DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 08/28/2026.
Oath/Declaration
Applicant is notified that the above-identified application contains the deficiencies noted below. No period for reply is set forth in this notice for correction of these deficiencies. However, if a deficiency relates to the inventor's oath or declaration, the applicant must file an oath or declaration in compliance with 37 CFR 1.63, or a substitute statement in compliance with 37 CFR 1.64, executed by or with respect to each actual inventor no later than the expiration of the time period set in the "Notice of Allowability" to avoid abandonment. See 37 CFR 1.53(f).
The item(s) indicated below are also required and should be submitted with any reply to this notice to avoid further processing delays.
A properly executed inventor's oath or declaration has not been received for the following inventor(s): Qi, Yue; Shafin, Rubayet; Ng, Boon Loong; Ratnam, Vishnu Vardhan; Jen, Elliot; Sadiq, Bilal; and Nayak, Peshal.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 08/28/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, 15-16 and 19 are amended
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities (and appropriate corrections are required):
The specification (in Para. [0111], Line [3]) recites “PM”, which is in an abbreviation form and which has not been followed by the full explanation of the term and needs to be clarified and defined within the specification;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 16 recite the limitation "…to transmit a channel switch request frame to the second STA that includes an indication that the first STA is the representative STA and has set the first STA and the second STA into the PS mode with the AP." However, it is unclear: whether it is the “channel switch request frame” or the “second STA” that includes the referenced indication and that has set the referenced stations into the PS mode. On the other hand, Para. [0127] of the instant specification recites, “…the PM bit in the frame control field setting to 1. STA1 may also indicate to the AP the peer STAs, STA2, that are transitioning to the PS mode. The representative STA, STA1, can announce the representation behavior in the TDLS channel switch request frame so that the peer STAs, STA2, can have the knowledge of who is the representative and whether they have been transitioned to the PS mode or not.” Hence, for examination purposes, the above limitation (in claims 2 and 16), has been construed to mean that the channel switch request frame both indicates the representative STA and also sets the STAs into the PS mode. The office respectfully requests the applicant to amend the claim(s) in order to clarify the claimed invention.
All dependent claims not addressed above are rejected under the same rational as the parent claim due to a failure to resolve the deficiencies of the parent claim discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sella et al. (US 20110188391 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sella, in view of WONG et al. (US 20160323820 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wong.
Regarding claim 10, Sella teaches an access point (AP) device in a wireless network, the AP device comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory (Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period ... WLAN AP or WiFi Direct P2P Beacon Group Owner to schedule access times for the WiFi network that make the WiFi Direct network sometimes act like a wireless form of USB inside of WiFi. Figs. 20 and 22, Para. [0135]-Sella discloses a negotiation process under WiFi Direct establishes one of the stations as AP/Group Owner. P2P operations, such as illustrated between STA 5 and STA 6, are supported under WiFi Direct. Figs. 10-13, Para. [0079]-Sella discloses a Master integrated circuit (IC) chip 300 has WiFi-based USB for operation ... Master 300 has an interface 310 to an external applications processor, which may also have a cell phone modem. Microprocessor core(s) 320 are coupled with a flash memory or other nonvolatile storage 324, local microprocessor memory 326, and a storage for applications 328 along with DMA (Direct Memory Access) control. Flash memory 324 is loaded with a WiFi stack 332 with an enhanced wireless networking module, and a USB stack 345 with an enhanced USB scheduler), the processor configured to:
receive a plurality of frames from a plurality of stations (STAs) associated with the AP, including a first frame from a first STA and a second frame from a second STA (Para. [0140-0141]-Sella discloses Each device discovers other P2P Devices in its transmit/receive range by probe request/response signals to discover device type, ID information, and services supported ... in a WiFi Direct-USB embodiment, attachment of a device for USB-like operations uses P2P Device Discovery, and uses P2P's Probe-Request and Probe-Response frames. The P2P Client's Interface Address can serve as the Slave STA unique USB-like address. The device also uses P2P Group Formation and uses P2P Group Owner (GO) Negotiation for Master/Slave negotiation);
determine that the first STA is a representative STA and the second STA is a represented STA based on the plurality of frames (Para. [0140-0141]-Sella discloses WiFi Direct operations ... a device becomes a Group Owner {Corresponding to the representative STA} or a Client {Corresponding to the represented STA} in the following manner. Each device discovers other P2P Devices in its transmit/receive range by probe request/response signals to discover device type, ID information, and services supported. The probes {Corresponding to the plurality of frames} may be set up to target particular types, IDs or compatibilities of devices. If a Group already exists and a newly-arrived device is probing, only the existing Group Owner {Corresponding to the representative STA} responds ... Each WiFi Direct device has software for both Group Owner and Client operation, depending on the outcome of a negotiation procedure. attachment of a device for USB-like operations uses P2P Device Discovery, and uses P2P's Probe-Request and Probe-Response frames);
