DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the original filing of April 30, 2024. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and have been considered as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/30/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,108,884 B1, claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,722,580 B1, and claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,473 B1.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim(s) 1-20 is/are generic to all that is recited in claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,108,884 B1, claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,722,580 B1, and claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,473 B1. That is, claim(s) 1-20 is/are anticipated by claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,108,884 B1, claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,722,580 B1, and claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,473 B1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peterson et al. (US 2017/0223093 A1, hereinafter Peterson).
As to Claim 1, Peterson discloses a method comprising:
receiving with a load balancer in a cloud service provider infrastructure (CSPI) a client request from a client device to perform an operation on an appliance in a customer data center ((Peterson; [0103]), where Peterson discloses in a cloud based environment, performing load balance operations based on the received requested on an appliance.);
identifying an established server having an established connection with the appliance in the customer data center ((Peterson; Figs. 1 & 4; [0101-0102, 0110]), where Peterson discloses establishing a connection between the devices.); and
communicating the client request to the appliance in the customer data center via the established server ((Peterson; Figs. 1 & 4; [0102-0103, 0111]), where Peterson discloses communicating the request to the appliance.).
As to Claim 2, Peterson discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
the load balancer selecting a processing server for processing the client request ((Peterson; [0103]), where Peterson discloses in a cloud based environment, performing load balance operations based on the received requested on an appliance.); and forwarding the client request to the processing server ((Peterson; Figs. 1 & 4; [0102-0103, 0111, 0114]), where Peterson discloses communicating the request to the appliance.).
As to Claim 3, Peterson discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving the client request with the processing server ((Peterson; Figs. 4-5; [0110]), where Peterson discloses receiving the service request.); and inspecting the client request with the processing server to identify the appliance and a data center corresponding to the client request ((Peterson; Figs. 4-5; [0111-0112, 0115]), where Peterson discloses handling/processing the request.).
As to Claim 4, Peterson discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising storing information identifying the established connection between the established server and the appliance in the customer data center (Peterson; [0094-0095, 0106]).
As to Claim 5, Peterson discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the established server is one of a cluster of servers in the CSPI (Peterson; Fig. 1).
As to Claim 6, Peterson discloses the method of claim , wherein the information identifying the established connection between the established server and the appliance in the customer data center is stored in a distributed cache accessible by the cluster of servers (Peterson; [0094-0095, 0106, 0162]).
As to Claim 7, Peterson discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the processing server identifies the established server as having the established connection with the appliance in the customer data center based on the stored information (Peterson; [0094-0095, 0106]).
As to Claim 8, Peterson discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising generating with the processing server a redirect response redirecting the client request from the processing server to the established server (Peterson; Figs. 6, 9; [0089, 0098, 0118]).
As to Claim 9, Peterson discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising the load balancer sending the client request to the established server subsequent to the redirect response ((Peterson; [0103]), where Peterson discloses in a cloud based environment, performing load balance operations based on the received requested on an appliance.).
As to Claim 10, Peterson discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising receiving the client request from the load balancer at the established server ((Peterson; [0103]), where Peterson discloses in a cloud based environment, performing load balance operations based on the received requested on an appliance.).
As to Claim 11, Peterson discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the client request comprises a second client request generated by the client device in response to the redirect response (Peterson; Fig. 6; [0122, 0128]).
As to Claim 12, Peterson discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the load balancer sending the client request to the established server subsequent to the redirect response comprises: the load balancer receiving the second client request from the client device; and the load balancer forwarding the second client request to the established server ((Peterson; [0103]), where Peterson discloses in a cloud based environment, performing load balance operations based on the received requested on an appliance.)
As to Claim 13, Peterson discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the load balancer forwards the second client request to the established server based on endpoint identification information contained in the second client request ((Peterson; [0103]), where Peterson discloses in a cloud based environment, performing load balance operations based on the received requested on an appliance.)
As to Claim 14, Peterson discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the endpoint identification information comprises information identifying a path to the established server ((Peterson; [0102, 0103]), where Peterson disclose identifying the server to perform the request.).
As to Claim 15, Peterson discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising sending the client request from the established server to the appliance within the customer data center ((Peterson; [0102, 0103]), where Peterson disclose identifying the server to perform the request.).
As to Claim 16, Peterson discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising determining based on the stored information that the processing server has the established connection with the appliance in the customer data center (Peterson; [0094-0095, 0106, 0162]).
As to Claim 17, Peterson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the customer data center is an on-premise data center of the customer, wherein the customer subscribes to one or more services provided using the CSPI (Peterson; [0103]).
As to Claim 18, Peterson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing a plurality of instructions executable by one or more processors, the plurality of instructions comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform processing comprising:
receive with a load balancer in a cloud service provider infrastructure (CSPI) a client request from a client device to perform an operation on an appliance in a customer data center ((Peterson; [0103]), where Peterson discloses in a cloud based environment, performing load balance operations based on the received requested on an appliance.);
identify an established server having an established connection with the appliance in the customer data center ((Peterson; Figs. 1 & 4; [0101-0102, 0110]), where Peterson discloses establishing a connection between the devices.); and
communicate the client request to the appliance in the customer data center via the established server ((Peterson; Figs. 1 & 4; [0102-0103, 0111]), where Peterson discloses communicating the request to the appliance.).
As to Claim 19, Peterson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable memory of claim 18, wherein the customer data center is an on-premise data center of the customer, wherein the customer subscribes to one or more services provided using the CSPI (Peterson; [0103]).
As to Claim 20, Peterson discloses a system comprising:
one or more processors (Peterson; Fig. 12); and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing a plurality of instructions executable by the one or more processors, the plurality of instructions comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors (Peterson; Fig. 12) to perform processing comprising:
receive with a load balancer in a cloud service provider infrastructure (CSPI) a client request from a client device to perform an operation on an appliance in a customer data center ((Peterson; [0103]), where Peterson discloses in a cloud based environment, performing load balance operations based on the received requested on an appliance.);
identify an established server having an established connection with the appliance in the customer data center ((Peterson; Figs. 1 & 4; [0101-0102, 0110]), where Peterson discloses establishing a connection between the devices.); and
communicate the client request to the appliance in the customer data center via the established server ((Peterson; Figs. 1 & 4; [0102-0103, 0111]), where Peterson discloses communicating the request to the appliance.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/BENJAMIN M THIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441 2.13.2026