DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16th, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, it is unclear if the first and second spacings and fourth and fifth spacings, respectively, comprise spacings having different sizes from each other or the comprise spacings having different sizes within themselves (varying profile).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, & 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0329480 A1) (hereinafter “Guo”), wherein claims 9 & 11-12 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Guo.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, & 7-13, Guo teaches a composite pane usable as a vehicle windshield [0002-0003, 0063] comprising an outer layer of glass (second pane element) (Figs. 1, 7, 11-12 [1]) and an inner layer of glass (first pane element) (Figs. 1, 7, 11-12 [2]) forming between them an intermediate space defined by an adhesive/spacer PVB (polyvinylbutyral) film (over the entirety of the intermediate space including the periphery) (Figs. 11-12 [8]), wherein the spacer film has a first direction (Figs. 11A & 12A) having first and second opposing edges and a central region therebetween defining first and second spacings having a third central spacing disposed therebetween and a second direction (Figs. 11B & 12B) having fourth and first opposing edges and a second central region therebetween defining fourth and fifth spacings having a sixth central spacing disposed therebetween and a second direction, wherein a the third spacing is larger than only a first spacing (Fig. 11A) or both the first and second spacings (Fig. 12A) and a sixth spacing is larger than both the first and second spacings (Figs. 11B & 12B), wherein the first and second spacings are depicted as different sizes (Fig. 11A) or the same size or approximately the same size (different sizes) (Figs. 12A) and the fourth and fifth spacings are depicted as the same size or approximately the same size (different sizes) (Figs. 11B & 12B), wherein the variation in thickness of the adhesive/spacer PVB film defining the intermediate space is bounded by the inner layer of glass having a smaller curvature than the outer layer of glass.
Claims 3 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, as applied to claims 1 & 4 above, in view of Kunert (U.S. Patent No. 4,551,372) (hereinafter “Kunert”) OR Snelling (U.S. Patent No. 6,569,787 B1) (hereinafter “Snelling”).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Guo does not teach the outer layer of glass (second pane element) to have first, second, third, and/or fourth protruding elements, protruding over corresponding first, second, third, and/or fourth edges of the inner layer of glass (first pane element).
Kunert teaches a laminated glass intended for vehicle windshields but may be mounted in any bay/opening a motor vehicle, wherein in order to both prevent diffusion and mount the laminated glass in the vehicle body the outer sheet of glass is larger in both width and length than an inner sheet of glass forming a peripheral ledge for sealing and adhesive mounting.
OR
Snelling teaches a laminated bullet-resistant glazing for windscreens/windows in vehicles, wherein an outer glass ply is larger in dimension than the inner glass ply such that a step is provided around the entire periphery, wherein the step is provided for both mounting and reinforcement to prevent weakness and preventing spall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an outer/second pane element as comprising a first, second, third, and/or fourth protruding regions, protruding over the corresponding first, second, third, and/or fourth edges of the inner/first pane element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a peripheral ledge for sealing and mounting [Kunert] or a peripheral step for mounting and reinforcement [Snelling].
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snider (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0038093 A1) (hereinafter “Snider”), wherein claims 10 & 12 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Snider.
Regarding claims 1-8 and 13, Snider teaches a window assembly (pane arrangement), such as for a sunroof or moonroof of a vehicle [0005, Fig. 1] and mounted/secured therein [0035, 0066-0067], comprising an inner window panel (first pane element) (All Figs. [16]) and an outer window panel (second pane element) (All Figs. [14]) bonded together at perimeter regions by one or more adhesive sealing and/or spacing elements (All Figs. [26/126/226]) [0033, 0044], wherein the outer window panel is larger than the inner window panel in cross-sectional dimensions forming first, second, third, and/or fourth overhang (protruding) regions (All Figs. [25]) protruding over corresponding first, second, third, and/or fourth edges of the inner window panel [0031], and wherein the outer window panel and inner window panel have differing curvatures or contours, wherein the curvature of the outer window panel is based on providing a flush-mounted and uniform surface with the exterior roof surface of the vehicle and the inner window panel corresponds with a contour of an in-cabin interior surface of the vehicle [0009, 0029, 0072] such that it is generally flush or framed in appearance with an in-cabin trim element or headliner [0064, 0072], such that an interpane cavity defined therebetween varies in gap distance (spacing), with an exemplary interpane cavity profile comprising first and second side perimeter regions (edges) (Figs. 3-5 [22a]) in a vehicle transverse direction having a narrower cavity thickness/depth (first and second spacings) than a lateral central region having a largest gap dimension (third spacing having a relatively larger size) (Figs. 2-5 [22b]) and front and rear longitudinal perimeter regions (fourth and fifth edges) (Figs. 2-5 [22c/22d]) in a vehicle longitudinal direction having a narrower cavity thickness/depth (fourth and fifth spacings) than a longitudinal central region having a largest gap dimension (sixth spacing having a relatively larger size) (Figs. 2-5 [22e]) [0030], wherein the exemplary interpane cavity profile would be inherently provided by an inner window panel having a differing lower curvature than that of the outer window panel (as depicted), or the inner window panel can be flat (lower curvature), as set forth in U.S. Patent No. 6,039,390 [col. 4, line 53 – col. 5,line 8; col. 6, lines 14-22; claim 33), which is incorporated by reference [0055, 0059].
