DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnston et al. (US 20190299232. Johnston hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Johnston discloses a spray fluid control cartridge (30. Fig. 3) for use in a spray gun (10. Figs. 1-9B) configured to (capable of) emit sprays of a spray fluid and compressed gas, the spray fluid control cartridge comprising: a cartridge body (64 and 72) extending between a first (left) end and a second (right) end, wherein the cartridge body is configured to (capable of) output the spray fluid through the first end; an inlet port (104) formed through the cartridge body between the first end and the second end, the inlet port configured to (capable of) admit the spray fluid into a fluid chamber (at 90 and 88, downstream of 80) disposed within the cartridge body; threading (108) formed on an exterior of the cartridge body; a seat (82) disposed within the cartridge body; a valve member (86, 90 and 88) elongated along an (horizontal) axis and configured to (capable of) interface with the seat to close a fluid valve (66), the valve member extending through the fluid chamber and out of the second end of the housing; and an actuator spring (80) disposed within the cartridge body outside (upstream) of the fluid chamber, the actuator spring interfacing with the valve member to bias the valve member towards the seat such that the fluid valve is normally closed; wherein the cartridge body, the seat, the valve member, and the actuator spring form a single unit that is mountable to the spray gun by the threading as the single unit and dismountable from the spray gun as the single unit by disconnecting the threading from the spray gun.
With respect to claim 2, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 1, wherein the valve member comprises: a needle (86) partially disposed within the fluid chamber and extending out of the fluid chamber; and an actuator shaft (74, 76) fixed to the needle; wherein the actuator spring interfaces with the actuator shaft to bias the valve member.
With respect to claim 3, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 2, wherein the needle extends into the actuator shaft (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 4, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 2, wherein the needle is at least partially disposed directly radially within the actuator spring (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 5, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 2, wherein the needle supports a ball (90) that interfaces with the seat to close the fluid valve.
With respect to claim 6, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 2, wherein the actuator spring is braced (indirectly) against the cartridge body.
With respect to claim 7, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 1, further comprising: a first seal groove (for 84a) formed on the exterior of the cartridge body and disposed axially between the inlet port and the first end; and a second seal groove (for 84b) formed on the exterior of the cartridge body and disposed axially between the inlet port and the second end.
With respect to claim 8, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 7, further comprising: a third seal groove (left side of 108. Fig. 3) formed on the exterior of the cartridge body and disposed axially between the first seal groove and the first end; and a fourth seal groove (right side of 36. Fig. 3) formed on the exterior of the cartridge body and disposed axially between the third seal groove and the first end.
With respect to claim 9, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 1, wherein the cartridge body comprises: a fluid housing (74) (fluidly) through which the inlet port is formed (fluid from 104 surrounds 74); and a spring housing (64) connected to the fluid housing; wherein the actuator spring is disposed within the spring housing; and wherein the valve member extends fully axially through the spring housing.
With respect to claim 10, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 9, wherein the cartridge body further comprises: a tip mount (76) (indirectly) connected to the fluid housing such that the fluid housing is disposed between the tip mount and the spring housing.
With respect to claim 17, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 1, further comprising: a seat retainer (recess housing 82) connected to the cartridge body within the cartridge body, the seat retainer interfacing with the seat to secure the seat within the cartridge body.
With respect to claim 18, Johnston discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 1, wherein a coupler (72 and 70) is retained on a portion (86) of the valve member disposed outside of the cartridge body, the coupler wrapping at least partially around the valve member.
