DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments made to the current set of claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention resulting in a modification of the previous prior art rejection.
On pages 4-5 of the Remarks section, Applicant discusses the status of the IDS previously reviewed as well as the state of the claims, and also summarizes the amendments made to the claims. Next, on pages 5-6, Applicant discusses the previous claim objection, and 112(a) and (b) rejections made, as well as the amendments made to address these issues. In response, the Examiner has withdrawn them.
On pages 7-8, Applicant argues against the previous prior art rejection of independent Claim 1 involving the 103 combination of primary reference Polaschegg et al., (“Polaschegg”, US 4,552,552), and secondary reference Franchi et al., (“Franchi”, US 6,030,335). Applicant argues that Franchi does not disclose the currently amended claim limitation of “wherein the cylindrical section adopts the shape of a cross or star with at least 3 points when the pumping membrane is in an empty, minimum-volume rest state” because it is empty in an expanded volume state. The Examiner has withdrawn the use of Franchi as a result, but now uses newly found secondary reference Taga, (US 5,964,580), to disclose this limitation instead. The remainder of Applicant’s arguments against Franchi and its combination with primary reference Polaschegg is now considered moot.
Applicant’s arguments against the prior art rejections of dependent Claims 4 & 6 are either directed toward Franchi, which is no longer used, or directed towards alleged deficiencies of the references used in Claims 1 or 5 instead. Since the Examiner maintains the rejections of Claims 1 & 5 using the newly relied upon combination of primary reference Polaschegg and new secondary reference Taga, these remarks are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polaschegg et al., (“Polaschegg”, US 4,552,552), in view of Taga, (US 5,964,580).
Claims 1-3 are directed to a pumping membrane for artificial circulatory assistance, an apparatus type invention group.
Regarding Claims 1-3, Polaschegg discloses a pumping membrane, (See Abstract, and See column 7, lines 53-68, column 8, lines 1-57, Polaschegg), the pumping membrane comprising: a circular base provided with a securing tab, (Liner 66 with Rims secured into Grooves 54 of Plates 48, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 1, lines 47-48, column 7, lines 63-68, column 8, lines 1-10, Polaschegg); an upper end provided with an attachment tab, (Liner 66 with Rims secured into Grooves 50 of Plates 46, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 1, lines 47-48, column 7, lines 63-68, column 8, lines 1-10, Polaschegg); and a cylindrical section arranged between the circular base and the upper end of the pumping membrane, (Portion of Liner 66 between Rims secured into Grooves 50/54 of Plates 46/48, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 1, lines 47-48, column 7, lines 63-68, column 8, lines 1-10, Polaschegg), wherein the cylindrical section of the pumping membrane is formed of recesses and edges alternating from the upper end to an opposite end, (Liner 66 is recessed on either side and inherently has edges as it extends from top to bottom, See Figure 2 or 3), wherein the cylindrical section adopts the shape of a cross or star with at least 3 points when the pumping membrane is in a rest state, and wherein the cylindrical section of the pumping membrane adopts a circular shape when at a maximum volume capacity, (Liner 66, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 1, lines 47-48, column 7, lines 63-68, column 8, lines 1-10, Polaschegg; tubular shape is cylindrical which means a circular cross section).
Polaschegg does not disclose wherein the cylindrical section adopts the shape of a cross or star with at least 3 points when the pumping membrane is in an empty, minimum-volume rest state.
Taga discloses wherein the cylindrical section adopts the shape of a cross or star with at least 3 points when the pumping membrane is in an empty, minimum-volume rest state, (Figure 13, See column 9, lines 59-62, column 2, lines 14-22, Taga; hollow elastic member has at least 3 points when in minimum volume state and fluid is on outside, not inside of member).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the pumping membrane of Polaschegg by incorporating wherein the cylindrical section adopts the shape of a cross or star with at least 3 points when the pumping membrane is in a rest state as in Taga because it is “configured to disperse such stress to much more portions as a whole, and the life of the pump is proportionally longer” and “thus, localized fatigue regions are avoided”, (See column 7, lines 35-39, Taga).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The pumping membrane according to claim 1, wherein a diameter of the circular base is equal to a diameter of the upper end, (Portions of Liner 66 in Rims secured into Grooves 50/54 of Plates 46/48 are the same width, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 1, lines 47-48, column 7, lines 63-68, column 8, lines 1-10, Polaschegg).