Regarding claims 9-12, the sealing/spacing elements are depicted as uniform in thickness, wherein forward and rearward spacing elements (Figs. 2-5 [26a/26b]) may comprise an equally curved profile at lateral sides (fourth and fifth spacings being the same size as each other but having different sizes) and/or side spacing elements (Figs. 2-5 [26c]) may be substantially uniform (first and second spacings being the same size) or also comprising a curved profile (first and second spacings being the same size as each other but having different sizes) [0044].
Alternatively, regarding claims 10 and 12, either of the first and second spacings and fourth and fifth spacings as not stated to have different sizes from each other.
However, different interpane cavity profiles from the exemplary one are envisioned such that the largest gap dimension can be at different locations rather than at the center between the front and rear perimeter portions and/or the side perimeter portions [0030]. Furthermore, the gap will vary based on the particular application and differences between the exterior surface contour and profile of the vehicle and the interior surface contour and profile of the vehicle [0034] which can be changed locally along the transverse and/or longitudinal vehicle directions along with the profile of the sealing elements corresponding to a minimum gap distance [0044].
Each of these optimization processes would have allowed for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to design opposing perimeter gap distances to be different sizes from each other, such as between the front and rear perimeter portions and/or the side perimeter portions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Teschner (DE 10203846 A1) teaches a translucent cover for a vehicle roof opening having a curved outer pane and having a curvature adapted to that of the exterior roof surface and an inner pane spaced from the outer pane by one or more sealing/spacer elements [0001, 0004, 0023], wherein the inner pane may be flat (Figs. 1-4) or curved (Fig. 5) [0007], but in the case of a curved inner pane also comprising a functional element such as a solar cell, electrochromic element, or the like that requires planar technology, the functional element can be mounted by means of a spacer on the curved inner pane [0010, 0029], wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art at the time of invention provide a curved inner pane of lower curvature so as to facilitate the mounting of the planar functional element, while still servicing the curvature requirements, especially in view of Snider, or vice-versa.
Thellier et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/000471 A1) teach a similar laminated glass panel to that of Guo, except specifically in the horizontal windshield direction, the thickness of the PVB film, and thus spacing of the panes of differing curvature, is at a minimum at opposing edges such that it increases to form at least one central region of substantially constant increased thickness [0014, 0016, 0034-0036], wherein the profile may be asymmetric [0029-0032], which would result in first and second spacings of different size.
Sadakane (U.S. 2019/0243137 A1) teach a similar laminated glass panel to that of Guo, except specifically in the vertical windshield direction, the thickness of the PVB film, and thus spacing of the panes of differing curvature, is at a minimum at opposing edges separated by a curved central region having an increased thickness, wherein the upper edge thickness/size (T2) is either equal to or slightly different than the lower edge (T1) [0044-0048, 0055, 0072-0075].
Kubo (JP 2011-088801 A) teach a similar laminated glass panel to that of Guo, except specifically in the vertical windshield direction, the thickness of the PVB film, and thus spacing of the panes of differing curvature, is at a minimum at opposing edges separated by an asymmetrically curved central region having an increased thickness that results in opposing edges of equal size (Fig. 4 [29/31]) or different sizes [Fig. 3C, 4A-4B].
Yoshizawa (U.S. Patent No. 6,06,983) teaches a laminated glass and automobile window, usable for roof windows, that comprises panes of different curvatures, such as a side window (Fig. 1) taken along a first direction (Fig. 2) and second direction (Figs. 3-4).
Each of Goldner (DE 19722722 A1), Wimmer (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0190571 A1), Yan (CN 110281750 A), and Aschaber et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/00705572 A1) teach sunroof panes that could have anticipated or made obvious at least the independent claim.
None of the above references were used in rejections in order to ensure conciseness.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Frank J Vineis can be reached at (571)270-1547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300
/JEFFREY A VONCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 March 14th, 2026