Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 13 the claim recites “a system for digitizing a planner of claim 1, the system comprising:” This is extremely confusion because the claim depends from claim 1 which is a method claim but claim 13 is a system claim. The claim makes it very unclear how the steps of the method of claim are incorporated into the system or even if all of the steps of the method are required. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is assuming the language of claim 1 is required by the system however the claim is very unclear as to what is included in the claim.
Claims 14-22 depend from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POVISH WO2022174028A1 in view of Holmsten US 20240304014 A1 and Gunaratna US 20220147843
Re claim 1 POVISH WO2022174028A1 discloses
A method for digitizing a planner (see paragraph 37), the method comprising:
capturing an image of a sheet of material in a planner via an image capturing device of an electronic device (see paragraph 48 note that images are captured of a planner),
the sheet of material containing markings thereupon and computer readable indicators (see paragraph 31 “In some forms, the fiducial marks for detecting the boundary of the sheet of material may additionally include encoded data for identifying information associated with the sheet. For example, the fiducial marks may be formed as a machine-readable data matrix such as a quick response (QR) code or an AprilTag having encoded data indicative of, e.g., product information associated with the sheet of material. So configured, the fiducial marks may serve a dual-purpose by both facilitating identification of the sheet boundary for scanning purposes and identifying information about the sheet that may assist in the scanning process and, in some forms, may be provided to a user” note that the sheet may have fiducial markers with computer readable data);
communicating, via communication circuitry, the captured image of the sheet of material in the planner to a server computer ( see paragraph 49 “Alternatively, the processor 114 may cause the communication circuitry 128 to communicate the image to the remote server computer 132 via the network 140 and the processor 134 of the remote server computer 132 may be configured to perform some or all of the corrections and enhancements of the image described above” note that the image may be communicated to a server to perform various functions);
performing OCR (see paragraph 55)
communicating with the server computer via communication circuitry of the electronic device (see paragraph 47 note that information may be communicated from the server via the communication interface)
applying, via a processor of the electronic device, a ruleset to the scanned text (see paragraph 53-55 and 57 note data from marked indicators is used to processes the text; how the system processes the data in light of the marked indicators could be considered a rule set) to convert the scanned text including to formatted information (see paragraph 53 and 54 and 57 note that the data may be converted into various formats such as lists reminders or other organizational tool note that rules are used such as text marked by fallible indicators is used see also paragraphs 114-116);
extracting and importing, via the processor, the formatted information into an application on the electronic device (see paragraph 48 104 and 114-117 note that the application is used for extracting and the information and saving for example a reminder or other note listing etc.);
Povish does not expressly disclose
server computer with an optical character recognition software
receiving, scanned text including a data matrix of the captured image;
presenting the formatted information onto a display of the electronic device.
HOLMSTEN discloses server computer with an optical character recognition software (see paragraph 49 “image manager 114, reader 116, OCR engine 117, ML engine 118) may be implemented on one or more servers” and paragraph 63 “For example, OCR Engine 117 may be an Amazon Rekognition OCR service (or similar services) that returns a JSON serialized formatted object containing bounding rectangles, relative x,y positions, height, width and confidence score of both lines and texts and individual words”) receiving, from the server computer ( see paragraph 63 “For example, OCR Engine 117 may be an Amazon Rekognition OCR service (or similar services) that returns a JSON serialized formatted object containing bounding rectangles, relative x,y positions, height, width and confidence score of both lines and texts and individual words” see paragraph 49 note that the results are received via the server), scanned text including a data matrix of the captured image analyzed using optical character recognition to determine a first array of data. ( see 63 paragraph “For example, reader 116 may pass the preprocessed candidate image to OCR Engine 117. OCR Engine 117 may execute an OCR algorithm to determine a first array of data” note that an array is a matrix of data, see for example paragraph 165 of applicant’s specification which clearly states the matrix may be an array); The motivation to combine is “In this way, the resulting word values obtained by OCR engine 117 for recognized characters are sorted by size and relative position and returned in a first array”. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily used the server to perform OCR on the image to generate an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Holmsten and Povish to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Povish and HOLMSTEN do not expressly disclose presenting the formatted information onto a display of the electronic device. Gunaratna discloses presenting the formatted information onto a display of the electronic device. (see paragraph 28 note that extracted text entities are presented to the user in an organized [formatted] view see figure 1 see paragraph 43 “Device 100 may present entities 104 to the user via a display through an interface asking the user whether to take further action using entities 104.”). The motivation to combine is “extracted text entities are presented to the user in an organized [formatted] view” see paragraph 28 see also figure 1). One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily presented the extracted planner text of Povish to the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Povish and Holmsten with Gunaratna to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 2 Holmsten discloses OCR data including the data matrix (see 63 paragraph “For example, reader 116 may pass the preprocessed candidate image to OCR Engine 117. OCR Engine 117 may execute an OCR algorithm to determine a first array of data.”
