DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, and 14-17, under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yacoub (20130174536; already of record) in view of Wendling et al. (11624303; hereinafter Wendling; already of record).
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 3-6 and 10-11, under 35 USC 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yacoub in view of Wendling fail to disclose that the vehicle propulsion is provided by the electric machine, based on the accelerator position. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments pertain to newly amended limitations not addressed in the prior Office Action of record. However. Yacoub does disclose of propulsion control by the electric machine, as seen below while the internal combustion engine is separated, per the prior Office Action of record:
“the vehicle control system may initiate a filter protection mode wherein the internal combustion engine may be decoupled and the vehicle driven by electric motor alone” ¶ 14
“the electric motor may remain coupled from the wheel drive train if instructed by the control system for efficiency or to initiate the active regeneration of the DPF. Further, in hybrid systems allowing torque to be provided by the engine and electric motor simultaneously, the engine may remain coupled to the wheel drive train throughout the procedural timeline” ¶ 29
Yacoub also discloses:
“In the DPF protection mode, the engine 2 may be automatically decoupled from the wheel drive train by means of the clutch/transmission unit 6, and forward propulsion may be met exclusively with the aid of the electric motor 16” ¶ 21
“forward propulsion demands by the driver are met exclusively with the aid of the one or more electric machine(s)” Abstract
Therefore, it can be seen that Yacoub does disclose of providing vehicle propulsion control by an electric machine while the internal combustion engine is separated. Although Yacoub discloses of a driver’s propulsion demand, Wendling is utilized to modify the propulsion system of Yacoub to explicitly recite an accelerator pedal:
“The pedal position sensor 110 provides a signal representative of the torque request on the hybrid powertrain 24 and may monitor the position of the operator controlled throttle foot pedal” Col. 8 Lines 45-48
Additionally, it would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a vehicle being driven by a driver would include an accelerator pedal for propulsion demand. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would, with a reasonable expectation for success, have modified the regeneration system of Yacoub so that it also includes the element of an accelerator pedal position
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being taught by Yacoub (20130174536; already of record) in view of Wendling et al. (11624303; hereinafter Wendling; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Yacoub teaches a method for carrying out a regeneration process of a particulate filter of a motor vehicle, the method comprising (Yacoub: Abstract):
decoupling, in the regeneration process, an internal combustion engine from an output of a powertrain of the motor vehicle (Yacoub: “the vehicle control system may initiate a filter protection mode wherein the internal combustion engine may be decoupled” ¶ 14);
providing, at least partly timely overlapping with the decoupling of the internal combustion engine, vehicle propulsion by at least one electric machine of the motor vehicle (Yacoub: “and the vehicle driven by electric motor alone” ¶ 14, “the electric motor may remain coupled from the wheel drive train if instructed by the control system for efficiency or to initiate the active regeneration of the DPF. Further, in hybrid systems allowing torque to be provided by the engine and electric motor simultaneously, the engine may remain coupled to the wheel drive train throughout the procedural timeline” ¶ 29, see also ¶ 26); and
running the decoupled internal combustion engine (Yacoub: “while the vehicle is in filter protection mode the engine is allowed to continue running” ¶ 14)
wherein, in the regeneration process, the internal combustion engine is temporarily re-coupled based on whether an exhaust gas temperature drops below a threshold temperature (Yacoub: “Upon exhaust and/or DPF temperature falling below the threshold and/or the reduced potential or termination of unintentional combustion in the DPF 22, filter protection mode may be deactivated and the engine 2 re-coupled to the wheel drive train” ¶ 23, “Upon return of the DPF and exhaust conditions to a threshold value the engine may actively regenerate the DPF at 314 via a control routine” ¶ 27),
wherein, when the internal combustion engine is temporarily re-coupled, at least one electric machine of the motor vehicle is controlled to apply a load to the internal combustion engine in a recuperation mode (Yacoub: “The extended use of the electric motor may be aided by the power generated in the engine during stoichiometric combustion” ¶ 27, “the internal combustion engine may drive the electric generator while in filter protection mode, and may be operated with an output power which approximately corresponds to the maximum power generating capacity of the electric generator” ¶ 26), and
...
Although Yacoub discloses of general forward propulsion demands of the driver, such as in paragraph 21 and 23, Yacoub fails to explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle propulsion is controlled based on an accelerator pedal position.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Wendling teaches wherein the vehicle propulsion is controlled based on an accelerator pedal position (Wendling: “The pedal position sensor 110 provides a signal representative of the torque request on the hybrid powertrain 24 and may monitor the position of the operator controlled throttle foot pedal” Col. 8 Lines 45-48).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing and with a reasonable expectation for success, to have modified the regeneration system of Yacoub so that it also includes the element of an accelerator pedal position, as taught by Wendling, in order to improve regeneration evaluation (Wendling: Col 9 Lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 2, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the internal combustion engine is controlled to run continuously during the regeneration process (Yacoub: “While the vehicle is in filter protection mode the engine is allowed to continue running in a steady operating state” ¶ 14).
Regarding claim 3, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 1, ...
However, Yacoub fails to teach wherein the internal combustion engine is controlled to run in an overrun mode when running while decoupled.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wendling teaches wherein the internal combustion engine is controlled to run in an overrun mode when running while decoupled (Wendling: “the engine's injectors may be shut off during coast-down with the engine operating as an air pump without fuel” Col. 5 Lines 39-41).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing and with a reasonable expectation for success, to have modified the regeneration system of Yacoub so that it also includes the element of running the internal combustion engine in an overrun mode, as taught by Wendling, in order to improve passive filter regeneration (Wendling: Col. 5 Lines 44-56).
