DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (“the intermediate management device 2 does not operate as a claimed slave battery management system”, page 8 of remarks; “terminal management device 4 lacks a configuration of the first slave battery management system”, and “intermediate management device 2 cannot be a slave battery management system of claim 1”, page 9 of remarks), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument on page 10 of the remarks that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation of reducing space is relevant to the application of the battery pack in electric vehicles as disclosed in paragraph 0008 of primary reference TERADA. Furthermore, the motivation may include increasing battery capacity by adding a corresponding battery module via a first slave battery management system; and/or reducing the number of separate housings, brackets, or wiring harnesses required within the battery pack by incorporating the first slave battery management system with an existing battery module. Applicant has not specifically commented on or argued against the other plausible motivations mentioned in the rejection. Applicant’s assertion that removing intermediate management device 2 of TERADA is “a more complex replacement” does not appear to have support in the references, and does not directly address the arguments with respect to motivation to combine the references.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitation “each slave battery management system of the plurality of slave battery management systems comprises:…a first communicator” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the amended recitations “each slave battery management system of the plurality of slave battery management systems comprises:…a first communicator, wherein a first slave battery management system among the plurality of slave battery management systems further comprises: the first communicator” are not described in the specification. The “first communicators” are described in the specification in paragraphs 0072-0073 shown below.
[0072]The slave battery management system 108 includes a first communication unit 302, a second communication unit 304, a communication control unit 306, a control unit 308, and a battery management unit 310.
[0073]A signal is received from the plurality of slave battery management systems 100 to 106 arranged in the metal housing of the battery pack 10 via the first communication unit 302.
The slave battery management systems are shown in Figure 2 as element numbers 100, 102, 104, 106, and 108, with element 108 being the “first slave battery management system”. The drawings and specification do not explicitly disclose each of the slave battery management systems 100, 102, 104, and 106 including “a first communicator” or a communication unit, but it is implied in order for the slave battery management systems 100, 102, 104, and 106 to communicate with first slave battery management system 108. First slave battery management system 108 is shown in Figure 3, with the claimed “first communicator” of first slave battery management system 108 corresponding to first communication unit 302. The specification does not disclose the “first communicator” of each of the slave battery management systems (100, 102, 104, and 106) is the same as the “first communicator” of the first slave battery management (108). Therefore, the amended recitations constitute new matter.
Claims 2-12 and 20 are dependent from claim 1 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1.
Claim 13 includes amended recitations similar to those of claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1.
Claims 14-19 are dependent from claim 13 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 13.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, the claim refers to the “first slave battery management system” of claim 1, but it is not clear if it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 1, and as such the scope of claim 20 is not clear.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 refers to the “first slave battery management system” of claim 1, but it does not appear to include all the limitations of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TERADA (JP2016012954A; cited in previous office action; English machine translation was included with previous office action) in view of LEE (US PG Pub 2020/0119564; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, TERADA discloses a battery pack (1, Figs. 1 & 2), comprising:
a plurality of battery modules (3, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0028: battery subsystem 1 includes an intermediate management device 2 and a plurality of battery modules 3) disposed within a housing of the battery pack (¶ 0030: each battery subsystem 1 is housed in a separate metal housing. In the example shown in FIG. 2, each battery subsystem 1 is composed of a row of metal racks. That is, a row of metal racks stores a plurality of battery modules 3 installed on each level, and a common intermediate management device 2 for the plurality of battery modules 3; ¶ 0031: integrated management device 22 is disposed outside the plurality of subsystems 1, each of which is covered with a metal housing); and
a plurality of slave battery management systems (4, Figs. 1 & 2) configured to manage the plurality of battery modules, respectively (¶ 0028: battery subsystem 1 includes an intermediate management device 2 and a plurality of battery modules 3. Here, since the plurality of battery modules 3 have the same configuration, only one battery module 3 is shown… The battery module 3 includes a terminal management device 4; ¶ 0032: the terminal management device 4 includes a battery cell monitoring control unit 6 , a control unit 7 , a wireless communication unit 8 , an antenna 9 , a timer 10 , and a recording unit 11; ¶ 0034: wireless communication unit 8 communicates wirelessly with the common middle management device 2 in the battery subsystem 1 via an antenna 9. The wireless communication here includes receiving a measurement instruction signal S1 for the battery cell 5 sent from the intermediate management device 2 to the battery module 3, and transmitting a measurement result signal S2 for the battery cell 5 sent from the battery module 3 to the intermediate management device 2),
