DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 07/20/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 in a reply filed 07/20/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1:
The applicant respectfully argues that CHOI and CARO do not teach or suggest “In rejecting claim 4... Regardless of whether Caro describes these conditions, none of these is used to determine a probability of that a UE display is being viewed, determine that the probability exceeds a threshold, and based on the probability exceeding the threshold, scan for RF resources associated with an NTN. Rather, these UE conditions in Caro are used to determine whether to display a user interface to a user (paragraphs 813, 827, and 838). The user can then determine an action, such as the user initiating scanning for RF resources (See Id.)” (Remarks Pages 9-10, Emphasis add).
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant agrees that CARO teaches the conditions are used to determine whether to display the interface of the UE and then the user can then determine an action. Therefore, CARO teaches to display the interface of the UE ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component) wherein determine that the probability of the UE is being viewed ([0107] Attention is now directed toward embodiments of portable devices with touch-sensitive displays. FIG. 1A is a block diagram illustrating portable multifunction device 100 with touch-sensitive display system 112 in accordance with some embodiments. Touch-sensitive display 112 is sometimes called a “touch screen” for convenience and is sometimes known as or called a “touch-sensitive display system.” ... Device 100 optionally includes one or more optical sensors 164. Device 100 optionally includes one or more contact intensity sensors 165 for detecting intensity of contacts on device 100 (e.g., a touch-sensitive surface such as touch-sensitive display system 112 of device 100) by using a threshold, and the threshold exceeds a predetermined threshold to determine if one of the conditions (e.g., user input) is valid ([0006]; [0107]; [0108] and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user; [0108] As used in the specification and claims, the term “intensity” of a contact on a touch-sensitive surface refers to the force or pressure… The intensity of a contact has a range of values… and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality that may otherwise not be accessible by the user on a reduced-size device with limited real estate for displaying affordances (e.g., on a touch-sensitive display) and/or receiving user input (e.g., via a touch-sensitive display, a touch-sensitive surface, or a physical/mechanical control such as a knob or a button)).
CARO further discloses the conditions (e.g., user input) is based on at least one ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component; [0108]; ) of:
a screen saver status of the UE ([0838] In some embodiments, the system user interface is a wake screen user interface (e.g., 2102, 1110, 1344A, 1524B, a wake screen and/or a lock screen); [0815] In FIG. 21C, computer system 600 detects request 2150d (e.g., an upward swipe from a predefined portion of user interface 2102 and/or other input) to unlock the user interface of computer system 600 and/or display a home screen),
a locked status of the UE ([0838];),
a power mode of the UE ([0838];),
a sleep mode of the UE ([0838];), or
whether a face is detected by the UE ([0827] In some embodiments, computer system 600 is unlocked in response to a user aligning a sensor (e.g., a camera) with the user's face for facial recognition, a user placing a finger on a fingerprint sensor for fingerprint ID, and/or entry of a personal identification number or password).
The applicant further alleges that CARO disclosing “The user can then determine an action, such as the user initiating scanning for RF resources (See Id.). Caro then describes a partially automated method of grabbing the user's attention when certain UE conditions arc met. Claim 1, in contrast, utilizes probability to determine whether to scan for NTN RF resources... Even if Choi and Caro are brough together, the combination still lacks NTN scanning based on probability of a UE display being viewed.” (Remarks Pages 9-10, Emphasis add).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The user cannot determine to select and initiate scanning for NTN RF resources unless the screen is displaying (e.g., display screen is on) an option to initiate the scanning for the NTN RF resources. Furthermore, the screen can only be displayed when one of the conditions are satisfied (e.g., user input, face is detected, etc.). Therefore, CARO discloses the utilization of the probability to determine whether to scan for NTN RF resources by:
determining that the probability meets or exceeds a threshold probability level ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component; [0108] and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user);
scanning a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 7 – 706; Fig. FIGS. 6E-6J (no network bars); [0333] the computer system displays... unable to place the call using a predetermined type of communication protocol (e.g., cellular communication) and/or... a predetermined type of signal (e.g., is not receiving the predetermined type of signal at a threshold (e.g., sufficient) level), displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating (e.g., via phone call, text message, and/or video conference)... via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network (e.g., via a communication protocol that does not require cellular service and/or a low-bandwidth communication mode)) based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold (Fig. 7 – 704; [0333] In response to detecting the user input, the computer system displays (704), via the display generation component, a first user interface (e.g., as seen in FIG. 6G at call management interface 602G; e.g., a phone call user interface; a text messaging interface; and/or a video conference interface); [0354] ).
Thus, the applicant arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 11 and 16, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 20230292210 A1) in view of CARO et al. (US 20230066232 A1, hereinafter CARO).
Regarding claim 1, CHOI discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1 – 130; Fig. 12 – 1230; Fig. 18 - 1800) comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 18 - 1810); and
one or more non-transitory computer readable media (Fig. 18 - 1820) storing computer executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations ([0173] Referring to FIG. 18, a UE 1800 includes a processor 1810, a memory 1820, and a transceiver 1830. The processor 1810 may be configured to implement the function, process, and/or method described in the present disclosure. The layers in a radio interface protocol may be implemented in the processor 1810; [0174] The memory 1820 is connected to the processor 1810 and stores various types of information to drive the processor 1810. The transceiver 1830 is connected to the processor 1810 and transmits a radio signal to a network node 1900 or receives a radio signal from the network node 1900; [0176] The processor 1910 may be configured to implement the function, process, and/or method described in FIG. 8 and the present disclosure) comprising:
scanning, by the UE, first radio frequency (RF) resources to determine that the first RF resources are not available to the UE (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440). For example, in the case that the UE performs random access based on the channel measurement value (for example, RSRP or RSRQ) and the threshold value; [0162] Subsequently, the UE that accesses the terrestrial network node 1210 measures a channel state with the terrestrial network node 1210 again and compares the measurement value with the threshold value (step S1450). In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value (hence the first RF resources are not available due to measurement being less than threshold see Fig. 12 and [0146] In the wireless communication system 1200… an efficient switching method between network cells is required… in the case that the UE is positioned in the second region 1215-2 of the terrestrial network cells 1215-1 and 1215-2, the UE may have a channel state not better than that of in the first region 1215-1 and may not perform efficient data transmission and reception. Furthermore, even in the case that a channel quality of a required level is attained in the second region 1215-2, it may be more beneficial to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial network node 1220 more quickly in comparison with leaving the terrestrial network cells 1215-1 and 1215-2) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470));
based at least in part on determining that the first RF resources are not available, scanning second RF resources associated with a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – Second network node – S1460-S1470; [0162] the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470));
receiving a system information block (SIB) transmitted by the non-terrestrial network ([0107] Referring to FIG. 8, a UE that performs communication using a non-terrestrial network may perform a step of receiving system information (SI transmitted via SIBs according to [0093] SIB1 includes information necessary for the UE to perform an initial random access procedure… SIBs other than SIB1 may be transmitted periodically or may be transmitted according to the request of the UE) including reference round-trip delay offset information of a non-terrestrial network cell (S810));
initiating, by the UE and based at least in part on the SIB (Fig. 8 – S820), a communication with the non-terrestrial network ([0109] The UE may perform a step of performing a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network cell (step S820). For example, after receiving the system information, the UE may perform a random access procedure to access a network node by using a non-terrestrial network); and
updating a connection that the UE is connected to the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – S1470; [0162] release a connection with the terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with the non-terrestrial network node. Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose determining a condition of the UE indicative of a probability that a display of the UE is being viewed;
wherein the condition is based at least in part on at least one of:
a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE, or whether a face is detected by the UE;
determining that the probability meets or exceeds a threshold probability level;
scanning the non-terrestrial network based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold and
updating a symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection.
