DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed August 29, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Claims 21-22 are new.
Claims 1-22 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12, 17-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 2022/0299628 A1) in view of Nakata et al (US 2019/0159960 B1) and Harma et al (IEEE, 2007).
Regarding Claim 1, Chang teaches a frequency modulated continuous wave FMCW radar with an identity recognition function, comprising [0017 for frequency modulated continuous wave radar element 10]:
a processing module, configured to demodulate a radar echo corresponding to a radar signal to generate a digital signal [0017, and 0026 for after demodulation passes through a low pass filter to filter out radio frequency signal];
and an operation module, coupled to the processing module and configured to [0026 for arithmetic processing unit]:
wherein performing the first calculation comprises [0030 for range FFT]:
applying a range fast Fourier transform (FFT) process to the digital signal to obtain a plurality of peak frequencies [0030 and 0032 for phase frequency peak of the vertical axis of the matrix M3 after Doppler fast Fourier transform is the identity frequency];
converting the peak frequencies into a plurality of delay times based on a linear frequency-modulated (LFM) slope [0018 for chirp signal TX increases linearly over time along a modulation slope S].
Chang fails to explicitly teach divide the digital signal into a first part and a second part based on a time separation point or a frequency separation point, wherein the first part is after the time separation point or after the frequency separation point, and the second part is before the time separation point or before the frequency separation point; perform a first calculation on the first part to obtain an identity code; and perform a second calculation on the second part to obtain vital sign information.
Nakata has a non-contact physiological motion sensor and a monitor device that can incorporate use of the Doppler effect (abstract) and teaches divide the digital signal into a first part and a second part based on a time separation point or a frequency separation point [0371 for detection of the sidebands generated by the tag and for the baseband Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion],
wherein the first part is after the time separation point or after the frequency separation point, and the second part is before the time separation point or before the frequency separation point [0369 for data acquisition sampling rate can advantageously be greater than twice the sideband frequency range (in some embodiments, 20 kHz];
perform a first calculation on the first part to obtain an identity code [0369 for demodulated and converted to binary identification numbers];
and perform a second calculation on the second part to obtain vital sign information [0371 for to detect both the ID information appearing in the sidebands, and the Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the identification code calculations as taught by Nakata for the purpose of conveying a unique identifier of a patient on carrier signal (Nakata, 0369).
Chang fails to explicitly teach and calculating the identity code based on the delay times.
Harma has Surface acoustic wave radio-frequency identification tags (page 1239, abstract) and teaches and calculating the identity code based on the delay times [page 1239, left column, 3rd paragraph for determine the time delays of the reflective echoes and thus the time-delay-based code carried by the response signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the delay calculations as taught by Harma for the purpose of reducing the signal loss as this is related to the increase of the tag read range (Harma, page 1239, left column, 4th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 11, Chang teaches a method for decoding an identity code from a radar echo, performed by an operation device, and comprising [0017 for frequency modulated continuous wave radar element 10]:
obtaining a digital signal [0017, and 0026 for after demodulation passes through a low pass filter to filter out radio frequency signal];
wherein performing the first calculation comprises [0030]:
applying a range FFT process to the digital signal to obtain a plurality of peak frequencies [0030 and 0032 for phase frequency peak of the vertical axis of the matrix M3 after Doppler fast Fourier transform is the identity frequency];
converting the peak frequencies into a plurality of delay times based on an LFM slope [0018 for chirp signal TX increases linearly over time along a modulation slope S].
Chang fails to explicitly teach dividing the digital signal into a first part and a second part based on a time separation point or a frequency separation point, wherein the first part is after the time separation point or after the frequency separation point, and the second part is before the time separation point or before the frequency separation point; performing a first calculation on the first part to obtain an identity code; and performing a second calculation on the second part to obtain vital sign information.
