DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/02/2025 and 05/06/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Figures: The examiner provides illustrations from the prior art with additional annotations as needed to facilitate discussion of the claim elements. Moreover, it is held that guidance as provided by the figures is sufficient to enable public possession of an inventive concept. That is, an enabling picture may be used to reject claims directed to an article to include: anticipating claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). And when the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979), see MPEP 2125.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn (US 2021/0354805 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Ahn teaches a method for preparing a mandrel for use in composite stringer manufacturing. The method to include wrapping a mandrel 300 – (construed as a longitudinal component) with a breather sock 142 – (construed as a material sheet, and thus, a method of wrapping a material sheet around a longitudinal component). The method comprising: positioning a sock application assembly 140 – (construed as a movable carriage) such that the mandrel/longitudinal component is within an operating volume beneath a frame of the movable carriage;
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mandrel beneath the frame)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Frame)]
moving the movable carriage in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the longitudinal component; and guiding the material sheet around the longitudinal component using wheels of the movable carriage within the operating volume as the movable carriage moves in the direction, see at least FIGS 18, 33.
Regarding claim 30, Ahn teaches the movable carriage comprises moving the movable carriage along a gantry header 252 – (construed as a track system) of a gantry 200 – (construed as a work table) supporting the longitudinal component
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Interpretation: The limitation “a movable carriage configured to wrap a material sheet around a longitudinal component, the movable carriage comprising” has not been given patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02.
Figures: The examiner provides illustrations from the prior art with additional annotations as needed to facilitate discussion of the claim elements. Moreover, it is held that guidance as provided by the figures is sufficient to enable public possession of an inventive concept. That is, an enabling picture may be used to reject claims directed to an article to include: anticipating claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). And when the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979), see MPEP 2125.
Claim 1, 3-8, 10-11, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 2021/0354805 A1), in view of at least one of Boggs (US 2013/0025773 A1), or Webb et al. (US 5273611 A – of record).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 13, Ahn discloses a system for preparing a mandrel for use in composite stringer manufacturing. The system to include the use of a sock application assembly 140 having a feeder mechanism carrier 132 that is configured to translate in at least an x, y plane, see FIG. 4 – (construed as a movable carriage). The sock application assembly is configured to apply a breather sock 142 - (construed as a material sheet) over the length of a mandrel 300 – (construed as a longitudinal component; and thus, is construed as a movable carriage configured to wrap a material sheet around a longitudinal component). The sock application assembly/movable carriage comprises:
a frame defining a center plane and an operating volume; rollers 134 – (construed as side wheels) within the operating volume configured to guide the material sheet against sides of a portion of the longitudinal component, when disposed within the operating volume and aligned with the center plane, as the movable carriage moves parallel to the center plane, the side wheels arranged as one or more opposing pairs about the center plane, see at least FIG. 18. And a movement system connected to the frame and configured to move the movable carriage in a direction parallel to the center plane, see depiction above; and where the movement system comprises a motor, see at least [0065].
Ahn does not explicitly disclose the use of top wheels.
Boggs discloses an apparatus for wrapping edges of a panel. The apparatus is configured to use a frame having disposed therein top side drive wheels 42, 44 which provide sufficient rotational force to engage and move a panel for wrapping through the operating volume of the frame, see at the figures and [0023] – (construed as top wheels within the operating volume configured to guide the material sheet against a top of the portion of the longitudinal component as the movable carriage moves parallel to the center plane, the top wheels arranged as one or more opposing pairs about the center plane).
Webb discloses an apparatus for applying a continuous film to a pipeline. The apparatus is configured to have top side rollers 84 which engage a pipeline 14 and/or film 12 within the operating volume of the assembly, see at least figures 1, 3 – (construed as top wheels within the operating volume configured to guide the material sheet against a top of the portion of the longitudinal component as the movable carriage moves parallel to the center plane, the top wheels arranged as one or more opposing pairs about the center plane). Webb discloses such a mechanism allows for pressing a film – (construed as a material sheet) against a pipe – (construed as a longitudinal component).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn’s sock application assembly to include the use of top wheels as taught by Boggs and/or Webb to provide the sock application assembly with a means for applying sufficient force to the breather sock and mandrel as they move through the operating volume of the assembly as suggested by Boggs and/or Webb.
Regarding claims 3-5, modified Ahn discloses the plurality of wheels includes a spring 96 to bias the wheel against the pipe, see Webb Col 5 lines 33-40 – (construed as at least one of the side wheels or the top wheels are spring loaded). As to the springs are pairs of springs with different stiffnesses: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the springs, since it have been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the springs for the purpose of tensioning the wheels against the mandrel. Additionally, one would vary the stiffness of each spring to tailor the biasing thereof, as this would predictably reduce the potential to over tension the wheels and damaging the breather sock.
[AltContent: textbox (Side positioning plates connected to side wheels at an angle)]Regarding claims 6-8, 10, modified Ahn discloses
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First top wheel pair)][AltContent: textbox (Second top wheel pair)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
a number of positioning plates comprising at least one of side positioning plates connecting the side wheels to sides of the frame at an angle configured to engage sides of the longitudinal component or top positioning plates connecting the top wheels to the frame and configured to place top wheels normal to a cross-sectional shape of the longitudinal component, see depiction above; and the top wheels comprise a first top wheel pair positioned at a first angle relative to the center plane; and the top wheels comprise a second top wheel pair positioned at a second angle relative to the center plane, wherein the second angle is greater than the first angle; and where the side wheels and the top wheels are facing into the operating volume, see depiction above.