However, CARO discloses determining a condition of a UE indicative of a probability ([0108] As used in the specification and claims, the term “intensity” of a contact on a touch-sensitive surface refers to the force or pressure… The intensity of a contact has a range of values… and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality that may otherwise not be accessible by the user on a reduced-size device with limited real estate for displaying affordances (e.g., on a touch-sensitive display) and/or receiving user input (e.g., via a touch-sensitive display, a touch-sensitive surface, or a physical/mechanical control such as a knob or a button)) that a display of the UE is being viewed ([0006] The method comprises: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a user input corresponding to a request to initiate a communication via the computer system; and in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface; ([0107] Attention is now directed toward embodiments of portable devices with touch-sensitive displays. FIG. 1A is a block diagram illustrating portable multifunction device 100 with touch-sensitive display system 112 in accordance with some embodiments. Touch-sensitive display 112 is sometimes called a “touch screen” for convenience and is sometimes known as or called a “touch-sensitive display system.” ... Device 100 optionally includes one or more optical sensors 164. Device 100 optionally includes one or more contact intensity sensors 165 for detecting intensity of contacts on device 100 (e.g., a touch-sensitive surface such as touch-sensitive display system 112 of device 100));
wherein the condition is based at least in part on at least one ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component; [0107]; [0108];) of:
a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE ([0838] In some embodiments, the system user interface is a wake screen user interface (e.g., 2102, 1110, 1344A, 1524B, a wake screen and/or a lock screen); [0815] In FIG. 21C, computer system 600 detects request 2150d (e.g., an upward swipe from a predefined portion of user interface 2102 and/or other input) to unlock the user interface of computer system 600 and/or display a home screen), or whether a face is detected by the UE [0827] In some embodiments, computer system 600 is unlocked in response to a user aligning a sensor (e.g., a camera) with the user's face for facial recognition, a user placing a finger on a fingerprint sensor for fingerprint ID, and/or entry of a personal identification number or password);
determining that the probability meets or exceeds a threshold probability level ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component; [0108] and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user);
scanning a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 7 – 706; Fig. FIGS. 6E-6J (no network bars); [0333] the computer system displays... unable to place the call using a predetermined type of communication protocol (e.g., cellular communication) and/or... a predetermined type of signal (e.g., is not receiving the predetermined type of signal at a threshold (e.g., sufficient) level), displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating (e.g., via phone call, text message, and/or video conference)... via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network (e.g., via a communication protocol that does not require cellular service and/or a low-bandwidth communication mode)) based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold (Fig. 7 – 704; [0333] In response to detecting the user input, the computer system displays (704), via the display generation component, a first user interface (e.g., as seen in FIG. 6G at call management interface 602G; e.g., a phone call user interface; a text messaging interface; and/or a video conference interface); [0354] ); and
updating a symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call); [0333] a determination that the computer system is unable to communicate via a predetermined type of signal (e.g., is not receiving the predetermined type of signal at a threshold (e.g., sufficient) level), displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating… via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network (e.g., via a communication protocol that does not require cellular service and/or a low-bandwidth communication mode)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify scanning the non-terrestrial network and updating the connection of CHOI to include determining the condition of the UE indicative of the probability that the display of the UE is being viewed, wherein the condition is based on at least in part of at least of a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE, or whether a face is detected by the UE; determining that the probability meets or exceeds the threshold probability level, scanning the non-terrestrial network based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold and updating the symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network communication by displaying the network status which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, and reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life; [0005] Accordingly, the present technique provides electronic devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for managing communication user interfaces... Such methods and interfaces reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface. For battery-operated computing devices, such methods and interfaces conserve power and increase the time between battery charges).
Regarding claim 2, CHOI further discloses:
wherein a type of radio access technology is provided by the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 12; Fig. 14; [0002] NR-based non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) have been considered to be one of the evolutionary stages of NR for the revitalization of 5G and the expansion of the ecosystem. NTN's extensive service coverage capabilities and reduced vulnerability to physical attacks and natural disasters on its space/aerospace platforms enable NTN to deliver 5G services in a cost-effective manner in areas where terrestrial 5G networks are not available (isolated or remote areas, aboard aircraft or ships) and in areas where services are weak (suburbs or rural areas); [0100] In 3GPP, technology for supporting NR operation in a non-terrestrial network... it is known that RTD is 544.751 ms in an NTN scenario using geostationary earth orbiting (GEO) located at an altitude of 35,768 km, and RTD is 3.053 ms in an NTN scenario using HAPS located at an altitude of 229 km. In addition, RTD in an NTN scenario using a low earth orbiting (LEO) satellite system can be up to 25.76 ms).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose wherein the symbol further indicates the radio access technology.
However, CARO discloses the symbol further indicates the radio access technology (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call); [0326] computer system 600 is capable of communicating via a satellite communication network, computer system 600 displays satellite status indicator 607c (e.g., a glyph, icon, thumbnail, and/or image of a satellite); [0089] non-terrestrial (e.g., satellite) communication network, and providing users with feedback for aligning to a satellite for communication).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol of CHOI and CARO to include the type of radio access technology as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network communication by displaying the network status which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 3, CHOI further discloses:
the UE is connected to a terrestrial network associated with the radio access technology (Fig. 12; Fig. 14; (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440); [0002] NR-based non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) have been considered to be one of the evolutionary stages of NR for the revitalization of 5G and the expansion of the ecosystem. NTN's extensive service coverage capabilities and reduced vulnerability to physical attacks and natural disasters on its space/aerospace platforms enable NTN to deliver 5G services in a cost-effective manner in areas where terrestrial 5G networks are not available (isolated or remote areas, aboard aircraft or ships) and in areas where services are weak (suburbs or rural areas)... In addition, efficient multicast/broadcast resources for data delivery to a network edge or user terminal can be provided to support the availability of 5G networks).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose wherein the symbol is a first symbol that is different than a second symbol displayed by the UE when the UE is connected to the terrestrial network.
However, CARO discloses the symbol is a first symbol (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call; [0326] computer system 600 is capable of communicating via a satellite communication network, computer system 600 displays satellite status indicator 607c (e.g., a glyph, icon, thumbnail, and/or image of a satellite); [0089] non-terrestrial (e.g., satellite) communication network, and providing users with feedback for aligning to a satellite for communication) that is different than a second symbol (Fig. 7 – 708; FIGS. 6K and 6L, 607 (contains network bars)) displayed by the UE when the UE is connected to a terrestrial network ([0333] initiating (708) a process for communicating... via the respective terrestrial wireless communication network... depending on whether or not a respective terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable by the computer system provides the user with visual feedback about whether a respective terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable by the computer system... which provides improved visual feedback; [0255] Network indicator 607 displays the availability of computer system 600 to communicate with a terrestrial wireless communication to transmit a communication (e.g., initiate a call). In some embodiments, the terrestrial wireless communication network is a cellular network and/or and internet network (e.g., Wi-Fi)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol of CHOI and CARO to include the first symbol that is different from the second symbol displayed by the UE as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network communication by displaying the network status which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claims 4 ,13 and 18, CHOI does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the condition is further based at least in part on at least one of:
the display orientation of the UE;
a location status of the UE;
a camera status of the UE;
a noise mode of the UE; or
a motion state of the UE.