Nakata has a non-contact physiological motion sensor and a monitor device that can incorporate use of the Doppler effect (abstract) and teaches divide the digital signal into a first part and a second part based on a time separation point or a frequency separation point [0371 for detection of the sidebands generated by the tag and for the baseband Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion],
wherein the first part is after the time separation point or after the frequency separation point, and the second part is before the time separation point or before the frequency separation point [0369 for data acquisition sampling rate can advantageously be greater than twice the sideband frequency range (in some embodiments, 20 kHz];
perform a first calculation on the first part to obtain an identity code [0369 for demodulated and converted to binary identification numbers];
and perform a second calculation on the second part to obtain vital sign information [0371 for to detect both the ID information appearing in the sidebands, and the Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the identification code calculations as taught by Nakata for the purpose of conveying a unique identifier of a patient on carrier signal (Nakata, 0369).
Chang fails to explicitly teach and calculating the identity code based on the delay times.
Harma has Surface acoustic wave radio-frequency identification tags (page 1239, abstract) and teaches and calculating the identity code based on the delay times [page 1239, left column, 3rd paragraph for determine the time delays of the reflective echoes and thus the time-delay-based code carried by the response signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the delay calculations as taught by Harma for the purpose of reducing the signal loss as this is related to the increase of the tag read range (Harma, page 1239, left column, 4th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2 and 12, Chang fails to explicitly teach the delay times comprise a first reference time, a second reference time, and a plurality of mark times, a first difference exists between each of the mark times and the first reference time, a second difference exists between the first reference time and the second reference time, and the identity code is calculated based on a ratio of each of the first differences to the second difference.
Harma has Surface acoustic wave radio-frequency identification tags (page 1239, abstract) and teaches the delay times comprise a first reference time, a second reference time, and a plurality of mark times [page 1239, figure 1 for start and end reflectors for calibration],
a first difference exists between each of the mark times and the first reference time, a second difference exists between the first reference time and the second reference time [page 1239, left column, 3rd paragraph for physical positions of the code reflectors on the chip surface determine the time delays of the reflective echoes and thus the time-delay-based code],
and the identity code is calculated based on a ratio of each of the first differences to the second difference [page 1240, right column, 2nd paragraph for Start’ and ’End’ calibration reflections, then dividing this time span into an appropriate number of slots and groups].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the delay calculations as taught by Harma for the purpose of reducing the signal loss as this is related to the increase of the tag read range (Harma, page 1239, left column, 4th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 6 and 17, Chang teaches applying a range FFT process to the digital signal comprises [0030]:
applying the range FFT process to the first part of the digital signal to obtain a conversion result [0030-0032];
and obtaining the peak frequencies from the first sideband signal [0030 and 0032 for phase frequency peak of the vertical axis of the matrix M3 after Doppler fast Fourier transform is the identity frequency].
Chang fails to explicitly teach selecting the conversion result as a first sideband signal based on the frequency separation point.
Nakata has a non-contact physiological motion sensor and a monitor device that can incorporate use of the Doppler effect (abstract) and teaches selecting the conversion result as a first sideband signal based on the frequency separation point [0371 for to detect both the ID information appearing in the sidebands, and the Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the identification code calculations as taught by Nakata for the purpose of conveying a unique identifier of a patient on carrier signal (Nakata, 0369).
Regarding Claim 7 and 18, Chang teaches the operation module is further configured to [0030]:
and apply a Doppler FFT process to the second sideband signal to obtain the vital sign information [0033 for phase frequency peak at lower adjacent position(s) is the frequency/frequencies of the vital sign such as the breathing, and/or the heartbeat of the test subject].
Chang fails to explicitly teach select the second part of the conversion result as a second sideband signal based on the frequency separation point.
Nakata has a non-contact physiological motion sensor and a monitor device that can incorporate use of the Doppler effect (abstract) and teaches select the second part of the conversion result as a second sideband signal based on the frequency separation point [0371 for to detect both the ID information appearing in the sidebands, and the Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the identification code calculations as taught by Nakata for the purpose of conveying a unique identifier of a patient on carrier signal (Nakata, 0369).
