DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Qian et al. (US Patent 11,909,068, Cite No. AA in U.S. Patent Documents of IDS 3/12/20).
Regarding claim 1, Qian et al. discloses a battery system comprising a battery cell (20, figs. 2, 12 and 14) including:
an enclosure including a first end, a second end opposite to the first end, and a sidewall extending from the first end to the second end (see figs. 2, 12 and 14);
a first terminal at a first end of the enclosure and a second terminal at a second end of the enclosure (see contacts connected to bus bars 14 shown in fig. 2, or electrode terminals 23 each at an end of the enclosure as shown in figs. 12 and 14);
an assembly of an anode electrode and a cathode electrode within the enclosure, the cathode electrode is connected to the first terminal (23) and the anode electrode is connected to the second terminal (23, see col. 7, lines 15-54; cols. 17, lines 12-30); and
a vent (see pressure relief mechanism 21) in the sidewall of the enclosure (see figs. 2-3 and 8), the vent (21) configured to open to release at least one of gas and ejecta out from within the enclosure when pressure within the enclosure exceeds a threshold (see col. 2, line 58 through col. 3, line 6; col. 8, lines 11-36; col. 10, line 33 through col. 11, line 6; col. 19, lines 15-32).
Regarding claim 3, Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 1, and teaches the anode electrode (or negative electrode) is directly connected to an inner surface of the enclosure at the second end of the enclosure in order to connect to the electrode terminal (23 for the negative electrode) at the second end (see figs. 2, 12 and 14; col. 7, lines 15-54; cols. 17, lines 12-30).
Regarding claim 5, Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 1 above, and teaches the battery cell (20) is a cylindrical battery cell and the sidewall is round (see figs. 2-5, 8-9, 12 and 15-17).
Regarding claim 6, Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 1 above, and teaches the first end of the enclosure is ventless and the second end of the enclosure is ventless (see figs. 2, 4, 9, 12 and 15-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al. (US Patent 11,909,068) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang et al. (CN218887445, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 1 above, and teaches the pressure relief mechanism of a vent (21) is located in an elongated side portion (22) of the battery cell (20, see figs. 2-3 and col. 10, lines 63-67).
Qian et al. does not teach the vent including a first vent in the sidewall proximate to the first end; and the battery cell further includes a second vent in the sidewall proximate to the second end.
Wang et al. teaches the vent (see explosion-proof valve 3) including a first vent in the sidewall proximate to the first end and a second vent in the sidewall proximate to the second end (see figs. 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Qian et al. by having the vent including a first vent in the sidewall proximate to the first end and a second vent in the sidewall proximate to the second end as taught by Wang et al. to ensure the pressure being relieved, and such modification would involve nothing more than a mere duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al. (US Patent 11,909,068) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Phillips et al. (US 2009/0233159).
Regarding claim 4, Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 1 above, wherein Qian teaches including a current collector/tab to connect to the corresponding electrode terminal (23, see col. 17, lines 12-30 and col. 7, lines 15-54), wherein the current collector/tab is made of metallic material (see col. 7, lines 15-54).
Qian et al. does not explicitly disclose a current collector disk made of a metallic material seated on a metallic inner surface of the enclosure at the second end of the enclosure, the anode electrode is connected to the current collector disk.
Phillips discloses a current collector disk (205 in figs. 2A-B, 325 in fig. 3B) made of a metallic material ([0031]) seated on a metallic inner surface of the enclosure (or can 203 in figs. 2A-B, 313 in fig. 3B, [0056]), the anode electrode (or negative electrode, e.g. 321 in fig. 3B) is connected to the current collector disk (205 or 325, see figs. 2-B, [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Qian et al. by incorporating a current collector disk made of a metallic material seated on a metallic inner surface of the enclosure and connecting the anode electrode to the current collector disk as taught by Phillips et al., because Phillips et al. teaches such current collector disk would provide an internal terminal ([0050]) with high conductivity ([0060]).
Claim(s) 7-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al. (US Patent 11,909,068) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Iqbal et al. (US 2016/0218338).
Regarding claim 7, Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 1 above, and teaches a ventilation conduit (see chamber 16) defining an opening (or opening 121 of the isolation component 12, see fig. 2) aligned with the vent (21).
Qian et al. does not show the ventilation conduit venting to an exterior of a battery pack including the battery cell.
Iqbal et al. teaches venting the ventilation conduit (or vent conduit 84 with channel 92) to an exterior of a battery pack including a battery cell by hose H (see [0038], figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Qian et al. by having the ventilation conduit venting to an exterior of a battery pack as taught by Iqbal et al., because Iqbal et al. teaches the expanding gas in the battery pack requires venting ([0038]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 7 above, wherein Qian et al. teaches the ventilation conduit (or chamber 16 made of enclosure 11 and isolation component 12) includes an internal thermal barrier (12, see col. 13, lines 8-25).
Regarding claim 9, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 7 above, wherein Qian et al. discloses the battery cell (20) is one of a plurality of battery cells all configured identically (see figs. 2-5, 8-9, 12-17); and wherein the ventilation conduit (16) defines a plurality of openings (121, figs. 2-3 and 8) spaced apart and aligned with the vent (21) of each one of the plurality of battery cells (20, see figs. 2-3 and 8).