However, CARO discloses the condition is further based on at least in part on at least one of:
the display orientation of the UE ([0018] and in response to detecting the user input: displaying, via the display generation component, an alignment element, including... detecting a change in orientation of a predetermined portion of the computer system; and in response to detecting the change in orientation of the predetermined portion of the computer system, changing an appearance of the alignment element);
a location status of the UE (Fig. 9C; [0418] In FIGS. 9C-9J, computer system 900 displays an alignment interface... Minimap 940 indicates a spatial position of computer system 900 in a 2D space. Minimap 940 includes an exemplary user 942C with an arrow indicating an azimuth (e.g., rotational direction) computer system 900 is facing the communication window 930);
a camera status of the UE ([0827] In some embodiments, computer system 600 is unlocked in response to a user aligning a sensor (e.g., a camera) with the user's face for facial recognition, a user placing a finger on a fingerprint sensor for fingerprint ID, and/or entry of a personal identification number or password);
a noise mode of the UE (Fig. 6E; [0270] computer system 600 displays an animated transition from call management interface 602E to call management interface 602G that includes... outputs haptic output 619 and/or audio output 650 when initiating display of text via satellite communication button 604G (e.g., in FIG. 6F1) and/or... Outputting a non-visual output (e.g., haptic output 619 and/or audio output 650) notifies the user... if the user is not looking at display 601 (e.g., if computer system 600 is against the user's ear); [0688] In response to detecting input 1510Q (e.g., a tap gesture or other selection input) selecting ping option 1536C3, computer system 1500C causes (e.g., sends instructions to) computer system 1500B to output audio, as shown in FIG. 15AD, in order to help a user locate computer system 1500B); or
a motion state of the UE ([0006] The method comprises: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a user input corresponding to a request to initiate a communication via the computer system; and in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface; [0108] As used in the specification and claims, the term “intensity” of a contact on a touch-sensitive surface refers to the force or pressure… The intensity of a contact has a range of values… and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality that may otherwise not be accessible by the user on a reduced-size device with limited real estate for displaying affordances (e.g., on a touch-sensitive display) and/or receiving user input (e.g., via a touch-sensitive display, a touch-sensitive surface, or a physical/mechanical control such as a knob or a button)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the condition of CHOI and CARO to include at least in part on at least one of the display orientation of the UE... or the motion state of the UE as taught by CARO in order provide the user with a faster and more efficient way to manage and/or interact with the user interfaces which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0005] Accordingly, the present technique provides electronic devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for managing communication user interfaces... Such methods and interfaces reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface. For battery-operated computing devices, such methods and interfaces conserve power and increase the time between battery charges; [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 5, CHOI further discloses:
wherein the first RF resources (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440)) are associated with a Fifth Generation (5G) terrestrial network and the second RF resources (Fig. 14 – S1470; [0162] release a connection with the terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with the non-terrestrial network node) are associated with a 5G non-terrestrial network (Fig. 12; Fig. 14; [0002] NR-based non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) have been considered to be one of the evolutionary stages of NR for the revitalization of 5G and the expansion of the ecosystem. NTN's extensive service coverage capabilities and reduced vulnerability to physical attacks and natural disasters on its space/aerospace platforms enable NTN to deliver 5G services in a cost-effective manner in areas where terrestrial 5G networks are not available (isolated or remote areas, aboard aircraft or ships) and in areas where services are weak (suburbs or rural areas)).
Regarding claim 6, CHOI further discloses the operations further comprising:
starting a timer ([0156] According to an aspect, the UE may be configured to store the cell-specific information from the terrestrial network node 1210 and/or the non-terrestrial network node 1220 in a memory, and reuse the cell-specific information on a required time... In response to the determination that a measurement result of a reference signal is greater than a threshold value, the UE may perform an access to the terrestrial network node 1210 or perform data transmission and reception. However, the measurement value when the reference signal is measured again after a predetermined time (hence there is a predetermined timer required that starts after determining the measurement result of a reference signal) may be smaller than the threshold value;) in response to initiating the communication with the second RF resources (Fig. 8; [0109] The UE may perform a step of performing a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network cell (step S820). For example, after receiving the system information, the UE may perform a random access procedure to access a network node by using a non-terrestrial network; [0162] the embodiment in the connection state with the terrestrial network node is described, but the opposite case, that is, the embodiment in which the UE that accesses the non-terrestrial network node measures a channel state with the non-terrestrial network node and establishes a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node according to the comparison between the measurement value and the threshold value or switch the target access to the terrestrial network node, may also be included in the inventive concept of the present disclosure;); and
scanning the first RF resources based at least in part on a status of the timer ([0162] the embodiment in the connection state with the terrestrial network node is described, but the opposite case, that is, the embodiment in which the UE that accesses the non-terrestrial network node measures a channel state with the non-terrestrial network node and establishes a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node according to the comparison between the measurement value and the threshold value or switch the target access to the terrestrial network node, may also be included in the inventive concept of the present disclosure; [0156] the measurement value when the reference signal is measured again after a predetermined time).
Regarding claim 7, CHOI further discloses the operations further comprising:
starting a timer (Fig. 8 – S820; [0110] in the case of the contention-based random access procedure, the UE may perform a step of transmitting message 3 (MSG 3), after transmitting MSG 3, a step of starting a timer for contention resolution, when the time according to the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed, and a step of stopping the timer when the contention resolution is completed. That is, when the time of the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed after transmitting MSG 3, the UE monitors a reception of MSG 4. To determine whether the contention resolution is completed, when the time of the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed, the UE starts the timer for contention resolution, and when MSG 4 is normally received, the UE stops the timer and complete the random access procedure) in response to initiating the communication with the second RF resources (Fig. 8; [0109] The UE may perform a step of performing a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network cell (step S820). For example, after receiving the system information, the UE may perform a random access procedure to access a network node by using a non-terrestrial network); and
determining that the communication has ended ([0158] For example, in the case that a time for staying on a specific terrestrial region is relatively short like a low earth orbit satellite... the information of moving schedule of the low earth orbit satellite may be required. For example, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to store a period of staying time for the related region of one or more low earth orbit satellites that pass through the terrestrial network node... the terrestrial network node 1210 may transmit the cell-specific information... the UE may select the accessible cell-specific information according to the pattern information and perform an access to the non-terrestrial network node (hence the communication ends when the staying time elapsed) or data transmission and reception... the terrestrial network node 1210 may determine information for an accessible time length together with the determination of the non-terrestrial network node accessible by the UE and transmit... determined information...to the UE... the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to drive a timer based on the accessible time length and transmit the cell-specific information for a newly accessible non-terrestrial network node to the UE again before a predetermined time before the timer expires).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose the UE has entered an idle mode; and
refraining from updating the symbol based at least in part on the timer being active and the UE having entered the idle mode.
However, CARO discloses a UE has entered an idle mode (Fig. 11B; [0564] In FIG. 11B, computer system 1100 is currently in a display inactive state, with display screen 1106 off; [0811] In some embodiments, computer system 600 displays user interface 2102 in response to detecting input 2150b… In FIG. 21C, user interface 2102 is a system user interface such as a lock screen or a wake screen that is displayed when computer system 600 transitions from a low-power state (e.g., when computer system 600 turns on display 601) (hence the display inactive state/lower-power state is the idle mode, wherein the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “idle mode” is when the UE is powered on but it is in a reduced-activity state with minimized background activity in order to conserve battery life)) and
refraining from updating a symbol (FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; Fig. 7 – step 706) based at least in part on a timer being active ([0269] After a threshold amount of time displaying call management interface 602E without successfully initiating the call, computer system 600 displays call management interface 602G described in FIG. 6G below; [0274] in response to a determination that no terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable, computer system 600 displays call back option 611… when no terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable, computer system 600 replaces call back option with text via satellite communication button 604G (e.g., after a predetermined amount of time)) and the UE having entered the idle mode (Fig. 700 – 702 user input condition not satisfied; [0697] In some embodiments, changing the user interface is performed in response to detecting the user input corresponding to a request to stop attempting to communicate via the terrestrial wireless communication network. In some embodiments, changing the user interface includes changing one or more elements (e.g., a notification, a prompt, text, and/or a graphical indication) of the user interface)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the UE, the timer and the symbol of CHOI and CARO to include the UE has entered the idle mode and refraining from updating the symbol based at least in part on the timer being active and the UE having entered the idle mode as taught by CARO in order to reduce the power usage of the UE thus improving the battery life (CARO - [0838] the system user interface is a wake screen user interface (e.g., 2102, 1110, 1344A, 1524B, a wake screen and/or a lock screen) that the computer system displays when coming out of an inactive state (e.g., a low-power state, a sleep state, and/or a dimmed state). Displaying the user interface object and a user interface that the computer system displays when coming out of an inactive state provides the user with the status of the process for sending the communication to the respective recipient immediately when the computer system comes out of an inactive state and enables the user to interact with the process more efficiently (e.g., without manually requesting the status of the process) and/or with fewer errors, which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 8, CHOI further discloses wherein the communication with the non-terrestrial network is associated (Fig. 8; [0109] The UE may perform a step of performing a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network cell (step S820). For example, after receiving the system information, the UE may perform a random access procedure to access a network node by using a non-terrestrial network) with a first time ([0168] when the beam management failure situation occurs in the UE in relation to the terrestrial network node 1210, a predetermined first timer is started, and when the first timer expires (first time), an access to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 may be started or the UE transmits and receives data), the operations further comprising:
determining that the communication has failed at a second time ([0158] For example, in the case that a time for staying on a specific terrestrial region is relatively short like a low earth orbit satellite... the information of moving schedule of the low earth orbit satellite may be required. For example, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to store a period of staying time for the related region of one or more low earth orbit satellites that pass through the terrestrial network node... the terrestrial network node 1210 may transmit the cell-specific information... the UE may select the accessible cell-specific information according to the pattern information and perform an access to the non-terrestrial network node or data transmission and reception... the terrestrial network node 1210 may determine information for an accessible time length together with the determination of the non-terrestrial network node accessible by the UE and transmit... determined information...to the UE (hence the communication fails when the staying time elapsed; second time); [0162] the embodiment in which the UE that accesses the non-terrestrial network node measures a channel state with the non-terrestrial network node... according to the comparison between the measurement value and the threshold value or switch the target access to the terrestrial network node (second time), may also be included in the inventive concept of the present disclosure) after the first time ([0168] when the beam management failure situation occurs in the UE in relation to the terrestrial network node 1210, a predetermined first timer is started, and when the first timer expires (first time), an access to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 may be started or the UE transmits and receives data);
based at least in part on determining that the communication has failed at the second time ([0158] transmit... determined information...to the UE (hence the communication fails when the staying time elapsed; second time)... In addition, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to drive a timer based on the accessible time length and transmit the cell-specific information for a newly accessible non-terrestrial network node to the UE again before a predetermined time before the timer expires; [0162] the non-terrestrial network node according to the comparison between the measurement value and the threshold value or switch the target access to the terrestrial network node (second time); [0161] when the channel measurement value is greater than the threshold value, the UE may transmit a random access preamble to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive a random access response from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440)), initiating a timer ([0158] transmit... determined information...to the UE... In addition, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to drive a timer based on the accessible time length and transmit the cell-specific information for a newly accessible non-terrestrial network node to the UE again before a predetermined time before the timer expires; [0110] in the case of the contention-based random access procedure, the UE may perform a step of transmitting message 3 (MSG 3), after transmitting MSG 3, a step of starting a timer for contention resolution… when the time of the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed after transmitting MSG 3, the UE monitors a reception of MSG 4. To determine whether the contention resolution is completed, when the time of the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed, the UE starts the timer for contention resolution, and when MSG 4 is normally received, the UE stops the timer and complete the random access procedure).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose preventing the symbol from being displayed until expiration of the timer.
