DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20240275992 A1).
Considering claim 1, Choi teaches an image decoding method (Fig.3, [0084] video/image decoding), comprising:
obtaining flag information from a bitstream (Fig.2-3, [0084] receive a signal output from the encoding apparatus of FIG. 2 in the form of a bitstream), the flag information indicating whether an intra prediction mode of a chroma block is derived as one of inter-component reference-based prediction modes (Figs. 2-3, [0010] obtaining video information comprising prediction mode information for a current chroma block, deriving one of a plurality of cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode as a CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, deriving a sample number of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block based on the CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, a size of the current chroma block, and a specific value [0084], [0087] determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied to the current block based on the information on the prediction output from the entropy decoder 310 and may determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode, [0553]-[0554] flag information);
determining the intra prediction mode of the chroma block based on the flag information ([0087] determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied to the current block based on the information on the prediction output from the entropy decoder 310 and may determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode, [0553]-[0554] flag information);
specifying a neighboring luma region (Fig.5) for inter-component reference of the chroma block based on the intra prediction mode (Fig.5, 24, 26, [0087] determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode, [0103]-[0105] a set of reference samples neighboring a current chroma block for predicting the current chroma block), the neighboring luma region being adjacent to a luma block corresponding to the chroma block (Fig.5-6, [0121] adjacent to the current chroma block and 2N reference samples adjacent to the current luma block);
down-sampling the neighboring luma region ([0572] down-sampled neighboring luma);
deriving a parameter for the inter-component reference of the chroma block based on pixels obtained by down-sampling the neighboring luma region (Fig.24, [0572] down-sampled neighboring luma samples may include down-sample top neighboring luma samples of the current luma block corresponding to the top neighboring chroma samples, [0111]-[0112] neighboring reference sample pairs (luma and chroma)), the parameter for the inter-component reference including at least one of a weight or an offset ([0069] represent only a pixel/pixel value of a luma component or represent only a pixel/pixel value of a chroma component); and
generating a prediction block of the chroma block based on the parameter ([0070]. generate a predicted block including prediction samples for the current block. The predictor may determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied on a current block or CU basis, [0010] parameters based on the neighboring chroma samples and the down sampled neighboring luma samples).
Considering claim 9, Choi teaches an image encoding method, comprising:
determining whether an intra prediction mode of a chroma block is derived as one of inter-component reference-based prediction modes (Fig.2-3, [0010] obtaining video information comprising prediction mode information for a current chroma block, deriving one of a plurality of cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode as a CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, deriving a sample number of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block based on the CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, a size of the current chroma block, and a specific value [0084], [0087] determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied to the current block based on the information on the prediction output from the entropy decoder 310 and may determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode);
determining the intra prediction mode of the chroma block from the inter-component reference-based prediction modes (Fig.2-3, [0010] obtaining video information comprising prediction mode information for a current chroma block, deriving one of a plurality of cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode as a CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, deriving a sample number of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block based on the CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, a size of the current chroma block, and a specific value [0084], [0087] determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied to the current block based on the information on the prediction output from the entropy decoder 310 and may determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode);
specifying a neighboring luma region (Fig.5) for inter-component reference of the chroma block based on the intra prediction mode (Fig.5, 24, 26, [0087] determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode, [0103]-[0105] a set of reference samples neighboring a current chroma block for predicting the current chroma block), the neighboring luma region being adjacent to a luma block corresponding to the chroma block (Fig.5-6, [0121] adjacent to the current chroma block and 2N reference samples adjacent to the current luma block);
down-sampling the neighboring luma region ([0572] down-sampled neighboring luma);
deriving a parameter for the inter-component reference of the chroma block based on pixels obtained by down-sampling the neighboring luma region (Fig.24, [0572] down-sampled neighboring luma samples may include down-sample top neighboring luma samples of the current luma block corresponding to the top neighboring chroma samples, [0111]-[0112] neighboring reference sample pairs (luma and chroma)), the parameter for the inter-component reference including at least one of a weight or an offset ([0069] represent only a pixel/pixel value of a luma component or represent only a pixel/pixel value of a chroma component); and
generating a prediction block of the chroma block based on the parameter ([0070]. generate a predicted block including prediction samples for the current block. The predictor may determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied on a current block or CU basis, [0010] parameters based on the neighboring chroma samples and the down sampled neighboring luma samples);
encoding flag information ([0553]-[0554] flag information) related to whether the intra prediction mode of the chroma block is derived as the one of the inter-component reference-based prediction modes (Fig.2-3, [0010] obtaining video information comprising prediction mode information for a current chroma block, deriving one of a plurality of cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode as a CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, deriving a sample number of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block based on the CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, a size of the current chroma block, and a specific value [0084], [0087] determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied to the current block based on the information on the prediction output from the entropy decoder 310 and may determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode, [0553]-[0554] flag information);
Considering claim 10, Choi teaches a method of transmitting a bitstream for an image (Fig.3, [0084] video/image decoding), comprising:
