DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Stewart (US 6882797).
With respect to claim 1, Stewart discloses a bag assembly for use with a heat exchanger. The bag assembly includes a first flexible bag (Figure 7:16) comprised of one or more sheets of polymeric film that are sealed around a first end and a second end to bound a first compartment. A first inlet port (Figure 7:26) and a first outlet port (Figure 7:28) are coupled to the first bag so as to communicate with a first fluid path disposed in the first compartment. A first partition projects into the first compartment between the first inlet port and the first outlet port so that fluid traveling between the first inlet and outlet ports must travel around the first partition. The second flexible bag (Figure 7:16a) is also formed using one or more sheets sealed around a first end and an opposing second end to create a second compartment. A second inlet port (Figure 7:26A) and a second outlet port (Figure 7:28a) communicate with a second fluid path and are coupled to the second bag, such that the first outlet port is connected to the second inlet port via a first fluid line (Figure 7:200). This is taught in column 5, line 15 to column 6, line 2.
As for the limitation “the first fluid path of the first flexible bag has substantially the same configuration as the second fluid path of the second flexible bag”, it is noted that both fluid paths are characterized by a tortuous and/or serpentine configuration, and therefore have substantially the same configuration. In the event that this limitation (“substantially the same configuration”) requires an exact duplication of the fluid path shape, Stewart shows that the fluid paths are defined by partitions in different locations to produce differently shaped tortuous and/or serpentine configurations. Regardless, it would have been obvious to ensure that the first and second fluid paths are identical and/or mirror images of each other given that Stewart does not disclose any instruction or preference for how the fluid paths are shaped, other than that they should have a tortuous and/or serpentine configuration. Mere changes in design or pattern that produce a negligible or otherwise predictable change in operation are considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
With respect to claims 2-4, Stewart discloses the system as described above. Steward shows in Fig. 7 that the first partition extends into the first compartment from a first end of the first bag and that a second partition projects into the first compartment and is separated from the first partition. Stewart teaches that the partitions may be made by heat sealing the first and second sheets.
With respect to claim 7, Stewart discloses the system as described above. The first bag of Stewart includes a fluid path that extends from the first inlet to the first outlet, such that the fluid path has a sinusoidal or serpentine configuration.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 6882797) as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Schmidt (US 7232457).
Stewart discloses the system as described above, however does not clearly show a third partition projecting into the first compartment, such that second and third partitions extend from a second end of the first bag.
Schmidt discloses a bag assembly for use with a heat exchanger. The bag assembly includes a flexible bag (Figure 1:10) comprised of one or more sheets of polymeric material having a first end and an opposing second that bounds a compartment. The one or more sheet is secured to a second sheet of polymeric film so that the compartment is bounded between the first sheet and the second sheet (“The fluid container is made of two or more sheets of thermally conductive plastic film material. The sheets of plastic film material are bonded or otherwise joined in a pattern which creates a fluid channel between the sheets”). An inlet port (Figure 2:26) and an outlet port (Figure 2:28) are coupled with the flexible bag so as to communicate with the compartment, and a first partition projects into the compartment between the inlet port and the outlet port so that fluid traveling between the inlet port and the outlet port must travel around the first partition. This is shown in Figs 1 and 3. Schmidt depicts that the first partition extends into the compartment from the first end of the bag and that second and third partitions extend into the compartment from the second end of the bag.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to modify the Stewart partitions to include second and third partitions that extend from the second end of the first compartment. Schmidt shows how this is a functionally equivalent strategy for creating a sinusoidal/serpentine flow pattern designed to increase the residence time and improve thermal transfer. A mere change in shape or design that does not substantially affect device operation is considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 9 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 6882797) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kuzyk (US 7722839).
Stewart discloses the system as described above. Stewart further teaches a heat exchanger for processing the first bag, wherein a portion of the first bag is disposed against a side face of the heat exchanger body. Stewart shows that the heat exchanger body (Figure 1:10) includes a first side face and an opposing second side face for receiving the bag. Stewart, however, teaches that the heat exchanger utilizes an electric heater and therefore does not disclose a fluid channel extending between an inlet port and an outlet port.
Kuzyk discloses a heat exchanger system comprising a heat exchanger having a body (Figure 4:30). The body bounds a fluid channel (Figure 3:30a, 30b) that extends between an inlet port (Figure 3:32) and an outlet port (Figure 3:34). The fluid channel is configured to heat or cool a bag assembly (Figure 4:21) supported by the body. This is taught in column 2, line 66 to column 5, line 24.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to use a heated or cooled fluid flowing through a fluid channel to heat/cool the bag assembly of Stewart. Kuzyk teaches that the temperature of fluid flowing through the fluid channel is effectively maintained using a heater 60, and that the fluid channel may directly contact and promote mixing within the bag assembly (“As heated fluid flows through the bladder, heat is transferred through the bladder wall to the plasma bag to thaw the biological material. The bladder wall expands against the plasma bag as the bladder fills with fluid, and contracts from the plasma bag as the bladder is drained. The expansion and contraction of the bladder wall agitates the plasma bag and biological material to accelerate the thawing process”).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 6882797) in view of Kuzyk (US 7722839) as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Watanabe (US 5057429).