However, CARO discloses preventing a symbol (FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; Fig. 7 – step 706) from being displayed until expiration of a timer ([0269] After a threshold amount of time displaying call management interface 602E without successfully initiating the call, computer system 600 displays call management interface 602G described in FIG. 6G below; [0274] in response to a determination that no terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable, computer system 600 displays call back option 611… when no terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable, computer system 600 replaces call back option with text via satellite communication button 604G (e.g., after a predetermined amount of time)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol and the timer of CHOI and CARO to include preventing the symbol from being displayed until the expiration of the timer as taught by CARO in order to reduce the power usage of the UE thus improving the battery life (CARO - [0838] the system user interface is a wake screen user interface (e.g., 2102, 1110, 1344A, 1524B, a wake screen and/or a lock screen) that the computer system displays when coming out of an inactive state (e.g., a low-power state, a sleep state, and/or a dimmed state). Displaying the user interface object and a user interface that the computer system displays when coming out of an inactive state provides the user with the status of the process for sending the communication to the respective recipient immediately when the computer system comes out of an inactive state and enables the user to interact with the process more efficiently (e.g., without manually requesting the status of the process) and/or with fewer errors, which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 9, CHOI further discloses wherein the first RF resources are not available at a first time (Fig. 13; Fig. 14; [0147] a situation may occur that a UE 1230 moves toward a third cell 1215b… Here, an empty region, which is not covered by any network nodes, may be existed between the second region 1215a-2 and the third region 1215a-1, and the UE may lose the network access...the empty region of coverage may be covered by a non-terrestrial network node; [0148] the UE is required to switch the connection state with the terrestrial network node 1210 to the connection state with the non-terrestrial network node 1220 efficiently according to a specific criterion… the connection state switching may include switching from a single connection state to a dual connectivity state… the dual connectivity state with the terrestrial network node 1210 and the non-terrestrial network node 1220; [0149] the connection state switching… may be based on a channel measurement value (for example, Reference Signal Received Power; RSRP) and determined by comparing the measurement value with a threshold value); [0162] In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value, the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470) (first time). Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node), the operations further comprising:
scanning, by the UE, the first RF resources at a second time (Fig. 13; Fig. 14) after the first time ([0162] In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value, the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470) (firs time). Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210);
determining that the first RF resources are available to the UE at the second time ([0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210);
determining that the second RF resources are available to the UE at the second time ([0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210) and;
wherein the first RF resources are available to the UE is associated with data transmission on a terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440); [0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose wherein the symbol is a first symbol, and
removing the first symbol displayed on the UE and displaying a second symbol on the UE to indicate that the terrestrial network is available to the UE.
However, CARO discloses the symbol is a first symbol (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call; [0333] displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating... via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network), and
removing the first symbol displayed on the UE (Fig. 7 – 706) and displaying a second symbol (Fig. 7 – 708; FIGS. 6K and 6L, 607 (contains network bars); [0280] FIGS. 6K and 6L illustrate the continuation of the process for attempting to initiate a call to an emergency service and a non-emergency entity from FIGS. 6I and 6J. FIGS. 6K and 6L display computer system 600 with interfaces for managing a communication when cellular service is available... In FIGS. 6K-6L, network indicator 607 indicates that a cellular service is available to initiate the call) on the UE to indicate that a terrestrial network is available to the UE ([0255] Network indicator 607 displays the availability of computer system 600 to communicate with a terrestrial wireless communication to transmit a communication (e.g., initiate a call). In some embodiments, the terrestrial wireless communication network is a cellular network and/or and internet network (e.g., Wi-Fi)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol and the terrestrial network of CHOI and CARO to include the first symbol, and removing the first symbol and displaying the second symbol to indicate that the terrestrial network is available as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network indicator(s) which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 10, CHOI further discloses the operations further comprising:
wherein determining the first RF resources are not available to the UE is associated with not transmitting data on a terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440). For example, in the case that the UE performs random access based on the channel measurement value (for example, RSRP or RSRQ) and the threshold value; [0162] Subsequently, the UE that accesses the terrestrial network node 1210 measures a channel state with the terrestrial network node 1210 again and compares the measurement value with the threshold value (step S1450). In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value (hence the first RF resources are not available due to measurement being less than threshold see Fig. 12 and [0146]) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470)).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose refraining from displaying a connection status symbol in response to the terrestrial network is not available.
However, CARO discloses refraining from displaying a connection status symbol (Fig. 6A – 607 (contains network bars)) in response to the terrestrial network is not available (FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the terrestrial network of CHOI and CARO to include refraining from displaying the connection status symbol in response to the terrestrial network is not available as taught by CARO in order to provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network indicator(s) which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 11, CHOI discloses a method (abstract - Disclosed are a device and a method for transmitting and receiving data in non-terrestrial and terrestrial network systems. According to an embodiment of the present invention, a wireless transmission and reception method performed by a user equipment in an environment where network nodes providing different cell coverages is implemented) comprising:
scanning, by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1 – 130; Fig. 12 – 1230; Fig. 18 - 1800), first radio frequency (RF) resources to determine that the first RF resources are not available to the UE (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440). For example, in the case that the UE performs random access based on the channel measurement value (for example, RSRP or RSRQ) and the threshold value; [0162] Subsequently, the UE that accesses the terrestrial network node 1210 measures a channel state with the terrestrial network node 1210 again and compares the measurement value with the threshold value (step S1450). In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value (hence the first RF resources are not available due to measurement being less than threshold see Fig. 12 and [0146] In the wireless communication system 1200… an efficient switching method between network cells is required… in the case that the UE is positioned in the second region 1215-2 of the terrestrial network cells 1215-1 and 1215-2, the UE may have a channel state not better than that of in the first region 1215-1 and may not perform efficient data transmission and reception. Furthermore, even in the case that a channel quality of a required level is attained in the second region 1215-2, it may be more beneficial to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial network node 1220 more quickly in comparison with leaving the terrestrial network cells 1215-1 and 1215-2) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470));
based at least in part on determining that the first RF resources are not available, scanning second RF resources associated with a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – Second network node – S1460-S1470; [0162] the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470));
receiving a system information block (SIB) transmitted by the non-terrestrial network ([0107] Referring to FIG. 8, a UE that performs communication using a non-terrestrial network may perform a step of receiving system information (SI transmitted via SIBs according to [0093] SIB1 includes information necessary for the UE to perform an initial random access procedure… SIBs other than SIB1 may be transmitted periodically or may be transmitted according to the request of the UE) including reference round-trip delay offset information of a non-terrestrial network cell (S810));
initiating, by the UE and based at least in part on the SIB (Fig. 8 – S820), a communication with the non-terrestrial network ([0109] The UE may perform a step of performing a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network cell (step S820). For example, after receiving the system information, the UE may perform a random access procedure to access a network node by using a non-terrestrial network); and
updating a connection that the UE is connected to the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – S1470; [0162] release a connection with the terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with the non-terrestrial network node. Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose determining a condition of the UE indicative of a probability that a display of the UE is being viewed;
wherein the condition is based at least in part on at least one of:
a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE, or whether a face is detected by the UE;
determining that the probability meets or exceeds a threshold probability level;
scanning the non-terrestrial network based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold and
updating a symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection.
