features for generating and managing SBOMs. In some embodiments, the SBOMs are developed and thus automatically generated by another computing device (e.g., a developer device rather than risk analysis server 102); in such cases, SBOM generation module 112 may obtain the SBOMs and modify the SBOMs to include the risk metadata in order to generate SBOMs that indicate risk in accordance with the embodiments presented herein").
Regarding claim 3, Bendert in view of Hulick and further in view of He teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Bendert further teaches wherein a dependency of the project dependencies is deemed problematic if the dependency meets criteria including a presence of the known security vulnerabilities or a lack of maintenance during a threshold time period ([0012] " Dependency status may be determined based upon one or more of whether a new version is released, whether a vulnerability exists, whether the dependency is end-of-life, or the like. In some examples, the system may additionally provide recommendations regarding the dependencies. For example, a recommendation to switch to a different dependency based upon a trend in other software components to switch to the dependency, a better performance, or the like. The status may be tracked periodically, via an event-driven architecture, for example. The system may then provide one or more GUIs that provide a visualization of the dependencies and their statuses, among other information" [0032] "For example, based upon whether a new version of the dependency exists, whether a vulnerability has been reported for the version used by the software component, or the like. Status may be a binary status where one binary value means that the dependency is good and another value means the dependency is bad. Good may be indicated, for example, when the dependency is one or more of: up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. Bad may be indicated, for example, when the dependency is not one or more of: up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. Status indicators may be a score, based upon a specified formula that considers the above factors. In some examples, the status may include a testing status of a current version of the dependency. For example, if the software component was tested with the current version. In examples in which the status indicators are a score, points may be assigned based upon whether the dependency is up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like" and [0011] " In an example, a dependency may be labelled end-of-life because it is no longer supported. The support status of various dependencies, especially second level or greater dependencies (e.g., dependencies of dependencies) may be very difficult to find and track. Nevertheless, the status of direct and indirect dependencies may create defects or impact performance of a software component" EN: Vulnerabilities include security vulnerabilities as explicitly disclosed in He Pg. 2, and Hulick [0002, 0011, and 0013]).
Hulick also teaches the threshold of time ([0023] "the risk history module 110 analyzes data related to an amount of time that a software developer takes to remediate one or more vulnerabilities in an application. The time between identifying and remediating vulnerabilities can be indicative of the sophistication, team size, or responsiveness of a developer, as well as other organizational practices. The time to remediate vulnerabilities corresponds to risk, as a longer duration of time to remediate a vulnerability may suggest that an enterprise using that application is exposed to risk for a longer period of time, or the developer team lacks sufficient skills to timely remediate an issue. In some embodiments, the time between identifying and remediating vulnerabilities can be measured from a point at which a vulnerability became publicly-known, whereas in other embodiments, the time may be measured from a point of the earliest-known zero-day exploit (which would necessarily not be publicly-available at the time, but may later become known by a software developer or other researchers").
Regarding claim 4, Bendert in view of Hulick and further in view of He teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Hulick further teaches further comprising utilizing an artificial intelligence model for predicting emerging vulnerabilities based on patterns found in external vulnerabilities databases ([0049] "Operation 508 involves analyzing risk metadata associated with the SBOM to determine a risk score. A rules-based or machine learning approach may analyze the historical data to compute a risk score of the application that is reflective of the application's risk in terms of the history of the application across previous versions of the applications. The risk score can then be compared to a threshold value at operation 510 to determine whether the application satisfies the risk score. If the application indeed satisfies the risk score, than one or more operations may automatically be performed at operation 512, including notifying a user, causing the application to be installed to one or more computing devices, and the like. Otherwise, these operations are not performed at operation 514, and optionally, other operations can instead be performed, such as notifying a user that the application represents an unacceptable level of risk or automatically uninstalling the application from one or more computing devices; see also [0025-0026, 0039-0040]
Regarding claim 5, Bendert in view of Hulick and further in view of He teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Hulick further teaches further comprising generating a ranked list of the set of alternative dependencies by prioritizing the set of alternative dependencies based on a comparison of a frequency of the maintenance updates and set of alternative dependencies for each dependency of the at-risk dependencies based on a weighted algorithm that considers a security posture and a frequency of maintenance ([0012-0013] "SBOMs can be used to assess the risk of an application by comparing each component listed in an SBOM to a list of components having known vulnerabilities… Applications can be scored for risk in such a manner that enables applications to be ranked and automatically selected for deployment based on risk history. For example, if an enterprise chooses between using two or more applications, a particular application may be determined to be a best match based on how many vulnerabilities were present in previous versions of the application, whether the developers took too long to patch vulnerabilities, and the like. Present embodiments can provide a fully-automated approach to risk analysis and, consequentially, application selection and deployment" [0024] "In some embodiments, the data that is descriptive of risk may include a number of developers assigned to remediating past or present vulnerabilities. This number may be different for each version of an application, as a software development team may change in size over time. In some embodiments, the data that is descriptive of risk may include an indication of whether an application is open-source or closed-source. The open-source or closed-source nature of an application may be a useful consideration when evaluating for risk because open-source applications can potentially receive assistance in identifying and remediating vulnerabilities from a community at large, whereas closed-source applications may only be remediated by a development team that has access to the relevant proprietary information (e.g., source code, etc.)" [0029] "Application management module 114 may generate a risk score for each application by processing the risk metadata associated with the SBOM for each version of the application. The risk factors that are analyzed when computing a score can include a count of vulnerabilities, a severity of vulnerabilities, a time between identifying and remediating vulnerabilities, a number of developers assigned to remediating past or present vulnerabilities in the application, and an open-source or closed-source status of the application. A set of predefined rules can be implemented that is used to assign a value for each risk factor, and an overall risk score can be computed by combining the values of each risk factor, which can be independently weighted to increase or decrease the influence of each risk factor on the overall risk score. A risk score can be computed overall for an application by analyzing the risk data for all versions of the application, or each version can be separately scored for risk and can be statistically combined by e.g., averaging the scores for each version. In some embodiments, older versions may be weighted such that those versions' risk has a lesser amount of influence over the overall risk score, as a developer's more recent practices may be deemed to be more relevant.").
