DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-7 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/13/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the species restriction between Species 1-4 in the reply filed on 10/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner because the species share a common field of search and there would be considerable overlap across the species relative to prior art. This is not found persuasive because the different species as called out in the restriction requirement have significantly different structures at their distal ends where prior art for one of the species will not apply to prior art for different ones of the species under the same embodiment, and thus multiple rejections of the independent claim could be required in order to best examine each of the different species as different interpretations would be required which presents a serious examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/30/2024 and 12/04/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 10, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “the device at its distal end” and should instead recite “the device at a distal end of the tube” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term.
Claim 1 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “and the other end of the tube” and should instead recite “and another end of the tube” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term.
Claim 1 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “in its section which contacts the tissue wall” and should instead recite “in a section which contacts the tissue wall” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term.
Claim 1 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “the spread-open state” and should instead recite “a spread-open state” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term. See also the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) regarding this limitation.
Claim 2 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “after a tissue resection performed thereon” and should instead recite “after a tissue resection has been performed thereon”.
Claim 3 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “radially spring-biased in this state” and should instead recite “radially spring-biased in a state” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term. See also the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) regarding this limitation.
Claim 3 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “after its exit from the lumen” and should instead recite “after an exit from the lumen of the device” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term.
Claim 3 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “for which it is displaceable” and should instead recite “for which the device is displaceable” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term.
Claim 3 is objected to for a typographical error for improper grammar wherein it recites “for which it is displaceable”, which appears that it should read “from which it is displaceable”, although this is unclear as called out in the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 3 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “moves into its radially expanded position” and should instead recite either “moves into a radially expanded position” or “moves into the state of maximum radial extension” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term.
Claim 10 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “wherein the control element is” and should instead recite “wherein the mechanical control element is” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term.
Claim 11 is objected to for a typographical error wherein it recites “the substance formed as a fluid” and should instead recite either “the fluid” or “the substance formed as the fluid” such that the claim has proper antecedent basis for the claim term.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
As per MPEP 2173.05(p)(ll), a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. It is not clear if the claims are drawn only to structures that are capable of performing the method steps or if the claims are intended to be written as method steps. For the sake of examination, the claims have been interpreted as only requiring that the claimed structures be capable of performing the method steps and are not so narrow as to require the method steps to actually be performed.
Claims 1-4, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 are indefinite where they appear to be drawn to both apparatuses (the devices recited in the preambles of the respective claims) and method steps (“the fluid supplied via the catheter reaches the tissue wall” as in claim 1, “by means of the longitudinal movements of which, effected proximally via an actuating element, the device can be moved” as in claim 1, “its section which contacts the tissue wall” as in claim 1, “when pushed out of the lumen” as in claim 4). Each of these instances of method steps being recited in the respective claims must be amended such as to clarify that the language of the claims is only meant to be functional language, as it is unclear whether or not Applicant intends to claim the apparatus with the method steps of use which appear to be claimed in the instant claims. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner has understood the claim language to all be functional requirements of the device (“the fluid supplied via the catheter is configured to reach the tissue wall” as in claim 1, “such that it is configured where longitudinal movements are configured where, when effected proximally via an actuating element, the device is configured such that it can be moved” as in claim 1, “its section which is configured to contact the tissue wall” as in claim 1, “configured such that when the device is pushed out of the lumen” as in claim 4).
Claim 1 is further indefinite where it recites “in which a mechanical control element extends, by means of the longitudinal movements of which, effected proximally via an actuating element, the device can be moved between one end of the tube and the other end of the tube can be adjusted”. It is unclear what these limitations are meant to require. It appears as though the claims are meant to require that the mechanical control element is configured such that the mechanical control element can move longitudinally as a result of movements at a proximal end of the catheter via an actuating element to cause the device to move between one end of the tube and the other end of the tube, and that the device can be adjusted between the claimed states, however this requires correction as the claim language does not allow one of ordinary skill in the art to understand what is meant to be claimed.
Claim 1 is further indefinite where it recites “in its section which contacts the tissue wall in the spread-open state”, as there is no antecedent basis for such a state, nor is there antecedent basis for such a section. It is not clear if these are meant to be different to the states which are previously required or not, or if the section is meant to have any particular structure to it. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner has interpreted the claims to mean that the outlet openings are a part of the device in the state of maximum radial extension.
Claim 2 is indefinite where it is unclear whether the fluid of claim 1 is meant to be positively recited or not, as well as whether a method step of a tissue resection is meant to be required as part of use of the device of claim 1. Examiner notes that the fluid of claim 1 is only functionally recited and not positively recited; clarification would be appreciated as to how the claim is meant to be interpreted. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner has understood the claim to positively recite the fluid and positively recite that the fluid is a hemostatic substance.