transmit a frame to the first STA and a frame to the second STA that specifies a role of the first STA as the representative STA and the second STA as the represented STA (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period. Fig. 16, Para. [0129]-Sella discloses Processor 915 in turn is coupled to a Master/Slave Media Access Controller MAC 920. The Master/Slave integrated circuit (IC) 900, when provided in an electronic device, such as any device of FIG. 1 or 20, operates according to a master mode or a slave mode, depending on the outcome of a WiFi negotiation process that determines which station is the AP/Group Owner. Whichever station is made AP/Group Owner is also herein made the USB Host for USB-like wireless operations. (See also Para. [0016])); and
the frame includes information identifying the second STA (Para. [0054]-Sella discloses WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period for USB-like operations by such stations that are allocated inside the beacon time ... To do this, some illustrated embodiments introduce, provide or add a special information element IE--a special kind of micro-scheduled management commands MMC_IE 110--to the WLAN AP or WiFi Direct P2P Beacon Group Owner to schedule access times for the WiFi network that make the WiFi Direct network sometimes act like a wireless form of USB inside of WiFi. Para. [0103]-Sella discloses the master schedules the transfer as soon as possible in the next MMC_IE ... scheduler process reconciles the various requests and fills the MMC_IE 110 of FIG. 7 with appropriate scheduling entries identifying the various STA#, transfer types, start times, and durations. Para. [0014]-Sella discloses master electronic circuit includes a storage representing a wireless collision avoidance networking process involving ... scheduler to establish and transmit a schedule for plural serial data transfers involving the processor and distinct station identifications).
Sella fails to explicitly teach receive a frame from the first STA notifying the AP of a power save (PS) mode for the first STA and the second STA, wherein the frame … indicates a transition to the PS mode on behalf of the first STA and the second STA.
However, Wong teaches receive a frame from the first STA notifying the AP of a power save (PS) mode for the first STA and the second STA (Fig. 2, Para. 0024]-Wong discloses when the PM bit is set to 1, in a frame transmitted to the AP 104, the STA 102 indicates to the AP 104 that the STA 102 transitions from an active mode to a power save mode. As indicated in FIG. 2, while in the active mode, the STA 102 can be considered to be in the awake state at all times, while in the power save mode, the STA 102 can be in the awake state or in a doze state to conserve power. The STA 102 also indicates to the AP 104 that the STA 102 transitions from the power save mode to the active mode by setting the PM bit to 0 in a frame transmitted to the AP 104),
indicates a transition to the PS mode on behalf of the first STA and the second STA (Fig. 2, Para. 0024]-Wong discloses when the PM bit is set to 1, in a frame transmitted to the AP 104, the STA 102 indicates to the AP 104 that the STA 102 transitions from an active mode to a power save mode. As indicated in FIG. 2, while in the active mode, the STA 102 can be considered to be in the awake state at all times, while in the power save mode, the STA 102 can be in the awake state or in a doze state to conserve power. The STA 102 also indicates to the AP 104 that the STA 102 transitions from the power save mode to the active mode by setting the PM bit to 0 in a frame transmitted to the AP 104).
Wong is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication technology, dealing with power management mode and state transitions for wireless local area network (WLAN) stations (STAs) associated with WLAN access points (APs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sella in view of Mullati to incorporate the teachings of Wong on Power Save (PS) mode, with a motivation to indicate the transition to PS mode, and guarantee enhanced performance, (Sella, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Sella in view of Wong teaches the AP device of claim 10,
Sella further teaches the frame is a P2P group indication frame notifying the AP that the first STA and the second STA are leaving the AP for P2P group activities (Para. [0054]-Sella discloses Notice of Absence (NoA): Under control of the enhanced USB scheduler through the application layer 358 herein, GO sends a WiFi-Direct frame called NoA that notifies all WiFi-Direct devices in the network that (or, as if) the GO will not be available for a specific duration ... In its beacon frame, Group Owner (GO) sends a P2P Notice of Absence attribute including the absence schedule. Adaptation layer 358 provides a schedule of PDs for USB-like operations for inclusion into the absence schedule. For instance, GO sends Notice of Absence schedule in the GO beacon to ostensibly prevent transmissions from all the stations STA during PDs. Para. [0103]-Sella discloses scheduler process reconciles the various requests and fills the MMC_IE 110 of FIG. 7 with appropriate scheduling entries identifying the various STA#, transfer types, start times, and durations. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period. Table 1, Para. [0058]-Sella discloses Basic Service Set, a Wi-Fi cell).