Regarding claim 10, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 9 above, wherein Qian et al. teaches providing cooling to achieve better temperature adjustment effects (see col. 13, lines 8-25).
Qian et al. does not teach a base cooling conduit extending along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells, the base cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells to cool the plurality of battery cells.
Iqbal et al. teaches a base cooling conduit (see cold plate 46 having coolant inlet 52 and outlet 56, figs. 2-4) extending along the second end (or the base end or the bottom end) of each battery cell (34, figs. 2-4), and the base cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells (34) to cool the plurality of battery cells (see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Qian et al. by incorporating a base cooling conduit as taught by Iqbal et al.; because Qian et al. teaches providing cooling to achieve better temperature adjustment effect, and Iqbal et al. teaches such conduit would cool by absorbing thermal energy from the cells.
Regarding claim 11, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 9 above, wherein Qian et al. teaches the isolation component (12) extending along sides of the plurality of battery cells (see figs. 2-5, 8-912-17) and configured to accommodate fluid such as coolant to adjust the temperature of the battery cells (20; see col. 13, lines 8-25).
Qian et al. does not explicitly describe the isolation component to be a side cooling conduit extending along sides of the plurality of battery cells, the side cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the sides of the plurality of battery cells to cool the plurality of battery cells.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a side cooling conduit extending along sides of the plurality of battery cells and configured to direct coolant along the sides of the plurality of battery cells to cool the plurality battery as the isolation component (12), because Qian et al. explicitly teaches the isolation component accommodate fluid such as coolant to adjust the temperature of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 12, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claims 11 above.
Qian et al. does not teach a base cooling conduit extending along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells, the base cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells to cool the plurality of battery cells.
Iqbal et al. teaches a base cooling conduit (see cold plate 46 having coolant inlet 52 and outlet 56, figs. 2-4) extending along the second end (or the base end or the bottom end) of each battery cell (34, figs. 2-4), and the base cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells (34) to cool the plurality of battery cells (see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of modified Qian et al. by incorporating a base cooling conduit as taught by Iqbal et al.; because Qian et al. teaches providing cooling to achieve better temperature adjustment effect, and Iqbal et al. teaches such conduit would cool by absorbing thermal energy from the cells.
Regarding claims 13, 17 and 19, Qian et al. discloses a battery system comprising a cylindrical battery cell (20) including:
an enclosure including a top plate, a bottom plate, and a sidewall extending from the top plate to the bottom plate (see figs. 2, 12 and 24);
a first terminal at a first end of the enclosure and a second terminal at a second end of the enclosure (see contacts connected to bus bars 14 shown in fig. 2, or electrode terminals 23 each at an end of the enclosure as shown in figs. 12 and 14);
an assembly of an anode electrode (or negative electrode) and a cathode electrode (or positive electrode) within the enclosure, the cathode electrode (positive electrode) is connected to the first terminal (23) and the anode electrode (negative electrode) is connected to the second terminal (23, see col. 7, lines 15-54; cols. 17, lines 12-30); and
a vent (21) in the sidewall of the enclosure (see figs. 2-3 and 8), the vent (21) configured to open to release at least one of gas and ejecta out from within the enclosure when pressure within the enclosure exceeds a threshold;
a ventilation conduit (16) defining an opening (121, figs. 2-3 and 8) aligned with the vent (21, see figs. 2-3 and 8) and including a thermal barrier film (12).
Qian et al. does not explicitly teach the bottom plate is directly welded to the sidewall. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the enclosure by welding the bottom plate directly to the sidewall, because Qian et al. shows the bottom plate is directly bonded to the sidewall. Furthermore, the limitation describing forming the enclosure by welding the bottom plate to the side wall is a process limitation that does not further define the structure of the device. The determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not on its method of production. See MPEP 2113. Regardless how the bottom plate is connected to the sidewall by welding or by other methods, in the end the bottom plate is connected to the sidewall.
Quian et al. does not teach the ventilation conduit vents to an exterior of a battery pack including the cylindrical battery cell, nor do they teach a cooling conduit adjacent to the bottom plate of the cylindrical cells and configured to conduct coolant for cooling the cylindrical battery cell.
Iqbal et al. teaches venting the ventilation conduit (or vent conduit 84 with channel 92) to an exterior of a battery pack including a battery cell by hose H (see [0038], figs. 2-4). Iqbal et al. also teaches a cooling conduit (see cold plate 46 having coolant inlet 52 and outlet 56, figs. 2-4) adjacent to the bottom plate of the battery cells (34, figs. 2-4), and configured to conduct coolant for cooling the battery cells (34; see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Qian et al. by having the ventilation conduit venting to an exterior of a battery pack as taught by Iqbal et al., because Iqbal et al. teaches the expanding gas in the battery pack requires venting ([0038]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Qian et al. by incorporating a cooling conduit adjacent to the bottom plate of the battery cells (or a base cooling conduit) as taught by Iqbal et al.; because Qian et al. teaches providing cooling to achieve better temperature adjustment effect, and Iqbal et al. teaches such conduit would cool by absorbing thermal energy from the cells.
