DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2025/0125482 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 April 2024 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The view numbers of FIGS. 1–4, 6–9, and 13 are not larger than the letters, numbers, and reference characters used in the drawing. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY CELL INCLUDING FIRE EXSTINGUISHING SHEET INSIDE CASE AND ENERGY STORAGE MODULE INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 124b is referred to as a positive plate in paragraph [0067]. Reference character 124b is used to designate a positive electrode plate. Reference character 124b should be referred to as a positive electrode plate in paragraph [0067].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the first side tab is at each of both sides of the first electrode assembly.” It is unclear if a single first side tab is at both sides of the first electrode assembly or if “the first side tab” is at one side and additional “first side tab” is at an opposite side.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the extinguishing sheet is a plate and is stacked such that it faces at least one of the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, or the separator.” It is unclear what the term “it” is referring to.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the first side tab is at each of both sides of the first electrode assembly.” It is unclear if a single first side tab is at both sides of the first electrode assembly or if “the first side tab” is at one side and additional “first side tab” is at an opposite side.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the second side tab is at each of both sides of the second electrode assembly.” It is unclear if a single second side tab is at both sides of the second electrode assembly or if “the second side tab” is at one side and additional “second side tab” is at an opposite side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (KR 2023-0125743 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a battery cell (100, [0038]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (120) comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and a separator between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (see battery cell, [0040]);
a case (200) accommodating the electrode assembly (120, [0041]);
a cap plate (400) sealing an opening in the case (200, [0045]);
an electrode terminal (311) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (120) and protruding outside of the cap plate (400, [0045]); and
an extinguishing sheet (500) inside the case (200) and configured to impede propagation of fire (FIG. 3, [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is inserted into the electrode assembly (120, [0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is a panel (FIG. 5, [0059])
Regarding claim 4, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell, wherein the electrode assembly (120) comprises:
a first electrode assembly (110) comprising a first side tab (111) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (311, [0045]); and
a second electrode assembly (110) stacked on the first electrode assembly (110) and comprising a second side tab (111) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (311, [0045]),
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is arranged between the first electrode assembly (110) and the second electrode assembly (110, [0087]).
Regarding claim 5, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the first side tab (111, 112) is at each of both sides of the first electrode assembly (110) in a longitudinal direction (FIG. 2, [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell, wherein the electrode assembly (120) comprises:
a first electrode assembly (110) comprising a first multi-tab (111) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (311, [0089]); and
a second electrode assembly (110) on a side surface of the first electrode assembly (110) facing the first electrode assembly and comprising a second multi-tab (111) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (311, [0089]),
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is arranged between the first electrode assembly (110) and the second electrode assembly (110, [0087]).
Regarding claim 7, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the first multi-tab (111) and the second multi-tab (111) protrude toward the cap plate (400, [0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein, in the electrode assembly (120), the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, and the separator are alternately stacked (FIG. 7, [0040]), and
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is a plate and is stacked such that it faces at least one of the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, or the separator (FIG. 7, [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) comprises at least one of a flame retardant, a nonflammable, or an insulating material (FIG. 4, [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Kang discloses an energy storage module comprising a module case having a mounting space therein (see battery pack, [0109]); and a plurality of battery cells (1101, 1102) arranged inside the module case, each of the battery cells (100, [0110]) comprises:
an electrode assembly (120) comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and a separator between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (see battery cell, [0040]);
a case (200) accommodating the electrode assembly (120, [0041]);
a cap plate (400) sealing an opening in the case (200, [0045]);
an electrode terminal (311) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (120) and protruding outside of the cap plate (400, [0045]); and
an extinguishing sheet (500) inside the case (200) and configured to impede propagation of fire (FIG. 3, [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is inserted into the electrode assembly (120, [0081]).
Regarding claim 12, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module, wherein the electrode assembly (120) comprises:
a first electrode assembly (110) comprising a first side tab (111) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (311, [0045]); and
a second electrode assembly (110) stacked on the first electrode assembly (110) and comprising a second side tab (111) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (311, [0045]),
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is arranged between the first electrode assembly (110) and the second electrode assembly (110, [0087]).
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the first side tab (111, 112) is at each of both sides of the first electrode assembly (110) in a longitudinal direction (FIG. 2, [0046]), and.
wherein the second side tab (111, 112) is at each of both sides of the second electrode assembly (110) in a longitudinal direction (FIG. 2, [0046]).
Regarding claim 14, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module, wherein the electrode assembly (120) comprises:
a first electrode assembly (110) comprising a first multi-tab (111) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (311, [0089]); and
a second electrode assembly (110) on a side surface of the first electrode assembly (110) facing the first electrode assembly and comprising a second multi-tab (111) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (311, [0089]),
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is arranged between the first electrode assembly (110) and the second electrode assembly (110, [0087]).
Regarding claim 15, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the first multi-tab (111) and the second multi-tab (111) protrude toward the cap plate (400, [0086]).