Regarding claim 12, Sella in view of Wong teaches the AP device of claim 10,
Sella further teaches transmit a representative request frame to the plurality of STAs associated with the AP to trigger the plurality of frames from the plurality of STAs (Para. [0140]-Sella discloses a device becomes a Group Owner or a Client in the following manner. Each device discovers other P2P Devices in its transmit/receive range by probe request/response signals to discover device type, ID information, and services supported. The probes may be set up to target particular types, IDs or compatibilities of devices. If a Group already exists and a newly-arrived device is probing, only the existing Group Owner responds. Para. [0103]-Sella discloses Master periodically polls the slave, so if the slave is the unit that wants to initiate a USB-like data transfer, the slave is polled and thereby informs the master, and the master schedules the transfer as soon as possible in the next MMC_IE. (See also Para. [0147])).
Regarding claim 14, Sella in view of Wong teaches the AP device of claim 10,
Sella further teaches receive a handover request frame from the first STA (Para. [0140]-Sella discloses each device discovers other P2P Devices in its transmit/receive range by probe request/response signals to discover device type, ID information, and services supported. The probes may be set up to target particular types, IDs or compatibilities of devices. If a Group already exists and a newly-arrived device is probing, only the existing Group Owner responds … a device that has hardware and software to perform substantial processing, service and/or user-interaction functions likely becomes a {New} Group Owner as a result of the negotiation process of WiFi Direct. A P2P Device may become Group Owner if it can connect to a WLAN or has more application functionality or upper layers for service. The newly-established Group Owner then uses WPS to supply a security pass code ... The Group Owner starts a P2P Group session, whereupon the Client joins the Group);
set the second STA as the representative STA (Para. [0140]-Sella discloses each device discovers other P2P Devices in its transmit/receive range by probe request/response signals to discover device type, ID information, and services supported. The probes may be set up to target particular types, IDs or compatibilities of devices. If a Group already exists and a newly-arrived device is probing, only the existing Group Owner responds … a device that has hardware and software to perform substantial processing, service and/or user-interaction functions likely becomes a {New} Group Owner as a result of the negotiation process of WiFi Direct. A P2P Device may become Group Owner if it can connect to a WLAN or has more application functionality or upper layers for service. The newly-established Group Owner then uses WPS to supply a security pass code ... The Group Owner starts a P2P Group session, whereupon the Client joins the Group); and
transmit a frame to the second STA that updates the role of the second STA to the representative STA (Para. [0095]-Sella discloses in its beacon frame, Group Owner (GO) sends a P2P Notice of Absence attribute including the absence schedule).
Claims 1-5, 9, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sella et al. (US 20110188391 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sella, in view of Mullati et al. (US 20210185746 A1), hereinafter referenced as Mullati, and further in view of WONG et al. (US 20160323820 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wong.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Sella teaches a first station (STA) in a wireless network, the first STA comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory (Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period ... WLAN AP or WiFi Direct P2P Beacon Group Owner to schedule access times for the WiFi network that make the WiFi Direct network sometimes act like a wireless form of USB inside of WiFi. Figs. 20 and 22, Para. [0135]-Sella discloses a negotiation process under WiFi Direct establishes one of the stations as AP/Group Owner. P2P operations, such as illustrated between STA 5 and STA 6, are supported under WiFi Direct. Figs. 10-13, Para. [0079]-Sella discloses a Master integrated circuit (IC) chip 300 has WiFi-based USB for operation ... Master 300 has an interface 310 to an external applications processor, which may also have a cell phone modem. Microprocessor core(s) 320 are coupled with a flash memory or other nonvolatile storage 324, local microprocessor memory 326, and a storage for applications 328 along with DMA (Direct Memory Access) control. Flash memory 324 is loaded with a WiFi stack 332 with an enhanced wireless networking module, and a USB stack 345 with an enhanced USB scheduler), the processor configured to:
communicate with a second STA on a first channel (Table 1, Para. [0058]-Sella discloses a station sends a number NAV = X milliseconds to hold a channel for X milliseconds after that channel is assigned to it and another station. Sending NAV = 0 gives up the channel. Para. [0140]-Sella discloses the Group Owner also selects a channel for operation as a result of an alternating process in each device of a Search mode that advertises for a P2P device to communicate with, and a Listen mode that advertises presence on a channel. A subset of all WiFi channels may be used to lower convergence time. When Group Owner has determined the converged channel, Group Owner starts sending beacons);
determine that the first STA is a representative STA and the second STA is a represented STA (Fig. 16, Para. [0129]-Sella discloses Processor 915 in turn is coupled to a Master/Slave {Corresponding to the Representative/Represented STA} Media Access Controller MAC 920. The Master/Slave {Representative/Represented STA} integrated circuit (IC) 900, when provided in an electronic device, such as any device of FIG. 1 or 20, operates according to a master mode or a slave mode, depending on the outcome of a WiFi negotiation process that determines which station is the AP/Group Owner. Whichever station is made AP/Group Owner is also herein made the USB Host for USB-like wireless operations. (See also Para. [0016]));
