DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed July 25, 2024 lists incorrect publication numbers under the foreign patents section. The listed publications “JP 9296816” and “KR 10021558” have been corrected to “JP H09296816” and “KR 100215558”, respectively, as these are the correct publication numbers.
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(l), which states “Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined”. The following reference characters fail to be sufficiently dense and dark, and well-defined, as they are almost illegible within the figures:
Reference character “20d” in Fig. 1.
Reference characters “136”, “152”, “160” in Fig. 8.
Reference character “146” in Fig. 9.
Reference characters “130”, “142”, “152” in Fig. 13.
Reference characters “104a”, “104b” in Fig. 14.
The drawings are also objected to for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(q), as Fig. 4 shows multiple lead lines extending from the figure with no reference character at the end of said lead lines.
The drawings are also objected to for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because reference character “1120” in Fig. 14 is not mentioned in the description.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation in line 6 of claim 1 should be corrected to read --corresponding terminal edges of the first and second sidewalls-- as the first and second sidewalls are defined in line 3 of the claim.
The limitation in lines 11-12 of claim 1 should be corrected to read --first and second shoulder surfaces extending outwardly from corresponding lower portions of the first and second sides-- as such more clearly defines that the shoulder surfaces extend from the first and second sides, and because the first and second sides are defined in lines 9-10 of the claim.
The limitation in line 6 of claim 8 should be corrected to read --corresponding terminal edges of the first and second sidewalls-- as the first and second sidewalls are defined in line 3 of the claim.
The limitation in lines 12-13 of claim 8 should be corrected to read --first and second shoulder surfaces extending outwardly from corresponding lower portions of the first and second sides-- as such more clearly defines that the shoulder surfaces extend from the first and second sides, and because the first and second sides are defined in lines 9-10 of the claim.
In line 4 of claim 4, the limitation “a t-shaped shot” should read --a t-shaped slot--.
The limitation in line 13 of claim 14 should be corrected to read “communicating with the upper wall” as the upper wall is already defined in line 11 of the claim.
The limitation in lines 16-17 of claim 14 should be corrected to read --first and second shoulder surfaces extending outwardly from corresponding lower portions of the first and second sides-- as such more clearly defines that the shoulder surfaces extend from the first and second sides, and because the first and second sides are defined in lines 9-10 of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the first side of the rib” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation within the claim. It is unclear if Applicant is intending to define of a first side of the rib within the claim, or if Applicant is intending for claim 3 to be dependent from claim 2, which does define of first and second sides of the rib. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that claim 3 depends from claim 2.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “and the t-slot frame member including t-shaped defined by first and second sidewalls” in lines 2-3. It is unclear from the language of the claim exactly what is to be “t-shaped” and defined by “first and second sidewalls”. Examiner recognizes that slots (22) of the frame member (12) are to be “t-shaped” as stated in [0049] of the specification. As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret the above limitation as reading as: “and the t-slot frame member including t-shaped slots defined by first and second sidewalls”.
Claim 8 further recites the limitation “a substantially flat upper wall interconnecting the first and second end faces, the having first and second side edges” in lines 8-9. It is unclear form the language of the claim exactly what is supposed to have “first and second side edges”. Examiner recognizes that the flat upper wall (130) has first and second side edges (136, 138), as stated in [0046] of the specification. As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret the above limitation as reading as: “a substantially flat upper wall interconnecting the first and second end faces, the upper wall having first and second side edges”.
Claim 8 further recites the limitation “the first and second end surfaces” in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation within the claim. Examiner does recognize that claim 8 does define of first and second end faces within the claim. As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that the “first and second end surfaces” are the “first and second end faces”.
Claims 4, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they depend from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vention Inc. (EP 3477128; hereinafter Vention).
