DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (USPN 2017/0309203 A1), in view of Kim et al. (USPN 2017/0352291 A1), further in view of Mao et al. (USPN 2012/0061118 A1).
As to claim 1, Kim (‘203) teaches an information output apparatus comprising:
a casing comprising an expression surface and a plurality of expression holes provided in the expression surface (see at least fig. 10: cover A620 and groove A622);
a plurality of protrusions having the same number as that of the plurality of expression holes, the plurality of protrusions configured to reciprocate so that at least a portion of each of the plurality of protrusions protrudes from a corresponding expression hole of the plurality of expression holes to provide tactile expression over the expression surface (see at least figs. 3-4: braille input pin 120 protrudes into the through hole; and fig. 10 and [0128] “a braille groove A622 is formed on the cover A620 so that the braille projection A200 can protrude therefrom”);
a plurality of driving modules having the same number as that of the plurality of protrusions, the plurality of driving modules located inside the casing, each driving module being connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of protrusions; and comprising an actuator configured to vertically move the corresponding one of the plurality of protrusions (see at least figs. 3-4: braille actuator 260; fig. 10: driver circuit A630 and [0083] “The braille actuator 260 may be implemented by various types of actuators capable of projecting protrusions for indicating braille”).
Kim (‘203) does not directly teach a skin module comprising a film located over the expression surface; and a removable cover plate disposed along a circumference of the skin module to cover at least a portion of the circumference of the skin module, wherein the removable cover plate comprises: a body comprising an inner circumferential surface facing an inner region of the skin module and an outer circumferential surface opposing the inner circumferential surface, and at least one recess integrally formed in the body and recessed inwardly from the outer circumferential surface of the body toward the inner circumferential surface of the body, the at least one recess configured to facilitate a removal of the cover plate from the casing.
Kim (‘291) teaches a skin module comprising a film located over the expression surface (see at least figs. 4-7: top cover 1300 (skin module) with pin hood 1340 (film) and [0070] “A pin hood 1340 may be provided for the opening 1320 of the top cover 1300. For example, the pin hood 1340 may be attached to the top cover 1300 to cover the fringe of the opening 1320. Accordingly, the pin hood 1340 covers the opening 1320 so that foreign substances can be prevented from entering the base 1100.”; [0098] “When the pin 1200 moves up as described above, the protrusion 1240 extending from the upper surface of the body 1220 of the pin 1200 passes through the opening 1320 and protrudes upward from the base 1100, thereby representing a raised dot in braille. When the pin 1200 moves up, the pin hood 1340 having elasticity may be elastically deformed by the pin 1200.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the skin module of Kim (‘291) into the apparatus of Kim (‘203) in order to prevent foreign substances from entering the apparatus (see Kim (‘291) at least [0070]). Further rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and the combination yields nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Kim (‘291) does not directly teach a removable cover plate disposed along a circumference of the skin module to cover at least a portion of the circumference of the skin module, wherein the removable cover plate comprises: a body comprising an inner circumferential surface facing an inner region of the skin module and an outer circumferential surface opposing the inner circumferential surface, and at least one recess integrally formed in the body of the removable cover plate, the at least one recess being recessed inwardly from the outer circumferential surface of the removable cover plate toward the inner circumferential surface of the removable cover plate, the at least one recess being formed at a peripheral portion of the removable cover plate and in a shape recessed from the outer circumferential surface toward the expression surface to facilitate removal of the removable cover plate itself from the casing, the at least one recess being exposed to the environment when the removable cover plate covers the portion of the circumference of the skin module.