transmit a frame to an access point (AP) to notify the AP of a power save (PS) mode for the first STA and the second STA (Fig. 15, Para. [0146-0147]-Sella discloses Group Owner signals the CTWindow size and use of Opportunistic Power Save in Beacon frames … power-saving procedure, called Notice of Absence (NoA), is used by Group Owner in the beacon to signal the P2P network devices that Group Owner is scanning other channels of another network, for instance. Para. [0095]-Sella discloses in its beacon frame, Group Owner (GO) sends a P2P Notice of Absence attribute including the absence schedule. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period ... WLAN AP or WiFi Direct P2P Beacon Group Owner to schedule access times for the WiFi network that make the WiFi Direct network sometimes act like a wireless form of USB inside of WiFi),
the frame includes information identifying the second STA (Para. [0054]-Sella discloses WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period for USB-like operations by such stations that are allocated inside the beacon time ... To do this, some illustrated embodiments introduce, provide or add a special information element IE--a special kind of micro-scheduled management commands MMC_IE 110--to the WLAN AP or WiFi Direct P2P Beacon Group Owner to schedule access times for the WiFi network that make the WiFi Direct network sometimes act like a wireless form of USB inside of WiFi. Para. [0103]-Sella discloses the master schedules the transfer as soon as possible in the next MMC_IE ... scheduler process reconciles the various requests and fills the MMC_IE 110 of FIG. 7 with appropriate scheduling entries identifying the various STA#, transfer types, start times, and durations. Para. [0014]-Sella discloses master electronic circuit includes a storage representing a wireless collision avoidance networking process involving ... scheduler to establish and transmit a schedule for plural serial data transfers involving the processor and distinct station identifications) and
perform a channel switch to the second channel (Para. [0142]-Sella discloses interoperability of embodiment with WLAN Infrastructure networks leverages on P2P Managed Devices and allows the infrastructure AP (WLAN access point) to control the operational parameters of the P2P network … The process controls the operating channel of the P2P network (including channel switch). Fig. 15, Para. [0146-0147]-Sella discloses power-saving procedure, called Notice of Absence (NoA), is used by Group Owner in the beacon to signal the P2P network devices that Group Owner is scanning other channels of another network, for instance).
Sella fails to explicitly teach determine a need to switch to a second channel; communicate with the second STA on the second channel as a peer to peer (P2P) group.
However, Mullati teaches determine a need to switch to a second channel (Para. [0003]-Mullati discloses even when a device is dual-band capable, such as a mobile device that is capable of working in both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands, the device may choose to operate in the crowded 2.4 GHz band over the 5 GHz band based on higher received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or easier discoverability due to better signal propagation characteristics of 2.4 GHz signals compared to 5 GHz signals when the device associates with a dual-band access point (AP). To reduce the congestion in the 2.4 GHz band, an amendment of the IEEE 802.11z standard provides the facility for mobile devices, also referred to as stations or STAs, that are dual-band capable and connected to a traditional WiFi network in the 2.4 GHz band, to establish a direct link with other peer STAs in the 5 GHz band using tunneled direct link setup (TDLS). Para. [0016]-Mullati discloses the STA may initially establish a TDLS link with the peer STA over the base channel if the peer STA supports off-channel operation. Upon the successful establishment of the TDLS link and if the peer STA's TDLS channel switching capability field is set, the STA may initiate a channel switch request for the 5 GHz off-channel);
communicate with the second STA on the second channel as a peer to peer (P2P) group (Para. [0027]-Mullati discloses STA 106 may transmit a TDLS channel switch request frame over the TDLS link over the base channel to STA 107. Peer STA 107 may respond with a TDLS channel switch response frame over the TDLS link in the base channel to STA 106. Upon successful channel switch negotiation, STAs 106 and 107 may switch their TDLS link from the base channel to the 5 GHz off-channel ... STA 106 and 107 may configure their antennas to transmit and receive over the off-channel 5 GHz band).
Sella and Mullati are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with communication with multiples devices using two different frequency bands or channels of a wireless communication medium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sella to incorporate the teachings of Mullati on switch channels, with a motivation to transmit on a second communication channel, and guarantee enhanced performance, (Sella, Para. [0008]).
Sella fails to explicitly teach the frame … indicates a transition to the PS mode on behalf of the first STA and the second STA.
However, Wong teaches indicates a transition to the PS mode on behalf of the first STA and the second STA (Fig. 2, Para. 0024]-Wong discloses when the PM bit is set to 1, in a frame transmitted to the AP 104, the STA 102 indicates to the AP 104 that the STA 102 transitions from an active mode to a power save mode. As indicated in FIG. 2, while in the active mode, the STA 102 can be considered to be in the awake state at all times, while in the power save mode, the STA 102 can be in the awake state or in a doze state to conserve power. The STA 102 also indicates to the AP 104 that the STA 102 transitions from the power save mode to the active mode by setting the PM bit to 0 in a frame transmitted to the AP 104).