Regarding claim 8, Vention (Fig. 1-13) discloses of a nut (300) for interlocking a component (350) to a t-slot frame member (100), the component having a bore (360, 362, 366, 364) extending angularly therethrough (bores extend perpendicularly, i.e. angularly therethrough) and the t-slot frame member including a t-shaped slot (290) defined by first and second side walls (164, 150), extending from a face (face formed by 282, 182) at angles generally perpendicular to the face (sidewalls 164, 150 are perpendicular to the face 282, 182, see Fig. 2) and first and second abutment walls (274, 174) lying in a common plane and extending away from each other in opposite directions from corresponding terminal edges of the first and second sidewalls (see Fig. 2), comprising:
first and second end faces lying in corresponding parallel planes (see Annotated Fig. 1 below);
a substantially flat upper wall (308, see Annotated Fig. 1) interconnecting the first and second end faces (see Annotated Fig. 1), the upper wall having first and second side edges (see Annotated Fig. 2 below);
a first side depending from the first side edge (see Annotated Fig. 2);
a second side depending from the second side edge (see Annotated Fig. 2);
first and second shoulder surfaces extending outwardly from lower portions of corresponding first and second sides (see Annotated Fig. 2), the first and second shoulder surfaces lying in a common plane (see Annotated Fig. 2);
a bottom surface extending between the first and second end faces (see Annotated Fig. 3 below), the bottom surface lying in a plane at an acute angle to the upper wall (see the portion of the bottom surface that lies in a plane at an acute angle to the upper wall in Annotated Fig. 3); and
a bore (310) extending between the upper wall and the bottom surface (see Fig. 3-4).
Annotated Figure 1
Annotated Figure 2
Annotated Figure 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 13-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vention in view of Festo KG (DE-9115943; hereinafter Festo).
Regarding claim 1, Vention (Fig. 1-13) discloses of a nut (300) for interlocking a component (350) to a t-slot frame member (100), the component having a bore (360, 362, 366, 364) extending angularly therethrough (bores extend perpendicularly, i.e. angularly therethrough) and the t-slot frame member including a t-shaped slot (290) defined by first and second side walls (164, 150), extending from a face (face formed by 282, 182) at angles generally perpendicular to the face (sidewalls 164, 150 are perpendicular to the face 282, 182, see Fig. 2) and first and second abutment walls (274, 174) lying in a common plane and extending away from each other in opposite directions from corresponding terminal edges of the first and second sidewalls (see Fig. 2), comprising:
a substantially flat upper wall (308, see Annotated Fig. 1) extending along an axis and having first and second side edges (see side edges in Annotated Fig. 2; axis extends between first and second end faces seen in Annotated Fig. 1);
a first side depending from the first side edge (see Annotated Fig. 2);
a second side depending from the second side edge (see Annotated Fig. 2);
first and second shoulder surfaces extending outwardly from lower portions of corresponding first and second sides (see Annotated Fig. 2), the first and second shoulder surfaces lying in a common plane (see Annotated Fig. 2);
Vention does not explicitly disclose wherein the nut comprises a rib projecting from the first shoulder surface, the rib being engageable with the first abutment wall.
