2DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zaffetti (US 2017/0292791) in view of Horoszczak (US 2021/0231383).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Zaffetti teaches an additively manufactured heat exchanger comprising: first and second headers (36, 42) forming a first pair and disposed on a first side of the core interlaced with each other and first and second headers (38, 40) forming a second pair and disposed on a second side of the core interlaced with each other; a core (12) interposed between two pairs of interleaved headers (Fig. 3); the header comprises first and second pathways (32, 34) disposed n thermal communication with each other (see cross section Fig. 4) which direct fluid between the first and second pairs of inlet and outlet headers, respectively (Para. [0031]); Zaffetti teaches that the headers on the first side (36, 42) may both be inlet headers and that the headers on the second side (38, 40) may both be outlet headers, per claim 9 (see Para. [0037] describing parallel flow use with both fluids flowing in the same direction) or an inlet and outlet header may be arranged on each side (see Para. [0037] describing counterflow), per claim 1.
Zaffetti does not teach that adjacent rows and columns of the tubes overlap in the respective row and column directions with interstitial spaces forming a diamond pattern.
Horoszczak teaches that it is old and well-known to form heat exchanger cores with tubes for two different heat exchanging fluids (38, 40) arranged in rows and columns which overlap in their respective row and column directions (Fig. 2) and with interstitial spaces between the pathways forming diamond shapes (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of Zaffetti with the overlapping arrangement of Horoszczak in order to decrease the distance between the adjacent tubes and thus increase thermal transfer efficiency.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, in Horoszczak the rows and columns are arranged such that lines drawn through the center points of the tubes in every row and in every column evenly bisect the associated tubes (i.e. the tubes are circular and their centers are colinear along every row and every column) and the interstitial spaces are formed by straight, linear segments (Fig. 2).
Zaffetti further teaches that: each header comprises a header component (inlet opening) attached to a body (cylindrical portion) with header fins (36, 38, 40, 42; see Fig. 3) arrayed along and extending from the body for association with each column of the first individual pathways (e.g. Figs. 5-6), per claims 3 and 11; the body and fins of each header cooperatively encompass at least a portion of the body and header fins of the header with which it is interlaced (see Fig. 3; e.g. 36 at least partially encompassing 42 and vice versa), per claims 4 and 12; the core comprises self-supporting core support structures (the structures which make up the core are self-supporting as no further elements are disclosed which support them), per claims 8 and 16.
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaffetti in view of Palmer, Roper (US 2021/0116188) and Stay (US 4,940,086).
Regarding claim 5 and 13, Zaffetti teaches that the bodies of the headers have rounded exteriors (cylindrical header portions; Fig. 3) and the header fins have cross-sections which are channel shaped (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 6; cross section of header fins taken in parallel with the axis of the cylindrical portion of the associated header are a three-sided channel).
Zaffetti does not specify the “C” shape to the header fins nor that the headers are all on the same (upper) side of the core.
Roper teaches that the rearrangement of such inlet and outlet headers from an arrangement similar to Zaffetti (fig. 3) to one having all inlet and outlet headers bodies (321, 322, 312, 311) arranged at the same, upper, side of the core (Fig. 4) is within the ordinary skill.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to rearrange the headers and inlet/outlets of Zaffetti, as taught by Roper, to fit any particular installation space or other practical engineering requirement as such rearrangement of parts is within the ordinary skill.
Stay teaches that it is old and well-known to form header components with “C” shaped cross-sections (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to form the header fins of Zaffetti in “C” shapes, as taught by Stay, to minimize sharp corners and smooth internal flow.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaffetti in view of Palmer and Stay (US 4,940,086).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Zaffetti does not teach stiffening fins.
Stay further teaches incorporating stiffening fins (134) into header components oriented perpendicularly to the header fin (see Figs. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the header fins of Zaffetti with stiffening fins, as taught by Stay, in order to increase the strength and rigidity of the device.
As such fins in Stay extend around the entire external perimeter of the header fins, in combination they will inherently be between each header fin and any adjacent structures, such as the other header fins of Zaffetti.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaffetti in view of Palmer and Tyan (US 2018/0099475).
Zaffetti does not include exterior structural reinforcements.
Tyan teaches that it is old and well-known to design structures from cellular hexagonal, triangular, or square patterns to increase strength to weight ratios (Figs. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to design the device of Zaffetti using cellular cored surfaces to increase the strength to weight ratio of the device and/or save on material.
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaffetti in view of Horoszczak and Sabharwall (US 20240307966).
Regarding claim 17, Zaffetti teaches the method of forming, via additive manufacturing (Para. [0021]) a heat exchanger comprising: first and second inlet headers (36, 42) and first and second outlet headers (38, 40) interlaced with each other, respectively; a core (12) interposed between two pairs of interleaved headers (Fig. 3); the header comprises first and second pathways (32, 34) disposed n thermal communication with each other (see cross section Fig. 4) which direct fluid between the first and second pairs of headers, respectively (Para. [0031]). Zaffetti does not specify the type of additive manufacturing.
Zaffetti does not teach that adjacent rows and columns of the tubes overlap in the respective row and column directions.
Horoszczak teaches that it is old and well-known to form heat exchanger cores with tubes for two different heat exchanging fluids (38, 40) arranged in rows and columns which overlap in their respective row and column directions (Fig. 2) and with interstitial spaces between the pathways forming diamond shapes (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of Zaffetti with the overlapping arrangement of Horoszczak in order to decrease the distance between the adjacent tubes and thus increase thermal transfer efficiency.
Sabharwall teaches that it is old and well-known to form heat exchangers via PBF-L (Para. [0038]) which inherently is a process involving building up elements in layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize any known additive manufacturing technique, including PBF-L as taught by Sabharwall, as such choices were left to one of ordinary skill by Zaffetti.
Regarding claim 20, Zaffetti teaches self-supporting core support structures (no external structures are disclosed as required to support the core).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaffetti in view of Palmer, Stay, and Sabharwall.
Regarding claims 18, Zaffetti does not teach stiffening fins.
Stay further teaches incorporating stiffening fins (134) into header components oriented perpendicularly to the header fin (see Figs. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the header fins of Zaffetti with stiffening fins, as taught by Stay, in order to increase the strength and rigidity of the device.
As such fins in Stay extend around the entire external perimeter of the header fins, in combination they will inherently be between each header fin and any adjacent structures, such as the other header fins of Zaffetti.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaffetti in view of Palmer, Tyan, and Sabharwall.
Regarding claim 19, Zaffetti does not include exterior structural reinforcements.
Tyan teaches that it is old and well-known to design structures from cellular hexagonal, triangular, or square patterns to increase strength to weight ratios (Figs. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to design the device of Zaffetti using cellular cored surfaces to increase the strength to weight ratio of the device and/or save on material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/1/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are entirely dependent upon the newly added limitations which have been addressed above.
Conclusion
/DEVON LANE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763