Regarding claim 16, while modified Ahn discloses the use of low-friction materials and/or friction sufficient to unwind the film without overruns, see at least Ahn, [0063] or Webb Col 3 line 67 – Col 4 line2; it does not explicitly disclose the side wheels and top wheels are formed of a material having a coefficient of friction with the material sheet sufficient to guide the material sheet around the longitudinal component. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Ahn’s side and top wheels as claimed since: the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination, see MPEP 2144.07. And one would have been motivated to chose materials having sufficient coefficient of friction values to move the breather sock over the mandrel in an efficient manner without the material being damaged or overran during the wrapping stage.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 2021/0354805 A1), in view of Webb et al. (US 5273611 A – of record).
Regarding claim 17, Ahn discloses a system for preparing a mandrel for use in composite stringer manufacturing. The system to include the use of a sock application assembly 140 having a feeder mechanism carrier 132 that is configured to translate in at least an x, y plane, see FIG. 4 – (construed as a movable carriage). The sock application assembly is configured to apply a breather sock 142 - (construed as a material sheet) over the length of a mandrel 300 – (construed as a longitudinal component; and thus, is construed as a movable carriage configured to wrap a material sheet around a longitudinal component). The sock application assembly/movable carriage comprises
a frame defining a center plane and an operating volume; rollers 134 – (construed as a plurality of wheels) within the operating volume, see at least FIG. 18.
Ahn does not explicitly disclose the plurality of wheels are arranged as a plurality of stages in an offset manner.
Webb discloses an apparatus for applying a continuous film to a pipeline. The apparatus is configured to have a plurality of rollers 22, 36, 38, 68, 72, 76, 80, 84 – (construed as a plurality of wheels as a plurality of stages offset from each other) disposed on frame members – (construed as positioning plates) and are disposed at various angles with respect to the circumference of the pipe along its longitudinal extension, see at least figures 1, 3 – (construed as a plurality of wheels within the operating volume arranged as a plurality of stages offset from each other along the center plane of the frame, wherein angles of wheels of each respective stage of the plurality of stages increase along the center plane;
and a number of yokes 90 – (construed as positioning plates) connected to the frame and holding the plurality of wheels normal to a cross-sectional shape of the longitudinal component). Webb discloses such a mechanism allows for pressing a film – (construed as a material sheet) against a pipe – (construed as a longitudinal component).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn’s sock application assembly to include the use of a plurality of wheels as a plurality of stages offset from each other and positioning plates for holding the wheels as reasonably suggested by Webb to provide the sock application assembly with a means for applying sufficient force to the breather sock and mandrel as they move through the operating volume of the assembly.
Regarding claims 18-19, modified Ahn discloses the plurality of wheels includes a spring 96 to bias the wheel against the pipe, see Webb Col 5 lines 33-40 – (construed as the plurality of wheels is spring loaded). And under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner, such a technique meets the claimed “number of positioning plates is adjustable and configured to adjust a position of the plurality of wheels within the operating volume”; since the position of the wheel with respect to the pipe is adjustable through the spring engagement.
Claims 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 2021/0354805 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Webb et al. (US 5273611 A – of record).
Regarding claim 31, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the claimed material guiding technique.
Webb discloses an apparatus for applying a continuous film – (construed as guiding the material sheet) to a pipeline – (construed as a longitudinal component). The apparatus is configured to have a plurality of rollers 22, 36, 38, 68, 72, 76, 80, 84 – (construed as a plurality of wheels) disposed on frame members. It being readily envisioned from at least Fig 3, the apparatus is functional for: guiding the film/material sheet onto sides of the pipe/longitudinal component using side wheels connected to sides of the frame and arranged as opposing pairs about a center plane defined by the frame; and guiding the material sheet onto a top of the longitudinal component using top wheels connected to a top of the frame and arranged as opposing pairs about the center plane.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Top wheels)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side wheels)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Frame)]
Regarding claims 32-34, Webb further discloses the film is guided onto the pipe using sequentially placed opposing pairs of rollers disposed at increasing angles, see at least Fig 3 – (construed as guiding the material sheet around the longitudinal component using wheels of the movable carriage within the operating volume as the movable carriage moves in the direction comprises sequentially contacting the material sheet with opposing pairs of wheels at increasing angles relative to the direction). And where the movement of the carriage is powered by a motor, see Col 5 lines 5-8 – (construed as moving the movable carriage comprises at least partially powering movement of the movable carriage using a motor). And where the movement of the carriage is powered by an operator, see Col 5 lines 4-7 – (construed as guiding the material sheet around the longitudinal component comprises passively driving the wheels by the moving of the movable carriage in the direction).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn’s sock application assembly to include the use of a plurality of wheels and material sheet guiding techniques as reasonably suggested by Webb to provide the sock application assembly with a means for applying sufficient force to the breather sock and mandrel as they move through the operating volume of the assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749