With respect to claim 10, Stewart and Kuzyk disclose the combination as described above, however Stewart does not expressly show that a plurality of openings extend transversely through a perimeter edge of the flexible bag, such that the openings interact with catches formed on the body of the heat exchanger.
Watanabe discloses a bag assembly for processing biological fluids. The assembly includes a flexible bag comprised of one or more sheets (Figure 3A:10) of polymeric material, wherein a first sheet overlays a second sheet to create a compartment. The bag includes at least one inlet port (Figure 2:4) and one outlet port (Figure 2:2). Watanabe further shows that the flexible bag includes a plurality of openings (Figure 2:7) that transversely extend through a perimeter edge of the bag in order to interact with catches (Figure 2:60) that project from a surface of a support body.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Stewart bag assembly with a plurality of openings that interface with catches formed on a heat exchanger support surface. Watanabe shows how this is an effective and simple mechanism to secure and hold a bag in a correct orientation during processing (“the plastic sheet is formed with holes 7 at four corners for securing when rotation or shaking is effectuated”). As evidenced by Watanabe, openings may be formed around the perimeter seal of a bag using standard fabrication techniques.
With respect to claim 11, Stewart, Kuzyk and Watanabe disclose the combination as described above. Stewart teaches the use of silicone rubber insulated portions and thin film conductive heaters in at least column 3, lines 49-54.
With respect to claim 12, Stewart, Kuzyk and Watanabe disclose the combination as described above. The Watanabe openings 7 do not communicate with the compartment 3,5 of the flexible bag.
With respect to claim 13, Stewart, Kuzyk and Watanabe disclose the combination as described above. Watanabe shows that the inlet and outlet ports that extend through the perimeter edge of the bag.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, Stewart, Kuzyk and Watanabe disclose the combination as described above. Watanabe further shows that a portion of the perimeter edge of the bag is sloped toward the inlet and outlet ports 4, and that this portion of the perimeter edge has a roughly V-shape.
Those of ordinary skill would have considered modifying the shape and pattern of the sealed perimeter of Stewart’s bag in accordance with the design shown by Watanabe. For example, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that the characteristics of the perimeter define the shape of the chamber, and that the shape of the chamber affects how the chamber is operated (e.g., the shape of the perimeter dictates how fluid moves through the chamber, a V-shaped funnel would direct fluid to the inlet/outlet). Alternatively, it is noted that mere changes in shape that affect device operation in a predictable way are considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,711,233.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,711,233 (especially claims 1 and 6-8) include limitations drawn to
A bag assembly for use with a heat exchanger, the bag assembly comprising:
a first flexible bag comprised of one or more sheets of polymeric material, the first bag having a first end and an opposing second end that bounds a first compartment, wherein the one or more sheets of polymeric material comprise a first sheet of polymeric film overlaying and secured to a second sheet of polymeric film so that the first compartment is bounded between the first sheet and the second sheet;
a first inlet port and a first outlet port, being coupled with the first bag so as to communicate with the first compartment;
a first partition projecting into the first compartment between the first inlet port and the first outlet port so that fluid traveling between the first inlet port and the first outlet port must travel around the first partition,
a second flexible bag comprised of one or more sheets of polymeric material, the second bag having a first end and an opposing second end that bounds a second compartment;
a second inlet port and a second outlet port, being coupled with the second bag so as to communicate with the second compartment, and the first outlet port being connected to the second inlet port through a first fluid line;
a drain port coupled to the first fluid line connected between the first outlet port and the second inlet port.
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,012,579.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,012,579 (especially claims 1 and 5-9) include limitations drawn to
A bag assembly for use with a heat exchanger, the bag assembly comprising:
a first flexible bag comprised of one or more sheets of polymeric material, the first bag having a first end and an opposing second end that bounds a first compartment, wherein the one or more sheets of polymeric material comprise a first sheet of polymeric film overlaying and secured to a second sheet of polymeric film so that the first compartment is bounded between the first sheet and the second sheet;
a first inlet port and a first outlet port, being coupled with the first bag so as to communicate with the first compartment;
a first partition projecting into the first compartment between the first inlet port and the first outlet port so that fluid traveling between the first inlet port and the first outlet port must travel around the first partition,
a second flexible bag comprised of one or more sheets of polymeric material, the second bag having a first end and an opposing second end that bounds a second compartment;
a second inlet port and a second outlet port, being coupled with the second bag so as to communicate with the second compartment, and the first outlet port being connected to the second inlet port through a first fluid line
a drain port coupled to the first fluid line connected between the first outlet port and the second inlet port.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states on pages 5-6 that Stewart does not disclose first and second fluid paths with substantially the same configuration, and does not describe internal flow path geometries in separate bags. However, Stewart expressly shows first and second paths characterized by first and second fluid paths having a defined geometry. See Fig. 7.
Both fluid paths are shown as having a serpentine and/or tortuous configuration. Accordingly, they have substantially the same configuration. In the alternative, it would have been obvious to reproduce the same fluid path shape in each bag since Stewart does not state that the shapes should be different. Stewart only appears to care that the pathways have a serpentine and/or tortuous configuration, and those of ordinary skill would have been free to produce any serpentine and/or tortuous configuration in either bag, including instances where the first and second bag are defined by the exact same serpentine and/or tortuous fluid path shape.
Conclusion
This is a non-final rejection.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799