Regarding Claim 21, Chang teaches a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar with an identity recognition function, comprising [0017 for frequency modulated continuous wave radar element 10]:
a processing module, configured to demodulate a radar echo corresponding to a radar signal to generate a digital signal expressed as a first matrix [0026 for after demodulation passes through a low pass filter to filter out radio frequency signal with 0029 for intermediate frequency signal IF′ in digital format as/into a matrix],
wherein a vertical-axis index value of the first matrix corresponds to an order of chirp signals, and a horizontal-axis index value of the first matrix corresponds to a cycle time of the chirp signals [0029-0030 for using two matrixes element M1 and M2 with a vertical part and a horizontal part with sampling points];
and an operation module, coupled to the processing module and configured to [0026 for arithmetic unit]:
apply a range fast Fourier transform (FFT) process to the first matrix to obtain a second matrix, wherein the range FFT process comprises performing FFT on each row of the first matrix to generate the second matrix [0030 for FFT for each row using intermediate frequency],
wherein a vertical-axis index value of the second matrix corresponds to an order of the chirp signals [0030 for vertical axis for chirp order];
convert the peak frequencies into a plurality of delay times based on a linear frequency-modulated (LFM) slope [0018 for chirp signal TX increases linearly over time along a modulation slope S];
select the second sideband signal and apply a Doppler FFT process thereto to obtain a third matrix corresponding to the lower-side of the frequency separation point [0031 for phase frequency distribution of phase change],
wherein columns of the third matrix are phase frequency domain signals, and a vertical- axis index value of the third matrix corresponds to speed information [0031 for o create/obtain a matrix M3 having phase change information of the intermediate frequency signal];
and identify each peak in the third matrix, and calculate vital sign information based on speed information corresponding to each peak [0031 for vital signs of breathing and heartbeat].
Chang fails to explicitly teach divide the second matrix into a first sideband signal and a second sideband signal based on a frequency separation point, wherein the frequency separation point is on a horizontal-axis of the second matrix, the first sideband signal is on a higher-side of the frequency separation point, and the second sideband signal is on a lower-side of the frequency separation point; select the first sideband signal and obtain peak frequencies from the first sideband signal.
Nakata has a non-contact physiological motion sensor and a monitor device that can incorporate use of the Doppler effect (abstract) and teaches divide the second matrix into a first sideband signal and a second sideband signal based on a frequency separation point [0371 for detection of the sidebands generated by the tag and for the baseband Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion],
wherein the frequency separation point is on a horizontal-axis of the second matrix, the first sideband signal is on a higher-side of the frequency separation point [0369 for data acquisition sampling rate can advantageously be greater than twice the sideband frequency range (in some embodiments, 20 kHz];
and the second sideband signal is on a lower-side of the frequency separation point [0371 for to detect both the ID information appearing in the sidebands, and the Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion and 0372]
select the first sideband signal and obtain peak frequencies from the first sideband signal [0369 for signal is received and down converted, there can be a baseband Doppler signal at or around the cardiopulmonary signal frequency].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the identification code calculations as taught by Nakata for the purpose of conveying a unique identifier of a patient on carrier signal (Nakata, 0369).
Chang fails to explicitly teach calculate an identity code based on the delay times.
Harma has surface acoustic wave radio-frequency identification tags (page 1239, abstract) and teaches calculate an identity code based on the delay times [page 1239, left column, 3rd paragraph for determine the time delays of the reflective echoes and thus the time-delay-based code carried by the response signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the delay calculations as taught by Harma for the purpose of reducing the signal loss as this is related to the increase of the tag read range (Harma, page 1239, left column, 4th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 22, Chang teaches a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar with an identity recognition function, comprising [0017 for frequency modulated continuous wave radar element 10]:
a processing module, configured to demodulate a radar echo corresponding to a radar signal to generate a digital signal expressed as a first matrix [0026 for after demodulation passes through a low pass filter to filter out radio frequency signal with 0029 for intermediate frequency signal IF′ in digital format as/into a matrix],
wherein a vertical-axis index value of the first matrix corresponds to an order of chirp signals, and a horizontal-axis index value of the first matrix corresponds to a cycle time of the chirp signals [0029-0030 for using two matrixes element M1 and M2 with a vertical part and a horizontal part with sampling points];
and an operation module, coupled to the processing module and configured to [0026 for arithmetic unit]:
obtain peak frequencies from the first sideband signal and convert the peak frequencies into a plurality of delay times based on a linear frequency-modulated (LFM) slope [0018 for chirp signal TX increases linearly over time along a modulation slope S];
select the second side signal and apply the range FFT thereto to obtain a second matrix corresponding to the lower-side of the time separation point [0031 for phase frequency distribution of phase change];
apply a Doppler FFT process to the second matrix to obtain a third matrix corresponding to the lower-side of the time separation point, wherein columns of the third matrix are phase frequency domain signals, and a vertical-axis index value of the third matrix corresponds to speed information [0031 for o create/obtain a matrix M3 having phase change information of the intermediate frequency signal];
and identify each peak in the third matrix, and calculate vital sign information based on speed information corresponding to each peak [0031 for vital signs of breathing and heartbeat].