Festo (Fig. 1-2b) teaches of a similar nut (16) for use with a t-slot frame member (1) having a t-shaped slot (4), wherein the t-shaped slot is defined by first and second side walls (5, 6) and first and second abutment walls (14, 14’), the nut having first and second shoulders (23), wherein ribs (27) project from a surface (29) of each shoulder (see Fig. 1-2b), the ribs being engageable with the first and second abutment walls (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each rib is defined by an apex having first and second sides extending from the apex (see Fig. 2a-2b), the first and second sides of each rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of each rib extend from its apex (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each shoulder surface comprises first and second concave recesses (30) adjacent each the first and second sides of each rib (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each rib is configured to press into each abutment wall, such that material of the abutment walls are absorbed into the recesses (see Fig. 2a-b and [0013]-[0022] of the attached translated description), thereby achieving a permanent force-fit and form-fit between the nut and the frame member (see [0011] of the attached translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vention with the teachings of Festo, such that each of the first and second shoulder surfaces have ribs projecting therefrom that are engageable with the first and second abutment walls, wherein each rib is defined by an apex having first and second sides extending from the apex, the first and second sides of each rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of each rib extend from its apex, wherein each shoulder surface comprises first and second concave recesses adjacent each the first and second sides of each rib, wherein each rib is configured to press into each abutment wall, such that material of the abutment walls are absorbed into the recesses, thereby achieving a permanent force-fit and form-fit between the nut and the frame member.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the rib is defined by an apex having first and second sides extending from the apex, the first and second sides of the rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of the rib extend from the apex (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the nut further comprises first and second end surfaces (see end faces in Annotated Fig. 1), the first and second end surfaces interconnected by and generally perpendicular to the upper wall (see Annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the nut further comprises a bottom surface extending between the first and second end surfaces (see Annotated Fig. 3), the bottom surface lying in a plane at an acute angle to the upper wall (see the portion of the bottom surface that lies in a plane at an acute angle to the upper wall in Annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the nut further comprises a bore (310 of Vention) extending angularly between the upper wall and the bottom surface (see Fig. 3-4 of Vention, see Annotated Fig. 1, 3; the bore extends perpendicularly, i.e. angularly, between the upper wall and bottom surface).
Regarding claim 9, Vention does not explicitly teach of the nut further comprising a rib projecting from the first shoulder surface, the rib being engageable with the first abutment wall.
Festo (Fig. 1-2b) teaches of a similar nut (16) for use with a t-slot frame member (1) having a t-shaped slot (4), wherein the t-shaped slot is defined by first and second side walls (5, 6) and first and second abutment walls (14, 14’), the nut having first and second shoulders (23), wherein ribs (27) project from a surface (29) of each shoulder (see Fig. 1-2b), the ribs being engageable with the first and second abutment walls (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each rib is defined by an apex having first and second sides extending from the apex (see Fig. 2a-2b), the first and second sides of each rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of each rib extend from its apex (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each shoulder surface comprises first and second concave recesses (30) adjacent each the first and second sides of each rib (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each rib is configured to press into each abutment wall, such that material of the abutment walls are absorbed into the recesses (see Fig. 2a-b and [0013]-[0022] of the attached translated description), thereby achieving a permanent force-fit and form-fit between the nut and the frame member (see [0011] of the attached translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vention with the teachings of Festo, such that each of the first and second shoulder surfaces have ribs projecting therefrom that are engageable with the first and second abutment walls, wherein each rib is defined by an apex having first and second sides extending from the apex, the first and second sides of each rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of each rib extend from its apex, wherein each shoulder surface comprises first and second concave recesses adjacent each the first and second sides of each rib, wherein each rib is configured to press into each abutment wall, such that material of the abutment walls are absorbed into the recesses, thereby achieving a permanent force-fit and form-fit between the nut and the frame member.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the rib is defined by an apex and first and second sides extending from the apex, the first and second sides of the rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of the rib extend from the apex (as taught in claim 9).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the bore of the nut (310 of Vention) extends angularly between the upper wall and the bottom surface (see Fig. 3-4 of Vention, see Annotated Fig. 1, 3; the bore extends perpendicularly, i.e. angularly, between the upper wall and bottom surface).