Gunaratna discloses extracting information from the scanned text further comprises applying the ruleset to the scanned text to extract at least one of a plurality of categories of information (see paragraph 4 and 5 text blocks are classified see also paragraph 41 “Rule-based processor 216 is capable of applying one or more domain-specific rules to entity recognition results generated by local neighborhood processing 214 to improve entity class prediction accuracy. Rule-based processor 216 incorporates learned domain-specific knowledge (e.g., domain-specific rule inferencing) into the entity extraction process. As noted, in one aspect, each block prediction pipeline 218 may output the block operated on along with the entity class for the block having the highest probability” note that the classification is based on rules). The motivation to combine is “extracted text entities are presented to the user in an organized [formatted] view” see paragraph 28 see also figure 1). One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily presented the extracted planner text of Povish to the user according to the classified entity as in figure 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Povish and Holmsten with Gunaratna to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 3 Povish further discloses wherein the ruleset includes creating a calendar event (see paragraph 113-116 “Further, subsequent scans of the calendar may update the digitized calendar if changes are made to the information in the subsection corresponding to a certain day” see also figure 22 note that calendar can contain events such as a birthday and soccer practice see also paragraph 29 and 30).
Re claim 4 Povish discloses wherein the ruleset includes creating a task provided on a specified day (see paragraph 36 and 113-116 “Further, subsequent scans of the calendar may update the digitized calendar if changes are made to the information in the subsection corresponding to a certain day” see also figure 22 note that calendar can contain task such as haircut and soccer practice see also paragraph 29 and 30).
Re claim 5 Povish discloses wherein the ruleset includes creating a meeting ( see paragraph 36 and 113-116 “Further, subsequent scans of the calendar may update the digitized calendar if changes are made to the information in the subsection corresponding to a certain day” see also figure 22 note digitized calendar may store meeting information such as soccer practice see also paragraph 29 and 30).
Re claim 6 Povish discloses wherein the ruleset includes creating a reminder (see paragraph 30 “In another example, the marking and extraction functionally allows a user to create a digital calendar notice or reminder from a physical calendar”).
Re claim 7 Povish discloses wherein the computer readable indicators are a fiducial mark, a QR code, or an AprilTag to be captured in the image by the image capturing device. (see paragraph 31 “In some forms, the fiducial marks for detecting the boundary of the sheet of material may additionally include encoded data for identifying information associated with the sheet. For example, the fiducial marks may be formed as a machine-readable data matrix such as a quick response (QR) code or an AprilTag having encoded data indicative of, e.g., product information associated with the sheet of material. So configured, the fiducial marks may serve a dual-purpose by both facilitating identification of the sheet boundary for scanning purposes and identifying information about the sheet that may assist in the scanning process and, in some forms, may be provided to a user” note that the sheet may have fiducial markers with computer readable data).