With respect to claim 19, Johnston discloses a spray fluid control cartridge (30. Fig. 3) for use in a spray gun (10. Figs. 1-9B) configured to (capable of) emit sprays of a spray fluid and compressed gas, the spray fluid control cartridge comprising: a cartridge body (64 and 72) extending between a first (left) end and a second (right) end, wherein the cartridge body is configured to (capable of) output the spray fluid through the first end, the cartridge body including a fluid housing (74) and a spring housing (64); an inlet port (104) formed (fluidly) through the fluid housing (fluid from 104 surrounds 74), the inlet port configured to (capable of) admit the spray fluid into a fluid chamber (at 90 and 88, downstream of 80) disposed within the cartridge body; a seat (82) disposed within the cartridge body; a seal (76) supported by the cartridge body, the seal fluidly separating the fluid chamber and an interior (occupied by 78) of the spring housing; a valve member (86, 90 and 88) elongated along an (horizontal) axis and configured to (capable of) interface with the seat to close a fluid valve (66), the valve member extending through the fluid chamber and the seal and out of the second end of the housing; an actuator spring (80) disposed within the spring housing and interfacing with the valve member, such that the actuator spring biases the valve member towards the seat with the spray fluid control cartridge mounted to the spray gun and with the spray fluid control cartridge dismounted from the spray gun, the actuator spring configured to (capable of) bias the valve member such that the fluid valve is normally closed, wherein the actuator spring is disposed around the valve member and the valve member extends fully axially through the actuator spring (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmon et al. (US 10189037. Schmon hereinafter) in view of Johnston.
With respect to claim 1, Schmon discloses a spray fluid control cartridge (27, 271, 272, 273) for (capable of being) use in a spray gun (Figs. 1-10) configured to (capable of) (capable of) emit sprays of a spray fluid and compressed gas, the spray fluid control cartridge comprising: a cartridge body (Figs. 7-10) extending between a first (right) end and a second (left) end (where stopper 25 is generally the middle portion of the two ends), wherein the cartridge body is configured to (capable of) (capable of) output the spray fluid through the first end; an inlet port (at 600) formed through the cartridge body between the first end and the second end, the inlet port configured to (capable of) (capable of) admit the spray fluid into a fluid chamber (at 27) disposed within the cartridge body; a seat (at 27c blocked by 26. Col. 15, line 46 to Col. 16, line 8) disposed within the cartridge body; a valve member (26 to 22) elongated along an (horizontal) axis and configured to (capable of) (capable of) interface with the seat to close a fluid valve (the valve above air valve 4), the valve member extending through the fluid chamber and out of the second end of the housing (at least the material volume control 22); and an actuator spring (25) disposed within the cartridge body outside of the fluid chamber, the actuator spring interfacing with the valve member to bias the valve member towards the seat such that the fluid valve is normally closed (Col. 15, line 46 to Col. 16, line 8);
wherein the cartridge body, the seat, the valve member, and the actuator spring form a single (fluidly functional) unit that is mountable (assembled) to and dismountable (dissembled) from the spray gun as the (fluidly functional) single unit. Interpretation A: Schmon spray fluid control cartridge is similar, if not identical, to the Applicant’s invention, therefore, Schmon anticipated the claimed invention. Interpretation B: The limitation “single unit” has been interpreted as a single fluidly functional unit element.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cartridge body, the seat, the valve member, and the actuator spring as a single (integrated) unit, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Schmon fails to disclose threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body; the actuator spring form a single unit that is mountable to the spray gun by the threading as the single unit and dismountable from the spray gun as the single unitby disconnecting the threading from the spray gun.
However, Johnston teaches a spray fluid control cartridge (30. Fig. 3) for use in a spray gun (10. Figs. 1-9B) configured to (capable of) emit sprays of a spray fluid and compressed gas, the spray fluid control cartridge comprising: a cartridge body (64 and 72) extending between a first (left) end and a second (right) end, wherein the cartridge body is configured to (capable of) output the spray fluid through the first end; an inlet port (104) formed through the cartridge body between the first end and the second end, the inlet port configured to (capable of) admit the spray fluid into a fluid chamber (at 90 and 88, downstream of 80) disposed within the cartridge body; threading (108) formed on an exterior of the cartridge body; a seat (82) disposed within the cartridge body; a valve member (86, 90 and 88) elongated along an (horizontal) axis and configured to (capable of) interface with the seat to close a fluid valve (66), the valve member extending through the fluid chamber and out of the second end of the housing; and an actuator spring (80) disposed within the cartridge body outside (upstream) of the fluid chamber, the actuator spring interfacing with the valve member to bias the valve member towards the seat such that the fluid valve is normally closed; wherein the cartridge body, the seat, the valve member, and the actuator spring form a single unit that is mountable to the spray gun by the threading as the single unit and dismountable from the spray gun as the single unit by disconnecting the threading from the spray gun.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, as taught by Johnston, to Schmon’s cartridge body, in order to mountable and dismountable the cartridge body to the spray gun (Figs. 5A-5C).