Regarding claim 14, Vention (Fig. 1-13) discloses of a frame assembly, comprising:
a t-slot frame member (100) extending along an axis, the t-slot frame member including:
a generally flat face (face formed by 282, 182);
a t-shaped slot (290) defined by first and second side walls (164, 150) extending from the face at angles generally perpendicular to the face (sidewalls 164, 1650 are perpendicular to the face 282, 182, see Fig. 2) and first and second abutment walls (274, 174) lying in a common plane and extending away from each other in opposite directions from the first and second sidewalls (see Fig. 2);
a component (350) having a bore (360, 362, 366, 364) extending angularly therethrough (bores extend perpendicularly, i.e. angularly therethrough), the component positionable against the face such that the bore communicates with the t-shaped slot (see Fig. 11-13);
a nut (300) positionable in the slot (see Fig. 9-13), the nut including
a substantially flat upper wall (308, see Annotated Fig. 1) extending along an axis and having first and second side edges (see side edges in Annotated Fig. 2; axis extends between first and second end faces seen in Annotated Fig. 1);
a threaded bore (310) communicating with the upper wall (see Fig 3-4, [0081] states the bore has threading);
a first side depending from the first side edge (see Annotated Fig. 2);
a second side depending from the second side edge (see Annotated Fig. 2);
first and second shoulder surfaces extending outwardly from lower portions of corresponding first and second sides (see Annotated Fig. 2), the first and second shoulder surfaces lying in a common plane (see Annotated Fig. 2);
a bolt (380) extending through the bore in the component and threaded into the threaded bore of the nut (see Fig. 12-13, see [0080]-[0081]).
Vention does not explicitly disclose wherein the nut comprises a rib projecting from the first shoulder surface, the rib being engageable with the first abutment wall, and wherein threading the bolt into the threaded bore of the nut draws the first shoulder surface toward the first abutment wall such that the rib engages the first abutment wall.
Festo (Fig. 1-2b) teaches of a similar nut (16) for use with a t-slot frame member (1) having a t-shaped slot (4), wherein the t-shaped slot is defined by first and second side walls (5, 6) and first and second abutment walls (14, 14’), the nut configured to receive a threaded bolt within an internal threading (22) of the nut (see [0051] of the attached translated description), the nut having first and second shoulders (23), wherein ribs (27) project from a surface (29) of each shoulder (see Fig. 1-2b), the ribs being engageable with the first and second abutment walls (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each rib is defined by an apex having first and second sides extending from the apex (see Fig. 2a-2b), the first and second sides of each rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of each rib extend from its apex (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each shoulder surface comprises first and second concave recesses (30) adjacent each the first and second sides of each rib (see Fig. 2a-2b), wherein each rib is configured to press into each abutment wall, such that material of the abutment walls are absorbed into the recesses (see Fig. 2a-b and [0013]-[0022] of the attached translated description), thereby achieving a permanent force-fit and form-fit between the nut and the frame member (see [0011] of the attached translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vention with the teachings of Festo, such that each of the first and second shoulder surfaces have ribs projecting therefrom that are engageable with the first and second abutment walls, wherein each rib is defined by an apex having first and second sides extending from the apex, the first and second sides of each rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of each rib extend from its apex, wherein each shoulder surface comprises first and second concave recesses adjacent each the first and second sides of each rib, wherein each rib is configured to press into each abutment wall, such that material of the abutment walls are absorbed into the recesses, thereby achieving a permanent force-fit and form-fit between the nut and the frame member. In doing such, the threading of the bolt into the threaded bore of the nut will draw the first and second shoulder surfaces towards the first and second abutment walls, respectively, such that the ribs engage the first and second abutment walls.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the rib is defined by an apex having first and second sides extending from the apex, the first and second sides of the rib diverging from each other as the first and second sides of the rib extend from the apex (as taught in claim 14).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the nut further comprises first and second end surfaces (see end faces in Annotated Fig. 1), the first and second end surfaces interconnected by and generally perpendicular to the upper wall (see Annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the nut further comprises a bottom surface extending between the first and second end surfaces (see Annotated Fig. 3), the bottom surface lying in a plane at an acute angle to the upper wall (see the portion of the bottom surface that lies in a plane at an acute angle to the upper wall in Annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the threaded bore extends angularly between the upper wall and the bottom surface (see Fig. 3-4 of Vention, see Annotated Fig. 1, 3; the threaded bore 310 of Vention extends perpendicularly, i.e. angularly, between the upper wall and bottom surface).
