DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “V-FBS workshop for storing and maintaining” and “controller means.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “V-FBS workshop (110) for storing and maintaining” and “controller means” of claim 3 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: a building labeled 110 in Fig. 1 and a box labeled 111. However, the corresponding disclosure is inadequate because the structure or material that performs the function is absent. The corresponding structure or material is absent when there is no discussion in the specification or drawings of what accomplishes the function. This can occur when the specification merely repeats the function without any structure to perform the function or when the specification or drawings merely designate a “black box” to perform the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “V-FBS workshop (110) for storing and maintaining” of claim 4 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: a building labeled 110 in Fig. 1. However, the corresponding disclosure is inadequate because the structure or material that performs the function is absent. The corresponding structure or material is absent when there is no discussion in the specification or drawings of what accomplishes the function. This can occur when the specification merely repeats the function without any structure to perform the function or when the specification or drawings merely designate a “black box” to perform the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The dependent claim 5 is rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 4.
Claim limitation “means for generating energy efficient altitude” of claim 8 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: the box 121 of Figure 1. However, the corresponding disclosure is inadequate because the structure or material that performs the function is absent. The corresponding structure or material is absent when there is no discussion in the specification or drawings of what accomplishes the function. This can occur when the specification merely repeats the function without any structure to perform the function or when the specification or drawings merely designate a “black box” to perform the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-6, 8, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “said VLC enabled FBS.” It is unclear which VLC enabled FBS is being referred to. Claim 1 recites “visible light communication enabled flying base stations” which is a plurality of VLC enabled FBS. Is the limitation referring to a particular VLC enabled FBS among the plurality of the VLC enabled FBSs or does it refer to all of them?
Claim 3 recites the limitation “said V-FBS network” and "said BBU Pool". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "said BBU Pool" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 also recites the limitation “said V-FBS.” It is unclear which VLC enabled FBS is being referred to. Claim 1 recites “visible light communication enabled flying base stations” which is a plurality of VLC enabled FBS. Is the limitation referring to a particular VLC enabled FBS among the plurality of the VLC enabled FBSs or does it refer to all of them?
The dependent claim 5 is rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 4.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the angle of irradiation,” “the vertical distance,” and "the horizontal distance". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the minimum.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the V-FBS.” It is unclear which VLC enabled FBS is being referred to. Claim 1 recites “visible light communication enabled flying base stations” which is a plurality of VLC enabled FBS. Is the limitation referring to a particular VLC enabled FBS among the plurality of the VLC enabled FBSs or does it refer to all of them?
Claim 12 recites the limitations “the V-FBS capacity limit,” “the deployed network,” “the connection,” and “the baseband unit.” There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitations “the inputs,” “the deployed zone,” “the V-FBS workshop,” “the BBU pool,” “the total data rate,” “the UE,” “the threshold channel gain,” and “the power of illumination.” There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rojas-Cessa et al. (US20240154698A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rojas-Cessa et al. discloses A system for telecommunication involving visible light communication (Fig. 1) comprising:
joint communication and illumination (Fig. 1; Para. 126; a non-direct line-of-sight free-space optical communications (NLoS-FSOC) enables to transmit and receive wireless signals at the frequency of visible light for communications using a diffuse reflector) based unmanned aerial vehicles based communication network (Fig. 1; Para. 37; the network includes one or more stations 5, a drone 4, and optical base station (OBS) 1 having a diffuse reflector 2. In this embodiment, the network could be divided into two parts: a) a front-haul; the communications between a station and a drone 4, marked as solid lines in the figure, the drone 4 having a diffuse deflector 3, and b) a back-haul; the communications between the drone and the OBS, marked as dashed lines) including visible light communication enabled flying base stations (V-FBSs) (Fig. 1; Fig. 12; Para. 126; a non-direct line-of-sight free-space optical communications (NLoS-FSOC) enables to transmit and receive wireless signals at the frequency of visible light for communications using a diffuse reflector. The drones are equipped with diffuse reflectors).
Regarding the limitation "favouring connectivity flexibility and dynamically supplemented communication network,” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)). Furthermore, this limitation is merely the result of having the structures in the claim limitation. Consequently, claim language does not limit a claim to a particular structure.
Regarding claim 2, the present system discloses The system as claimed in claim 1, as described and applied above, comprising said VLC enabled FBS providing supplementary communication system alongside prevalent RF communications (Fig. 1; Abstract; The present disclosure is used autonomously or in combination with other systems such as RF schemes for a more robust solution to RF schemes alone).
Regarding claim 10, the present system discloses a system that necessarily perform this method claim in light of the rejection described and applied in Claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the present system discloses The method as claimed in claim 10 wherein said VLC based flying base stations (V-FBSs) disposition is carried out free of any interference with the radio frequencies and energy efficient 3-D deployment (Fig. 1; the drones are deployed as shown. No interference of radio frequencies and energy efficient 3-D deployment is described in this invention).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634