Chang fails to explicitly teach divide the first matrix into a first side signal and a second side signal based on a time separation point, wherein the time separation point is on a horizontal-axis of the first matrix, the first side signal is on a higher-side of the time separation point, and the second side signal is on a lower-side of the time separation point; select the first side signal and apply a range fast Fourier transform (FFT) process thereto to obtain a first sideband signal.
Nakata has a non-contact physiological motion sensor and a monitor device that can incorporate use of the Doppler effect (abstract) and teaches divide the second matrix into a first sideband signal and a second sideband signal based on a frequency separation point [0371 for detection of the sidebands generated by the tag and for the baseband Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion],
wherein the frequency separation point is on a horizontal-axis of the second matrix, the first sideband signal is on a higher-side of the frequency separation point [0369 for data acquisition sampling rate can advantageously be greater than twice the sideband frequency range (in some embodiments, 20 kHz];
and the second sideband signal is on a lower-side of the frequency separation point [0371 for to detect both the ID information appearing in the sidebands, and the Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion and 0372]
select the first sideband signal and obtain peak frequencies from the first sideband signal [0369 for signal is received and down converted, there can be a baseband Doppler signal at or around the cardiopulmonary signal frequency].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the identification code calculations as taught by Nakata for the purpose of conveying a unique identifier of a patient on carrier signal (Nakata, 0369).
Chang fails to explicitly teach calculate an identity code based on the delay times.
Harma has Surface acoustic wave radio-frequency identification tags (page 1239, abstract) and teaches calculate an identity code based on the delay times [page 1239, left column, 3rd paragraph for determine the time delays of the reflective echoes and thus the time-delay-based code carried by the response signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the delay calculations as taught by Harma for the purpose of reducing the signal loss as this is related to the increase of the tag read range (Harma, page 1239, left column, 4th paragraph).
Claims 3-5, 8-10, 13-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 2022/0299628 A1) in view of Nakata et al (US 2019/0159960 B1) and Harma et al (IEEE, 2007) as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Hines et al (US 2013/0181573 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Chang fails to explicitly teach the operation module is further configured to determine sensing information based on the second difference.
Hines has surface-launched acoustic wave sensor tag system (abstract) and teaches the operation module is further configured to determine sensing information based on the second difference [0006 for differential delay times provided by sensor measurement and Fourier transform].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Hines for the purpose of using absolute or differential measurements of sensor frequency, phase, delay, amplitude, or power spectral density (Hines, 0006).
Regarding Claim 4 and 15, Chang teaches applying a range FFT process to the digital signal comprises [0030 for Doppler FFT];
applying the range FFT process to the first side signal to obtain a first sideband signal [0030 and 0032 for phase frequency peak of the vertical axis of the matrix M3 after Doppler fast Fourier transform is the identity frequency];
and obtaining the peak frequencies from the first sideband signal [0031-0032].
Chang fails to explicitly teach selecting the first part of the digital signal as a first side signal based on a time separation point.
Hines has surface-launched acoustic wave sensor tag system (abstract) and teaches selecting the first part of the digital signal as a first side signal based on a time separation point [0054 for received composite response signal from the set of sensors can be digitized, and then digitally “windowed” in time to compare the responses occurring in selected time slots].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Hines for the purpose to compare the responses occurring in selected time slots (Hines, 0054).
Regarding Claim 5 and 16, Chang teaches the operation module is further configured to [0030]:
and apply the range FFT process and a Doppler FFT process to the second side signal to obtain the vital sign information [0030-0031 for Doppler FFTs and breathing/heart beats].
Chang fails to explicitly teach select the second part of the digital signal as a second side signal based on the time separation point.