Claim 3 is indefinite where it appears to require an apparatus and method steps, such as the device exiting from a lumen and moving into an expanded position. It is also unclear what the first claimed state is meant to be and how this is meant to relate to an exiting of the device from the lumen, as well as what is meant to be displaceable in the distal direction, and whether or not the device is meant to be configured for movement between the fully radially expanded position and a position after exiting the lumen which are separate or if these are meant to be the same position. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner has understood the claim to require that the device is drawable into the lumen, radially spring biased, is configured to be displaceable in the distal direction at some point by means of the control element (the claim does not make clear what point this is meant to be at), and is configured for moving into the state of maximum radial extension of claim 1.
Claim 4 is indefinite where it recites that the micro wires form “an overall cup-like contour”. The term “overall cup-like” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “overall cup-like” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner has understood the claim to mean that the shape of the microwires is such that it resembles a cup, or forms a conical shape.
Claim 8 is indefinite where it recites “via the outlet openings provided in the outer foil layer”. The claims which claim 8 depends on do not previously require that the outlet openings are provided in the outer foil layer, and thus it is unclear if this is meant to be a positive recitation in claim 8 that the outlet openings are provided an outer wall of the foil. Examiner also notes that the claim appears to interchangeably use the term wall and foil, and that there is no antecedent basis established for the claimed outer foil layer. Examiner has understood the claim to positively recite that the outlet openings are provided in an outer wall of a pair of walls of foil.
Claim 11 is indefinite where it is unclear what the desired relationship is meant to be between the claim elements, and thus what is required of the claim entirely. Claim 11 and claim 1 1 (which claim 11 is dependent on and thus requires the limitations of) requires “A device … wherein the device is arranged on a catheter … wherein the catheter is designed as a tube of an endoscopic device, wherein the tube accommodates the device … wherein the device is configured together with the endoscopic device … for an arrangement in a working channel of a medical endoscope”. This does not make clear what the desired relationship between elements is meant to be, especially regarding whether or not the endoscope is meant to be separate from the endoscopic device. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner has understood the claim to require that the device is configured to be arranged within a channel of an endoscopic device.
Claim 10 is rendered indefinite due to its dependency on, and thus requirement of the indefinite limitation of, indefinite independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copa et al. (US 20090312696, henceforth Copa).
Regarding claim 1, Copa discloses a device (assembly of figs. 9A and 9B) for applying a therapeutic substance (therapeutic materials of [0004]) in the form of a fluid (therapeutic fluid of [0004]) to a tissue wall (see [0010], the fluid is delivered to multiple tissue locations within the target tissue where the tissue is the wall of tracts of [0008]) which surrounds a body cavity (tracts such as [0008] which are cavities), wherein the device is arranged on a catheter (shaft 359, fig. 9B) which can be inserted into the body cavity (see fig. 1 which is not relied upon for the claimed embodiment but shows a larger view of an alternative embodiment and see [0113], shaft 14, which is equivalent to shaft 359 of the relied upon embodiment, is capable of delivery to the tissue when inserted into the body) and, after insertion, can be expanded radially with respect to the catheter (see figs. 9A and 9B, orifice extension 358 expands radially between the retracted position of fig. 9A to the expanded position of fig. 9B, see also [0147] and [0148]) to touch the tissue wall (see [0116] describing an alternative embodiment; the expanded extension 358 is functionally capable of touching the tissue wall when expanded since it is exposed in this state similar to needles 30 as shown in fig. 1A), and the fluid supplied via the catheter reaches the tissue wall (see [0150]) via outlet openings (fluid delivery orifices 356, figs. 9A and 9B), wherein the catheter is designed as a tube (see figs. 9A and 9B), wherein the tube accommodates the device at its distal end (see fig. 9B, the shown assembly is at a distal end), in that the tube has a lumen (see fig. 9A, shaft 359 has a hollow lumen) in which a mechanical control element extends (see [0148], “Dashed lines indicate a mechanical or electronic mechanism to separately and independently activate each reservoir or means 362; each reservoir 362 communicates with a proximal end of a device to allow independent movement or actuation of a reservoir or means 362, and independent fluid delivery”), by means of the longitudinal movements of which, effected proximally via an actuating element (this is the element of [0148] which allows for the disclosed mechanisms to actuate; since it is disclosed that there is an actuation at the proximal end, there is an actuating element), the device can be moved between one end of the tube and the other end of the tube (see figs. 9A and 9B, the assembly can be moved within shaft 359 which means it can be moved between the ends thereof as claimed) can be adjusted between a state of minimum radial extension (this is the state of fig. 9A) and a state of maximum radial extension (this is the state of fig. 9B), and in that the device has the outlet openings for the fluid at least in its section which contacts the tissue wall in the spread-open state (see fig. 9B).
Copa does not explicitly disclose that the relied upon embodiment includes that the catheter is a tube of an endoscopic device as claimed. However, Copa teaches that endoscopic devices are alternative embodiments of the invention using eyepieces or other optical features (see [0076] and especially [0095], “a rigid shaft-component may combine an outer rigid sheath with an endoscope and may be sized and shaped to receive an inner "fluid shaft" that contains a fluid delivery lumen and fluid delivery orifice”, where the inner fluid shaft described is an equivalent to the shaft 359).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the tube to have been a tube of an endoscopic device as claimed for allowing for visual communication between the proximal end and distal end of the device (see Copa [0096]) and since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009.