Mao teaches a removable cover plate disposed along a circumference of the skin module to cover at least a portion of the circumference of the skin module, wherein the removable cover plate comprises:
a body comprising an inner circumferential surface facing an inner region of the skin module and an outer circumferential surface opposing the inner circumferential surface (see at least figs. 1-2 and [0016]: housing 102, keypad bezel 112 surrounds keypad region 106 – note the bezel faces inward toward keypad (internal region), and outward toward the user), and
at least one recess integrally formed in the body of the removable cover plate, the at least one recess being recessed inwardly from the outer circumferential surface of the removable cover plate toward the inner circumferential surface of the removable cover plate (see at least fig. 3b and [0019] “side walls 404 … include a recess 406 creating a lip 408” (recess integrally formed in the body), [0019]: “The recess 406 begins … and ends proximal to an outer edge” (inward from the outer surface toward the interior)),
the at least one recess being formed at a peripheral portion of the removable cover plate and in a shape recessed from the outer circumferential surface toward the expression surface to facilitate removal of the removable cover plate itself from the casing, the at least one recess being exposed to the environment when the removable cover plate covers the portion of the circumference of the skin module (see at least fig. 3b, [0005]: “leverage points … useful for removing the keypad bezel from the housing”, [0019]: “the lip 408 can act as the leverage points to assist removal”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a removable bezel with removal recesses (as taught by Mao), with a protective film (as taught by Kim ’291), into Kim ’203 because tactile devices benefit from serviceability and replaceability, and Mao teaches recesses that improve removal and reduce damage. This is a straightforward combination of known structural features performing their known functions. Further rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and the combination yields nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 2, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), further comprising an active region in which the plurality of expression holes are located and a non-active region located at an edge of the active region, wherein the skin module comprises a rigidity module located to correspond to the non-active region (see Kim ‘203 at least figs. 4 and 10; see Kim ‘291 at least figs. 4-7: top cover 1300 (skin module); see Mao at least figs. 1-3, [0017] “the keypad bezel 112 includes four corner portions 304 and a main body 306,” and [0019] “The vertical spaces between the main body 306 and the corner portions 304 are sealed by side walls 404.”).
As to claim 3, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the removable cover plate is disposed such that at least a portion thereof overlaps the skin module (see Kim ‘291 at least figs. 4-7: top cover 1300 (skin module) with pin hood 1340 (film) and [0070] “A pin hood 1340 may be provided for the opening 1320 of the top cover 1300. For example, the pin hood 1340 may be attached to the top cover 1300 to cover the fringe of the opening 1320. Accordingly, the pin hood 1340 covers the opening 1320 so that foreign substances can be prevented from entering the base 1100.”; and Mao at least figs. 1-5, [0016] “The handheld computer 100 comprises a housing 102, a display 104, a keypad 106, a keypad bezel 112,” and [0017] “tabs 302 are provided along the length of the keypad bezel 112,” showing the bezel is mounted over and around the central region of the device, [0023] “The keypad bezel 112 is removed from the housing 102.”).
As to claim 5, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the removable cover plate comprises an inclined portion inclined in a direction to the expression surface (see Kim ‘291 at least figs. 4-7: top cover 1300 (skin module) with pin hood 1340 (film); and Mao at least figs. 1-3, [0018] “the corner portions 304 being vertically displaced from the main body 306 so that the corner portions 304 are lower than the main body 306 when the keypad bezel 112 is seated in the housing 102.”, [0019] “The vertical spaces between the main body 306 and the corner portions 304 are sealed by side walls 404.” – note such geometry provides transition surfaces between portions at different heights and therefore suggests an inclined or sloped portion directed toward the device surface).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the film comprises a periphery portion disposed between the casing and the cover plate (see Kim ‘291 at least figs. 4-7: top cover 1300 (skin module) with pin hood 1340 (film); and Mao at least figs. 1-5, [0016] “The handheld computer 100 comprises a housing 102, …. a keypad bezel 112.”, [0022]: “The keypad bezel 112 is initially snapped into place so that the tabs 302 engage the corresponding slots in the housing 102. The keypad bezel 112 is further secured to the housing 102 by inserting screws through screw-holes 310.”).
As to claim 7, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the skin module comprises a rigidity module disposed between a periphery portion of the film and the casing (see Kim ‘291 at least figs. 4-7: top cover 1300 (skin module) with pin hood 1340 (film); and Mao at least figs. 1-3, [0017] “the keypad bezel 112 includes four corner portions 304 and a main body 306”, [0019] “The vertical spaces between the main body 306 and the corner portions 304 are sealed by side walls 404.”).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the removable cover plate comprises an extension portion inwardly extending from the inner circumferential surface of the body, and wherein the film comprises a periphery portion disposed between the extension portion and the casing (see Kim ‘203 at least figs. 4 and 10; see Kim ‘291 at least figs. 4-7: top cover 1300 (skin module) with pin hood 1340 (film); and Mao at least figs. 1-5, [0017] “tabs 302 are provided along the length of the keypad bezel 112, .. The tabs are configured to be received by corresponding slots … in the housing 102.”, [0022] “The keypad bezel 112 is initially snapped into place so that the tabs 302 engage the corresponding slots in the housing 102.” - these tabs/extensions project inward from the bezel body toward the housing/interior region).