Bendert teaches community endorsements ([0024] "In some examples, in addition to showing dependency versions and status, the interfaces may provide information about dependency usage information such as how much a particular dependency is utilized in a component or across all (or a subset of all) components it tracks; trends showing which dependencies (e.g., globally across all software components managed by the dependency management service 115) are used most and whether that usage is increasing or decreasing, and the like" and [0032-0033] "Dependency status and recommendation component 216 may calculate one or more status indicators for one or more of the dependencies identified by the dependency determiner component 210 based upon the status information retrieved by the dependency tracker component 212. For example, based upon whether a new version of the dependency exists, whether a vulnerability has been reported for the version used by the software component, or the like. Status may be a binary status where one binary value means that the dependency is good and another value means the dependency is bad. Good may be indicated, for example, when the dependency is one or more of: up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. Bad may be indicated, for example, when the dependency is not one or more of: up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. Status indicators may be a score, based upon a specified formula that considers the above factors. In some examples, the status may include a testing status of a current version of the dependency. For example, if the software component was tested with the current version. In examples in which the status indicators are a score, points may be assigned based upon whether the dependency is up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. In some examples, for the version points, different points may be added (or subtracted) from the score based upon how close the utilized and/or tested version is to the current version. For example, if the software component has incorporated and/or tested version 1.6 of a dependency, but a version 2.1 is the latest version, fewer points may be given to the software component than if it had incorporated and/or tested version 1.9 of the dependency. In some examples, the status indicator may be converted to a percentage of the total points possible. Status indicators of all the dependencies of a given software component may be aggregated to form a score for the entire software component. Each individual status of each component may be weighted and combined to form a total score. In some examples, dependencies may be weighted differently based upon an importance of the dependency. The importance of the dependency may be based upon a degree of the dependency (e.g., a dependency of a dependency (2nd degree dependency) may be weighted lesser than a direct, 15 degree dependency), an importance level input by a user, a usage level of the dependency (e.g., how often the dependency is utilized by the software component as identified by automatically by the code or network scanning determiner identifier component), or the like." ).
