DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 were filed 04/30/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 12,196,194 (“Chang”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0058305 (“Batterson”).
With regard to claim 1, Chang discloses an air inflation device (see abstract) comprising: a body (10+11) having an interior space (space within 10 and 11) formed in the body (10+11); and two outlets (45, 46) formed on the body at a spaced interval (see Fig. 2); and a pumping part (18) being elastic and pressable (col. 2, lines 42-43) to compress air in the interior space to flow toward the two outlets (45, 46); a switching valve (30/40) disposed to the body (10+11), and the switching valve being operable to communicate with the interior space (space inside 10 +11) and a respective one of the two outlets (45, 46, see Figs 9-11); and a deflation valve (70) disposed to the body (10+11) and being operable to allow the interior space and an exterior space of the body to communicate with each other (col. 4, lines 36-49).
Chang discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the switching valve is made of two switching valves.
Chang does disclose that the switching valve (30+40) is a distributor valve that allows switching between the different outlets (45, 46).
Batterson teaches that it is known in the art to modify an air inflation device for an orthopedic boot, similar to that of Chang to include a control assembly for distributing air through a valve(s) by including a plurality of switching valves (804a-d) for switching between the different outlets (outlets 806a-d) (para [0086]: “Each of the plungers 804a-d controls fluid flow through a single outlet”) for the purpose of allowing a user to switching on or off any combination of outlets (see para [0086]: “thus the user is able to control flow from input 802 to four different outputs and is able to select any combination of those outputs to inflate or deflate”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a plurality of switching valves, such as taught by Batterson, in place of the singular switching distribution valve of Chang for the purpose of allowing a user to switching on or off any combination of outlets (see para [0086]: “thus the user is able to control flow from input 802 to four different outputs and is able to select any combination of those outputs to inflate or deflate”). The combination would make the rotating switching valve 30/40 of Chang be divided into two valves (Batterson is relied upon for making one valve arrangement into plural) to arrange control to outlets 45 and 46.
With regard to claim 2, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses that the interior space (space within 10+11) has an inflation section (section in 18) formed in the pumping part (18); an outlet section (43); and a channel (13) extending from the inflation section (section in 18) to the outlet section (43) (see Fig 9) and configured for air to flow from the inflation section (section in 18) to the outlet section (43); and each one of the two switching valves (valve 30/40 in Chang modified by valves 804a-d in Batterson) is operable to communicate with the outlet section (43) of the interior space and the corresponding outlet (45, 46).
With regard to claim 3, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses that the body (10+11) has a deflation hole (71, see Fig 7) formed thereon and communicating with the interior space (space within 10+11) and the exterior space of the body (outside); and the deflation valve (70) has a plug (73) disposed to the deflation hole (71) and being movable to obstruct the deflation hole (71) or form a gap between the plug (73) and a peripheral surface surrounding the deflation hole (71) (col. 4, lines 45-49, Fig. 7).
With regard to claim 4, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses that the body (10+11) has a deflation hole (71, Fig. 7) formed thereon and communicating with the outlet section (43) of the interior space (space within 10+11) and the exterior space of the body (10+11); and the deflation valve (70) has a plug (73) disposed to the deflation hole (71) and being movable to obstruct the deflation hole (71) or form a gap between the plug (73) and a peripheral surface surrounding the deflation hole (71) (col. 4, lines 45-49, see also Fig. 7).
With regard to claim 5, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses that the deflation valve (70) has a spring (74) disposed between (74 is between a portion of 73 at the portion of 73 adjacent 72 and a portion of body 10/11 adjacent 75 as shown in Fig. 7) the plug (73) and the body (10+11) and configured to provide an elastic force to keep the plug (73) obstructing the deflation hole (71) (col. 4, lines 41-45).
With regard to claim 6, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses that the deflation valve (70) has a spring (74) disposed between (74 is between a portion of 73 at the portion of 73 adjacent 72 and a portion of body 10/11 adjacent 75 as shown in Fig. 7) the plug (73) and the body (10+11) and configured to provide an elastic force to keep the plug (73) obstructing the deflation hole (71) (col. 4, lines 41-45).
With regard to claim 7, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses that the body (10+11) has a first casing (10) having a flange (flange shown in Fig. 7, see also annotated Figs), the pumping part (18), and a valve mount (20) (see Figs 4 and 7); and a second casing (11) connected to the flange (shown in Fig. 7); the pumping part (18) and the valve mount (20) protrude from the flange (see Fig. 7 and annotated Fig 7); the inflation section (section at 18) of the interior space is enclosed by the pumping part (18) and the second casing (11) (see Fig. 7); and the outlet section (43) of the interior space is enclosed by the valve mount (20) and the second casing (11) (enclosed by because 11 and 20 are on either side of 43 see Fig. 7).
With regard to claim 10, Chang (as modified above by Batterson) discloses that the air inflation device has a check valve (60) disposed on the body (10+11) and configured for air to flow therethrough and into the interior space (col. 2, lines 42-47).