Regarding claim 16, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein, in the electrode assembly (120), the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, and the separator are alternately stacked (FIG. 7, [0040]), and
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is a plate and is stacked such that it faces at least one of the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, or the separator (FIG. 7, [0040]).
Regarding claim 17, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) comprises at least one of a flame retardant, a nonflammable, or an insulating material (FIG. 4, [0065]).
Regarding claim 18, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) is a panel (FIG. 5, [0059])
Regarding claim 19, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (500) comprises an extinguishing agent (530, [0065]).
Regarding claim 20, Kang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing agent (530) comprises at least one of fluorine carbon, fluorine chlorine carbon, fluorine bromine carbon, fluorine iodine carbon, or halogenated carbon (FIG. 5, [0065])
Claims 1–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 10-2324507 B1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery cell (1, [0042]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (10) comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and a separator between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (see battery cell, [0043]);
a case (21) accommodating the electrode assembly (10, [0040]);
a cap plate (25) sealing an opening in the case (21, [0064]);
an electrode terminal (6) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (10) and protruding outside of the cap plate (25, [0102]); and
an extinguishing sheet (30) inside the case (21) and configured to impede propagation of fire (FIG. 3, [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is inserted into the electrode assembly (10, [0124]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is a panel (FIG. 3, [0124])
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell, wherein the electrode assembly (10) comprises:
a first electrode assembly (11) comprising a first side tab (11) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (12, [0050]); and
a second electrode assembly (11) stacked on the first electrode assembly (11) and comprising a second side tab (12) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (6, [0050]),
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is arranged between the first electrode assembly (11) and the second electrode assembly (11, [0124]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the first side tab (12, 13) is at each of both sides of the first electrode assembly (11) in a longitudinal direction (FIG. 3, [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell, wherein the electrode assembly (10) comprises:
a first electrode assembly (11) comprising a first multi-tab (12, FIG. 3) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (6, [0102]); and
a second electrode assembly (11) on a side surface of the first electrode assembly (11) facing the first electrode assembly and comprising a second multi-tab (12, FIG. 3) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (6, [0102]),
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is arranged between the first electrode assembly (11) and the second electrode assembly (11, [0124]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the first multi-tab (12) and the second multi-tab (12) protrude toward the cap plate (25, [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein, in the electrode assembly (10), the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, and the separator are alternately stacked (FIG. 3, [0046]), and
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is a plate and is stacked such that it faces at least one of the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, or the separator (FIG. 3, [0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) comprises at least one of a flame retardant, a nonflammable, or an insulating material (FIG. 4, [0043]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses an energy storage module (9) comprising a module case having a mounting space therein (FIG. 13, [0146]); and a plurality of battery cells (1) arranged inside the module case, each of the battery cells (1, [0042]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (10) comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and a separator between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (see battery cell, [0043]);
a case (21) accommodating the electrode assembly (10, [0040]);
a cap plate (25) sealing an opening in the case (21, [0064]);
an electrode terminal (6) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (10) and protruding outside of the cap plate (25, [0102]); and
an extinguishing sheet (30) inside the case (21) and configured to impede propagation of fire (FIG. 3, [0043]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is inserted into the electrode assembly (10, [0124]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module, wherein the electrode assembly (10) comprises:
a first electrode assembly (11) comprising a first side tab (11) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (12, [0050]); and
a second electrode assembly (11) stacked on the first electrode assembly (11) and comprising a second side tab (12) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (6, [0050]),
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is arranged between the first electrode assembly (11) and the second electrode assembly (11, [0124]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the first side tab (12, 13) is at each of both sides of the first electrode assembly (11) in a longitudinal direction (FIG. 3, [0049]), and
wherein the second side tab (12, 13) is at each of both sides of the second electrode assembly (11) in a longitudinal direction (FIG. 3, [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module, wherein the electrode assembly (10) comprises:
a first electrode assembly (11) comprising a first multi-tab (12, FIG. 3) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (6, [0102]); and
a second electrode assembly (11) on a side surface of the first electrode assembly (11) facing the first electrode assembly and comprising a second multi-tab (12, FIG. 3) electrically connected to the electrode terminal (6, [0102]),
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is arranged between the first electrode assembly (11) and the second electrode assembly (11, [0124]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the first multi-tab (12) and the second multi-tab (12) protrude toward the cap plate (25, [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein, in the electrode assembly (10), the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, and the separator are alternately stacked (FIG. 3, [0046]), and
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is a plate and is stacked such that it faces at least one of the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, or the separator (FIG. 3, [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) comprises at least one of a flame retardant, a nonflammable, or an insulating material (FIG. 4, [0043]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) is a panel (FIG. 3, [0124])
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an energy storage module:
wherein the extinguishing sheet (30) comprises an extinguishing agent (FIG. 4, [0043]).
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725