Wong is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication technology, dealing with power management mode and state transitions for wireless local area network (WLAN) stations (STAs) associated with WLAN access points (APs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sella in view of Mullati to incorporate the teachings of Wong on Power Save (PS) mode, with a motivation to indicate the transition to PS mode, and guarantee enhanced performance, (Sella, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Sella in view of Mullati and Wong, teaches the first station of claim 1 and the computer-implemented method of claim 15 respectively,
Sella further teaches the first STA initiates the switch to the second channel with the second STA (Para. [0142]-Sella discloses interoperability of embodiment with WLAN Infrastructure networks leverages on P2P Managed Devices and allows the infrastructure AP (WLAN access point) to control the operational parameters of the P2P network … The process controls the operating channel of the P2P network (including channel switch). Fig. 15, Para. [0146-0147]-Sella discloses power-saving procedure, called Notice of Absence (NoA), is used by Group Owner in the beacon to signal the P2P network devices that Group Owner is scanning other channels of another network, for instance), and
indication that the first STA is the representative STA (Para. [0140]-Sella discloses each WiFi Direct device has software for both Group Owner and Client operation, depending on the outcome of a negotiation procedure. The devices negotiate which device is to become a Group Owner, such as a device with more processing power and functions to be employed. For instance, a device that has hardware and software to perform substantial processing, service and/or user-interaction functions likely becomes a Group Owner as a result of the negotiation process of WiFi Direct. A P2P Device may become Group Owner if it can connect to a WLAN or has more application functionality or upper layers for service. Para. [0067]-Sella discloses the USB host (master) polls the slave devices by sending them signals that ask them one by one whether they have any service requests (also called polling requests herein) signifying that they have USB-like data to transmit. (See also Para. [0111])).
Sella fails to teach channel switch request frame.
However, Mullati teaches the processor is configured to transmit a channel switch request frame to the second STA that includes an indication that the first STA is the representative STA and has set the first STA and the second STA into the PS mode with the AP (Para. [0037]-Mullati discloses the initiator STA initiates a channel switch request for the 5 GHz off-channel. The initiator STA may transmit a TDLS channel switch request frame over the TDLS direct link in the base channel to the peer STA. Para. [0003]-Mullati discloses the STA working in such virtual simultaneous dual band (VSDB) configuration with the TDLS direct links toggles between the off-channel and the base-channel. For example, the STA operating with the TDLS direct link may periodically put the off-channel in the power saving mode and may switch from the off-channel to the base-channel to receive beacons and communicate with legacy STAs via the AP over the base-channel. After operating in the base-channel, the STA may put the base-channel in the power saving mode and may switch back to the off-channel to transfer data over the TDLS direct links with other peer STAs. Para. [0015]-Mullati discloses the STA may transmit a TDLS setup request frame via the AP to advertise its off-channel capability and to inquire about the off-channel capabilities of peer STAs. If a peer STA is dual-band capable, the peer STA may respond with a TDLS response frame indicating that it supports off-channel capability. The TDLS response frame may also contain a TDLS channel switching capability field that indicates that the peer STA is capable of RSDB operation using the off-channel TDLS link. Fig. 2, Para. [0026]-Mullati discloses both STAs 106 and 107 support RSDB and TDLS over the 5 GHz off-channel as indicated by the TDLS channel switching capability field during the exchange of their device capabilities).
Mullati is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with communication with multiples devices using two different frequency bands or channels of a wireless communication medium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sella to incorporate the teachings of Mullati on switch channels, with a motivation to transmit channel switch frame request, and guarantee enhanced performance, (Sella, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Sella in view of Mullati and Wong, teaches the first station of claim 1 and the computer-implemented method of claim 15 respectively,
Sella further teaches become the representative STA on behalf of itself and the second STA (Fig. 16, Para. [0129]-Sella discloses Processor 915 in turn is coupled to a Master/Slave Media Access Controller MAC 920. The Master/Slave integrated circuit (IC) 900, when provided in an electronic device, such as any device of FIG. 1 or 20, operates according to a master mode or a slave mode, depending on the outcome of a WiFi negotiation process that determines which station is the AP/Group Owner. Whichever station is made AP/Group Owner is also herein made the USB Host for USB-like wireless operations);
contend for a medium (Para. [0011]-Sella discloses WiFi unit uses a mechanism where in multiple devices in the wireless network compete for use of the wireless medium or space and frequencies by which they communicate).
Sella fails to teach receive a channel switch request frame from the second STA; process the channel switch request frame and agree to switch channels to the second channel and …; and transmit a channel switch response frame to the second STA.
