Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-9 and 15-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5-9 recite, “wherein surfaces of the two mounting frames opposite to each other are defines a first guide groove and a second guide groove.” The phrasing “are defines” is unclear. It is further unclear where the first and second guide grooves are. The remainder of claim 5 recites “one end of the scraper fits inside of the first guide groove slidably, another end of the scraper slidably fits inside of the second guide groove.” While reference to guide part 61 and Fig. 2 suggests that Applicant’s intent is for the first groove to be in a first mounting frame, and the second groove to be in the second mounting frame, with the ends of the scraper being longitudinal ends, the claim as recited is broader than that, potentially including first and second grooves in a single mounting frame, with top and bottom ends of the scraper fitting in these grooves. Accordingly, the meaning is unclear.
Claims 15-17 similarly recite, “wherein surfaces of the two mounting frames opposite to each other are each defines a first guide groove and a second guide groove.” The phrase “are each defines” is similarly confusing with parallel issues with claims 5-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allanic (US 6,764,636).
Regarding claim 1, Allanic discloses a powder compaction assembly (elongated recoater blade 9, Fig. 1, with parts and details shown in Figs. 3A-C), the powder compaction assembly is configured to compact powder on a molding surface (col. 9 ll. 39-67, Fig. 1), the powder compaction assembly comprising: one or more mounting frame (chassis 21 to control and drive mechanisms, col. 10 ll. 4-44, Figs. 2-3); a powder compaction roller (rollers 26, 27, col. 10 ll. 4-44, Figs. 2-3), the powder compaction roller is rotatably disposed in the mounting frame (col. 10 ll. 4-44, Figs. 2-3); a scraper (two recoater blades, col. 11 ll. 1-58, Figs. 3A-C), the scraper is movably arranged on the mounting frame in an adjusting direction (scrapers shown as movably arranged in Figs. 3A-C, blades as shown pivot as shown between the figures), the adjusting direction and the molding surface are perpendicular or intersecting (as shown in Figs. 3A-C, the adjusting direction intersects with the molding surface), and the scraper is separable from the powder compaction roller (as shown in Figs. 3A-C, they are separate components); a rotary member (T-shaped part with horizontal bar 42 and vertical leg 43, col. 11 ll. 1-58, Figs. 3A-C), the rotary member is rotatably connected to the mounting frame (rotatably connected at pivot hinge P, col. 11 ll. 1-58, Figs. 3A-C)), and the rotary member is fitted with the scraper (scraper blades extend from ends of horizontal bar 42, col. 11 ll. 1-58, Figs. 3A-C), the rotary member is configured to rotate relative to the mounting frame and drive the scraper to move along the adjusting direction (rotation relative to pivot hinge P when driven and moving along the adjusting direction closer to/from the powder bed, col. 11 ll. 1-58, Figs. 3A-C), and adjust distance between the scraper and the molding surface in the adjusting direction (col. 11 ll. 1-58, Figs. 3A-C).
Regarding claim 4, Allanic discloses wherein the powder compaction assembly further comprises two mounting frames (Figs 3A-C show one of two ends, col. 11 ll. 11-18), the two mounting frames are spaced apart along an axial direction of the powder compaction roller (roller extends between the two ends, col. 11 ll. 11-58), two ends of the powder compaction roller are rotatably connected to the two mounting frames respectively (structure is coupled such that rollers can roll, col. 11 ll. 11-58).
Regarding claim 11, Allanic discloses a powder laying mechanism (lays raw material 28 on frame 2, col. 9 ll. 9-36, col. 10 ll. 4-44, Figs. 1-2), comprising: a powder bin (frame 2 through opening 103, Fig. 1), the powder bin is configured to storage and export powder (powder on frame 2 within opening 103, col. 9 ll. 9-36, Fig. 1); a powder spreading roller (elongated recoater blade 9 includes rollers, Figs. 3A-C), the powder spreading roller is arranged in the powder bin (crosses the bin, col. 9 ll. 9-36, Fig. 1); a powder compaction assembly as claimed in claim 1 (see above regarding claim 1), the mounting frame of the powder compaction assembly is connected to the powder bin (col. 9-36, Fig. 1), and the powder compaction assembly is configured to compact powder on the molding surface (col. 9-36, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Allanic discloses wherein the powder compaction assembly further comprises two mounting frames (Figs 3A-C show one of two ends, col. 11 ll. 11-18), the two mounting frames are spaced apart along an axial direction of the powder compaction roller (roller extends between the two ends, col. 11 ll. 11-58), two ends of the powder compaction roller are rotatably connected to the two mounting frames respectively (structure is coupled such that rollers can roll, col. 11 ll. 11-58).
Regarding claim 19, Allanic discloses an additive manufacturing equipment (Fig. 1), comprising: a print substrate (surface of frame 2, col. 9-36, Fig. 1), the print substrate defines a molding surface (col. 9-36, Fig. 1); a powder laying mechanism as claimed in claim 11 (see above regarding claim 11), the powder laying mechanism is configured to lay down powder to the print substrate (recoating blade 9 (embodiment as shown in Figs. 3A-C) passes over spreading powder, col. 9-36, Fig. 1); a drive element, the drive element is configured to drive the powder laying mechanism move relative to the print substrate along powder spreading direction (drive element moving recoating blade 9 back and forth across frame 2, col. 9-36, Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 10, 12-13, and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 12-13 recite a sliding groove in a rotating plate, with a moving arm of the scraper received in the sliding groove. Nothing in the structure of Allanic resembles this limitation and the available prior art does not provide an alternative rationale for these limitations.
Similarly, claims 10 and 18 recite a sliding groove in the rotary member, a lengthwise direction of the sliding groove is perpendicular to a rotation axis of the rotary member, and a moving arm on the scraper is received in the sliding groove between the two mounting frames. The pivoting structure in Allanic does not slide as claimed. The available prior art does not provide an alternative rationale for these limitations.
The pertinent prior arts, when taken alone or in combination cannot be reasonably construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as recited in claims 2-3, 10, 12-13, and 18 by the Applicant.
Claims 5-9 and 15-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-9 and 15-17 recite “wherein surfaces of the two mounting frames opposite to each other (are defines)/(are each defines) a first guide groove and a second guide groove, lengthwise direction of the first guide groove is parallel to the adjusting direction, and lengthwise direction of the second guide groove is parallel to the adjusting direction, and one end of the scraper fit inside of the first guide groove slidably, another end of the scraper fit inside of the second guide groove slidably.” The pivoting structure in Allanic does not permit sliding as claimed. The available prior art does not provide an alternative rationale for these limitations. The pertinent prior arts, when taken alone or in combination cannot be reasonably construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as recited in claims 5-9 and 15-17 by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Redding (US 2018/0200791) teaches a dynamically damped recoater that pivots and moves up over surface features (see Figs. 4A-B). While this teaches a moving recoater blade, it does not do so in a way that teaches the claimed invention. Rotation is by pivoting and not a rotational drive, nor is there an arm that slides within a groove. [0045] and [0079] of Anthony (US 2023/0294358) teaches a doctor blade that may be raised and lowered by a variety of mechanisms. However, these teachings do not include Applicant’s rotating plate with a groove that an arm of the recoater blade can fit into. [0148] of Olubummo teaches a doctor blade, roller, or combination of both are recognized art equivalents for smoothing the top layer of a powder bed for additive manufacturing.
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744