DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is responsive to claims filed on 04/30/2024. Please note Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang (US 20240403380 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tang discloses a method for displaying an application, comprising:
determining, on a condition that a first operation on a target application is received by an electronic device, a first display window for the target application ([0004] “obtaining target information in a case that a target application page is displayed, the target information being used for indicating a change in a size of the target application page”);
determining a first display window parameter of the first display window ([0004] “a change in a size of the target application page”), and determining, based on the first display window parameter, a target layout framework corresponding to the target application ([0004] “determining, from a preset responsive user interface set, a target page layout model corresponding to the target information”); and
displaying the target application in the first display window based on the target layout framework ([0004] “and adjusting a page layout of the target application page on the basis of the target page layout model.”).
Regarding Claim 10, it recites similar limitations of claim 1. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 10.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites similar limitations of claim 1. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20240403380 A1), in view of Cooper (US 20070174291 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Tang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the first display window parameter, a target layout framework corresponding to the target application comprises:
obtaining a layout framework strategy ([0038] “a container layout rule”) corresponding to the target application, wherein the layout framework strategy comprises at least one first child layout framework ([0038] “The container layout rule may include a layout size, a view hierarchy, a control combination, a layout style, and other rules.”); and
obtaining a first child layout framework corresponding to the first display window, and taking the first child layout framework as the target layout framework ([0038] “The container layout is obtained from a container layout rule, service data (application data corresponding to the page), a page layout, and the like.”).
Tang does not expressly disclose obtaining an information architecture of the target application, and obtaining the layout framework strategy according to the information architecture.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cooper discloses obtaining an information architecture of the target application ([0057] “Method 200 includes an act of receiving 202 content from a server.”), and obtaining, according to the information architecture, a layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application ([0009] “For example, upon determining a client's display capabilities, a server can select a rule or style sheet corresponding to the display parameters and content type.”), wherein the layout framework strategy comprises at least one first child layout framework ([0009] “The client then uses the rule or style sheet to format the content for optimal display layout.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Tang with the features of obtaining an information architecture of the target application, and obtaining the layout framework strategy according to the information architecture. Doing so could obtain proper layout framework strategy and optimize the display space, as taught by Cooper.
Regarding Claim 3, Tang-Cooper discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising: obtaining, in a case of detecting that the first display window parameter of the first display window changes and a second display window parameter of a second display window after change satisfies a preset condition, a first child layout framework corresponding to the second display window parameter; and displaying the target application based on the first child layout framework corresponding to the second display window parameter (Tang [0069] “Step 203c: In a case that the page element of the target application page includes a second type of page clement, adjust, by the electronic device, second display parameters of the target application page on the basis of the target page layout model.” [0070] “In the embodiment of this application, the above second display parameters include at least one of the following: a line spacing of the page element of the target application page, a display size of the page element of the target application page, or a display number of the page element of the target application page.” Cooper [0054] “In other embodiments, the changed circumstances of the display window (i.e., change in display parameters 150) may cause the need to apply a new display rule(s), for example display rule 140B. … The layout module 170 will then apply the new display rule(s) 140B when rendering the content 130 such that the layout of the content is optimized (i.e., at least no need for horizontal scrolling and there is minimal white space or blank space shown in the full window screen--regardless of the size of the window) for the display device 125.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Tang-Cooper discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein a case that the second display window parameter of the second display window after change satisfies the preset condition comprises a case that the first display window parameter and the second display window parameter belong to different parameter ranges (Tang [0072] “Optionally, in the embodiment of this application, the line spacing of the second type of page element in the target application page may be adjusted to decrease or increase to adapt to display of the current screen size.” Examiner notes the “line spacing” and the “current screen size” belong to different parameter ranges).
Regarding Claim 5, Tang-Cooper discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining, according to the information architecture, a layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application comprises: taking, on a condition that it is determined based on the information architecture that the target application is provided with no navigation structure, a first layout framework strategy as the layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application (Cooper [0078] Note that optimized content 360 is illustrated as being displayed as text utilizing the full horizontal width of the screen or display window of display device 325. It is also possible to for optimized content 360 to be paginated such that there is no need for horizontal or vertical scrolling or to be formatted into full horizontal width columns.), wherein the first layout framework strategy involves a primary page and a secondary page (Cooper, Fig. 1, Display Device 125 displays at least three parges in parallel).