Hines has surface-launched acoustic wave sensor tag system (abstract) and teaches select the second part of the digital signal as a second side signal based on the time separation point [0054 for received composite response signal from the set of sensors can be digitized, and then digitally “windowed” in time to compare the responses occurring in selected time slots].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Hines for the purpose to compare the responses occurring in selected time slots (Hines, 0054).
Regarding Claim 8 and 19, Chang fails to explicitly teach the radar signal has different LFM parameters in a first time slot and a second time slot.
Hines has surface-launched acoustic wave sensor tag system (abstract) and teaches the radar signal has different LFM parameters in a first time slot and a second time slot [claim 7 for at least two chirp slopes, along with frequency diversity and time diversity for individual device identification].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Hines for the purpose of using absolute or differential measurements of sensor frequency, phase, delay, amplitude, or power spectral density (Hines, 0006).
Regarding Claim 9 and 20, Chang fails to explicitly teach the first part of the digital signal corresponds to the first time slot, and the second part of the digital signal corresponds to the second time slot.
Hines has surface-launched acoustic wave sensor tag system (abstract) and teaches the first part of the digital signal corresponds to the first time slot, and the second part of the digital signal corresponds to the second time slot [0055 for data post-processing enables extraction of the identification and 0056 for time frequency diversity].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Hines for the purpose to compare the responses occurring in selected time slots (Hines, 0054).
Regarding Claim 10, Chang teaches a signal generator, configured to generate an LFM radar signal [0018 for chirp signal TX increases linearly over time along a modulation slope S];
a transmission module, coupled to the signal generator and configured to transmit the radar signal to a sensor [0017 for generating a transmit chirp];
and a receiving module, coupled to the transmission module and configured to receive the radar echo corresponding to the radar signal from the sensor [0017 for reflection signal to the receive antenna,
Chang fails to explicitly teach wherein the sensor is a surface acoustic wave (SAW) sensor.
Hines has surface-launched acoustic wave sensor tag system (abstract) and teaches the first part of the digital signal corresponds to the first time slot, and the second part of the digital signal corresponds to the second time slot [0006].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Hines for the purpose of using absolute or differential measurements of sensor frequency, phase, delay, amplitude, or power spectral density (Hines, 0006).
Regarding Claim 13 Chang fails to explicitly teach determining sensing information of a sensor based on the second difference, wherein the radar echo comes from the sensor.
Hines has surface-launched acoustic wave sensor tag system (abstract) and teaches determining sensing information of a sensor based on the second difference, wherein the radar echo comes from the sensor [0004 for interrogator to wirelessly query the sensor/tag devices and receive and interpret the device responses and 0006].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Hines for the purpose of using absolute or differential measurements of sensor frequency, phase, delay, amplitude, or power spectral density (Hines, 0006).
Regarding Claim 14, Chang teaches the digital signal is generated by a FMCW radar through demodulation after receiving the radar echo [0030-0032],
the radar echo corresponds to an LFM radar signal [0018 for chirp signal TX increases linearly over time along a modulation slope S].
Chang fails to explicitly teach and the sensor is a SAW sensor.
Hines has surface-launched acoustic wave sensor tag system (abstract) and teaches the first part of the digital signal corresponds to the first time slot, and the second part of the digital signal corresponds to the second time slot [0006].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the identity techniques, as disclosed by Chang, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Hines for the purpose of using absolute or differential measurements of sensor frequency, phase, delay, amplitude, or power spectral density (Hines, 0006).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In applicant’s arguments page 14, third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that claims 1 and 11 are amended to add time and frequency separation point limitations. The examiner thanks the applicant for the claim amendments, new reference Nakata teaches detected by the reader if the subject changes position. In some embodiments, multiple tags can be used to provide signal diversity [Nakata, 0369].
In applicant’s arguments page 17, second paragraph the applicant states that Chang does not divide any of the arrays A1-A3 nor perform different calculations on the divided parts. The examiner thanks the applicant for the claim amendments, new reference Nakata teaches detection of the sidebands generated by the tag and for the baseband Doppler shift generated by the subject's physiological motion [Nakata, 0370].
In applicant’s arguments page 18, first paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that the Ianelli does not teach the amended claims. The examiner thanks the applicant for the claim amendments, Ianelli is no longer used in this office action.
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648