DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/30/24 and 10/25/24 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yeh (US 2021/0223838).
With respect to claim 1, Yeh discloses a power converter comprising, an AC/DC converter (Fig. 5 211) configured to generate a first secondary side output voltage (Fig. 5 voltage CT1) based on an AC input voltage (Fig. 1 voltage from 102) , the first secondary side output voltage being a first DC voltage (Fig. 5 voltage TO1); and a multi-port DC output circuit (Fig. 5 P1,P2,130) configured to receive the first secondary side output voltage from a first output node (Fig. 5 TO1) of the AC/DC converter and to provide respective DC output voltages (Fig. 5 voltages CT1,CT2) to a first DC output port (Fig. 5 C1) and a second DC output port (Fig. 5 C2), the multi-port DC output circuit comprising a first intermediate rail voltage switch (Fig. 5 SWA), a second intermediate rail voltage switch (Fig. 5 SWB), and a plurality of bus switches (Fig. 5 SW1,SW2), a body diode of the first intermediate rail voltage switch being forward biased (Fig. 5 body diode of SWA forward biased from TO1 to TO2 when 231 powers C2) with respect to the first secondary side output voltage, and a body diode of the second intermediate rail voltage switch (Fig. 5 body diode SWB reversed biased from TO1 to TO2 when 120 off) being reverse biased with respect to the first secondary side output voltage; wherein: the plurality of bus switches are configured to control a routing (Fig. 5 SW1 routes PO1 to C1, SW2 routes PO1 to C2 from 120) of a first intermediate rail voltage and a second intermediate rail voltage of the multi-port DC output circuit to the first DC output port and the second DC output port in response to a plurality of gate control signals (Fig. 5 gate signals from 131 and 132).
With respect to claim 2, Yeh discloses the power converter of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of bus switches are configured to control the routing of the first intermediate rail voltage and a second intermediate rail voltage of the multi-port DC output circuit to the first DC output port and the second DC output port based on respective desired output voltages (Fig 5 voltages at C1 and C2) of each of the first DC output port and the second DC output port.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 2021/0223838) in view of Shah (US 2021/0058005).
With respect to claim 3, Yeh discloses the power converter of claim 1 as set forth above, and remains silent as to the details of the gate drive which were well known before the effective filing date of the invention.
Shah discloses wherein a gate control signal of the plurality of gate control signals is generated using a charge pump circuit (Fig. 1 139) to control a first voltage switch (Fig. 1 138); and a voltage level of the gate control signal (Fig. 2 Vbus_ctrl) is configured to reduce an RDS (on) of the first voltage switch as compared to an RDS (on) of the first intermediate rail voltage switch when controlled by a lower voltage level of the gate control signal (Fig. 2 238 lower gate source voltage results in higher drain source resistance). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a gate control signal of the plurality of gate control signals is generated using a charge pump circuit to control the first intermediate rail voltage switch; and a voltage level of the gate control signal is configured to reduce an RDS (on) of the first intermediate rail voltage switch as compared to an RDS (on) of the first intermediate rail voltage switch when controlled by a lower voltage level of the gate control signal, in order to drive the first intermediate rail voltage switch with a gate voltage higher than the source voltage to turn the switch fully on.
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 2021/0223838) in view of Liu (US 2021/0021199).
With respect to claim 18, Yeh discloses the power converter of claim 1, further comprising: a transformer (Fig. 5 TX1) having a primary winding and a secondary winding, a first winding node of the primary winding being configured to be coupled to a voltage source (Fig. 5 voltage from 221) to receive an input voltage, the secondary winding being configured to provide the first secondary side output voltage (Fig. 5 voltage CT1); and a switching stage (Fig. 5 241) on the primary side, and a synchronous rectifier switch (Fig. 5 M1) electrically connected to the secondary winding. Yeh remains silent as to the details of the primary side switching which were well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Liu discloses a main switch (Fig. 1 114) coupled to a second winding node (Fig. 1 131) of the primary winding (Fig. 1 108) to control a current (Fig. 1 IQL) through the primary winding and an active clamp circuit (Fig. 1 116) electrically connected to the primary winding. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a main switch coupled to a second winding node of the primary winding to control a current through the primary winding; an active clamp circuit electrically connected to the primary winding. In order to recirculate the primary current as turn off of the main switch in order to prevent inductive voltage spikes.
With respect to claim 19, Yeh in view of Liu make obvious the power converter of claim 18, wherein: the plurality of bus switches are configured to control (Fig. 5 130) a routing of the first intermediate rail voltage and the second intermediate rail voltage of the multi-port DC output circuit to the first DC output port (Fig. 5 C1) and the second DC output port (Fig. 5 C2) based on a respective desired output voltage (Fig. 5 desired output voltage at C1,C2) at each of the first DC output port and the second DC output port and in response to a portion of a switching cycle of the main switch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 4, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, wherein: respective RDS (on) values of the first intermediate rail voltage switch and the second intermediate rail voltage switch are lower than respective RDS (on) values of the plurality of bus switches.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, a first intermediate rail buffer capacitor; a second intermediate rail buffer capacitor; a first output buffer capacitor electrically connected to the first DC output port; and a second output buffer capacitor electrically connected to the second DC output port; wherein: a first node of the first intermediate rail voltage switch is electrically connected to the first output node of the AC/DC converter; a second node of the first intermediate rail voltage switch is electrically connected to the first intermediate rail buffer capacitor to generate a first intermediate rail voltage; a first node of the second intermediate rail voltage switch is electrically connected to the first output node of the AC/DC converter; and a second node of the second intermediate rail voltage switch is electrically connected to the second intermediate rail buffer capacitor to generate a second intermediate rail voltage.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily,
a first intermediate rail buffer capacitor; a second intermediate rail buffer capacitor; a first output buffer capacitor electrically connected to the first DC output port; and a second output buffer capacitor electrically connected to the second DC output port; wherein: a first node of the first intermediate rail voltage switch is electrically connected to the first output node of the AC/DC converter to receive the first secondary side output voltage; a second node of the first intermediate rail voltage switch is electrically connected to the first intermediate rail buffer capacitor to generate a first intermediate rail voltage; a first node of the second intermediate rail voltage switch is electrically connected to a second output node of the AC/DC converter to receive a second secondary side output voltage, the second secondary side output voltage being a second DC voltage; a second node of the second intermediate rail voltage switch is electrically connected to a first node of a third intermediate rail voltage switch, a second node of the third intermediate rail voltage switch being electrically connected to the second intermediate rail buffer capacitor to generate a second intermediate rail voltage; and respective body diodes of the second intermediate rail voltage switch and the third intermediate rail voltage switch are reverse biased with respect to each other.
With respect to claim 13, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, a first intermediate rail buffer capacitor; a second intermediate rail buffer capacitor; a first output buffer capacitor electrically connected to the first DC output port; and a second output buffer capacitor electrically connected to the second DC output port; a third intermediate rail voltage switch in electrical series with the first intermediate rail voltage switch, respective body diodes of the first intermediate rail voltage switch and the third intermediate rail voltage switch being reverse biased with respect to each other; and a fourth intermediate rail voltage switch in electrical series with the second intermediate rail voltage switch, respective body diodes of the second intermediate rail voltage switch and the fourth intermediate rail voltage switch being reverse biased with respect to each other.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of the respective claims are believed to render the aforementioned indicated claim and any dependent claims thereof patentable over the art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Greening (US 2016/0380455) and Chang (US 11,581,797) disclose power conversion for powering more than one port.
/HARRY R BEHM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838