DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant has amended the claims and argued those amendments. Examiner agrees that the previous rejection is overcome with these amendments. However, new art accounts for these amendments. Please see the rejections that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935).
Regarding claim 1, Pezeshki discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: (See Pezeshki fig. 1; wireless communication system including a UE)
a transceiver configured to: (See Pezeshki para. 61; UE with transceiver)
receive, from a base station (BS), configuration information including (i) a first configuration corresponding to a first transmission/reception setting and (ii) a second configuration corresponding to a second transmission/reception setting, wherein the configuration information is included in a radio resource control (RRC) message, and (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); para. 189; UE receives the configuration information via RRC signaling (e.g. from a base station))
receive, from the BS, an indication indicating whether to switch an operating
configuration, wherein the indication is included in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or downlink control information (DCI); and (See Pezeshki para. 125; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; para. 128; base station sends the request; para. 160; mode indication is send via MAC CE or DCI)
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: (See Pezeshki para. 61; transceiver and processor)
determine whether the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, (See Pezeshki para. 97, fig. 5-6; UE begins in a first mode and switching can occur (e.g. UE determines which modes it currently is in))
determine, based on the indication, whether to switch the operating configuration
between the first configuration and the second configuration, and (See Pezeshki para. 125, 128; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; UE determines what mode to switch to based upon the message)
switch, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the first configuration, the operating configuration from the first configuration to the second configuration, (See Pezeshki para. 125, 128; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; UE determines what mode to switch to based upon the message; fig. 6; UE switches and starts communicating using the second configuration)
Pezeshki discloses first/second mode settings. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose a first zone and a second zone wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other. However, Moon does disclose a first zone and a second zone (See Moon para. 106; narrow beam and wide beam (e.g. first and second zones)) wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and (See Moon para. 108; cell center with SSB use wide beam) the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, (See Moon para. 108; cell edge have narrow beam with SSB (e.g. beamforming)) the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other. (See Moon para. 112; wide beam uses SSB#0-#3 and narrow beam uses SSB#4-#19 (e.g. different from each other; see also para. 110, fig. 5-6) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki to include the teaching of a first zone and a second zone wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other of Moon with the motivation being to increase connectivity based upon UE location which can greatly affect its ability to reliably connect to the network and further to adapt beam operation based upon radio conditions to maximize limited resources and increase coverage.
Pezeshki in view of Moon does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation. However, Yang does disclose wherein the first set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation. (See Yang para. 21; spatial multiplexing in cell center and at edge using a different scheme; ) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon to include the teaching of wherein the first SSB set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation of Yang with the motivation being to increase capacity when possible (See Yang para. 11) and further to exploit high SNR in center conditions to increase throughput and/or capacity while at the same time maintaining connectivity with edge devices.
Regarding claim 2, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
switch, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the second configuration, the operating configuration from the second configuration to the first configuration. (See Pezeshki para. 97;switching in either direction)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of Park (2021/0120529).
Regarding claim 3, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the UE of Claim 1. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. However, Park does disclose the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. (See Park para. 107; UEs in group 1 with beam/TCI settings; para. 108; UEs in group 2 with beam/TCI settings) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki to include the teaching of the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group of Park with the motivation being to reduce redundant individual configuration/signaling by utilizing common group specific control signaling and transmission configurations which reduces control signaling and increases usable limited wireless bandwidth for actual data.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990).
Regarding claim 4, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein:
the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams)
the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs corresponding to beam regimes (See Moon para. 112; wide beam uses SSB#0-#3 and narrow beam uses SSB#4-#19 (e.g. different from each other; see also para. 110, fig. 5-6) The motivation being to increase connectivity based upon UE location which can greatly affect its ability to reliably connect to the network and further to adapt beam operation based upon radio conditions to maximize limited resources and increase coverage.
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang do not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and that SSBs are indicated per beam. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) that SSBs are indicated per beam (See DaSilva para. 124; SSBs are indicated per TRP/beam) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and that SSBs are indicated per beam of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990) and further in view of Guo (2018/0034515).
Regarding claim 5, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva discloses the UE of Claim 4.
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva do not explicitly disclose wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. However, Guo does disclose wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. (See Guo para. 6; enable/disable beamforming sent to UE; para. 123-125; beamforming enable/disabled for transmission/reception) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva to include the teaching of wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation of Guo with the motivation being to allow for flexibility and reliability in connectivity and further to meet end user demands by using beamforming when conditions warrant it and disabling when unnecessary which may save limited wireless resources and increase throughput.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990).
Regarding claim 6, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein:
the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting include at least one of:
a transmission configuration information (TCI) state, (See Pezeshki para.113; TCI states for configuration mode)
a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission
layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation,
a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission
layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation,
UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation,
a channel state information (CSI) reporting, and
a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set.
the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams)
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang do not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of Shih (2022/0022276).