However, Mullati teaches receive a channel switch request frame from the second STA (Fig. 4, Para. [0037]-Mullati discloses at operation 409, if the peer STA supports RSDB operation using the off-channel TDLS link, for example if the peer STA has two pairs of MAC and PHY that may be configured to operate both the base-channel and the off-channel simultaneously, the initiator STA initiates a channel switch request for the 5 GHz off-channel. The initiator STA may transmit a TDLS channel switch request frame over the TDLS direct link in the base channel to the peer STA. The peer STA may respond with a TDLS channel switch response frame over the TDLS direct link in the base channel to the initiator STA);
process the channel switch request frame (Fig. 4, Para. [0037]-Mullati discloses at operation 409, if the peer STA supports RSDB operation using the off-channel TDLS link, for example if the peer STA has two pairs of MAC and PHY that may be configured to operate both the base-channel and the off-channel simultaneously, the initiator STA initiates a channel switch request for the 5 GHz off-channel. The initiator STA may transmit a TDLS channel switch request frame over the TDLS direct link in the base channel to the peer STA. The peer STA may respond with a TDLS channel switch response frame over the TDLS direct link in the base channel to the initiator STA) and
agree to switch channels to the second channel (Fig. 2, Para. [0027]-Mullati discloses STA 106 may transmit a TDLS channel switch request frame over the TDLS link over the base channel to STA 107. Peer STA 107 may respond with a TDLS channel switch response frame over the TDLS link in the base channel to STA 106. Upon successful channel switch negotiation, STAs 106 and 107 may switch their TDLS link from the base channel to the 5 GHz off-channel. STAs 106 and 107 may then listen for transmission from the other STA over the off-channel TDLS direct link. STA 106 and 107 may configure their antennas to transmit and receive over the off-channel 5 GHz band for the TDLS direct link in a SISO configuration) and
transmit a channel switch response frame to the second STA (Fig. 2, Para. [0027]-Mullati discloses STA 106 may transmit a TDLS channel switch request frame over the TDLS link over the base channel to STA 107. Peer STA 107 may respond with a TDLS channel switch response frame over the TDLS link in the base channel to STA 106. Upon successful channel switch negotiation, STAs 106 and 107 may switch their TDLS link from the base channel to the 5 GHz off-channel. STAs 106 and 107 may then listen for transmission from the other STA over the off-channel TDLS direct link. STA 106 and 107 may configure their antennas to transmit and receive over the off-channel 5 GHz band for the TDLS direct link in a SISO configuration).
Mullati is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with communication with multiples devices using two different frequency bands or channels of a wireless communication medium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sella to incorporate the teachings of Mullati on switch channels, with a motivation to transmit/receive channel switch frame request/response, and guarantee enhanced performance, (Sella, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Sella in view of Mullati and Wong, teaches the first station of claim 1 and the computer-implemented method of claim 15 respectively,
Sella further teaches the first STA is associated with the AP (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period ... WLAN AP or WiFi Direct P2P Beacon Group Owner to schedule access times for the WiFi network that make the WiFi Direct network sometimes act like a wireless form of USB inside of WiFi) and
the second STA is not associated with the AP in a basic service set (BSS) (Para. [0074]-Sela discloses all data transfers specified by MMC_IE 110 in FIG. 7 are between the tabulated STA# as a slave and the WiFi Direct GO as USB untabulated master. This type of WiFi-based USB embodiment enumerates only slaves with unique ID numbers to communicate with a single master station in a star topology for the WiFi-based USB-like operations, while maintaining P2P functionality in non-star topology {Bus, Ring, Tree, Mesh protocol} in their WiFi Direct non-USB-like operations. Para. [0057]-Sella discloses WiFi-Direct-USB embodiments can support such streaming. The rendering device can decode the multimedia format (JPEG, MP3, AVI) and render it on an attached peripheral. WiFi-based USB embodiments herein can support virtual attachment for the peripheral as well) and
the second STA uses a different P2P protocol (Para. [0092]-Sella discloses WLAN stations in the network that lack a WiFi-Direct-USB slave process (e.g., of FIG. 15) may not be able to interpret the MMC_IE 110, and hence may attempt to access the medium while USB-like operations are ongoing. Para. [0139]-Sella discloses some embodiments use WiFi Direct as underlying P2P protocol ... A WiFi Direct-USB entity embodiment acts compatibly in its role also as a WiFi Direct device. A WiFi Direct-USB Host is a WiFi Direct Group Owner (GO), and a WiFi Direct-USB Device is a WiFi Direct Client. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period ... WLAN AP or WiFi Direct P2P Beacon Group Owner to schedule access times for the WiFi network that make the WiFi Direct network sometimes act like a wireless form of USB inside of WiFi. Para. [0011l]-Sella discloses computers lacking such a built-in WiFi modem).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Sella in view of Mullati and Wong, teaches the first station of claim 1 and the computer-implemented method of claim 15 respectively,
Sella further teaches the frame is a P2P group indication frame notifying the AP that the first STA and the second STA are leaving the AP for P2P group activities (Para. [0054]-Sella discloses Notice of Absence (NoA): Under control of the enhanced USB scheduler through the application layer 358 herein, GO sends a WiFi-Direct frame called NoA that notifies all WiFi-Direct devices in the network that (or, as if) the GO will not be available for a specific duration ... In its beacon frame, Group Owner (GO) sends a P2P Notice of Absence attribute including the absence schedule. Adaptation layer 358 provides a schedule of PDs for USB-like operations for inclusion into the absence schedule. For instance, GO sends Notice of Absence schedule in the GO beacon to ostensibly prevent transmissions from all the stations STA during PDs. Para. [0103]-Sella discloses scheduler process reconciles the various requests and fills the MMC_IE 110 of FIG. 7 with appropriate scheduling entries identifying the various STA#, transfer types, start times, and durations. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period. Table 1, Para. [0058]-Sella discloses Basic Service Set, a Wi-Fi cell).