Regarding claim 14, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 13 above, wherein Qian et al. teaches the anode electrode (or negative electrode) is directly connected to an inner surface of the bottom plate (see col. 7, lines 15-54; cols. 17, lines 12-30).
Regarding claim 18, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 13 above, wherein Qian et al. teaches the isolation component (12) extending adjacent and along sides of the plurality of battery cells (see figs. 2-5, 8-912-17) and configured to accommodate fluid such as coolant to adjust the temperature of the battery cells (20; see col. 13, lines 8-25).
Qian et al. does not explicitly describe the isolation component to be a cooling conduit.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a cooling conduit as the isolation component (12), because Qian et al. explicitly teaches the isolation component (12) accommodate fluid such as coolant to adjust the temperature of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 20, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claims 19 above.
Qian et al. does not teach a base cooling conduit extending along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells, the base cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells to cool the plurality of battery cells.
Iqbal et al. teaches a base cooling conduit (see cold plate 46 having coolant inlet 52 and outlet 56, figs. 2-4) extending along the second end (or the base end or the bottom end) of each battery cell (34, figs. 2-4), and the base cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells (34) to cool the plurality of battery cells (see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of modified Qian et al. by incorporating a base cooling conduit as taught by Iqbal et al.; because Qian et al. teaches providing cooling to achieve better temperature adjustment effect, and Iqbal et al. teaches such conduit would cool by absorbing thermal energy from the cells.
Alternatively, claim(s) 11-12, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Qian et al. (US Patent 11,909,068) as applied to claims 9, 13, and 19 above, in view of Donovan et al. (US 2022/0250508).
Regarding claims 11, 18 and 20, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claims 9, 13, and 19 above, wherein Qian et al. teaches the isolation component (12) extending adjacent and along sides of the plurality of battery cells (see figs. 2-5, 8-912-17) and configured to accommodate fluid such as coolant to adjust the temperature of the battery cells (20; see col. 13, lines 8-25).
Qian et al. does not explicitly describe the isolation component (12) to be a cooling conduit.
Donovan et al. teaches provides a side cooling conduit (see thermal conduit 616, fig. 6, [0086-0088]), and the thermal conduit is for cooling the battery pack (see [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a cooling conduit to cool the battery pack (or a battery system) as taught by Donovan et al as the isolation component (12) of Qian et al., because Qian et al. explicitly teaches the isolation component (12) is configured to accommodate fluid such as coolant to adjust the temperature of the plurality of battery cells (20; see col. 13, lines 8-25 of Qian et al.).
Regarding claim 12, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claims 11 above.
Qian et al. does not teach a base cooling conduit extending along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells, the base cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells to cool the plurality of battery cells.
Iqbal et al. teaches a base cooling conduit (see cold plate 46 having coolant inlet 52 and outlet 56, figs. 2-4) extending along the second end (or the base end or the bottom end) of each battery cell (34, figs. 2-4), and the base cooling conduit configured to direct coolant along the second end of each one of the plurality of battery cells (34) to cool the plurality of battery cells (see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of modified Qian et al. by incorporating a base cooling conduit as taught by Iqbal et al.; because Qian et al. teaches providing cooling to achieve better temperature adjustment effect, and Iqbal et al. teaches such conduit would cool by absorbing thermal energy from the cells.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Qian et al. (US Patent 11,909,068) as applied to claim 13 above, in view of Phillips et al. (US 2009/0233159).
Regarding claim 15, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 13 above.
Modified Qian et al. further comprising a current collector disk made of a metallic material seated on the bottom plate, the anode electrodes are connected to the current collector disk.
Phillips discloses a current collector disk (205 in figs. 2A-B, 325 in fig. 3B) made of a metallic material ([0031]) seated on a metallic inner surface of the enclosure (or can 203 in figs. 2A-B, 313 in fig. 3B, [0056]), the anode electrode (or negative electrode, e.g. 321 in fig. 3B) is connected to the current collector disk (205 or 325, see figs. 2-B, [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of modified Qian et al. by incorporating a current collector disk made of a metallic material seated on a metallic inner surface of the enclosure and connecting the anode electrode to the current collector disk as taught by Phillips et al., because Phillips et al. teaches such current collector disk would provide an internal terminal ([0050]) with high conductivity ([0060]).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Qian et al. (US Patent 11,909,068) as applied to claim 13 above, in view of Wang et al. (CN218887445, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, modified Qian et al. discloses a battery system as in claim 13 above.
Modified Qian et al. does not disclose the vent is one of a plurality of vents in the sidewall of the enclosure.
Wang et al. teaches the vent (see explosion-proof valve 3) including a first vent in the sidewall proximate to the first end and a second vent in the sidewall proximate to the second end (see figs. 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Qian et al. by having the vent including a first vent in the sidewall proximate to the first end and a second vent in the sidewall proximate to the second end as taught by Wang et al. to ensure the pressure being relieved, and such modification would involve nothing more than a mere duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726