With respect to claim 2, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the valve member comprises: a needle (26 and 23) partially disposed within the fluid chamber and extending out of the fluid chamber; and an actuator shaft (22) fixed to the needle; wherein the actuator spring interfaces with the actuator shaft (via stopper 25) to bias the valve member.
With respect to claim 3, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the needle extends into the actuator shaft (Figs. 3 and 6).
With respect to claim 4, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the needle is at least partially disposed directly radially within the actuator spring (Figs. 3 and 6).
With respect to claim 5, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the needle supports a ball (of ball coupling 51) that interfaces (indirectly) with the seat to close the fluid valve.
With respect to claim 6, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the actuator spring is braced against the cartridge body (Figs. 3 and 6).
With respect to claim 7, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 1, further comprising: a first seal groove (see partial Figs. 3 and 8 with additional annotations below) formed on an exterior of the cartridge body and disposed axially between the inlet port and the first end; and a second seal groove formed on the exterior of the cartridge body and disposed axially between the inlet port and the second end.
With respect to claim 8, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 7, further comprising: a third seal groove (see partial Figs. 3 and 8 with additional annotations below) formed on the exterior of the cartridge body and disposed axially between the first seal groove and the first end; and a fourth seal groove formed on the exterior of the cartridge body and disposed axially between the third seal groove and the first end.
With respect to claim 9, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the cartridge body comprises: a fluid housing (defined by 27) through which the inlet port is formed; and a spring housing (cavity containing 24. Figs. 3 and 6) connected to the fluid housing; wherein the actuator spring is disposed within the spring housing; and wherein the valve member extends fully axially through the spring housing.
With respect to claim 10, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the cartridge body further comprises: a tip mount (26a and the outlet at 27c) connected to the fluid housing such that the fluid housing is disposed between the tip mount and the spring housing (Figs. 3 and 6).
With respect to claim 11, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein an outlet (at 27c) through which spray fluid is emitted from cartridge body is formed by the tip mount.
With respect to claim 12, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the tip mount includes a nozzle (the outlet at 27c) formed as a projection that projects axially away from the fluid chamber, the outlet formed through the nozzle (Figs. 3 and 6).
With respect to claim 13, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 12, further comprising: at least one air passage (of 11) extending axially through a portion of the tip mount to provide a flowpath for compressed gas to flow through the tip mount (Figs. 3 and 6).
With respect to claim 14, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein the at least one air passage is disposed radially outward from the nozzle (Figs. 3 and 6).
With respect to claim 15, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 1, further comprising: at least one air passage (of 11) extending axially through a portion of the cartridge body to provide a flowpath for compressed gas to flow through the cartridge body; wherein the at least one air passage is disposed radially outward of the fluid chamber (Figs. 3 and 6).
With respect to claim 16, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein an inlet (at 26a of 12) of the at least one air passage is disposed axially between the first end and the inlet port and an outlet (pointed by reference number “11” in Fig. 3) of the at least one air passage is disposed axially between the first end and the inlet port.
With respect to claim 17, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses the spray fluid control cartridge of claim 1, further comprising: a seat retainer (body of 11 and 12) connected to the cartridge body within the cartridge body, the seat retainer interfacing (securing) with the seat to secure the seat within the cartridge body.
With respect to claim 18, Schmon’s spray fluid control cartridge modified by Johnston’s threading formed on an exterior of the cartridge body, Schmon further discloses wherein a coupler (5a, 22, 25 and 24) is retained on a portion of the valve member disposed outside of the cartridge body (at least 22), the coupler wrapping at least partially around the valve member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 August 7, 2026