Regarding claim 9, Sella in view of Mullati and Wong, teaches the first station of claim 1,
Sella further teaches transmit a handover request frame to the second STA to set the second STA as the representative STA (Para. [0140]-Sella discloses each device discovers other P2P Devices in its transmit/receive range by probe request/response signals to discover device type, ID information, and services supported. The probes may be set up to target particular types, IDs or compatibilities of devices. If a Group already exists and a newly-arrived device is probing, only the existing Group Owner responds … a device that has hardware and software to perform substantial processing, service and/or user-interaction functions likely becomes a {New} Group Owner as a result of the negotiation process of WiFi Direct. A P2P Device may become Group Owner if it can connect to a WLAN or has more application functionality or upper layers for service. The newly-established Group Owner then uses WPS to supply a security pass code ... The Group Owner starts a P2P Group session, whereupon the Client joins the Group); and
transmit a report frame to the AP to notify the AP that the first STA is leaving the P2P group (Para. [0095]-Sella discloses in its beacon frame, Group Owner (GO) sends a P2P Notice of Absence attribute including the absence schedule).
Claims 6-8 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sella et al. (US 20110188391 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sella, in view of Mullati et al. (US 20210185746 A1), hereinafter referenced as Mullati, and further in view of WONG et al. (US 20160323820 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wong, and further in view of Kevin R. Boyle (US 20010012757 A1), hereinafter referenced as Boyle.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Sella in view of Mullati and Wong teaches a first station of claim 1 and the computer-implemented method of claim 15 respectively,
Sella fails to teach broadcast a first frame that includes a first preference rank of the first STA; receive a second frame from the second STA that includes a second preference rank of the second STA; and determine the representative STA and the represented STA based on the first preference rank and the second preference rank.
However, Boyle teaches broadcast a first frame that includes a first preference rank of the first STA (Para. [0023-0024]-Boyle discloses ranking each station 100 in terms of its antenna performance. A station 100 having the best antenna ranking then preferentially becomes the master … The selection of master station requires the stations 100 to compare their rankings. One way in which this can be accomplished is for the master station to request each of the other stations 100 to provide their rankings, using standard Bluetooth communication protocols. Para. [0030]-Boyle discloses in situations where more than one of the stations 100 is able to access the same planned network, it may be advantageous for a similar ranking scheme to that described above to be employed for access to the planned network);
receive a second frame from the second STA that includes a second preference rank of the second STA (Para. [0023-0024]-Boyle discloses ranking each station 100 in terms of its antenna performance. A station 100 having the best antenna ranking then preferentially becomes the master … The selection of master station requires the stations 100 to compare their rankings. One way in which this can be accomplished is for the master station to request each of the other stations 100 to provide their rankings, using standard Bluetooth communication protocols. Para. [0030]-Boyle discloses in situations where more than one of the stations 100 is able to access the same planned network, it may be advantageous for a similar ranking scheme to that described above to be employed for access to the planned network); and
determine the representative STA and the represented STA based on the first preference rank and the second preference rank (Fig. 1, Para. [0005]-Boyle discloses each station comprising transceiver means coupled to antenna means for communication with other stations, control means for performing the role of master or slave in a network and ranking means for determining a rank representative of the station's suitability for acting as master in the network, wherein at least one of the stations has comparison means for determining the rank of all the stations in the network and master transfer means for enabling the station having the highest rank to take the role of master in the network).
