DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “430_PL” in paragraph [0099] of the Specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadoi (US-20220158279-A1, provided in IDS received on 13 February 2025).
As to claim 1, Kadoi discloses a rechargeable battery (Figure 1, battery 10, [0009]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Figure 1, electrode assembly 20);
a case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (Figure 1, battery case 41);
a subplate (Figure 4, internal terminal 42) comprising:
a first planar portion (Figure 4, base portion 42a) connected to the electrode assembly (Figure 4, current collector portion 42b); and
a protruding portion protruding on the first planar portion (figure 4, protruding portion 42c);
a cap plate coupled to an open first side of the case (Figure 4, lid 41b); and
a terminal plate on the cap plate (Figure 4, external terminal 43), and electrically connected to the subplate (Figure 4, flat surface 42c1, [0042]), the terminal plate comprising:
a recessed first portion comprising a bottom surface (Figure 4, protruding portion 43c); and
a second portion comprising a second planar portion connected to the recessed first portion (Figure 4, external terminal 43),
wherein the recessed first portion of the terminal plate is in contact with the protruding portion of the subplate (Figure 4, flat surface 42c1, [0042]).
As to claim 3, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the first planar portion and the protruding portion of the subplate have a same thickness as each other (Figure 4, internal terminal 42).
As to claim 4, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the recessed first portion that is in contact with the protruding portion protrudes from a bottom surface of the second portion toward the protruding portion (Figure 4, protruding portion 43c).
As to claim 5, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the rechargeable battery further comprises a sealing member coupled onto the cap plate (figure 4, electrically insulating resin 44), wherein the sealing member is located between the second portion of the terminal plate and the subplate (figure 4, electrically insulating resin 44).
As to claim 6, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 5, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the sealing member has a through-hole (figure 4, electrically insulating resin 44), and the recessed first portion of the terminal plate is located in the through-hole (figure 4, electrically insulating resin 44, protrusion portion 43c).
As to claim 7, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 6, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the recessed first portion of the terminal plate and the protruding portion of the subplate are in contact with each other in the through-hole of the sealing member (Figure 4, protruding portion 42c, protruding portion 43c).
As to claim 8, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the protruding portion of the subplate has a cylindrical shape (Figure 7, protruding portion 43c), and an interior of the protruding portion is hollow (Figure 7, protruding portion 43c).
As to claim 9, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, and Kadoi further discloses wherein an upper surface of the recessed first portion of the terminal plate is lower than an upper surface of the second portion of the terminal plate (Figure 4, protruding portion 43c).
As to claim 11, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the subplate comprises a forged product (Figure 4, internal terminal 42).
As to claim 12, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the terminal plate further comprises a welding area on an upper surface of the recessed first portion [0033].
As to claim 13, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the case comprises: a first long sidewall portion (figure 1, battery case 41, [0030]) and a second long sidewall portion opposite to and spaced from each other (figure 1, battery case 41, [0030]); and a first short sidewall portion (figure 1, battery case 41, [0030]) and a second short sidewall portion opposite to and spaced from each other (figure 1, battery case 41, [0030]), and wherein areas of the first short sidewall portion and the second short sidewall portion are smaller than areas of the first long sidewall portion and the second long sidewall portion, respectively (figure 1, battery case 41, [0030]).
As to claim 14, Kadoi discloses a rechargeable battery (Figure 1, battery 10, [0009]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Figure 1, electrode assembly 20);
a case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (Figure 1, battery case 41);
a subplate (Figure 4, internal terminal 42) comprising:
a first planar portion (Figure 4, base portion 42a) connected to the electrode assembly (Figure 4, current collector portion 42b); and
a first protruding portion protruding on the first planar portion (figure 4, protruding portion 42c);
a cap plate coupled to an open first side of the case (Figure 4, lid 41b); and
a terminal plate on the cap plate (Figure 4, external terminal 43), and electrically connected to the subplate (Figure 4, flat surface 42c1, [0042]), the terminal plate comprising:
a first portion comprising a second protruding portion protruding toward the first protruding portion (Figure 4, protruding portion 43c); and
a second portion comprising a second planar portion in contact with the first portion (Figure 4, external terminal 43),
wherein the first portion of the terminal plate is in contact with the first protruding portion of the subplate (Figure 4, flat surface 42c1, [0042]).
As to claim 15, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 14, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the first planar portion and the first protruding portion of the subplate have a same thickness as each other (figure 4, internal terminal 42).
As to claim 18, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 14, and Kadoi further discloses wherein the first portion comprises a third planar portion in contact with the second portion (Figure 4, protruding portion 43c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadoi (US-20220158279-A1, provided in IDS received on 13 February 2025) as applied to claim 1.
As to claim 2, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, however, Kadoi does not disclose wherein a thickness of the recessed first portion is greater than a thickness of the protruding portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rechargeable battery as disclosed within Kadoi to include that a thickness of the recessed first portion is greater than a thickness of the protruding portion, because, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose , 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Also see MPEP 2144.
7. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadoi (US-20220158279-A1, provided in IDS received on 13 February 2025) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim et al. (US-20110200870-A1).
As to claim 10, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 1, however, Kadoi does not disclose wherein the recessed first portion of the terminal plate exposes a portion of the protruding portion.
Kim discloses a rechargeable battery, wherein the recessed first portion of the terminal plate exposes a portion of the protruding portion (Figure 1B, terminal plate 64, [0035]) for welding the terminal connection member to the terminal.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rechargeable battery as disclosed within Kadoi to include that the recessed first portion of the terminal plate exposes a portion of the protruding portion for welding the portions together as disclosed within Kim.
8. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadoi (US-20220158279-A1, provided in IDS received on 13 February 2025) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Emrich (US-20220029226-A1, provided in IDS received on 30 April 2024).
As to claim 16, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 14, however, Kadoi does not disclose wherein the first portion and the second portion comprise different materials from each other.
Emrich discloses a cell covering for a terminal of a battery cell, wherein the first portion and the second portion comprise different materials from each other [0033]. It is appreciated that cladding materials is known in the art of batteries for the mechanical strength and conductivity generated by this process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rechargeable battery as disclosed within Kadoi to include that the first portion and the second portion comprise different materials from each other as disclosed within Emrich.
As to claim 17, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 14, however, Kadoi does not disclose wherein the first portion comprises copper, and the second portion comprises aluminum.
Emrich discloses a cell covering for a terminal of a battery cell, wherein the first portion comprises copper, and the second portion comprises aluminum [0033]. It is appreciated that cladding materials is known in the art of batteries for the mechanical strength and conductivity generated by this process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rechargeable battery as disclosed within Kadoi to include that the first portion comprises copper, and the second portion comprises aluminum as disclosed within Emrich.
9. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadoi (US-20220158279-A1, provided in IDS received on 13 February 2025) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Kim (US-20110200870-A1).
As to claim 19, Kadoi discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 4, however, Kadoi does not disclose wherein the second portion has a hole exposing the first portion.
Kim discloses a rechargeable battery, wherein the second portion has a hole exposing the first portion (Figure 1B, terminal plate 64, [0035]) for welding the terminal connection member to the terminal.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rechargeable battery as disclosed within Kadoi to include that the second portion has a hole exposing the first portion for welding the portions together as disclosed within Kim.
10. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadoi (US-20220158279-A1, provided in IDS received on 13 February 2025) in view of Zhao et al. (EP-3671887-A1).
As to claim 20, Kadoi discloses a rechargeable battery (Figure 1, battery 10, [0009]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Figure 1, electrode assembly 20);
a case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (Figure 1, battery case 41);
a first subplate (Figure 4, internal terminal 42) comprising:
a first planar portion (Figure 4, base portion 42a) connected to a first side of the electrode assembly (Figure 4, current collector portion 42b); and
a first protruding portion protruding on the first planar portion (figure 4, protruding portion 42c);
a first cap plate coupled to an open first side of the case (Figure 4, lid 41b); and
a first terminal plate on the first cap plate (Figure 4, external terminal 43), and electrically connected to the first subplate (Figure 4, flat surface 42c1, [0042]), the first terminal plate comprising:
a recessed first portion comprising a bottom surface (Figure 4, protruding portion 43c); and
a second portion comprising a third planar portion connected to the recessed first portion (Figure 4, external terminal 43);
a second subplate (Figure 4, internal terminal 42) comprising:
a second planar portion (Figure 4, base portion 42a) connected to a second side of the electrode assembly (Figure 4, current collector portion 42b); and
a second protruding portion protruding on the second planar portion (figure 4, protruding portion 42c);
a second terminal plate (Figure 4, external terminal 43), and electrically connected to the second subplate (Figure 4, flat surface 42c1, [0042]), the second terminal plate comprising:
a third portion comprising a third protruding portion protruding toward the second protruding portion (Figure 4, protruding portion 43c); and
a fourth portion comprising a fourth planar portion in contact with the third portion (Figure 4, external terminal 43);
wherein the recessed first portion of the first terminal plate is in contact with the first protruding portion of the first subplate (Figure 4, flat surface 42c1, [0042]); and
wherein the third portion of the second terminal plate is in contact with the second protruding portion of the second subplate (Figure 4, flat surface 42c1, [0042]).
However, Kadoi does not disclose the case having an open first side and an open second side opposite to each other, or a second cap plate coupled to the open second side of the case with the second terminal plate being on the second cap plate.
Zhao discloses a cap assembly for a secondary battery, wherein a case for the secondary battery has an open first side and an open second side opposite to each other (figure 2, [0026]) and a second cap plate coupled to the open second side of the case (figure 2, cap assembly 30) with the second terminal plate being on the second cap plate (figure 2 and figure 3, electrode terminal 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rechargeable battery as disclosed within Kadoi to include that the case has an open first side and an open second side opposite to each other and that the case has a second cap plate coupled to the open second side with the second terminal plate being on the second cap plate, because, it has been held that the configuration or shape of a claimed device is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727