Claim 3: The pumping membrane according to claim 1, wherein a perimeter of the circular base is equal to a perimeter of the upper end and is equal to a perimeter of the cylindrical section, (Liner 66, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 8, lines 11-18, Polaschegg; in the expanded form, the liner 66 expands to a width about the same width apart as the rims secured into grooves 50/54).
Regarding Claims 5 & 7, modified Polaschegg discloses an artificial circulatory assistance chamber comprising: the pumping membrane according to claim 1, (see rejection of Claim 1 above); a rigid cocoon having a cylindrical body, (Casing 68, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 4, lines 20-24, column 4, lines 49-55, Polaschegg), provided with inlet and outlet blood connectors positioned in series, (See column 7, lines 53-61, Polaschegg), and respective inlet and outlet one-way valves, (See Abstract, Polaschegg), wherein the pumping membrane is fitted inside the rigid cocoon in a fixed airtight manner, (See column 10, lines 20-30, Polaschegg), wherein the pumping membrane comprises an impermeable membrane that divides the interior of the rigid cocoon into two compartments, including one blood compartment and one external compressible compartment, (Ring Space 78, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 10, lines 62-68, column 11, lines 1-25, Polaschegg), the external compressible compartment being filled with gaseous volume injected or aspirated by an external device connected to an inlet by a connector, (Ring Space 78 joined to Port 80/Line 82, See Figure 2 or 3, See column 8, lines 18-31, See column 10, lines 62-68, column 11, lines 1-25, Polaschegg), wherein the gaseous volume in the external compressible compartment varies between two defined and alternating volumes to provide filling and emptying of the rigid cocoon at each cycle, (See column 3, lines 46-51, See column 4, lines 25-34, Polaschegg), wherein: a pressure variation between the blood compartment and the external compressible compartment, at respective sides of the impermeable membrane, (See column 5, lines 7-32, Polaschegg; Examiner interprets the disclosed movement to be “similar” to physiological blood flow), together with operation of the inlet and outlet one-way valves mounted in series produces pulsatile blood flow through the chamber and wherein the chamber is configured for use as a pumping device, (See column 6, lines 50-68; Examiner interprets the disclosed movement to be “similar” to physiological blood flow).
Claim 7: The chamber according to claim 5, wherein the rigid cocoon is made of transparent polycarbonate, (See column 10, lines 58-61, Polaschegg).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polaschegg et al., (“Polaschegg”, US 4,552,552), in view of Taga, (US 5,964,580), in further view of Demers et al., (“Demers”, US 2009/0099498).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Polaschegg discloses the pumping membrane according to claim 1, wherein the pumping membrane is made of flexible material, (See column 4, lines 51-56, Polaschegg or column 2, lines 14-18, Taga), but does not disclose it being also non-elastic material.
Demers discloses a membrane made of non-elastic material, (See paragraph [0300], Demers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the pumping membrane of modified Polaschegg by incorporating the membrane made of non-elastic material as in in order to “reduce or substantially eliminate the stress within the surface/membrane so that at equilibrium, the difference in pressure in the pump and…chambers is reduced or essentially eliminated,”, (See paragraph [0300], Demers).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polaschegg et al., (“Polaschegg”, US 4,552,552), in view of Taga, (US 5,964,580), in further view of Vargas Fonseca, (“Vargas”, US 2016/0208940; Examiner relies upon the earlier publication and date of WO 2015024081 from 02/26/2015).
Claim 6 is directed to an artificial circulatory assistance chamber, an apparatus or device type invention group.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Polaschegg discloses the chamber according to claim 5, but does not disclose wherein the one-way inlet valve and the one-way outlet valve are a cartwheel type.
Vargas discloses a device directed towards medicine and blood, (See paragraph [0002] & [0008], Vargas), wherein its valves are a cartwheel type, (See paragraph [0017], Vargas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the pump of modified Polaschegg by incorporating wherein the one-way inlet valve and the one-way outlet valve are a cartwheel type as in Vargas in order to provide “fully automatic and safe operation…with no risk of error in the required flow direction”, (See paragraph [0017], Vargas), while providing “reliability for characteristics such as…flow resistance”, (See paragraph [0012], Vargas), regarding blood, (See paragraph [0008] & [0010], Vargas).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779