Re claim 13 Povish further discloses the sheet of material containing markings thereupon and the computer readable indicators, a left side page and a right side page (see for example figure 22 note that the sheet may be a planner including two pages and fiducial marks 2206 see paragraph 112); a date entry area corresponding to each day of the week or month (see figure 22 not that there is box for each day of the month); the electronic device including the image capturing device, the processor, and the communication circuitry; (see paragraph 39” The device 104 is illustrated in the form of a conventional mobile communication device such as a smartphone having a processor 114 and an optical sensor 116 (e.g., a camera) (see FIG. 2) for scanning and extracting information from the sheet of material 102 as described herein. In other forms, the device 104 may be a tablet, portable computer, or scanner similarly configured to scan a sheet of material.” Note the device includes a camera [capture device] a processor is a communication device) and the application on the electronic device (see paragraph 41 “a mobile application installed on the device 104” note that the mobile application is on the device.)
Re claim 14 Povish discloses wherein a user adds markings to the left side page, the right side page, or both (see paragraph 36 see figure 22 and paragraph 113 “in some embodiments, each day on the calendar is a pre-designated subsection for purposes of scanning and extracting data. W hen the optical sensor scans the page, if a day, or subsection, includes a marking, the markings or information within the subsection is digitized, and extracted” note that markings may be made on either page)
Re claim 15 Povish discloses wherein a user captures an image of the planner including the markings using the electronic device. (See paragraph 36 “Upon scanning the sheet, a device may determine which day includes markings, and within the days including markings, if any function indicators have been marked. The function indicators may be selected on the application and are not required for scanning of the days. This may allow a user to functionally digitize a physical calendar and may further allow for reminders among other functions to be created.” See also paragraph 48 note that images are captured by the user.)
Re claim 16 Povish further discloses wherein the electronic device, via the processor and the communication circuitry or the application, communicates the image to a server computer (see paragraph 47 note that information may be communicated with the server via the communication interface) and performing OCR (see paragraph 55) and the document is a planner (see paragraph 57)
HOLMSTEN further discloses server computer with an optical character recognition software to recognize the markings of the document (see paragraph 49 “image manager 114, reader 116, OCR engine 117, ML engine 118) may be implemented on one or more servers” and paragraph 63 “For example, OCR Engine 117 may be an Amazon Rekognition OCR service (or similar services) that returns a JSON serialized formatted object containing bounding rectangles, relative x,y positions, height, width and confidence score of both lines and texts and individual words”) receiving, from the server computer ( see paragraph 63 “For example, OCR Engine 117 may be an Amazon Rekognition OCR service (or similar services) that returns a JSON serialized formatted object containing bounding rectangles, relative x,y positions, height, width and confidence score of both lines and texts and individual words” see paragraph 49 note that the results are received via the server), The motivation to combine is “In this way, the resulting word values obtained by OCR engine 117 for recognized characters are sorted by size and relative position and returned in a first array”. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily used the server to perform OCR on the image to generate an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Holmsten Gunaratna and Povish to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 17 Povish further discloses wherein the electronic device, via the processor and the communication circuitry or the application, communicates the image to a server computer (see paragraph 47 note that information may be communicated with the server via the communication interface) and performing OCR (see paragraph 55) and the document is a planner (see paragraph 57). HOLMSTEN further discloses receives the recognized markings in the form of a data matrix. (see 63 paragraph “For example, reader 116 may pass the preprocessed candidate image to OCR Engine 117. OCR Engine 117 may execute an OCR algorithm to determine a first array of data” note that an array is a matrix of data, see for example paragraph 165 of applicant’s specification which clearly states the matrix may be an array). The motivation to combine is “In this way, the resulting word values obtained by OCR engine 117 for recognized characters are sorted by size and relative position and returned in a first array”. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily used the server to perform OCR on the image to generate an array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Holmsten Gunaratna and Povish to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 18 Povish disclose wherein the electronic device, via the processor and the communication circuitry or the application, apply a ruleset to the OCR data (see paragraph 53-55 and 57 note data from marked indicators is used to processes the text; how the system processes the data in light of the marked indicators could be considered a rule set) to extract formatted information (see paragraph 53 and 54 and 57 note that the data may be converted into various formats such as lists reminders or other organizational tool note that rules are used such as text marked by fallible indicators is used see also paragraphs 114-116). Holmsten further discloses receives the recognized markings in the form of a data matrix. (See 63 paragraph “For example, reader 116 may pass the preprocessed candidate image to OCR Engine 117. OCR Engine 117 may execute an OCR algorithm to determine a first array of data” note that an array is a matrix of data, see for example paragraph 165 of applicant’s specification which clearly states the matrix may be an array).