wherein each slave battery management system of the plurality of slave battery management systems comprises:
a battery management unit (6/7, Fig. 1) configured to manage the respective battery module among the plurality of battery modules (¶ 0036: control unit 7 controls the battery cell monitoring control unit 6 to measure each battery cell 5 in accordance with the above-mentioned information contained in the received measurement instruction signal S1. Here, the timing of measuring each battery cell 5 is managed by the control unit 7 using the measurement timing information included in the measurement instruction signal S1); and
a first communicator (8, Fig. 1; ¶ 0032: the terminal management device 4 includes a battery cell monitoring control unit 6 , a control unit 7 , a wireless communication unit 8; ¶ 0034: wireless communication unit 8 communicates wirelessly with the common middle management device 2 in the battery subsystem 1 via an antenna 9);
wherein [an intermediate management device] (2, Figs. 1 & 2) comprises:
the first communicator (13/14, Fig. 1; ¶ 0038: middle-class management device 2 includes a control unit 12 , a wireless communication unit 13 , an antenna 14) configured to wirelessly receive communication from the plurality of slave battery management systems other than the first slave battery management system (¶ 0034: transmitting a measurement result signal S2 for the battery cell 5 sent from the battery module 3 to the intermediate management device 2), and to transmit communication to the plurality of slave battery management systems other than the first slave battery management system (¶ 0034: receiving a measurement instruction signal S1 for the battery cell 5 sent from the intermediate management device 2 to the battery module 3);
a second communicator (17, Fig. 1) configured to transmit/receive communication from a master battery management system (22, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0040: communication unit 17 communicates with the overall management device 22, receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 which is an instruction regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5, and transmits a communication measurement result signal S4 which is the result regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5. That is, the communication unit 17 transmits and receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 and a communication measurement result signal S4 to and from the central management device 22. Here, the communication measurement instruction signal S3 includes information on the measurement content and measurement timing of each battery cell 5 within the battery subsystem 1, as well as information on the wireless communication timing within the battery subsystem 1 and the frequency channel to be used for wireless communication. The communication measurement result signal S4 also includes information on the communication quality within the battery subsystem 1 and the measurement results of each battery cell 5); and
a controller (part of 12, Fig. 1) configured to control the first communicator and the second communicator (¶ 0038: control unit 12 manages the status of all battery cells 5 included in the same battery subsystem 1 as the intermediate management device 2, and the communication quality with all terminal management devices 4 (battery modules 3) included in the same battery subsystem 1; ¶ 0040: communication unit 17 communicates with the overall management device 22, receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 which is an instruction regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5, and transmits a communication measurement result signal S4 which is the result regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5. That is, the communication unit 17 transmits and receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 and a communication measurement result signal S4 to and from the central management device 22).
TERADA fails to disclose the [intermediate management device] is a first slave battery management system among the plurality of slave battery management systems.
LEE discloses the [intermediate management device] is a first slave battery management system (121, Fig. 1) among the plurality of slave battery management systems (comprising 121, 123, 125, Fig. 1; ¶ 0041: Each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 is a slave BMS device to manage a corresponding battery cell. For example, each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 senses a corresponding battery cell in response to a request from the master device 110 and transfers sensing data to the master device 110. Each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 is connected to the corresponding battery cell to sense the corresponding battery cell and generate sensing data. The sensing data includes, for example, any one or any combination of any two or more of voltage data, current data, and temperature data, as non-limiting examples; ¶ 0044: Among the plurality of slave devices, the slave devices 121, 131, and 141 are, for example, head slave devices. The head slave devices 121, 131, and 141 may be disposed closest to the master device 110 to directly communicate with the master device 110; ¶ 0049: head slave device 121 transfers the sensing data received from the slave device 123 to the master device 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the [intermediate management device] as a first slave battery management system as disclosed in LEE into the battery pack of TERADA to produce an expected result of a battery pack including the [intermediate management device] being a first slave battery management system. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase battery capacity by adding a corresponding battery module via a first slave battery management system; and/or reduce space and/or reduce the number of separate housings, brackets, or wiring harnesses required within the battery pack by incorporating the first slave battery management system with an existing battery module.