Regarding claim 6, Bendert in view of Hulick and further in view of He teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Bendert further teaches wherein the health analysis further includes assessing an impact of potential vulnerabilities on specific functionalities utilized by the software development project ([0010-0012] "For example, a first software component may depend on services provided by an independent second software component through an Application Programming Interface (API). The code of the second software component is not linked into the code of the first software component (either statically or dynamically), yet the second software component is a dependency of the first software component by virtue of the first software component's use of the API because changes in the second software component, and in particular, changes to the API, may impact functionality of the software component. Even if the dependencies are all known, managing those dependencies may be even more difficult. For example, unbeknownst to a particular user, a dependency may have a new version. New versions often include defect fixes, vulnerability fixes, and other desirable features. However, these new versions also pose a risk. For example, the new version may introduce additional defects, may change the API, or the like. These incompatibilities may be difficult for application developers to sort through. For example, the defect may be between two incompatible dependencies. In an example, a dependency may be labelled end-of-life because it is no longer supported. The support status of various dependencies, especially second level or greater dependencies (e.g., dependencies of dependencies) may be very difficult to find and track. Nevertheless, the status of direct and indirect dependencies may create defects or impact performance of a software component. Disclosed in some examples are methods, systems, devices, and machine-readable mediums for a dependency tracking service that automatically identifies and tracks information about dependencies of a software component and provides one or more visualizations displaying that information. The system may identify the dependencies through automated metadata analysis of the software component, behavior analysis of the software component, or source code analysis of the software component. The system may track status of the software component by reference to one or more code management systems, vulnerability reporting systems, or the like. Dependency status may be determined based upon one or more of whether a new version is released, whether a vulnerability exists, whether the dependency is end-of-life, or the like. In some examples, the system may additionally provide recommendations regarding the dependencies." [0018] "Other example functionality of the dependency tracking and visualization system includes alerting to dependency mismatches. For example, software components may be assigned various tiers based upon importance. For example, tier 1 may be most important, and tier 5 may be least important. In some examples, the system may determine that a dependency assigned an importance of tier 5 may be a dependency of a tier 1 component. In these examples, a user may be alerted to this issue. In other examples, the dependency may be automatically updated from a tier 5 to a tier 1 to reflect the importance of this dependency to a more important software component. In some examples, the system may provide a dependency score that determines how dependent one software component is to another. For example, based upon how many much the dependency is called by the software component, and the like." [0027] "Still yet another determiner identifier component may analyze the software component during execution. For example, by creating an execution environment and executing it. In still other examples, this determiner identifier component may be linked (e.g., temporarily) into the code of the software component and may monitor the interprocess and network traffic to determine other software components (which may be on other machines) that the software component is contacting. The determiner identifier component may determine the software component dependency by comparing the destination process information or network address with a specified list of dependencies that includes their process information and/or network addresses. The API version may be determined using a latest version, a version currently executing on the computing system (e.g., as determined by the name of the executable, a readme file in a directory of the application on a storage device, comparing a hash of the executable with a specified list of hash values for various versions of the dependency, or the like) or may be determined using one or more fields within the message sent to, or received by, the application over the network." [0035-0036] " In some examples, in addition to simply matching the increase in usage of the first dependency to the decrease in usage of the second dependency, the function of the dependency may be determined (e.g., using manual input, or via machine-learning) and a second dependency may be recommended only if it is a similar function to the first dependency. In other examples, the second dependency may be recommended if it performs a same function and it has fewer known vulnerabilities, as determined by a defect management service 110. In some examples, the system may automatically test replacement dependencies. For example, by scanning the software component code and replacing calls to a first dependency with calls to a second dependency, e.g., by using an AI such as a large language model. The system may automatically run one or more tests of the modified software component to determine whether it works properly (e.g., whether it has additional defects over known defects with the first dependency), and whether the performance is better, worse, or unchanged. The system may report the results to the user.").
Regarding claim 7, Bendert in view of Hulick and further in view of He teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Bendert further teaches further comprising automatically implementing the set of alternative dependencies in a production environment after validating compatibility, security, and operational integrity of implementing each alternative dependency of the set of alternative dependencies within a codebase for the software development project ([0035-0036] " In some examples, in addition to simply matching the increase in usage of the first dependency to the decrease in usage of the second dependency, the function of the dependency may be determined (e.g., using manual input, or via machine-learning) and a second dependency may be recommended only if it is a similar function to the first dependency. In other examples, the second dependency may be recommended if it performs a same function and it has fewer known vulnerabilities, as determined by a defect management service 110. In some examples, the system may automatically test replacement dependencies. For example, by scanning the software component code and replacing calls to a first dependency with calls to a second dependency, e.g., by using an AI such as a large language model. The system may automatically run one or more tests of the modified software component to determine whether it works properly (e.g., whether it has additional defects over known defects with the first dependency), and whether the performance is better, worse, or unchanged. The system may report the results to the user").
Regarding claim 8, Bendert teaches a system for proactive dependency management in software development projects, the system comprising: a processor device; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor device, cause the system to: ([0058] “Machine (e.g., computer system) 600 may include one or more hardware processors, such as processor 602. Processor 602 may be a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof. Machine 600 may include a main memory 604 and a static memory 606, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink (e.g., bus) 608”).
The remaining limitations are similar to claim 1 and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 9-14 are system claims reciting limitations similar to claims 2-7 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, Bendert teaches a computer program product for dynamic dependency management in software development projects, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a hardware processor to cause the hardware processor to: ([0058] “Machine (e.g., computer system) 600 may include one or more hardware processors, such as processor 602. Processor 602 may be a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof. Machine 600 may include a main memory 604 and a static memory 606, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink (e.g., bus) 608”).
The remaining limitations are similar to claim 1 and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 16-20 are medium claims reciting limitations similar to claims 2, 3, 5, 2 and 7 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rombaut et al. (Leveraging the Crowd for Dependency Management: An Empirical Study on the Dependabot Compatibility Score): discloses the role of crowd sentiment in the calculation of the compatibility score.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/QAMRUN NAHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199