DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to layout of data without significantly more. The claims recite a data format. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are directed to data per se, mere information in the form of data without a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter for using the data format in a product. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not recite a process, device or machine that may use the data format in a real world implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok et al (US 20180191978 A1) in view of Boyce et al (US 20180191978 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cok discloses a data format for use in a system (Cok [0077], “row-selected pixel circuits 24 output data values stored in the pixel storage elements 26 (a data format represented by stored data values)”), comprising:
a first signaling row (Cok fig. 8; [0077], “column line 38 (each vertical row represents an exemplary signal row)”);
a plurality of first color field rows (Cok [0075], “red pixels 20 of the first image row are first loaded into the red pixel circuits 24 of the first pixel row”);
a second signaling row (Cok fig. 8; [0077], “column line 38 (each vertical row represents an exemplary signal row)”);
a plurality of second color field rows (Cok [0075], “the green pixels 20 of the first image row are loaded into the green pixel circuits 24 of the second pixel row”);
a third signaling row (Cok fig. 8; [0077], “column line 38 (each vertical row represents an exemplary signal row)”); and
a plurality of third color field rows (Cok [0075], “the blue pixels 20 of the first image row are loaded into the blue pixel circuits 24 of the third pixel row”).
Cok does not disclose (highlighted)
a data format for use in a virtual, augmented, or mixed reality system
However, Boyce discloses (highlighted)
a data format for use in a virtual, augmented, or mixed reality system (Boyce [0131], “rendered content 704 comprises mixed reality content”; [0230], “compute output information and cause results to be written to output surfaces (e.g., color buffers …)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cok with Boyce to utilize data formats in mixed reality applications. This would have enhanced Cok by adding more features.
Regarding claim 2, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the first signaling row includes a number of active rows for the plurality of first color field rows (Cok [0075], “red pixels 20 of the first image row are first loaded (active) into the red pixel circuits 24 of the first pixel row”) (a number of active rows for the plurality of first color field rows)”).
Regarding claim 3, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the active rows change between image frames (Boyce [0215], “transformation of image data between successive video frames”).
Regarding claim 4, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the first, second, and third signaling rows and the pluralities of first, second, and third color field rows are read at a faster rate than images corresponding to the pluralities of first, second, and third color field rows are displayed (Boyce [0048], “The memory crossbar 216 can be configured to transfer the output of each cluster 214A-214N to any partition unit 220A-220N or to another cluster 214A-214N, which can perform additional processing operations on the output.” (parallel interpreted as reading faster than a viewable display rate; additionally since memory is read before displaying it appears as a faster operation with respect to time)).
Regarding claim 5, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the second signaling row includes a number of active rows for the plurality of second color field rows (Cok [0066], “second pixel row, the blue pixels 20 of the first image row are loaded (active) into the blue pixel circuits 24”).
Regarding claim 6, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the third signaling row includes a number of active rows for the plurality of third color field rows (Cok [0075], “third pixel row, the red pixels of the second image row are loaded (active) into the red pixel circuits 24”).
Regarding claim 7, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the first signaling row includes a start position of the plurality of first color field rows (Cok [0075], “first image row are first loaded into the red pixel circuits 24 of the first pixel row (a start position for first color fields)”).
Regarding claim 8, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the second signaling row includes a start position of the plurality of second color field rows (Cok [0075], “second pixel row, the blue pixels 20 of the first image row are loaded (a start position for second color fields)”).
Regarding claim 9, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the third signaling row includes a start position of the plurality of third color field rows (Cok [0075], “blue pixels 20 of the first image row are loaded (a start position for third color fields)”.
Regarding claim 10, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 1, wherein the first, second, and third color field rows include intensity information without color information (Boyce [0161], “TCON 1130 may also adjust the voltage provided to the liquid crystal elements in the pixel to change the intensity of the light passing through each of the three liquid crystal elements”).
Regarding claim 11, Cok in view of Boyce discloses the data format of claim 10, wherein the first, second, and third signaling rows include color information without intensity information (Cox fig. 8 - the first, second, and third signaling rows include color information without intensity information).
Conclusion
See the notice of references cited (PTO-892) for prior art made of record, including art that is not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JITESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612