Regarding claim 2, TERADA as modified by LEE teaches the first communicator of the first slave battery management system is configured to transmit the communication received from the master battery management system to the other slave battery management systems (TERADA, ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 3, TERADA discloses the controller is configured to select a channel by frequency hopping for wirelessly communicating with the other slave battery management systems (¶ 0091-0093).
Regarding claim 4, TERADA as modified by LEE teaches the first communicator of the first slave battery management system is configured to communicate with the other slave battery management systems through the selected channel (TERADA, ¶ 0063, 0091-0093).
Regarding claim 5, TERADA discloses the second communicator is configured to transmit the wireless communication received from the other slave battery management systems to the master battery management system (¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 6, TERADA discloses the master battery management system disposed outside the housing (¶ 0031).
Regarding claim 7, TERADA discloses the other slave battery management systems are disposed within the housing (¶ 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 8, TERADA discloses the second communicator is configured to communicate with the master battery management system through a single channel or a channel selected by frequency hopping (¶ 0063).
Regarding claim 9, TERADA as modified by LEE teaches the battery management unit is configured to measure a battery state of the respective battery module among the plurality of battery modules (TERADA, ¶ 0036); the first communicator of the first slave battery management system is configured to wirelessly receive battery states of the other battery modules; and the second communicator is configured to transmit the battery states of the other plurality of battery modules and the measured battery state of the respective battery module to the master battery management system (TERADA, ¶ 0038-0041).
Regarding claim 10, TERADA discloses at least a portion of the first slave battery management system is disposed within the housing (¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 12, TERADA discloses the housing comprises a metal (¶ 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 13, TERADA discloses a battery pack (1, Figs. 1 & 2), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (5, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0028: battery subsystem 1 includes an intermediate management device 2 and a plurality of battery modules 3. Here, since the plurality of battery modules 3 have the same configuration, only one battery module 3 is shown…The battery module 3 includes a terminal management device 4 and a plurality of battery cells 5) disposed within a housing of the battery pack (¶ 0030: each battery subsystem 1 is housed in a separate metal housing. In the example shown in FIG. 2, each battery subsystem 1 is composed of a row of metal racks. That is, a row of metal racks stores a plurality of battery modules 3 installed on each level, and a common intermediate management device 2 for the plurality of battery modules 3; ¶ 0031: integrated management device 22 is disposed outside the plurality of subsystems 1, each of which is covered with a metal housing); and
a plurality of slave battery management systems (4, Figs. 1 & 2) configured to manage the plurality of battery cells, respectively (¶ 0028: battery subsystem 1 includes an intermediate management device 2 and a plurality of battery modules 3. Here, since the plurality of battery modules 3 have the same configuration, only one battery module 3 is shown… The battery module 3 includes a terminal management device 4; ¶ 0032: the terminal management device 4 includes a battery cell monitoring control unit 6, a control unit 7, a wireless communication unit 8, an antenna 9, a timer 10, and a recording unit 11; ¶ 0034: wireless communication unit 8 communicates wirelessly with the common middle management device 2 in the battery subsystem 1 via an antenna 9. The wireless communication here includes receiving a measurement instruction signal S1 for the battery cell 5 sent from the intermediate management device 2 to the battery module 3, and transmitting a measurement result signal S2 for the battery cell 5 sent from the battery module 3 to the intermediate management device 2),
wherein each slave battery management system of the plurality of slave battery management systems comprises:
a battery management unit (6/7, Fig. 1) configured to manage the respective battery cells among the plurality of battery cells (¶ 0036: control unit 7 controls the battery cell monitoring control unit 6 to measure each battery cell 5 in accordance with the above-mentioned information contained in the received measurement instruction signal S1. Here, the timing of measuring each battery cell 5 is managed by the control unit 7 using the measurement timing information included in the measurement instruction signal S1); and
a first communicator (8, Fig. 1; ¶ 0032: the terminal management device 4 includes a battery cell monitoring control unit 6 , a control unit 7 , a wireless communication unit 8; ¶ 0034: wireless communication unit 8 communicates wirelessly with the common middle management device 2 in the battery subsystem 1 via an antenna 9);
wherein [an intermediate management device] (2, Figs. 1 & 2) comprises:
the first communicator (13/14, Fig. 1; ¶ 0038: middle-class management device 2 includes a control unit 12 , a wireless communication unit 13 , an antenna 14) configured to wirelessly receive communication from the plurality of slave battery management systems other than the first slave battery management system (¶ 0034: transmitting a measurement result signal S2 for the battery cell 5 sent from the battery module 3 to the intermediate management device 2), and to transmit communication to the plurality of slave battery management systems other than the first slave battery management system (¶ 0034: receiving a measurement instruction signal S1 for the battery cell 5 sent from the intermediate management device 2 to the battery module 3);