Regarding claim 3, Copa discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the device drawn into the lumen is radially spring-biased in this state and after its exit from the lumen (see figs. 9A and 9B, the assembly is biased to spring outwards due to the elastomeric polymeric material blend used for fan 358, see [0147]), for which it is displaceable in the distal direction by means of the control element (see [0148], the mechanism of the dashed line of fig. 9B allows for distal displacement out of the distal end of the shaft 359), moves into its radially expanded position (see figs. 9A and 9B).
Regarding claim 4, Copa discloses the device of claim 3 wherein the device is formed by micro wires (lumens 360, figs. 9A and 9B) which, when pushed out of the lumen, extend towards each other (see fig. 9B, the wires extend as claimed where they form a cup shape extending in 3 dimensions as disclosed in [0148]) forming an overall cup-like contour (see fig. 9B, the shape of membrane 358 is a cup-like shape which lumens 360 extend along).
Regarding claim 10, Copa discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the control element is designed as a wire or cable (see [0087], actuating mechanisms include wires and mechanisms at the proximal ends of the device).
Regarding claim 11, Copa discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the device is configured together with the endoscopic device for applying the substance formed as a fluid for an arrangement in a working channel of a medical endoscope (see the alternative embodiment shown in fig. 12; this is equivalent to the embodiment of the modified device of Copa and is a configuring as claimed).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copa et al. (US 20090312696, henceforth Copa) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paul (US 20090143851, henceforth Paul).
Regarding claim 2, Copa discloses the device of claim 1. Additionally, Copa is non-limiting on the kinds of fluids which it can be used for delivery of (see at least [0010], different types of fluids can be delivered).
Copa does not disclose the device wherein the fluid is a haemostatic substance for achieving haemostasis on the tissue wall after a tissue resection performed thereon. Paul teaches a device (system 8, fig. 1) which utilizes an expandable element (medical device 10, fig. 1, which is expandable as in [0031]) for delivering a fluid wherein the fluid is a haemostatic substance (see [0063], fluidic agents which are used to achieve hemostasis are provided) for achieving haemostasis on a target tissue wall (blood vessel wall as in [0063]) after a tissue injury (laceration as in [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the device of Copa for delivering a haemostatic substance for achieving haemostasis of damaged and bleeding tissues as in Paul as Paul teaches a device with similar structural capabilities (assembly of fig. 1) which is used for such a purpose (see at least [0063]) and teaches that having such a functionality is beneficial for promoting faster hemostasis, promoting cell growth, and promoting regrowth of damaged blood vessels ([0064]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copa et al. (US 20090312696, henceforth Copa) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Weber et al. (US 20130144328, henceforth Weber).
Regarding claim 8, Copa discloses the device of claim 4 wherein the micro wires are connected to one another via an arrangement (see [0147]-[-0150] and figs. 9A and 9B), the fluid being guided among a radial middle of the arrangement (see [0147] and [0016], fluid is guided such that it sprays radially outwards from a middle of the extension 358 to move directly onto the tissue wall), and being transferable to the tissue wall via the outlet openings (orifices 356, figs. 9A and 9B) which are provided in a radial exterior portion of the arrangement (see fig. 9B and see [0147] and [0016], fluid is guided such that it sprays radially outwards from a middle of the extension 358 to move directly onto the tissue wall). Copa also discloses that the arrangement is formed by elastic, polymeric materials, or more rigid materials ([0147]).
Copa does not disclose that the arrangement is a double-walled foil arrangement where the fluid is guided between two foil layers. Weber teaches a device (device 10, fig. 2A) having an expandable element (distal end portion 30, fig. 2A) where the expandable element has a foil arrangement (see [0033], filter membrane 50 of the arrangement can be a thin-film metal which is a foil as claimed) which can equivalently be made of elastic polymeric materials such as elastomeric polyamide ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a foil instead of an elastomeric polymeric material for the expandable element of Copa as Weber teaches the materials to be interchangeable with a reasonable expectation of success in working as expandable members (see [0033]) where such a substitution would have yielded the same, predictable result of having an expandable member with desirable structural characteristics for use in body cavities.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a double-walled arrangement of the foil in the modified device where the fluid is guided between two walls of the foil since this would be the only way to arrange the orifices of Copa in the modified device such that the fluid would be exposed radially exteriorly of the expanded element; if only a single wall were used, openings in a single layer of foil would allow for fluid to move radially interiorly and radially exteriorly of the expanded element of Copa, which is not the design of the device of Copa.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McGuckin et al. (US 20020120238) is considered relevant prior art regarding teaching the use of microwires which deliver therapeutic fluids to damaged blood vessels.
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783