However, CARO discloses determining a condition of a UE indicative of a probability ([0108] As used in the specification and claims, the term “intensity” of a contact on a touch-sensitive surface refers to the force or pressure… The intensity of a contact has a range of values… and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality that may otherwise not be accessible by the user on a reduced-size device with limited real estate for displaying affordances (e.g., on a touch-sensitive display) and/or receiving user input (e.g., via a touch-sensitive display, a touch-sensitive surface, or a physical/mechanical control such as a knob or a button)) that a display of the UE is being viewed ([0006] The method comprises: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a user input corresponding to a request to initiate a communication via the computer system; and in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface; ([0107] Attention is now directed toward embodiments of portable devices with touch-sensitive displays. FIG. 1A is a block diagram illustrating portable multifunction device 100 with touch-sensitive display system 112 in accordance with some embodiments. Touch-sensitive display 112 is sometimes called a “touch screen” for convenience and is sometimes known as or called a “touch-sensitive display system.” ... Device 100 optionally includes one or more optical sensors 164. Device 100 optionally includes one or more contact intensity sensors 165 for detecting intensity of contacts on device 100 (e.g., a touch-sensitive surface such as touch-sensitive display system 112 of device 100));
wherein the condition is based at least in part on at least one ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component; [0107]; [0108];) of:
a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE ([0838] In some embodiments, the system user interface is a wake screen user interface (e.g., 2102, 1110, 1344A, 1524B, a wake screen and/or a lock screen); [0815] In FIG. 21C, computer system 600 detects request 2150d (e.g., an upward swipe from a predefined portion of user interface 2102 and/or other input) to unlock the user interface of computer system 600 and/or display a home screen), or whether a face is detected by the UE [0827] In some embodiments, computer system 600 is unlocked in response to a user aligning a sensor (e.g., a camera) with the user's face for facial recognition, a user placing a finger on a fingerprint sensor for fingerprint ID, and/or entry of a personal identification number or password);
determining that the probability meets or exceeds a threshold probability level ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component; [0108] and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user);
scanning a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 7 – 706; Fig. FIGS. 6E-6J (no network bars); [0333] the computer system displays... unable to place the call using a predetermined type of communication protocol (e.g., cellular communication) and/or... a predetermined type of signal (e.g., is not receiving the predetermined type of signal at a threshold (e.g., sufficient) level), displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating (e.g., via phone call, text message, and/or video conference)... via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network (e.g., via a communication protocol that does not require cellular service and/or a low-bandwidth communication mode)) based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold (Fig. 7 – 704; [0333] In response to detecting the user input, the computer system displays (704), via the display generation component, a first user interface (e.g., as seen in FIG. 6G at call management interface 602G; e.g., a phone call user interface; a text messaging interface; and/or a video conference interface); [0354] ); and
updating a symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call); [0333] a determination that the computer system is unable to communicate via a predetermined type of signal (e.g., is not receiving the predetermined type of signal at a threshold (e.g., sufficient) level), displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating… via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network (e.g., via a communication protocol that does not require cellular service and/or a low-bandwidth communication mode)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify scanning the non-terrestrial network and updating the connection of CHOI to include determining the condition of the UE indicative of the probability that the display of the UE is being viewed, wherein the condition is based on at least in part of at least of a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE, or whether a face is detected by the UE; determining that the probability meets or exceeds the threshold probability level, scanning the non-terrestrial network based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold and updating the symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network communication by displaying the network status which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life; [0005] Accordingly, the present technique provides electronic devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for managing communication user interfaces... Such methods and interfaces reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface. For battery-operated computing devices, such methods and interfaces conserve power and increase the time between battery charges).
Regarding claim 12, CHOI further discloses wherein:
a type of radio access technology is provided by the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 12; Fig. 14; [0002] NR-based non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) have been considered to be one of the evolutionary stages of NR for the revitalization of 5G and the expansion of the ecosystem. NTN's extensive service coverage capabilities and reduced vulnerability to physical attacks and natural disasters on its space/aerospace platforms enable NTN to deliver 5G services in a cost-effective manner in areas where terrestrial 5G networks are not available (isolated or remote areas, aboard aircraft or ships) and in areas where services are weak (suburbs or rural areas); [0100] In 3GPP, technology for supporting NR operation in a non-terrestrial network... it is known that RTD is 544.751 ms in an NTN scenario using geostationary earth orbiting (GEO) located at an altitude of 35,768 km, and RTD is 3.053 ms in an NTN scenario using HAPS located at an altitude of 229 km. In addition, RTD in an NTN scenario using a low earth orbiting (LEO) satellite system can be up to 25.76 ms); and
the UE is connected to a terrestrial network associated with the radio access technology (Fig. 12; Fig. 14; (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440); [0002] NR-based non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) have been considered to be one of the evolutionary stages of NR for the revitalization of 5G and the expansion of the ecosystem. NTN's extensive service coverage capabilities and reduced vulnerability to physical attacks and natural disasters on its space/aerospace platforms enable NTN to deliver 5G services in a cost-effective manner in areas where terrestrial 5G networks are not available (isolated or remote areas, aboard aircraft or ships) and in areas where services are weak (suburbs or rural areas)... In addition, efficient multicast/broadcast resources for data delivery to a network edge or user terminal can be provided to support the availability of 5G networks).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose wherein the symbol further indicates the radio access technology; the symbol is a first symbol that is different than a second symbol displayed by the UE when the UE is connected to the terrestrial network.
