DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalinowski et al. (US 2019/0324274).
Regarding claim 1, Kalinowski discloses a system (see figures 1-7, for instance) comprising: an ambient light sensor (68) configured to detect a first spectral power distribution associated with ambient light (“ambient light intensity”; [0028]); and a transparent display (20) including: a display panel (26) associated with a second spectral power distribution (“computer-generated content”, [0004]), the display panel (26) configured to generate display light ([0033]), and an optical stack (see figure 7) configured to present the display light while allowing passthrough of a portion of the ambient light ([0005], “The adjustable opacity layer may block or dim light from the real-world objects to allow improved contrast when displaying computer-generated content over the real-world objects”), the optical stack including a configurable color filter (20) that filters the portion of the ambient light to change the first spectral power distribution based on the second spectral power distribution ([0026], e.g. “to prevent the glare from reaching the eyes of the user,” inter alia, to make the display light visible to the user’s eyes).
Regarding claim 2, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a processor (50) configured to generate an electrical signal based on the first spectral power distribution and the second spectral power distribution ([0015]-[0021]); wherein the configurable color filter (20) includes an electrochromic material ([0043]) configured to filter the portion of the ambient light based on the electrical signal.
Regarding claim 3, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the configurable color filter (20) filters the portion of the ambient light to transform the first spectral power distribution of the portion of the ambient light to resemble the second spectral power distribution of the display panel (26).
Regarding claim 4, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a light sensor (68) configured to differentiate spectral properties ([0060]) in different parts of the portion of the ambient light passing through the optical stack; wherein the configurable color filter (20) filters the different parts of the portion of the ambient light differently in accordance with the differentiated spectral properties.
Regarding claim 5, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the optical stack further comprises an optical combiner (26C) configured to combine the display light and the portion of the ambient light; and the optical combiner and the configurable color filter (20) are positioned within the optical stack such that the portion of the ambient light is filtered by the configurable color filter without the display light also being filtered by the configurable color filter (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 6, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the transparent display (26) is configured to cause the configurable color filter (20) to change the first spectral power distribution of the portion of the ambient light without causing the display panel to change the second spectral power distribution of the display panel ([0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the optical stack further includes a luminance filter (140) that filters the portion of the ambient light to change a luminance of the portion of the ambient light.
Regarding claim 8, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the display panel (26) of the transparent display is a micro-light-emitting-diode (micro-LED) panel ([0017]) and the second spectral power distribution of the micro-LED panel is skewed away from a red portion of a color spectrum toward at least one of a green portion of the color spectrum and a blue portion of the color spectrum ([0053]).
Regarding claim 9, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second spectral power distribution of the display panel (26) is associated with an average daylight (D65) illuminant ([0033]) and the first spectral power distribution is detected to be offset from the second spectral power distribution (“so that the computer-generated images on the display do not appear dim) without risking viewer discomfort or eye damage from high light intensity levels”, [0033]).
Regarding claim 11, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the transparent display is incorporated within an augmented reality glasses device (see figure 7, [0014]).
Regarding claim 12, Kalinowski discloses a method (see figures 1-7, for instance) comprising: detecting a first spectral power distribution (via sensor 68) associated with ambient light (“ambient light intensity”; [0028]) of a scene in which a transparent display (26) is located, the transparent display including a display panel (26C) associated with a second spectral power distribution (“computer-generated content”, [0004]) and an optical stack (see figure 7) that allows passthrough of a portion of the ambient light; generating, by the display panel (26), display light ([0033]) for presentation by the optical stack while allowing the passthrough of the portion of the ambient light ([0005], “The adjustable opacity layer may block or dim light from the real-world objects to allow improved contrast when displaying computer-generated content over the real-world objects”); and filtering, by a configurable color filter (20) included within the optical stack, the portion of the ambient light passing through the optical stack to change the first spectral power distribution of the portion of the ambient light based on the second spectral power distribution of the display panel ([0026], e.g. “to prevent the glare from reaching the eyes of the user,” inter alia, to make the display light visible to the user’s eyes).