a second communicator (17, Fig. 1) configured to transmit/receive communication from a master battery management system (22, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0040: communication unit 17 communicates with the overall management device 22, receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 which is an instruction regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5, and transmits a communication measurement result signal S4 which is the result regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5. That is, the communication unit 17 transmits and receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 and a communication measurement result signal S4 to and from the central management device 22. Here, the communication measurement instruction signal S3 includes information on the measurement content and measurement timing of each battery cell 5 within the battery subsystem 1, as well as information on the wireless communication timing within the battery subsystem 1 and the frequency channel to be used for wireless communication. The communication measurement result signal S4 also includes information on the communication quality within the battery subsystem 1 and the measurement results of each battery cell 5); and
a controller (part of 12, Fig. 1) configured to control the first communicator and the second communicator (¶ 0038: control unit 12 manages the status of all battery cells 5 included in the same battery subsystem 1 as the intermediate management device 2, and the communication quality with all terminal management devices 4 (battery modules 3) included in the same battery subsystem 1; ¶ 0040: communication unit 17 communicates with the overall management device 22, receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 which is an instruction regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5, and transmits a communication measurement result signal S4 which is the result regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5. That is, the communication unit 17 transmits and receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 and a communication measurement result signal S4 to and from the central management device 22).
TERADA fails to disclose the [intermediate management device] is a first slave battery management system among the plurality of slave battery management systems.
LEE discloses the [intermediate management device] is a first slave battery management system (121, Fig. 1) among the plurality of slave battery management systems (comprising 121, 123, 125, Fig. 1; ¶ 0041: Each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 is a slave BMS device to manage a corresponding battery cell. For example, each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 senses a corresponding battery cell in response to a request from the master device 110 and transfers sensing data to the master device 110. Each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 is connected to the corresponding battery cell to sense the corresponding battery cell and generate sensing data. The sensing data includes, for example, any one or any combination of any two or more of voltage data, current data, and temperature data, as non-limiting examples; ¶ 0044: Among the plurality of slave devices, the slave devices 121, 131, and 141 are, for example, head slave devices. The head slave devices 121, 131, and 141 may be disposed closest to the master device 110 to directly communicate with the master device 110; ¶ 0049: head slave device 121 transfers the sensing data received from the slave device 123 to the master device 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the [intermediate management device] is a first slave battery management system as disclosed in LEE into the battery pack of TERADA to produce an expected result of a battery pack including the [intermediate management device] being a first slave battery management system. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase battery capacity by adding a corresponding battery module via a first slave battery management system; and/or reduce space and/or reduce the number of separate housings, brackets, or wiring harnesses required within the battery pack by incorporating the first slave battery management system with an existing battery module.
Regarding claim 14, TERADA as modified by LEE teaches the controller is configured to select a channel by frequency hopping for wirelessly communicating with the other slave battery management systems (TERADA, ¶ 0063, 0091-0093); the first communicator of the first slave battery management system is configured to transmit the communication received from the master battery management system to the other slave battery management systems through the selected channel; the second communicator is configured to transmit the wireless communication received from the other slave battery management systems to the master battery management system (TERADA, ¶ 0038-0041); and the housing comprises a metal (TERADA, ¶ 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 15, TERADA discloses the master battery management system disposed outside the housing (¶ 0031).
Regarding claim 16, TERADA discloses the other slave battery management systems are disposed within the housing (¶ 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 17, TERADA discloses the second communicator is configured to communicate with the master battery management system through a single channel or a channel selected by frequency hopping (¶ 0063).
Regarding claim 18, TERADA as modified by LEE teaches the battery management unit is configured to measure a battery state of the respective battery cell among the plurality of battery cells (TERADA, ¶ 0036); the first communicator of the first slave battery management system is configured to wirelessly receive battery states of the other battery cells; and the second communicator is configured to transmit the battery states of the other plurality of battery cells and the measured battery state of the respective battery cell to the master battery management system (TERADA, ¶ 0038-0041).