As to claim 9, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 8 (see above rejection), wherein the extension portion comprises a top surface and a bottom surface facing the film, the top surface comprising an inclined portion inclined in a direction to the expression surface (see Kim ‘291 at least figs. 4-7: top cover 1300 (skin module) with pin hood 1340 (film) and Mao at least figs. 1-3, [0018] “the corner portions 304 are lower than the main body 306”, [0019] “The vertical spaces between the main body 306 and the corner portions 304 are sealed by side walls 404… the side walls 404 … include a recess 406 creating a lip 408.” – note this suggests multi-surface extension geometry including top and bottom surfaces and sloped or inclined transition regions).
As to claim 10, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the at least one recess is shaped to accommodate at least a portion of a finger therein to remove the cover plate from the casing (see Mao at least figs. 1-5, [0019]: “the side walls 404 of the bottom two corner portions include a recess 406 creating a lip 408 ... the lip 408 can act as the leverage points to assist removal of the keypad bezel 112.”, [0023] “The keypad bezel 112 is removed from the housing 102 .. . Force is applied on the removal tool 500 in a direction away from the housing 102.” – note tool 500 can be a finger).
As to claim 11, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the at least one recess comprises two recesses formed on opposing sides of the body (see Mao at least figs. 1-5, [0019] “the side walls 404 of the bottom two corner portions include a recess 406,”, [0020] “recesses 406 may, alternatively, be provided in the top two corner portions of the keypad bezel 112. Yet alternatively, recesses 406 may be provided in all four corner portions of the keypad bezel 112.”).
As to claim 12, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the cover plate comprises a plurality of sides, and wherein the at least one recess comprises a plurality of recesses respectively formed on the plurality of sides (see Mao at least figs. 1-5, [0017] “A pair of tabs 302 is provided along each side of the keypad bezel 112. .. A single tab is provided along each of a top side and a bottom side of the keypad bezel 112.”, [0020] “recesses 406 may be provided in all four corner portions of the keypad bezel 112.”).
As to claim 13, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291), and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the at least one recess is structured and dimensioned to facilitate removal of the removable cover plate itself from the casing (see Mao at least [0005] “a keypad bezel for attaching to a housing … the bezel comprising … a plurality of leverage points in the main body useful for removing the keypad bezel from the housing.”, [0019] “the lip 408 can act as the leverage points to assist removal of the keypad bezel 112”, [0023] “The keypad bezel 112 is removed from the housing 102.”).
As to claim 14, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291) and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the at least one recess is recessed in a direction perpendicular to a thickness of the casing (see Mao at least figs. 1-2, 3b: a removable cover plate (keypad bezel 112) having a recess formed in a side wall: [0019]: “side walls 404 … include a recess 406 creating a lip 408”, “the recess 406 is created along a horizontal portion of the side wall 404”, “the lip 408 can act as the leverage points to assist removal” – note Mao’s side wall (404) corresponds to the outer circumferential surface of the claimed removable cover plate. The recess (406) is formed along that surface, rather than extending inward through the thickness of the casing. The “thickness of the casing” corresponds to a direction normal to the primary surface of the device, and a recess formed along the side wall necessarily extends laterally along the circumferential surface, i.e., in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction.).
As to claim 15, the combination of Kim (‘203), Kim (‘291) and Mao teach the tactile information output apparatus of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the at least one recess is defined by an upper portion and a lower portion of the outer circumferential surface of the body, and wherein the upper portion is shorter in length than the lower portion (see Mao at least figs. 3a-3b: a bezel having a side wall 404 (outer circumferential surface), a recess 406 formed in the side wall with an upper portion of the outer surface (adjacent the main body), and a lower portion (adjacent the corner portion), a structure in which corner portions 304 are vertically offset relative to the main body 306, [0019]: the recess serves as a leverage point for removal – note it would have been obvious to configure the recess such that the upper portion is shorter and the lower portion is longer, because such a configuration improves leverage mechanics by increasing material below the recess to act as a fulcrum, enhances accessibility by reducing obstruction from the upper edge of the bezel, and maintains structural strength in regions subjected to removal forces. Selecting relative lengths of the upper and lower portions represents a predictable optimization of a known structure (Mao’s recess 406/lip feature 408) involving a finite number of design choices, each yielding expected mechanical tradeoffs. The claimed relationship does not change the principle of operation of Mao’s device, but merely reflects routine dimensional optimization of a known removal feature.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L ZUBAJLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2627
4/22/2026
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627