Boyle is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication system, dealing with plurality of stations capable of forming an ad-hoc network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sella in view of Mullati to incorporate the teachings of Boyle on station preference ranking, with a motivation to determine representative and represented stations, and guarantee enhanced performance, (Sella, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Sella in view of Mullati, Wong and Boyle teaches a first station of claim 6,
Sella further teaches transmit a service request frame to the second STA to notify that the first STA intends to become the representative STA (Para. [0140]-Sella discloses each WiFi Direct device has software for both Group Owner and Client operation, depending on the outcome of a negotiation procedure. The devices negotiate which device is to become a Group Owner, such as a device with more processing power and functions to be employed. For instance, a device that has hardware and software to perform substantial processing, service and/or user-interaction functions likely becomes a Group Owner as a result of the negotiation process of WiFi Direct. A P2P Device may become Group Owner if it can connect to a WLAN or has more application functionality or upper layers for service. Para. [0067]-Sella discloses the USB host (master) polls the slave devices by sending them signals that ask them one by one whether they have any service requests (also called polling requests herein) signifying that they have USB-like data to transmit. (See also Para. [0111])); and
receive a service negotiation response frame from the second STA to notify that the second STA intends to become the represented STA (Para. [0140]-Sella discloses each WiFi Direct device has software for both Group Owner and Client operation, depending on the outcome of a negotiation procedure. The devices negotiate which device is to become a Group Owner, such as a device with more processing power and functions to be employed. For instance, a device that has hardware and software to perform substantial processing, service and/or user-interaction functions likely becomes a Group Owner as a result of the negotiation process of WiFi Direct. A P2P Device may become Group Owner if it can connect to a WLAN or has more application functionality or upper layers for service. Para. [0067]-Sella discloses the USB host (master) polls the slave devices by sending them signals that ask them one by one whether they have any service requests (also called polling requests herein) signifying that they have USB-like data to transmit. (See also Para. [0111])).
Regarding claim 8, Sella in view of Mullati, Wong and Boyle teaches a first station of claim 6,
Sella further teaches receive a second frame from the AP that sets the first STA as the representative STA and the second STA as the represented STA (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0054]-Sella discloses a WiFi access point AP, or a WiFi Direct peer designated AP/Group Owner, is provided with modifications that have ability to designate particular peer stations like STA 1-3 and schedule some times in the next beacon period. Para. [0129]-Sella discloses Master/Slave integrated circuit (IC) 900, when provided in an electronic device, ..., operates according to a master mode or a slave mode, depending on the outcome of a WiFi negotiation process that determines which station is the AP/Group Owner. Whichever station is made AP/Group Owner is also herein made the USB Host for USB-like wireless operations. If that station has a Master/Slave integrated circuit (IC) 900, it is a Master due to the negotiation outcome and is set up in Master mode. All other stations that have a Master/Slave integrated circuit (IC) 900 are Slaves due to the negotiation outcome and are set up in Slave mode).
Sella fails to teach the processor is configured to: transmit a first frame to the AP that includes the first preference rank.
However, Boyle teaches the processor is configured to: transmit a first frame to the AP that includes the first preference rank (Para. [0023-0024]-Boyle discloses ranking each station 100 in terms of its antenna performance. A station 100 having the best antenna ranking then preferentially becomes the master … The selection of master station requires the stations 100 to compare their rankings. One way in which this can be accomplished is for the master station to request each of the other stations 100 to provide their rankings, using standard Bluetooth communication protocols. Para. [0030]-Boyle discloses in situations where more than one of the stations 100 is able to access the same planned network, it may be advantageous for a similar ranking scheme to that described above to be employed for access to the planned network ... laptop acts as both master in the ad-hoc network and as the access point to the UMTS network).
Boyle is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication system, dealing with plurality of stations capable of forming an ad-hoc network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sella in view of Mullati to incorporate the teachings of Boyle on station preference ranking, with a motivation to transmit preference ranking, and guarantee enhanced performance, (Sella, Para. [0008]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sella et al. (US 20110188391 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sella, in view of WONG et al. (US 20160323820 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wong, and further in view of Kevin R. Boyle (US 20010012757 A1), hereinafter referenced as Boyle.
Regarding claim 13, Sella in view of Wong teaches the AP device of claim 10,
Sella fails to teach determine ranks for the plurality of STAs; and set roles for the STAs, including the representative STA and the represented STA, based on the ranks.
However, Boyle teaches determine ranks for the plurality of STAs (Para. [0023-0024]-Boyle discloses ranking each station 100 in terms of its antenna performance. A station 100 having the best antenna ranking then preferentially becomes the master … The selection of master station requires the stations 100 to compare their rankings. One way in which this can be accomplished is for the master station to request each of the other stations 100 to provide their rankings, using standard Bluetooth communication protocols. Para. [0030]-Boyle discloses in situations where more than one of the stations 100 is able to access the same planned network, it may be advantageous for a similar ranking scheme to that described above to be employed for access to the planned network); and
set roles for the STAs, including the representative STA and the represented STA, based on the ranks (Fig. 1, Para. [0005]-Boyle discloses each station comprising transceiver means coupled to antenna means for communication with other stations, control means for performing the role of master or slave in a network and ranking means for determining a rank representative of the station's suitability for acting as master in the network, wherein at least one of the stations has comparison means for determining the rank of all the stations in the network and master transfer means for enabling the station having the highest rank to take the role of master in the network).
Boyle is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication system, dealing with plurality of stations capable of forming an ad-hoc network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sella in view of Wong to incorporate the teachings of Boyle on station preference ranking, with a motivation to set station roles, and guarantee enhanced performance, (Sella, Para. [0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the new reference (WONG et al. (US 20160323820 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472