However, CARO discloses the symbol further indicates the radio access technology (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call); [0326] computer system 600 is capable of communicating via a satellite communication network, computer system 600 displays satellite status indicator 607c (e.g., a glyph, icon, thumbnail, and/or image of a satellite); [0089] non-terrestrial (e.g., satellite) communication network, and providing users with feedback for aligning to a satellite for communication); and
the symbol is a first symbol (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call; [0326] computer system 600 is capable of communicating via a satellite communication network, computer system 600 displays satellite status indicator 607c (e.g., a glyph, icon, thumbnail, and/or image of a satellite); [0089] non-terrestrial (e.g., satellite) communication network, and providing users with feedback for aligning to a satellite for communication) that is different than a second symbol (Fig. 7 – 708; FIGS. 6K and 6L, 607 (contains network bars)) displayed by the UE when the UE is connected to a terrestrial network ([0333] initiating (708) a process for communicating... via the respective terrestrial wireless communication network... depending on whether or not a respective terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable by the computer system provides the user with visual feedback about whether a respective terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable by the computer system... which provides improved visual feedback; [0255] Network indicator 607 displays the availability of computer system 600 to communicate with a terrestrial wireless communication to transmit a communication (e.g., initiate a call). In some embodiments, the terrestrial wireless communication network is a cellular network and/or and internet network (e.g., Wi-Fi)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol of CHOI and CARO to include the type of radio access technology and the first symbol that is different from the second symbol displayed by the UE as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network communication by displaying the network status which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 14, CHOI further discloses wherein the communication with the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 8; [0109] The UE may perform a step of performing a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network cell (step S820). For example, after receiving the system information, the UE may perform a random access procedure to access a network node by using a non-terrestrial network) is associated with a first time ([0168] when the beam management failure situation occurs in the UE in relation to the terrestrial network node 1210, a predetermined first timer is started, and when the first timer expires (first time), an access to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 may be started or the UE transmits and receives data), the method further comprising:
determining that the communication has failed at a second time ([0158] For example, in the case that a time for staying on a specific terrestrial region is relatively short like a low earth orbit satellite... the information of moving schedule of the low earth orbit satellite may be required. For example, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to store a period of staying time for the related region of one or more low earth orbit satellites that pass through the terrestrial network node... the terrestrial network node 1210 may transmit the cell-specific information... the UE may select the accessible cell-specific information according to the pattern information and perform an access to the non-terrestrial network node or data transmission and reception... the terrestrial network node 1210 may determine information for an accessible time length together with the determination of the non-terrestrial network node accessible by the UE and transmit... determined information...to the UE (hence the communication fails when the staying time elapsed; second time); [0162] the embodiment in which the UE that accesses the non-terrestrial network node measures a channel state with the non-terrestrial network node... according to the comparison between the measurement value and the threshold value or switch the target access to the terrestrial network node (second time), may also be included in the inventive concept of the present disclosure) after the first time ([0168] when the beam management failure situation occurs in the UE in relation to the terrestrial network node 1210, a predetermined first timer is started, and when the first timer expires (first time), an access to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 may be started or the UE transmits and receives data);
based at least in part on determining that the communication has failed at the second time ([0158] transmit... determined information...to the UE (hence the communication fails when the staying time elapsed; second time)... In addition, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to drive a timer based on the accessible time length and transmit the cell-specific information for a newly accessible non-terrestrial network node to the UE again before a predetermined time before the timer expires; [0162] the non-terrestrial network node according to the comparison between the measurement value and the threshold value or switch the target access to the terrestrial network node (second time); [0161] when the channel measurement value is greater than the threshold value, the UE may transmit a random access preamble to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive a random access response from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440)), initiating a timer ([0158] transmit... determined information...to the UE... In addition, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to drive a timer based on the accessible time length and transmit the cell-specific information for a newly accessible non-terrestrial network node to the UE again before a predetermined time before the timer expires; [0110] in the case of the contention-based random access procedure, the UE may perform a step of transmitting message 3 (MSG 3), after transmitting MSG 3, a step of starting a timer for contention resolution… when the time of the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed after transmitting MSG 3, the UE monitors a reception of MSG 4. To determine whether the contention resolution is completed, when the time of the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed, the UE starts the timer for contention resolution, and when MSG 4 is normally received, the UE stops the timer and complete the random access procedure); and
CHOI does not explicitly disclose preventing the symbol from being displayed until expiration of the timer.
However, CARO discloses preventing a symbol (FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; Fig. 7 – step 706) from being displayed until expiration of a timer ([0269] After a threshold amount of time displaying call management interface 602E without successfully initiating the call, computer system 600 displays call management interface 602G described in FIG. 6G below; [0274] in response to a determination that no terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable, computer system 600 displays call back option 611… when no terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable, computer system 600 replaces call back option with text via satellite communication button 604G (e.g., after a predetermined amount of time)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol and the timer of CHOI and CARO to include preventing the symbol from being displayed until the expiration of the timer as taught by CARO in order to reduce the power usage of the UE thus improving the battery life (CARO - [0838] the system user interface is a wake screen user interface (e.g., 2102, 1110, 1344A, 1524B, a wake screen and/or a lock screen) that the computer system displays when coming out of an inactive state (e.g., a low-power state, a sleep state, and/or a dimmed state). Displaying the user interface object and a user interface that the computer system displays when coming out of an inactive state provides the user with the status of the process for sending the communication to the respective recipient immediately when the computer system comes out of an inactive state and enables the user to interact with the process more efficiently (e.g., without manually requesting the status of the process) and/or with fewer errors, which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 15, CHOI further disclose wherein the first RF resources are not available at a first time (Fig. 13; Fig. 14; [0147] a situation may occur that a UE 1230 moves toward a third cell 1215b… Here, an empty region, which is not covered by any network nodes, may be existed between the second region 1215a-2 and the third region 1215a-1, and the UE may lose the network access...the empty region of coverage may be covered by a non-terrestrial network node; [0148] the UE is required to switch the connection state with the terrestrial network node 1210 to the connection state with the non-terrestrial network node 1220 efficiently according to a specific criterion… the connection state switching may include switching from a single connection state to a dual connectivity state… the dual connectivity state with the terrestrial network node 1210 and the non-terrestrial network node 1220; [0149] the connection state switching… may be based on a channel measurement value (for example, Reference Signal Received Power; RSRP) and determined by comparing the measurement value with a threshold value); [0162] In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value, the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470) (first time). Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node), the method further comprising:
scanning, by the UE, the first RF resources at a second time (Fig. 13; Fig. 14) after the first time ([0162] In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value, the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470) (firs time). Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210);
determining that the first RF resources are available to the UE at the second time ([0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210);
determining that the second RF resources are available to the UE at the second time ([0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210); and
wherein the first RF resources are available to the UE is associated with data transmission on a terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440); [0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose wherein the symbol is a first symbol, and
removing the first symbol displayed on the UE and displaying a second symbol on the UE to indicate that the terrestrial network is available to the UE.
However, CARO discloses the symbol is a first symbol (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call; [0333] displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating... via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network), and
removing the first symbol displayed on the UE (Fig. 7 – 706) and displaying a second symbol (Fig. 7 – 708; FIGS. 6K and 6L, 607 (contains network bars); [0280] FIGS. 6K and 6L illustrate the continuation of the process for attempting to initiate a call to an emergency service and a non-emergency entity from FIGS. 6I and 6J. FIGS. 6K and 6L display computer system 600 with interfaces for managing a communication when cellular service is available... In FIGS. 6K-6L, network indicator 607 indicates that a cellular service is available to initiate the call) on the UE to indicate that a terrestrial network is available to the UE ([0255] Network indicator 607 displays the availability of computer system 600 to communicate with a terrestrial wireless communication to transmit a communication (e.g., initiate a call). In some embodiments, the terrestrial wireless communication network is a cellular network and/or and internet network (e.g., Wi-Fi)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol and the terrestrial network of CHOI and CARO to include the first symbol, and removing the first symbol and displaying the second symbol to indicate that the terrestrial network is available as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network indicator(s) which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 16, CHOI discloses:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 18 - 1820) storing computer executable instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors (Fig. 18 - 1810) to perform operations ([0173] Referring to FIG. 18, a UE 1800 includes a processor 1810, a memory 1820, and a transceiver 1830. The processor 1810 may be configured to implement the function, process, and/or method described in the present disclosure. The layers in a radio interface protocol may be implemented in the processor 1810; [0174] The memory 1820 is connected to the processor 1810 and stores various types of information to drive the processor 1810. The transceiver 1830 is connected to the processor 1810 and transmits a radio signal to a network node 1900 or receives a radio signal from the network node 1900; [0176] The processor 1910 may be configured to implement the function, process, and/or method described in FIG. 8 and the present disclosure) comprising:
scanning, by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1 – 130; Fig. 12 – 1230; Fig. 18 - 1800), first radio frequency (RF) resources to determine that the first RF resources are not available to the UE (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440). For example, in the case that the UE performs random access based on the channel measurement value (for example, RSRP or RSRQ) and the threshold value; [0162] Subsequently, the UE that accesses the terrestrial network node 1210 measures a channel state with the terrestrial network node 1210 again and compares the measurement value with the threshold value (step S1450). In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value (hence the first RF resources are not available due to measurement being less than threshold see Fig. 12 and [0146] In the wireless communication system 1200… an efficient switching method between network cells is required… in the case that the UE is positioned in the second region 1215-2 of the terrestrial network cells 1215-1 and 1215-2, the UE may have a channel state not better than that of in the first region 1215-1 and may not perform efficient data transmission and reception. Furthermore, even in the case that a channel quality of a required level is attained in the second region 1215-2, it may be more beneficial to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial network node 1220 more quickly in comparison with leaving the terrestrial network cells 1215-1 and 1215-2) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470));
based at least in part on determining that the first RF resources are not available, scanning second RF resources associated with a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – Second network node – S1460-S1470; [0162] the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470));
receiving a system information block (SIB) transmitted by the non-terrestrial network ([0107] Referring to FIG. 8, a UE that performs communication using a non-terrestrial network may perform a step of receiving system information (SI transmitted via SIBs according to [0093] SIB1 includes information necessary for the UE to perform an initial random access procedure… SIBs other than SIB1 may be transmitted periodically or may be transmitted according to the request of the UE) including reference round-trip delay offset information of a non-terrestrial network cell (S810));
initiating, by the UE and based at least in part on the SIB (Fig. 8 – S820), a communication with the non-terrestrial network ([0109] The UE may perform a step of performing a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network cell (step S820). For example, after receiving the system information, the UE may perform a random access procedure to access a network node by using a non-terrestrial network); and
updating a connection that the UE is connected to the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – S1470; [0162] release a connection with the terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with the non-terrestrial network node. Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose determining a condition of the UE indicative of a probability that a display of the UE is being viewed;
wherein the condition is based at least in part on at least one of:
a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE, or whether a face is detected by the UE;
determining that the probability meets or exceeds a threshold probability level;
scanning the non-terrestrial network based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold and
updating a symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection.