determining whether an intra prediction mode of a chroma block is derived as one of inter-component reference-based prediction modes (Fig.2-3, [0010] obtaining video information comprising prediction mode information for a current chroma block, deriving one of a plurality of cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode as a CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, deriving a sample number of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block based on the CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, a size of the current chroma block, and a specific value [0084], [0087] determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied to the current block based on the information on the prediction output from the entropy decoder 310 and may determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode);
determining the intra prediction mode of the chroma block from the inter-component reference-based prediction modes (Fig.2-3, [0010] obtaining video information comprising prediction mode information for a current chroma block, deriving one of a plurality of cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode as a CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, deriving a sample number of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block based on the CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, a size of the current chroma block, and a specific value [0084], [0087] determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied to the current block based on the information on the prediction output from the entropy decoder 310 and may determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode);
specifying a neighboring luma region (Fig.5) for inter-component reference of the chroma block based on the intra prediction mode (Fig.5, 24, 26, [0087] determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode, [0103]-[0105] a set of reference samples neighboring a current chroma block for predicting the current chroma block), the neighboring luma region being adjacent to a luma block corresponding to the chroma block (Fig.5-6, [0121] adjacent to the current chroma block and 2N reference samples adjacent to the current luma block);
down-sampling the neighboring luma region ([0572] down-sampled neighboring luma);
deriving a parameter for the inter-component reference of the chroma block based on pixels obtained by down-sampling the neighboring luma region (Fig.24, [0572] down-sampled neighboring luma samples may include down-sample top neighboring luma samples of the current luma block corresponding to the top neighboring chroma samples, [0111]-[0112] neighboring reference sample pairs (luma and chroma)), the parameter for the inter-component reference including at least one of a weight or an offset ([0069] represent only a pixel/pixel value of a luma component or represent only a pixel/pixel value of a chroma component); and
generating a prediction block of the chroma block based on the parameter ([0070]. generate a predicted block including prediction samples for the current block. The predictor may determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied on a current block or CU basis, [0010] parameters based on the neighboring chroma samples and the down sampled neighboring luma samples);
encoding flag information ([0553]-[0554] flag information) related to whether the intra prediction mode of the chroma block is derived as the one of the inter-component reference-based prediction modes (Fig.2-3, [0010] obtaining video information comprising prediction mode information for a current chroma block, deriving one of a plurality of cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode as a CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, deriving a sample number of neighboring chroma samples of the current chroma block based on the CCLM prediction mode of the current chroma block, a size of the current chroma block, and a specific value [0084], [0087] determine whether intra prediction or inter prediction is applied to the current block based on the information on the prediction output from the entropy decoder 310 and may determine a specific intra/inter prediction mode, [0553]-[0554] flag information); and
transmitting the bitstream including the flag information ([0553] encode flag information representing whether the number of neighboring reference samples is derived based on the specific value and signal the flag information through a bitmap, [0578]).
Considering claim 3, Choi teaches wherein the inter-component reference-based prediction modes include a first mode which refers to both left and top regions adjacent to the chroma block ([0115] Model_Left Top (LM_LT) mode), a second mode which refers to the left region adjacent to the chroma block but does not refer to the top region of the chroma block ([0119] Model_Left (LM_L) mode), and a third mode which refers to the top region adjacent to the chroma block but does not refer to the left region of the chroma block ([0118] Model_Top (LM_T) mode).
Considering claim 4, Choi teaches wherein the neighboring luma region includes at least one of a top neighboring luma region or a left neighboring luma region, wherein the top neighboring luma region includes N pixel lines (N rows) and the left neighboring luma region includes M pixel lines (M columns), and wherein N and M are integers greater than 0, and N is set to a different value than M (Fig.7, [0069] an M×N block may represent a set of samples or transform coefficients composed of M columns and N rows. A sample may generally represent a pixel or a value of a pixel, may represent only a pixel/pixel value of a luma component).
Considering claim 5, Choi teaches wherein down-sampling the neighboring luma region is performed based on a luma pixel at a specific position ([0111]) and a neighboring pixel of the luma pixel ([0111]-[0112]).
Considering claim 6, Choi teaches wherein the specific position includes positions of one or more pixels selected among a plurality of pixels belonging to a neighboring chroma region of the chroma block (S820, S830, S845, S850, Fig.8B, [0111]-[0112] a position of a pixel).
Considering claim 7, Choi teaches wherein the one or more pixels are one or more pixels positioned at every predetermined interval in the neighboring chroma region of the chroma block (table 29, Fig.8B, [0421], [0639] predetermined time).
Considering claim 8, Choi teaches wherein the neighboring pixel includes a pixel positioned in at least one of a left, right, top, bottom, top-left, bottom-left, top-right, or bottom-right direction of the luma pixel ([0100], [0111]-[0112] a position of a pixel, ([0069] an M×N block may represent a set of samples or transform coefficients composed of M columns and N rows. A sample may generally represent a pixel or a value of a pixel, may represent only a pixel/pixel value of a luma component).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang (US 20210112262 A1) teaches a method for parallel processing of color components of a video signal and an apparatus therefor are disclosed. Specifically, there is provided a method for decoding images based on an intra prediction mode, the method comprising: parsing a syntax element indicating whether a CCLM (cross-component linear model) intra prediction on a current chroma block is disabled or not; deriving an intra prediction mode applied to the current chroma block; and generating a prediction sample for the current chroma block based on the intra prediction mode, wherein, when the CCLM intra prediction is disabled, the intra prediction mode is derived in a predetermined first prediction mode set, when the CCLM intra prediction is not disabled, the intra prediction mode is derived in a predetermined second prediction mode set, and the second prediction mode set includes intra prediction modes included in the first prediction mode set and the CCLM intra prediction mode.
/KHAI M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641