Regarding claim 13, Kalinowski discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: detecting a change in the first spectral power distribution associated with the ambient light of the scene ([0037], “This may be done automatically or may be done only in the presence of bright light detected by ambient light sensor 68”); and changing, in response to the detecting the change in the first spectral power distribution associated with the ambient light of the scene, the filtering of the portion of the ambient light passing through the optical stack ([0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Kalinowski discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising generating an electrical signal (via 50, 60) based on the first spectral power distribution and the second spectral power distribution; wherein the configurable color filter (200) includes an electrochromic material ([0043]) configured to perform the filtering of the portion of the ambient light based on the electrical signal.
Regarding claim 15, Kalinowski discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the configurable color filter (20) filters the portion of the ambient light to transform the first spectral power distribution of the portion of the ambient light to resemble the second spectral power distribution of the display panel (26).
Regarding claim 16, Kalinowski discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the transparent display (26C) is configured to cause the configurable color filter (20) to change the first spectral power distribution of the portion of the ambient light without causing the display panel to change the second spectral power distribution of the display panel (26).
Regarding claim 17, Kalinowski discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions ([0015]) that, when executed, cause a processor (50, [0015]) of a transparent display (26) to perform a process (see figures 1-7, for instance) comprising: receiving, from an ambient light sensor (68), data indicating a first spectral power distribution associated with ambient light of a scene (“ambient light intensity”; [0028]) in which the transparent display (26) is located, the transparent display including a display panel (26C) associated with a second spectral power distribution (“computer-generated content”, [0004]) and an optical stack (see figure 7) that allows passthrough of a portion of the ambient light ([0005], “The adjustable opacity layer may block or dim light from the real-world objects to allow improved contrast when displaying computer-generated content over the real-world objects”); causing the display panel (26) to generate display light for presentation by the optical stack while allowing the passthrough of the portion of the ambient light; and generating, based on the data ([0023]-[0027]) indicating the first spectral power distribution and data indicating the second spectral power distribution, an electrical signal configured to cause a configurable color filter (20) included within the optical stack to filter the portion of the ambient light passing through the optical stack ([0026], e.g. “to prevent the glare from reaching the eyes of the user,” inter alia, to make the display light visible to the user’s eyes).
Regarding claim 18, Kalinowski discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the process further comprises: receiving, from the ambient light sensor (68), additional data indicating a change in the first spectral power distribution associated with the ambient light of the scene; and changing the electrical signal based on the additional data ([0028]).
Regarding claim 19, Kalinowski discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the configurable color filter (20) includes an electrochromic material ([0043]) configured to perform the filtering of the portion of the ambient light based on the electrical signal.
Regarding claim 20, Kalinowski discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the configurable color filter (20) filters the portion of the ambient light to transform the first spectral power distribution of the portion of the ambient light to resemble the second spectral power distribution of the display panel (26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinowski in view of Sorensson et al. (US 8,174,489).
Regarding claim 10, Kalinowski discloses the system of claim 1. However, Kalinowski does not expressly disclose wherein the second spectral power distribution of the display panel is associated with an incandescent lighting (A) illuminant or a fluorescent lighting (F) illuminant and the first spectral power distribution is detected to be offset from the second spectral power distribution.
Sorensson discloses a system (see figure for instance), wherein the second spectral power distribution of the display panel is associated with an incandescent lighting (A) illuminant or a fluorescent lighting (F) illuminant and the first spectral power distribution is detected to be offset from the second spectral power distribution (column 1, lines 17-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the second spectral power distribution of the display panel to be associated with incandescent or fluorescent lighting as Sorensson in the system of Kalinowski. The motivation for doing so would have been to adjust more accurately the operational mode of the displays so as to be viewable in appropriate lighting environments, as taught by Sorensson (column 3, lines 29-44).
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 3/3/2026