However, CARO discloses determining a condition of a UE indicative of a probability ([0108] As used in the specification and claims, the term “intensity” of a contact on a touch-sensitive surface refers to the force or pressure… The intensity of a contact has a range of values… and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user input allows for user access to additional device functionality that may otherwise not be accessible by the user on a reduced-size device with limited real estate for displaying affordances (e.g., on a touch-sensitive display) and/or receiving user input (e.g., via a touch-sensitive display, a touch-sensitive surface, or a physical/mechanical control such as a knob or a button)) that a display of the UE is being viewed ([0006] The method comprises: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a user input corresponding to a request to initiate a communication via the computer system; and in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface; ([0107] Attention is now directed toward embodiments of portable devices with touch-sensitive displays. FIG. 1A is a block diagram illustrating portable multifunction device 100 with touch-sensitive display system 112 in accordance with some embodiments. Touch-sensitive display 112 is sometimes called a “touch screen” for convenience and is sometimes known as or called a “touch-sensitive display system.” ... Device 100 optionally includes one or more optical sensors 164. Device 100 optionally includes one or more contact intensity sensors 165 for detecting intensity of contacts on device 100 (e.g., a touch-sensitive surface such as touch-sensitive display system 112 of device 100));
wherein the condition is based at least in part on at least one ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component; [0107]; [0108];) of:
a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE ([0838] In some embodiments, the system user interface is a wake screen user interface (e.g., 2102, 1110, 1344A, 1524B, a wake screen and/or a lock screen); [0815] In FIG. 21C, computer system 600 detects request 2150d (e.g., an upward swipe from a predefined portion of user interface 2102 and/or other input) to unlock the user interface of computer system 600 and/or display a home screen), or whether a face is detected by the UE [0827] In some embodiments, computer system 600 is unlocked in response to a user aligning a sensor (e.g., a camera) with the user's face for facial recognition, a user placing a finger on a fingerprint sensor for fingerprint ID, and/or entry of a personal identification number or password);
determining that the probability meets or exceeds a threshold probability level ([0006] in response to detecting the user input, displaying, via the display generation component; [0108] and the estimated force or pressure is used to determine whether an intensity threshold has been exceeded (e.g., the intensity threshold is a pressure threshold measured in units of pressure)….Using the intensity of a contact as an attribute of a user);
scanning a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 7 – 706; Fig. FIGS. 6E-6J (no network bars); [0333] the computer system displays... unable to place the call using a predetermined type of communication protocol (e.g., cellular communication) and/or... a predetermined type of signal (e.g., is not receiving the predetermined type of signal at a threshold (e.g., sufficient) level), displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating (e.g., via phone call, text message, and/or video conference)... via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network (e.g., via a communication protocol that does not require cellular service and/or a low-bandwidth communication mode)) based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold (Fig. 7 – 704; [0333] In response to detecting the user input, the computer system displays (704), via the display generation component, a first user interface (e.g., as seen in FIG. 6G at call management interface 602G; e.g., a phone call user interface; a text messaging interface; and/or a video conference interface); [0354] ); and
updating a symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call); [0333] a determination that the computer system is unable to communicate via a predetermined type of signal (e.g., is not receiving the predetermined type of signal at a threshold (e.g., sufficient) level), displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating… via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network (e.g., via a communication protocol that does not require cellular service and/or a low-bandwidth communication mode)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify scanning the non-terrestrial network and updating the connection of CHOI to include determining the condition of the UE indicative of the probability that the display of the UE is being viewed, wherein the condition is based on at least in part of at least of a screen saver status of the UE, a locked status of the UE, a power mode of the UE, a sleep mode of the UE, or whether a face is detected by the UE; determining that the probability meets or exceeds the threshold probability level, scanning the non-terrestrial network based at least in part on the probability meets or exceeds the threshold and updating the symbol displayed on the UE to indicate the connection as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network communication by displaying the network status which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life; [0005] Accordingly, the present technique provides electronic devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for managing communication user interfaces... Such methods and interfaces reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface. For battery-operated computing devices, such methods and interfaces conserve power and increase the time between battery charges).
Regarding claim 17, CHOI further disclose wherein:
a type of radio access technology is provided by the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 12; Fig. 14; [0002] NR-based non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) have been considered to be one of the evolutionary stages of NR for the revitalization of 5G and the expansion of the ecosystem. NTN's extensive service coverage capabilities and reduced vulnerability to physical attacks and natural disasters on its space/aerospace platforms enable NTN to deliver 5G services in a cost-effective manner in areas where terrestrial 5G networks are not available (isolated or remote areas, aboard aircraft or ships) and in areas where services are weak (suburbs or rural areas); [0100] In 3GPP, technology for supporting NR operation in a non-terrestrial network... it is known that RTD is 544.751 ms in an NTN scenario using geostationary earth orbiting (GEO) located at an altitude of 35,768 km, and RTD is 3.053 ms in an NTN scenario using HAPS located at an altitude of 229 km. In addition, RTD in an NTN scenario using a low earth orbiting (LEO) satellite system can be up to 25.76 ms); and
the UE is connected to a terrestrial network associated with the radio access technology (Fig. 12; Fig. 14; (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440); [0002] NR-based non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) have been considered to be one of the evolutionary stages of NR for the revitalization of 5G and the expansion of the ecosystem. NTN's extensive service coverage capabilities and reduced vulnerability to physical attacks and natural disasters on its space/aerospace platforms enable NTN to deliver 5G services in a cost-effective manner in areas where terrestrial 5G networks are not available (isolated or remote areas, aboard aircraft or ships) and in areas where services are weak (suburbs or rural areas)... In addition, efficient multicast/broadcast resources for data delivery to a network edge or user terminal can be provided to support the availability of 5G networks).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose wherein the symbol further indicates the radio access technology; the symbol is a first symbol that is different than a second symbol displayed by the UE when the UE is connected to the terrestrial network.