Regarding claim 19, TERADA discloses at least a portion of the first slave battery management system is disposed within the housing or outside the housing (¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 20, TERADA discloses a method of communication of a first slave battery management system of claim 1 (TERADA as modified by LEE teaches the first slave battery management system as described in the rejection of claim 1), comprising:
wirelessly receiving outside of the first slave battery management system, respective battery status information (¶ 0033: battery cell monitoring control unit 6 monitors the voltage, temperature, etc. of each of the multiple battery cells 5; ¶ 0034: wireless communication unit 8 communicates wirelessly with the common middle management device 2 in the battery subsystem 1 via an antenna 9. The wireless communication here includes receiving a measurement instruction signal S1 for the battery cell 5 sent from the intermediate management device 2 to the battery module 3, and transmitting a measurement result signal S2 for the battery cell 5 sent from the battery module 3 to the intermediate management device 2; ¶ 0035: the measurement result signal S2 includes the results (measurement results) of monitoring (measurement) performed on each battery cell 5) from respective slave battery management system (4, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0028, 0034: see above; ¶ 0032: the terminal management device 4 includes a battery cell monitoring control unit 6, a control unit 7, a wireless communication unit 8, an antenna 9, a timer 10, and a recording unit 11) other than the first slave battery management system (¶ 0034: transmitting a measurement result signal S2 for the battery cell 5 sent from the battery module 3 to the intermediate management device 2); and
wirelessly transmitting outside of the first slave battery management system the received battery status information (¶ 0040: communication unit 17 communicates with the overall management device 22, receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 which is an instruction regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5, and transmits a communication measurement result signal S4 which is the result regarding wireless communication within the battery subsystem 1 and measurement of the battery cells 5. That is, the communication unit 17 transmits and receives a communication measurement instruction signal S3 and a communication measurement result signal S4 to and from the central management device 22. Here, the communication measurement instruction signal S3 includes information on the measurement content and measurement timing of each battery cell 5 within the battery subsystem 1).
TERADA fails to disclose internally receiving battery status information on a plurality of battery cells under control of the first slave battery management system.
LEE discloses internally receiving battery status information on a [battery cell] under control of the first slave battery management system (¶ 0041: Each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 is a slave BMS device to manage a corresponding battery cell. For example, each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 senses a corresponding battery cell in response to a request from the master device 110 and transfers sensing data to the master device 110. Each of the plurality of slave devices 121, 123 through 125, 131, 135, 141, and 145 is connected to the corresponding battery cell to sense the corresponding battery cell and generate sensing data. The sensing data includes, for example, any one or any combination of any two or more of voltage data, current data, and temperature data, as non-limiting examples; ¶ 0044: Among the plurality of slave devices, the slave devices 121, 131, and 141 are, for example, head slave devices. The head slave devices 121, 131, and 141 may be disposed closest to the master device 110 to directly communicate with the master device 110; ¶ 0049: head slave device 121 transfers the sensing data received from the slave device 123 to the master device 110). Although LEE discloses a single battery cell under control of the first slave battery management system, providing a plurality of battery cells under control of the first slave battery management system would not provide new or unexpected results, and would be an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, TERADA discloses the slave battery management systems (3, Figs. 1 & 2) internally receive battery status information on a plurality of battery cells (¶ 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate internally receiving battery status information as disclosed in LEE into the method of communication of TERADA as modified by LEE to produce an expected result of a method of communication including internally receiving battery status information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase battery capacity by adding a corresponding battery module via a first slave battery management system; and/or reduce space and/or reduce the number of separate housings, brackets, or wiring harnesses required within the battery pack by incorporating the first slave battery management system with an existing battery module.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TERADA in view of LEE as applied to claims 1-10 and 12-20 above, and further in view of KOBAYASHI (JP2006148289A; cited in previous office action; English Machine translation was included with previous office action).
Regarding claim 11, TERADA as modified by LEE teaches the battery pack as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the at least a portion of the first slave battery management system is disposed outside the housing.
KOBAYASHI discloses the at least a portion of the first slave battery management system is disposed outside the housing (¶ 0019-0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the at least a portion of the first slave battery management system is disposed outside the housing as disclosed in KOBAYASHI into the battery pack of TERADA as modified by LEE to produce an expected result of a battery pack including at least a portion of the first slave battery management system disposed outside the housing. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to facilitate wireless communication outside of the metal housing (KOBAYASHI, ¶ 0002-0003), e.g., outside of the metal housing as disclosed in TERADA.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 3/10/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859