Regarding Claim 6, Tang-Cooper discloses the method according to claim 5, further comprising: obtaining a display structure of the target application on a condition that it is determined based on the information architecture that the target application is provided with a navigation structure; and taking, on a condition that the display structure of the target application is determined to be a flat structure, a second layout framework strategy as the layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application (Cooper [0009] “a server can select a rule or style sheet corresponding to… content type.”), wherein the second layout framework strategy involves bottom tab navigation (Tang [0098] “A target application interface (such as a video page 14) is displayed in ⅔ of the page, and includes video page information and a bottom navigation bar 15.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Tang-Cooper discloses the method according to claim 6, further comprising: obtaining a number of levels of the target application on a condition that the display structure of the target application is determined to be a hierarchical structure; and taking, in a case that the number of levels is less than a preset number, a third layout framework strategy as the layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application, wherein the third layout framework strategy involves a navigation bar and a content area (Tang [0063] “Optionally, in the embodiment of this application, the number of the hierarchies of the above first type of page element usually does not exceed 2, and the first type of page element can enter a next hierarchy by means of expansion of classification titles. An area of the content on the right enters a next hierarchy, and by clicking the screen and swiping a side of the screen, the first type of page element may be awoken.” [0098] “A target application interface (such as a video page 14) is displayed in ⅔ of the page, and includes video page information and a bottom navigation bar 15.”).
Regarding Claim 11, it recites similar limitations of claim 2. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, it recites similar limitations of claim 3. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, it recites similar limitations of claim 4. The rationale of claim 4 rejection is applied to reject claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, it recites similar limitations of claim 5. The rationale of claim 5 rejection is applied to reject claim 14.
Regarding Claim 15, it recites similar limitations of claim 6. The rationale of claim 6 rejection is applied to reject claim 15.
Regarding Claim 16, it recites similar limitations of claim 7. The rationale of claim 7 rejection is applied to reject claim 16.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites similar limitations of claim 2. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 20.
Claims 8, 9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20240403380 A1), in view of Cooper (US 20070174291 A1), further in view of Helfman (US 20090013270 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Tang-Cooper discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising: taking a fourth layout framework strategy as the layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application, wherein the fourth layout framework strategy comprises a navigation bar, a primary page and a secondary page (Tang [0098] “When the user drags the screen from ⅓ of a split screen width to ½ of the split screen width, as shown in FIG. 5B, a video page 14 changes to a video page 18, a display layout changes to a mobile phone layout, and a bottom navigation bar changes from an up-down layout to a left-right layout (i.e., a bottom navigation bar 19 in FIG. 5B). The shopping page 16 changes to a shopping page 20.”).
Tang-Cooper does not expressly disclose a case that the number of levels is greater than the preset number.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Helfman discloses taking, in a case that the number of levels is greater than the preset number (Fig. 2, 220. [0057] “At step 220, hierarchy depth levels are determined from one or more possible hierarchies.”), a fourth layout framework strategy as the layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application (Fig. 2, 260. [0075] “Referring back to FIG. 2, once it is determined that the aggregate values for the highest level of hierarchy have been determined, processing continues to step 260 where layout is performed in a graphical layout area. In the context of treemap data visualizations, areas for layout are determined from the top level of hierarchy to the lowest level of hierarchy.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Tang-Cooper with the feature of taking a fourth layout framework strategy in a case that the number of levels is greater than the preset number. Doing so could improve data visualization, as taught by Helfman.
Regarding Claim 9, Tang-Cooper-Helfman discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the taking, in a case that the number of levels is greater than the preset number, a fourth layout framework strategy as the layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application comprises: obtaining, in a case that the number of levels is greater than the preset number, the fourth layout framework strategy corresponding to a type of the electronic device, and taking the fourth layout framework strategy as the layout framework strategy corresponding to the target application (Cooper [0009] “For example, upon determining a client's display capabilities, a server can select a rule or style sheet corresponding to the display parameters and content type.” [0002] “The display capabilities may include the resolution of a display device, the horizontal display width, or the available area of a display window.”).
Regarding Claim 17, it recites similar limitations of claim 8. The rationale of claim 8 rejection is applied to reject claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites similar limitations of claim 9. The rationale of claim 9 rejection is applied to reject claim 18.
Conclusion
/CHONG WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613