Re claim 19 Gunaratna further discloses Gunaratna discloses presenting the formatted information onto a display of the electronic device. (see paragraph 28 note that extracted text entities are presented to the user in an organized [formatted] view see figure 1 see paragraph 43 “Device 100 may present entities 104 to the user via a display through an interface asking the user whether to take further action using entities 104.”). presenting the formatted information onto a display of the electronic device. (see paragraph 28 note that extracted text entities are presented to the user in an organized [formatted] view see figure 1 see paragraph 43 “Device 100 may present entities 104 to the user via a display through an interface asking the user whether to take further action using entities 104.”).
Claim(s) 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POVISH WO2022174028A1, Holmsten US 20240304014 A1 and Gunaratna US 20220147843 in further view of ERICSSON WO 00/73887 A1
Re claim 8 Povish further discloses wherein the computer readable indicators comprise printed fiducial marks (see paragraph112 and see paragraph 31 “In some forms, the fiducial marks for detecting the boundary of the sheet of material may additionally include encoded data for identifying information associated with the sheet. For example, the fiducial marks may be formed as a machine-readable data matrix such as a quick response (QR) code or an AprilTag having encoded data indicative of, e.g., product information associated with the sheet of material. So configured, the fiducial marks may serve a dual-purpose by both facilitating identification of the sheet boundary for scanning purposes and identifying information about the sheet that may assist in the scanning process and, in some forms, may be provided to a user” note that the sheet may have fiducial markers with computer readable data). Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna does not expressly disclose marks that include information regarding a specified week of the year. Ericsson discloses marks that include information regarding a specified week of the year ( “The calendar areas can be of various shapes, such as boxes or rows of various sizes and can identify different time periods such as months, weeks, days or a specific time on a certain day” and “For this purpose, the code may enable the determination of the time period to which the entry relates and/or the digitization of the entry” note that the code may include the time period which the entry relates note that the time period may be a week). The motivation to combine is to “determination of the time period to which the entry relates”. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily modified fiducial markers of Povish to include a week of the year. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna with Ericsson to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 21 Povish further discloses wherein the computer readable indicators comprise printed fiducial marks (see paragraph112 and see paragraph 31 “In some forms, the fiducial marks for detecting the boundary of the sheet of material may additionally include encoded data for identifying information associated with the sheet. For example, the fiducial marks may be formed as a machine-readable data matrix such as a quick response (QR) code or an AprilTag having encoded data indicative of, e.g., product information associated with the sheet of material. So configured, the fiducial marks may serve a dual-purpose by both facilitating identification of the sheet boundary for scanning purposes and identifying information about the sheet that may assist in the scanning process and, in some forms, may be provided to a user” note that the sheet may have fiducial markers with computer readable data). Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna does not expressly disclose marks that include information regarding a specified week of the year. Ericsson discloses marks that include information regarding a specified week of the year ( “The calendar areas can be of various shapes, such as boxes or rows of various sizes and can identify different time periods such as months, weeks, days or a specific time on a certain day” and “For this purpose, the code may enable the determination of the time period to which the entry relates and/or the digitization of the entry” note that the code may include the time period which the entry relates note that the time period may be a week). The motivation to combine is to “determination of the time period to which the entry relates”. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily modified fiducial markers of Povish to include a week of the year. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna with Ericsson to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Claim(s) 9 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POVISH WO2022174028A1, Holmsten US 20240304014 A1 and Gunaratna US 20220147843 in further view of Ito US 20150071544 A1
Re claim 9 Povish discloses wherein the computer readable indicators see paragraph 64 “such as a quick response (QR) code or AprilTag printed on the sheet 502 including encoded data that may he used to provide information to the user or assist in the scanning of the sheet” and see paragraph 65 “ fiducial marks 506 may additionally or alternatively include an ordinal reference indicative of an orientation of the sheet” on a two side planner (see figure 22 and paragraph 57) which is captured in the image by the image capturing device (se paragraph 48 “The user interface 122 of the device 104 may display an instruction or prompt 141 for the user to align the optical sensor 116 with the page (e.g., "Looking for Corner Marks") such that the fiducial marks 106 in the corners thereof are readily detectable by the device 104. Once the optical sensor 116 has been properly aligned, the device 104 automatically captures an image of the sheet 102. Alternatively, a user may be prompted to manually interact with a button via the user interface 122 to capture the image.”)
Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna do not disclose wherein the computer readable indicators include information regarding a side of the two page document. Ito discloses wherein the computer readable indicators include information regarding a side of the form “The printed pattern data include the coordinate data that indicate the positions in the upper left portion (the upper left portion of the left page of the form 121), the lower left portion (the lower left portion of the left page of the form 121), the upper right portion (the upper right portion of the right page of the form 121), and the lower right portion (the lower right portion of the right page of the form 121) of the two-page form 121” note that computer readable indicators indicate the upper and lower portion of each side each of the left and right page. The examiner notes that Povish already contains fiducial markers see paragraph 64 “such as a quick response (QR) code or AprilTag printed on the sheet 502 including encoded data that may he used to provide information to the user or assist in the scanning of the sheet” and see paragraph 65 “fiducial marks 506 may additionally or alternatively include an ordinal reference indicative of an orientation of the sheet”. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily included the left and right indicators of Ito in the fiducial markers of Povish to yield the predictable results of the fiducial marker simply containing the additional data. Each of the elements retains the same function together as they do separately which is simply to orientate the document. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna with Ito.
Re claim 22 Povish discloses wherein the computer readable indicators (see paragraph 64 “such as a quick response (QR) code or AprilTag printed on the sheet 502 including encoded data that may he used to provide information to the user or assist in the scanning of the sheet” and see paragraph 65 “ fiducial marks 506 may additionally or alternatively include an ordinal reference indicative of an orientation of the sheet”) on a two side planner (see figure 22 and paragraph 57 note that the planner has two sides) which is captured in the image by the image capturing device (se paragraph 48 “The user interface 122 of the device 104 may display an instruction or prompt 141 for the user to align the optical sensor 116 with the page (e.g., "Looking for Corner Marks") such that the fiducial marks 106 in the corners thereof are readily detectable by the device 104. Once the optical sensor 116 has been properly aligned, the device 104 automatically captures an image of the sheet 102. Alternatively, a user may be prompted to manually interact with a button via the user interface 122 to capture the image.”)
Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna do not disclose wherein the computer readable indicators include information regarding the left side page and the right side page. Ito discloses wherein the computer readable indicators include information regarding the left side page and the right side page of the “The printed pattern data include the coordinate data that indicate the positions in the upper left portion (the upper left portion of the left page of the form 121), the lower left portion (the lower left portion of the left page of the form 121), the upper right portion (the upper right portion of the right page of the form 121), and the lower right portion (the lower right portion of the right page of the form 121) of the two-page form 121” note that computer readable indicators indicate the upper and lower portion of each side each of the left and right page. The examiner notes that Povish already contains fiducial markers see paragraph 64 “such as a quick response (QR) code or AprilTag printed on the sheet 502 including encoded data that may he used to provide information to the user or assist in the scanning of the sheet” and see paragraph 65 “fiducial marks 506 may additionally or alternatively include an ordinal reference indicative of an orientation of the sheet”. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily included the left and right indicators of Ito in the fiducial markers of Povish to yield the predictable results of the fiducial marker simply containing the additional data. Each of the elements retains the same function together as they do separately which is simply to orientate the document. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna with Ito.