With regard to claim 11, Chang (as modified above by Batterson) discloses that each one of the two switching valves (valve 30/40 of Chang is divided and made plural as taught by Batterson) is rotatably (“pivotable by operating the lever 34” col. 3, lines 64-65) disposed on the body (10+11) and has a passageway (33) configured to be aligned with the corresponding outlet (45 or 46) to connect the interior space and the corresponding outlet (45 or 46) by rotating said switching valve (see Figs 9-11 for rotation).
With regard to claim 12, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses that each one of the two switching valves (valve 30/40 of Chang is divided and made plural as taught by Batterson) is rotatably (“pivotable by operating the lever 34” col. 3, lines 64-65) disposed on the body (10/11), extends into the outlet section (43) of the interior space, and has a passageway (33) configured to be aligned with the corresponding outlet (45 or 46) to connect the outlet section (43) and the corresponding outlet by rotating said switching valve (see rotation in Figs. 9-11).
With regard to claim 13, Chang (as modified above by Batterson) discloses that each one of the two switching valves (valve 30/40 of Chang is divided and made plural as taught by Batterson) is rotatably (“pivotable by operating the lever 34” col. 3, lines 64-65) mounted through the valve mount (20) of the body (10/11), extends into the outlet section (43) of the interior space, and has a passageway (33) configured to be aligned with the corresponding outlet (45 or 46) to connect the outlet section (43) and the corresponding outlet (45 or 46) by rotating said switching valve (rotation shown in Figs 9-11).
With regard to claim 14, Chang (as modified above by Batterson) discloses that each one of the two switching valves (valve 30/40 of Chang is divided and made plural as taught by Batterson) has a trigger (34) formed on an end of said switching valve (30/40) protruding from the body (10/11).
With regard to claim 15, Chang (as modified above by Batterson) discloses that each one of the two (valve 30/40 of Chang is divided and made plural as taught by Batterson) switching valves (each valve is 30/40) has a trigger (34) formed on an end of said switching valve (30/40) protruding from the body (10/11).
With regard to claim 16, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses that each one of the two switching valves (valve 30/40 of Chang is divided and made plural as taught by Batterson) has a trigger (34) formed on an end of said switching valve (30/40) protruding from the body (10/11).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 12,196,194 (“Chang”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0058305 (“Batterson”) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,839,549 (“Walborn”).
With regard to claim 8, Chang (as modified by Batterson above) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a frame having two openings configured for the pumping part and the valve mount to be mounted therethrough to position the body.
Walborn teaches that it is known in the art to modify an air inflation device (908) for an orthopedic shoe (900), similar to that of Chang and Batterson, to include a frame (1012/1014) having two openings (one opening is at 1022A, other opening to the right in Fig. 32, see also annotated Fig. 32) configured for the pumping part and the valve mount to be mounted therethrough to position the body (see Fig. 32 and col. 32, lines 28-39).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a frame with two openings configured for the pumping part and valve mount, such as taught by Walborn, in the device of Chang/Batterson for the purpose of protecting the air inflation device such as shown by Walborn (“protective part 1012 for protecting the pump assembly 908 from damage or inadvertent operation.” Col. 32, lines 4-6 of Walborn).
With regard to claim 9, (which depends from claim 8) the combination discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a covering pivotally connected to the frame and configured to cover the pumping part and the two switching valves as the covering pivots.
Walborn teaches that it is known in the art to provide a covering (914) pivotally connected (systems disclosed by Walborn for connecting the covering 914 includes features that enable a pivoting movement, such as the pulling and pivoting away from a hook and loop system, pivoting at a clip, col. 31, lines 11-15) to the frame (1012/1014) to cover the pumping part and the two switching valves (914 shows two indentations matching the pumping part – rectangular shape, and domed shape for valve) for the purpose of protecting the inflation device (Col. 32, lines 4-15 and lines 28-39).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a covering, such as taught by Walborn, to the system of Chang/Batterson for the purpose of protecting the air inflation device such as shown by Walborn (“protective part 1012 for protecting the pump assembly 908 from damage or inadvertent operation.” Col. 32, lines 4-6 of Walborn).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious “wherein the air inflation device has a saddle disposed on the body and having two limiting protrusions; each one of the two switching valves is rotatably mounted through the saddle and to the body; and the trigger of each one of the two switching valves is configured to abut against a respective one of the two limiting protrusions of the saddle so as to restrict a range of rotation of the trigger” (claim 17 and similar to claims 18 and 19) in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims.
Chang and Batterson both fail to teach or suggest each and every claimed recitation as set forth above. It would not have been obvious to modify Chang and/or Batterson to arrive at the claimed subject matter without improper hindsight reasoning or without improperly changing the principle of operation of either reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 5,846,063 (“Lakic”) discloses an air inflation device with a pumping part.
U.S. Pat. No. 10,900,479 (“Hsu”) discloses an air inflation device with a pumping part and a deflation valve.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753