DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Temporal Smoothness Filter With Percentile And Threshold Control To Reduce Frame Delay
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 2A-C, 3A-C, 4A-C, 5A-C, and 9 are too small in scale to clearly illustrate the inventive features including the images and graphs; see also the subscripts of Figs. 6-9 all of which are poor quality reproductions that do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics contrary to 37 CFR 1.84(l).
In addition, Fig. 6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated as per [0038] of the instant published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In general, the claims have been abstracted from the disclosure to such an extent that they have lost clear meaning. In other words, divorcing the claims of nearly all context such as to what the percentiles refer and to what an indirect input may mean results in the claims being highly indefinite and unclear.
In more detail, claim 1 recites “utilizing indirect input including percentiles to control one or more filter coefficients of the adaptive filter.” The term “indirect input” is unclear because it is not understood how indirect input may differ from direct input. Furthermore, it is not understood from the claim what is meant by this indirect input including “percentiles”. Moreover, to what does the “percentiles” refer; percentiles of what entity are being recited?
Claim 1 also recites “controlling, based on the percentiles at different percentages, at least two of the one or more filter coefficients together to synchronize smoothing for the image output”. What is meant by “percentiles at different percentages” and how does that relate to a filter control scheme based thereon? The term “synchronize smoothing” is also unclear as it is not specified what is being synchronized.
In further regards to claim 1, what is being filtered? No input is claimed—only the “image output” is recited without the filter having any clearly recited input.
Independent claim 8 and 15 are parallel to claim 1 and employ the same indefinite language outlined above.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 recite “wherein the adaptive filter is configured to adapt the one or more filter coefficients based on a frame feature difference to reduce frame delay” but there is no claimed entity that determines the “frame feature difference”. What are these frames and how do they relate to the unclaimed (see above) input image signal? What is the frame delay and how does it relate to anything else in the claim? These issues are compounded by a distinct lack of any input to the filter.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 recite “wherein the indirect input of percentiles to control the one or more filter coefficients avoids direct control of the one or more filter coefficients by at least one of a filter input or a filter output”. See rejection of claim 1 above re indirect control. It is also not understood what is meant by indirect input of percentiles and how such “indirect input” results in “avoiding” direct control.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 recite “wherein upon the frame feature difference exceeding a threshold, the IIR filter with a first coefficient value is used to reduce sudden changes in curve parameters”. Claims 6, 13, and 20 recite “wherein upon the frame feature difference being less than the threshold, the IIR filter with a second coefficient value is used to provide that the curve parameters change to reduce the frame delay”. Again, there is no claim element that determined a frame feature difference and it is unclear to what this frame feature difference may involve since, for example, no input is claimed. The ”curve parameters” are also wholly divorced from any context leaving their meaning wholly unclear. It is also unclear to recite properties of the IIR filter without having some element actually change or alter the IIR filter. The theme of failing to recite any input signal also continues in these claims by obtusely referring to the IIR being “used” in an unclear context of reducing sudden changes in unclear curve parameters of an unnamed signal having no clear relation to anything in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nadernejad {E. Nadernejad, C. Mantel, N. Burini and S. Forchhammer, "Flicker reduction in LED-LCDs with local backlight," 2013 IEEE 15th International Workshop on Multimedia Signal Processing (MMSP), Pula, Italy, 2013, pp. 312-316, doi: 10.1109/MMSP.2013.6659307}.