Claim(s) 10 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POVISH WO2022174028A1, Holmsten US 20240304014 A1 and Gunaratna US 20220147843 in further view of Antony US 20180285321 A1
Re claim 10 Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna discloses all the elements of claim 1. They do not expressly disclose further comprising the step of exporting the formatted information to a third-party calendar app via the communication circuitry. Antony discloses the step of exporting the formatted information to a third-party calendar app via the communication circuitry see paragraph 101 “communicates with a third-party calendar application to create a calendar event within a pre-existing digital calendar associated with the user (e.g., user 114a). Additionally, the digital content management system 104 communicates with a third-party calendar application to transmit a corresponding command tag that indicates a name (e.g., title) of the respective calendar event to add to the user's digital calendar”. The motivation is to combine is to create a calendar event within a pre-existing digital calendar associated with the user (See paragraph 101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Antony with Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 11 Gunaratna discloses presenting the formatted information onto the display (see paragraph 28 note that extracted text entities are presented to the user in an organized [formatted] view see figure 1 see paragraph 43 “Device 100 may present entities 104 to the user via a display through an interface asking the user whether to take further action using entities 104.” Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna do not expressly disclose comprising editing the presented information. Antony discloses comprising editing the presented information (see paragraphs 80 and 81 “For example, a digital text portion created by way of OCR techniques includes individual characters that are searchable and edible by way of a text editing application”). The motivation to combine is “In particular, the digital content management system 104 adds, removes, or changes content within a digital document in response to receiving digital input from a user (e.g., user 114a) by way of, for example, a user interface”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Antony with Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 20 Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna discloses all the elements of claim 1. They do not expressly disclose wherein the electronic device, via the processor and the communication circuitry or the application, export the formatted information to a third-party calendar application. Antony discloses wherein the electronic device, via the processor and the communication circuitry or the application, export the formatted information to a third-party calendar application see paragraph 101 “communicates with a third-party calendar application to create a calendar event within a pre-existing digital calendar associated with the user (e.g., user 114a). Additionally, the digital content management system 104 communicates with a third-party calendar application to transmit a corresponding command tag that indicates a name (e.g., title) of the respective calendar event to add to the user's digital calendar”. The motivation is to combine is to create a calendar event within a pre-existing digital calendar associated with the user (See paragraph 101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Antony with Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POVISH WO2022174028A1, Holmsten US 20240304014 A1 and Gunaratna US 20220147843 in further view of Alberth Jr. US 20110131514 A
Re claim 12 Gunaratna discloses presenting the formatted information onto the display see paragraph 28 note that extracted text entities are presented to the user in an organized [formatted] view see figure 1 see paragraph 43 “Device 100 may present entities 104 to the user via a display through an interface asking the user whether to take further action using entities 104.” Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna do not expressly disclose color coding the formatted information. Alberth discloses color coding the formatted information (see paragraph 64 note that elements of different priorities are assigned different colors). The motivation to combine is to “indicate a priority” (see paragraph 64). One of ordinary skill in the art could easily have color coded the presented data of Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna using the teachings of Albrerth. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Albrerth with Povish Holmsten and Gunaratna to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Cited Art
The following is a listing of art considered relevant by the examiner but not cited above in a rejection:
Scholler US 20200387276 A1 discloses Various implementations for virtualization of physical activity scene include a method that includes capturing a video stream that includes an interactive sheet including an interactive area, identifying the interactive sheet, determining a virtual page based on the identity of the interactive sheet, displaying a graphical user interface embodying a virtual template, detecting an interaction on the interaction area of the interactive sheet, generating a virtual annotation based on the interaction in the interaction area, and updating the graphical user interface to include the virtual annotation.
GRIFFIN US 20110205370 A1 discloses “
The method can further comprise determining a parsing operation associated with the reference; extracting the at least one portion of the normalized image according to the parsing operation; and storing the at least one extracted portion as image data associated with the data record. The parsing operation can be encoded within the reference and the determining the parsing operation can be effected by decoding the reference. The image can be an image of a calendar spanning a time period and the reference can identify the calendar and the time period. The reference can identify a plurality of sub-time periods within the time period. The at least one extracted portion comprises a plurality of portions that each correspond with each of the sub-time periods. The executable application can be a calendar application and each of the sub-time periods can correspond to sub-time period records within the calendar application. The time period can be one month and the sub-time periods can be days of the month. The days of the month on the calendar can be bounded by lines and the reference includes the lines. The at least one extracted portion can comprise one of the days.” (see paragraph 53)
Conclusion
/SEAN T MOTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673