Regarding claim 7, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle propulsion is controlled to keep the vehicle speed at least substantially constant (Yacoub: “The vehicle propulsion may then continue unhindered via torque provided by the electric motor while the engine operates in filter protection mode conditions” ¶ 26, see also ¶ 21, 23).
Regarding claim 8, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the regeneration process is initiated based on determining that a soot level of the particulate filter exceeds a threshold soot level (Yacoub: “This initiation may be standard or be the result of the degree of soot build-up within the DPF” ¶ 30).
Regarding claim 9, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the regeneration process is initiated based on determining that an exhaust temperature of the motor vehicle exceeds a threshold temperature (Yacoub: “The temperature within the DPF 408 may be determined by sensors in the exhaust system or the DPF itself. DPF temperature may rise until a threshold 406 is reached, at which point the filter protection mode is initiated” ¶ 29).
Regarding claim 10, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 1, ...
However, Yacoub fails to teach wherein the regeneration process is initiated at least at a predetermined driving speed of the motor vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wendling teaches wherein the regeneration process is initiated at least at a predetermined driving speed of the motor vehicle (Wendling: “When an active fault is not present, the process 400 continues to determine 404, such as by the DFCO evaluation module 304 using a signal 316 from the vehicle speed sensor 104, whether the speed of the vehicle 22 is above a calibrated speed” Col. 10 Lines 50-54).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing and with a reasonable expectation for success, to have modified the regeneration system of Yacoub so that it also includes the element of vehicle speed, as taught by Wendling, in order to improve regeneration evaluation (Wendling: Col 10 Lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 14, Yacoub teaches an apparatus for carrying out a regeneration process of a particulate filter of a motor vehicle, the apparatus comprising control circuitry configured to (Yacoub: “the embodiment includes a control system” ¶ 18):
...
In regards to the remainder of claim 14, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under the same premise.
Regarding claim 15¸ Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the apparatus of claim 14, further comprising:
interface circuitry configured to receive at least one of an exhaust temperature of the motor vehicle or a soot level of the particulate filter, or both (Yacoub: “the embodiment includes a control system that may receive input from sensors that may include a temperature sensor” ¶ 18, see also ¶ 30),
...
In regards to the remainder of claim 15, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 8 and 9, and is therefore rejected under the same premise.
Regarding claim 16, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches a motor vehicle comprising:
the powertrain with the combustion engine and the at least one electric machine (Yacoub: Fig. 1); and
at least one apparatus according to claim 14 (Yacoub: “the embodiment includes a control system” ¶ 18).
Regarding claim 17, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having recorded therein a computer program comprising -computer-executable instructions which, when the computer program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 1 (Yacoub: “the described acts may graphically represent code to be programmed into the computer readable storage medium in the engine control system” ¶ 32).
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yacoub in view of Wendling, as applied to claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14-17 above, in further view of DE102017209081A1 (Bayerische Motoren Werke Aktiengesellschaft; hereinafter Bartolot; already of record).
Regarding claim 4, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 1, ...
However, Yacoub in view of Wendling fails to teach wherein running the internal combustion engine comprises controlling at least one electric machine of the motor vehicle to run the internal combustion engine.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bartolot teaches wherein running the internal combustion engine comprises controlling at least one electric machine of the motor vehicle to run the internal combustion engine (Bartolot: “The control unit may be configured to cause the electric machine to drive the internal combustion engine without injecting fuel” ¶ 24).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing and with a reasonable expectation for success, to have modified the regeneration system of Yacoub so that it also includes the element of running the internal combustion engine with the electric machine, as taught by Bartolot, in order to improve filter regeneration when ideal conditions are met (Bartolot: ¶ 25).
Regarding claim 5, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 4, ...
However, Yacoub in view of Wendling fail to teach wherein the at least one electric machine is controlled to motor the internal combustion engine with a certain engine speed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bartolot teaches wherein the at least one electric machine is controlled to motor the internal combustion engine with a certain engine speed (Bartolot: “electric machine can be caused to drag the combustion engine (without injection) (i.e. the electric machine can be caused to provide a drag torque for the combustion engine). Consequently, the electric machine can be caused to provide the drive torque plus the drag torque. This can cause oxygen to be pumped into the exhaust system” ¶ 25, see also ¶ 24, 26, 27).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing and with a reasonable expectation for success, to have modified the regeneration system of Yacoub so that it also includes the element of driving the internal combustion engine with the electric machine at a constant speed, as taught by Bartolot, in order to improve filter regeneration when ideal conditions are met (Bartolot: ¶ 26, 27).
Regarding claim 11, Yacoub in view of Wendling teaches the method of claim 10, ...
However, Yacoub in view of Wendling fails to teach wherein the regeneration process is initiated with a cruise control of the motor vehicle activated.
In a similar field of endeavor, Bartolot teaches wherein the regeneration process is initiated with a cruise control of the motor vehicle activated (Bartolot: “The control unit may be configured to cause the electric machine to drive the internal combustion engine without injecting fuel. In particular, the control unit can be configured to determine that the required drive torque of the vehicle is so low that the drive torque of the vehicle can be provided by the electric machine alone (e.g. B. during constant travel, i.e. during travel at a constant speed)” ¶ 24).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing and with a reasonable expectation for success, to have modified the regeneration system of Yacoub so that it also includes the element of initiating regeneration with cruise control, as taught by Bartolot, in order to improve filter regeneration when ideal conditions are met (Bartolot: ¶ 26, 27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dudar (20190390620) is in the similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention of filter regeneration.
/C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/TYLER J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663