Claims 3-4, 11-12, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vention in view of Festo as applied to claims 2, 10, and 15, and in further view of Jaffari (US 9,051,950).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the first shoulder surface includes a generally concave recess therein positioned adjacent to the rib (as taught in claim 1). Neither Vention or Festo explicitly teach wherein the recess extends along an axis generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall.
Jaffari (Fig. 1-7) teaches of a clamp member (100) configured to engage with a frame member (400), wherein a surface of the clamp member comprises axially extending ribs and concave recess (114) extending a longitudinal axis of the clamp (see Fig. 1-2b), wherein the ribs and recesses engage against a wall (410) of the frame member (see Fig. 4, see Col. 5 line 55 – Col. 6 line 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vention with the teachings of Jaffari, to merely rearrange the ribs and concave recesses on the first and second shoulder surfaces of the nut, such that they extend along a longitudinal axis of the nut, thereby producing the unexpected result of increasing the length of the ribs and recesses, to engage against greater lengths of the first and second abutment walls. Applicant is reminded that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In doing such, being that the recesses extend along a longitudinal axis of the nut, the recesses will thereby extend along an axis that is generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Vention, Festo, and Jaffari further teach wherein the first shoulder surface includes a generally concave second recess therein (as taught in claim 1), the second recess extending along an axis generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall (as taught in claim 3) and being positioned adjacent to the second side of the rib (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the first shoulder surface includes a generally concave recess therein positioned adjacent to the rib (as taught in claim 9). Neither Vention or Festo explicitly teach wherein the recess extends along an axis generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall.
Jaffari (Fig. 1-7) teaches of a clamp member (100) configured to engage with a frame member (400), wherein a surface of the clamp member comprises axially extending ribs and concave recess (114) extending a longitudinal axis of the clamp (see Fig. 1-2b), wherein the ribs and recesses engage against a wall (410) of the frame member (see Fig. 4, see Col. 5 line 55 – Col. 6 line 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vention with the teachings of Jaffari, to merely rearrange the ribs and concave recesses on the first and second shoulder surfaces of the nut, such that they extend along a longitudinal axis of the nut, thereby producing the unexpected result of increasing the length of the ribs and recesses, to engage against greater lengths of the first and second abutment walls. Applicant is reminded that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In doing such, being that the recesses extend along a longitudinal axis of the nut, the recesses will thereby extend along an axis that is generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Vention, Festo, and Jaffari further teach wherein the first shoulder surface includes a generally concave second recess therein (as taught in claim 9), the second recess extending along an axis generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall (as taught in claim 11) and being positioned adjacent to the second side of the rib (as taught in claim 9).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Vention and Festo further teach wherein the first shoulder surface includes a generally concave recess therein positioned adjacent to the rib (as taught in claim 14). Neither Vention or Festo explicitly teach wherein the recess extends along an axis generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall.
Jaffari (Fig. 1-7) teaches of a clamp member (100) configured to engage with a frame member (400), wherein a surface of the clamp member comprises axially extending ribs and concave recess (114) extending a longitudinal axis of the clamp (see Fig. 1-2b), wherein the ribs and recesses engage against a wall (410) of the frame member (see Fig. 4, see Col. 5 line 55 – Col. 6 line 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vention with the teachings of Jaffari, to merely rearrange the ribs and concave recesses on the first and second shoulder surfaces of the nut, such that they extend along a longitudinal axis of the nut, thereby producing the unexpected result of increasing the length of the ribs and recesses, to engage against greater lengths of the first and second abutment walls. Applicant is reminded that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In doing such, being that the recesses extend along a longitudinal axis of the nut, the recesses will thereby extend along an axis that is generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Vention, Festo, and Jaffari further teach wherein the first shoulder surface includes a generally concave second recess therein (as taught in claim 14), the second recess extending along an axis generally parallel to the axis of the upper wall (as taught in claim 16) and being positioned adjacent to the second side of the rib (as taught in claim 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/KEVIN J BAYNES/Examiner, Art Unit 3678