Claim 1
In regards to claim 1, Nadernejad discloses a computer implemented method {see section III Experiments in which the algorithm was implemented on a computer using software to assess the performance in the method on 8 Full-HD video sequences with Fig. 5 illustrating the results thereof} comprising:
applying an adaptive filter in a conversion function that provides temporal smoothness for image output {See Section II Flicker Reduction Using IIR Filter that reduces flicker artifacts by temporally smoothing the change in the backlight image};
utilizing indirect input including percentiles to control one or more filter coefficients of the adaptive filter {Section II including equations 2-4 while noting that maximum and average values are percentiles and are used to control/affect the filter coefficients}; and
controlling, based on the percentiles at different percentages, at least two of the one or more filter coefficients together to synchronize smoothing for the image output {Section II including equations 2-4 that control, based on the percentiles (max, avg) at different percentages including thresholds TH1 and TH2 that are used to shape the transfer function (1) of the IIR filter such that based on the difference between max and avg (equation 4) and the thresholds TH1, TH2 the filter coefficients (e.g. b0, b1, a1, a2.) are controlled to “synchronize” the temporal smoothing with the video frames. As best as can be determined (see 112b rejection), synchronize may refer to temporal filtering that is aligned/synchronized with the vide frames to prevent screen flicker}.
Claim 2
In regards to claim 2, Nadernejad discloses wherein the adaptive filter is configured to adapt the one or more filter coefficients based on a frame feature difference to reduce frame delay {see section II also discussing reducing backlight lag (frame delay) along with reducing flicker using the adaptive temporal IIR filter}.
Claim 3
In regards to claim 3, Nadernejad discloses wherein the indirect input of percentiles to control the one or more filter coefficients avoids direct control of the one or more filter coefficients by at least one of a filter input or a filter output {as best as can be determined based on the unclear language (see 112(b) rejection), see section II including IIR filter control by the same type of percentiles as broadly and indefinitely recited}.
Claim 4
In regards to claim 4, Nadernejad discloses wherein the adaptive filter comprises an infinite impulse response (IIR) filter {section II clearly discloses an IIR filter}.
Claims 5-7
Nadernejad discloses (claim 5) wherein upon the frame feature difference exceeding a threshold, the IIR filter with a first coefficient value is used to reduce sudden changes in curve parameters, (claim 6) wherein upon the frame feature difference being less than the threshold, the IIR filter with a second coefficient value is used to provide that the curve parameters change to reduce the frame delay, and (claim 7) wherein the first coefficient value is less than the second coefficient value, the image output comprises video frames provided to a display device.
{see Section II including equations 2-4 that control, based on the percentiles (max, avg) at different percentages including thresholds TH1 and TH2 that are used to shape the transfer function (1) of the IIR filter such that based on the difference between max and avg (equation 4) and the thresholds TH1, TH2 the filter coefficients (e.g. b0, b1, a1, a2.) are controlled to “synchronize” the temporal smoothing with the video frames. Further as to claims 5 and 6, filter parameters b0 and b1 correspond to the first and second coefficients that values of which are used to reduce sudden changes in curve parameters (smoothing to reduce flicker) and reduce frame delay depending upon their respective values in comparison with the thresholds TH1 and TH2. Further as to claim 7, the first coefficient value may be less than the second coefficient value depending upon the frame difference and thresholds TH1 and TH2 while noting that the output of the temporally filtered backlight luminance image is used to drive an edge-lit display device displaying processed video frames as per Section III Experiments}.
Claims 8-14; and 15-20
The rejection of method claims 1-7; 1-5, and 6+7 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of non-transitory processor readable medium claims 8-14 and apparatus claims 15-20, respectively while noting that the rejection above cites to both device and method disclosures. For the high level memory/processor limitations of claims 15-20 and computer readable storage medium storing program limitations of claims 8-14 see section III Experiments in which the algorithm was implemented on a computer (with processor) using processor-readable software to assess the performance in the method on 8 Full-HD video sequences with Fig. 5 illustrating the results thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kiser {Kiser, Chris, et al. "Real time automated tone mapping system for HDR video." IEEE International Conference on Image Processing. Vol. 134. IEEE Orlando, 2012} discloses an IIR filter with percentiles (Lmax, Lav and Lmin). Equation 1a is an exponential decay of IIR filter expressed in equations 3a-c to reduce flicker by temporally smoothing video frames. See section 3.2 copied below.
.
/MICHAEL ROBERT CAMMARATA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667