CTNF 18/651,143 CTNF 89483 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Stawiarski et al . Regarding claim 1, Stawiarksi et al. discloses a vehicle structure comprising: a chassis frame (vehicle chassis 10) having a first closed curve that surrounds a battery accommodation space (Pg. 7, Lns. 5-22; Fig. 1 shows where portion 14 is curved); a watertight panel (frame components 140 & 142; liquid tightness described in Pg.11, Lns. 26-33 through Pg. 12, Lns. 1-14) having a second closed curve (Pg. 8, Lns. 25-33 through Pg. 9, Lns. 1-18) that surrounds an inside of the first closed curve that surrounds the battery accommodation space of the chassis frame (Fig. 14); an upper cover (cover 126; Pg. 12, Lns .15-28) coupled to an upper side of the watertight panel and covering an upper side of the battery accommodation space; and an under cover (panel 130) coupled to a lower side of the watertight panel and covering a lower side of the battery accommodation space (Fig. 14). Regarding claim 2, Stawiarksi et al. discloses the vehicle structure of claim 1, wherein the first closed curve, which surrounds the battery accommodation space of the chassis frame, is defined by center side members provided at first and second opposite sides of the chassis frame of a vehicle and elongated in a forward and rearward direction of the vehicle, front and rear cross members connecting the center side members at the first and second opposite sides, elongated in a transverse direction of the vehicle, and spaced from each other in the forward and rearward direction of the vehicle (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 3, Stawiarksi et al. discloses the vehicle structure of claim 2, wherein the watertight panel includes an inclined wall, which extends along internal surfaces of the center side members, an internal surface of the front cross member, and an internal surface of the rear cross member, defines the second closed curve and is seamless (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 10, Stawiarksi et al. discloses a vehicle structure including: side members defining first and second opposite sides of a chassis frame; a plurality of cross members connecting the side members at the first and second opposite sides; a watertight panel inserted into a closed curve defined by the side members and the cross members, the watertight panel being configured to define a closed curved surface having a predetermined width in an upward and downward direction and having watertightness; and an upper cover provided to surround an upper side of a battery accommodation space surrounded by the closed curved surface defined by the watertight panel (see previous rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 1). Regarding claim 11, Stawiarksi et al. discloses the vehicle structure of claim 10, wherein a closed curve of the chassis frame is defined by center side members, which are positioned between front side members and rear side members of the side members, a front cross member, which connects first and second opposite end portions of front sides of the center side members, and a rear cross member that connects first and second opposite end portions of rear sides of the center side members (Fig. 1). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 4 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. A prior art search did not uncover a references that teaches wherein the closed curved surface, which has the predetermined width in the upward and downward direction of the watertight panel, is defined by an inclined wall inclined downwardly from the upper side of the battery accommodation space toward an inside of the battery accommodation space. Claims 5-9 depend from claim 4. Claims 13-20 depend from claim 12. Inquiry Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HILARY LYNN JOHNS whose telephone number is (313)446-4852. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, J. Allen Shriver can be reached at 3032974337 or 5712726698. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HILARY L JOHNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613 /JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/651,143 Page 2 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/651,143 Page 3 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/651,143 Page 4 Art Unit: 3613