However, CARO discloses the symbol further indicates the radio access technology (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call); [0326] computer system 600 is capable of communicating via a satellite communication network, computer system 600 displays satellite status indicator 607c (e.g., a glyph, icon, thumbnail, and/or image of a satellite); [0089] non-terrestrial (e.g., satellite) communication network, and providing users with feedback for aligning to a satellite for communication); and
the symbol is a first symbol (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call; [0326] computer system 600 is capable of communicating via a satellite communication network, computer system 600 displays satellite status indicator 607c (e.g., a glyph, icon, thumbnail, and/or image of a satellite); [0089] non-terrestrial (e.g., satellite) communication network, and providing users with feedback for aligning to a satellite for communication) that is different than a second symbol (Fig. 7 – 708; FIGS. 6K and 6L, 607 (contains network bars)) displayed by the UE when the UE is connected to a terrestrial network ([0333] initiating (708) a process for communicating... via the respective terrestrial wireless communication network... depending on whether or not a respective terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable by the computer system provides the user with visual feedback about whether a respective terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable by the computer system... which provides improved visual feedback; [0255] Network indicator 607 displays the availability of computer system 600 to communicate with a terrestrial wireless communication to transmit a communication (e.g., initiate a call). In some embodiments, the terrestrial wireless communication network is a cellular network and/or and internet network (e.g., Wi-Fi)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol of CHOI and CARO to include the type of radio access technology and the first symbol that is different from the second symbol displayed by the UE as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network communication by displaying the network status which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 19, CHOI further discloses wherein the communication with the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 8; [0109] The UE may perform a step of performing a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network cell (step S820). For example, after receiving the system information, the UE may perform a random access procedure to access a network node by using a non-terrestrial network) is associated with a first time ([0168] when the beam management failure situation occurs in the UE in relation to the terrestrial network node 1210, a predetermined first timer is started, and when the first timer expires (first time), an access to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 may be started or the UE transmits and receives data), the operations further comprising:
determining that the communication has failed at a second time ([0158] For example, in the case that a time for staying on a specific terrestrial region is relatively short like a low earth orbit satellite... the information of moving schedule of the low earth orbit satellite may be required. For example, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to store a period of staying time for the related region of one or more low earth orbit satellites that pass through the terrestrial network node... the terrestrial network node 1210 may transmit the cell-specific information... the UE may select the accessible cell-specific information according to the pattern information and perform an access to the non-terrestrial network node or data transmission and reception... the terrestrial network node 1210 may determine information for an accessible time length together with the determination of the non-terrestrial network node accessible by the UE and transmit... determined information...to the UE (hence the communication fails when the staying time elapsed; second time); [0162] the embodiment in which the UE that accesses the non-terrestrial network node measures a channel state with the non-terrestrial network node... according to the comparison between the measurement value and the threshold value or switch the target access to the terrestrial network node (second time), may also be included in the inventive concept of the present disclosure) after the first time ([0168] when the beam management failure situation occurs in the UE in relation to the terrestrial network node 1210, a predetermined first timer is started, and when the first timer expires (first time), an access to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 may be started or the UE transmits and receives data);
based at least in part on determining that the communication has failed at the second time ([0158] transmit... determined information...to the UE (hence the communication fails when the staying time elapsed; second time)... In addition, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to drive a timer based on the accessible time length and transmit the cell-specific information for a newly accessible non-terrestrial network node to the UE again before a predetermined time before the timer expires; [0162] the non-terrestrial network node according to the comparison between the measurement value and the threshold value or switch the target access to the terrestrial network node (second time); [0161] when the channel measurement value is greater than the threshold value, the UE may transmit a random access preamble to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive a random access response from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440)), initiating a timer ([0158] transmit... determined information...to the UE... In addition, the terrestrial network node 1210 may be configured to drive a timer based on the accessible time length and transmit the cell-specific information for a newly accessible non-terrestrial network node to the UE again before a predetermined time before the timer expires; [0110] in the case of the contention-based random access procedure, the UE may perform a step of transmitting message 3 (MSG 3), after transmitting MSG 3, a step of starting a timer for contention resolution… when the time of the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed after transmitting MSG 3, the UE monitors a reception of MSG 4. To determine whether the contention resolution is completed, when the time of the reference round-trip delay offset information is elapsed, the UE starts the timer for contention resolution, and when MSG 4 is normally received, the UE stops the timer and complete the random access procedure); and
CHOI does not explicitly disclose preventing the symbol from being displayed until expiration of the timer.
However, CARO discloses preventing a symbol (FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; Fig. 7 – step 706) from being displayed until expiration of a timer ([0269] After a threshold amount of time displaying call management interface 602E without successfully initiating the call, computer system 600 displays call management interface 602G described in FIG. 6G below; [0274] in response to a determination that no terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable, computer system 600 displays call back option 611… when no terrestrial wireless communication network is reachable, computer system 600 replaces call back option with text via satellite communication button 604G (e.g., after a predetermined amount of time)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol and the timer of CHOI and CARO to include preventing the symbol from being displayed until the expiration of the timer as taught by CARO in order to reduce the power usage of the UE thus improving the battery life (CARO - [0838] the system user interface is a wake screen user interface (e.g., 2102, 1110, 1344A, 1524B, a wake screen and/or a lock screen) that the computer system displays when coming out of an inactive state (e.g., a low-power state, a sleep state, and/or a dimmed state). Displaying the user interface object and a user interface that the computer system displays when coming out of an inactive state provides the user with the status of the process for sending the communication to the respective recipient immediately when the computer system comes out of an inactive state and enables the user to interact with the process more efficiently (e.g., without manually requesting the status of the process) and/or with fewer errors, which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Regarding claim 20, CHOI further wherein the first RF resources are not available at a first time (Fig. 13; Fig. 14; [0147] a situation may occur that a UE 1230 moves toward a third cell 1215b… Here, an empty region, which is not covered by any network nodes, may be existed between the second region 1215a-2 and the third region 1215a-1, and the UE may lose the network access...the empty region of coverage may be covered by a non-terrestrial network node; [0148] the UE is required to switch the connection state with the terrestrial network node 1210 to the connection state with the non-terrestrial network node 1220 efficiently according to a specific criterion… the connection state switching may include switching from a single connection state to a dual connectivity state… the dual connectivity state with the terrestrial network node 1210 and the non-terrestrial network node 1220; [0149] the connection state switching… may be based on a channel measurement value (for example, Reference Signal Received Power; RSRP) and determined by comparing the measurement value with a threshold value); [0162] In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value, the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470) (first time). Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node), the operations further comprising:
scanning, by the UE, the first RF resources at a second time (Fig. 13; Fig. 14) after the first time ([0162] In response to the determination that the measurement value for the channel state is smaller than the threshold value, the UE may transmit data to the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1460) and receive data from the non-terrestrial network node 1220 (step S1470) (firs time). Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210);
determining that the first RF resources are available to the UE at the second time ([0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210);
determining that the second RF resources are available to the UE at the second time ([0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node (second time) and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)… Meanwhile, when the channel state is greater than the threshold value, the UE may continue to perform data transmission and reception with the terrestrial network node 1210); and
wherein the first RF resources are available to the UE is associated with data transmission on a terrestrial network (Fig. 14 – First network node – S1450; [0161] the UE may transmit data to the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1430) and receive data from the terrestrial network node 1210 (step S1440); [0162] Here, the UE may be configured to establish a dual connectivity with the terrestrial network node and the non-terrestrial network node and perform data transmission and reception with both of the terrestrial network node (first RF resources) and the non-terrestrial network node (second RF resources)).
CHOI does not explicitly disclose wherein the symbol is a first symbol, and
removing the first symbol displayed on the UE and displaying a second symbol on the UE to indicate that the terrestrial network is available to the UE.
However, CARO discloses the symbol is a first symbol (Fig. 7 – 706; FIGS. 6E-6J, 607 (no network bars); Fig. 6G – 604G, 607; Fig. 6X4 – 607c; [0265] computer system 600 updates (e.g., replaces) network indicator 607 to indicate that no terrestrial wireless communication network is available to initiate the call; [0333] displaying (706) a respective selectable communication option (e.g., 604G; e.g., an affordance, button, graphical element, graphical object, and/or icon) that, when selected via the one or more input devices, initiates a process for communicating... via a non-terrestrial wireless communication network), and
removing the first symbol displayed on the UE (Fig. 7 – 706) and displaying a second symbol (Fig. 7 – 708; FIGS. 6K and 6L, 607 (contains network bars); [0280] FIGS. 6K and 6L illustrate the continuation of the process for attempting to initiate a call to an emergency service and a non-emergency entity from FIGS. 6I and 6J. FIGS. 6K and 6L display computer system 600 with interfaces for managing a communication when cellular service is available... In FIGS. 6K-6L, network indicator 607 indicates that a cellular service is available to initiate the call) on the UE to indicate that a terrestrial network is available to the UE ([0255] Network indicator 607 displays the availability of computer system 600 to communicate with a terrestrial wireless communication to transmit a communication (e.g., initiate a call). In some embodiments, the terrestrial wireless communication network is a cellular network and/or and internet network (e.g., Wi-Fi)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the symbol and the terrestrial network of CHOI and CARO to include the first symbol, and removing the first symbol and displaying the second symbol to indicate that the terrestrial network is available as taught by CARO in order provide accurate user interface corresponding to the network indicator(s) which would provide an improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed and thus improve the battery life (CARO - [0843] In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the communication, the computer system displays an indication (e.g., 2114, a notification, graphical indication, icon, color, font, text, animation, symbol, thumbnail, image, and/or glyph)… which provides improved visual feedback to the user, reduces the number of inputs needed to perform an operation, enables the user to operate the computer system more quickly and efficiently, reduces power usage, and improves battery life).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418