Regarding claim 7, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein:
the first configuration corresponds to a first parameter and the second configuration corresponds to a second parameter; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams; para. 191)
Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. However, Shih does disclose wherein the configuration information corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. (See Shih para. 412-415; BWP, Pdcch-config which are used to configure BWP) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical down link shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration of Shih with the motivation being the motivation being to reduce interruption in connectivity and further to support devices with limited hardware capabilities and flexible service multiplexing and further to reduce battery usage and further to fine tune necessary parameters to maximize the hardware and available wireless resources and further to allow for fast switching between modes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935).
Regarding claim 8, Pezeshki discloses a method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (See Pezeshki fig. 1; wireless communication system including a UE)
receiving, from a base station (BS), configuration information including (i) a first
configuration corresponding to a first transmission/reception setting and (ii) a second configuration corresponding to a second transmission/reception setting, wherein the configuration information is included in a radio resource control (RRC) message; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); para. 189; UE receives the configuration information via RRC signaling (e.g. from a base station))
receiving, from the BS, an indication indicating whether to switch an operating
configuration, wherein the indication is included in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or downlink control information (DCI); (See Pezeshki para. 125; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; para. 128; base station sends the request; para. 160; mode indication is send via MAC CE or DCI)
determining whether the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration; (See Pezeshki para. 97, fig. 5-6; UE begins in a first mode and switching can occur (e.g. UE determines which modes it currently is in))
determining, based on the indication, whether to switch the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration; and (See Pezeshki para. 125, 128; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; UE determines what mode to switch to based upon the message)
switching, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the first configuration, the operating configuration from the first configuration to the second configuration, (See Pezeshki para. 125, 128; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; UE determines what mode to switch to based upon the message; fig. 6; UE switches and starts communicating using the second configuration)
Pezeshki discloses first/second mode settings. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose a first zone and a second zone wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other. However, Moon does disclose a first zone and a second zone (See Moon para. 106; narrow beam and wide beam (e.g. first and second zones)) wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and (See Moon para. 108; cell center with SSB use wide beam) the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, (See Moon para. 108; cell edge have narrow beam with SSB (e.g. beamforming)) the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other. (See Moon para. 112; wide beam uses SSB#0-#3 and narrow beam uses SSB#4-#19 (e.g. different from each other; see also para. 110, fig. 5-6) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki to include the teaching of a first zone and a second zone wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other of Moon with the motivation being to increase connectivity based upon UE location which can greatly affect its ability to reliably connect to the network and further to adapt beam operation based upon radio conditions to maximize limited resources and increase coverage.
Pezeshki in view of Moon does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation. However, Yang does disclose wherein the first set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation. (See Yang para. 21; spatial multiplexing in cell center and at edge using a different scheme; ) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon to include the teaching of wherein the first SSB set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation of Yang with the motivation being to increase capacity when possible (See Yang para. 11) and further to exploit high SNR in center conditions to increase throughput and/or capacity while at the same time maintaining connectivity with edge devices.
Regarding claim 9, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the method of Claim 8, further comprising switching, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the second configuration, the operating configuration from the second configuration to the first configuration. (See Pezeshki para. 97; switching in either direction)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of Park (2021/0120529).
Regarding claim 10, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the method of Claim 8. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. However, Park does disclose the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. (See Park para. 107; UEs in group 1 with beam/TCI settings; para. 108; UEs in group 2 with beam/TCI settings) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki to include the teaching of the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group of Park with the motivation being to reduce redundant individual configuration/signaling by utilizing common group specific control signaling and transmission configurations which reduces control signaling and increases usable limited wireless bandwidth for actual data.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990).
Regarding claim 11, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the method of Claim 8.
the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams)
the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs corresponding to beam regimes (See Moon para. 112; wide beam uses SSB#0-#3 and narrow beam uses SSB#4-#19 (e.g. different from each other; see also para. 110, fig. 5-6) The motivation being to increase connectivity based upon UE location which can greatly affect its ability to reliably connect to the network and further to adapt beam operation based upon radio conditions to maximize limited resources and increase coverage.
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang do not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and that SSBs are indicated per beam. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) that SSBs are indicated per beam (See DaSilva para. 124; SSBs are indicated per TRP/beam) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and that SSBs are indicated per beam of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990) and further in view of Guo (2018/0034515).
Regarding claim 12, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva discloses the method of Claim 11.
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva do not explicitly disclose wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. However, Guo does disclose wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. (See Guo para. 6; enable/disable beamforming sent to UE; para. 123-125; beamforming enable/disabled for transmission/reception) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva to include the teaching of wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation of Guo with the motivation being to allow for flexibility and reliability in connectivity and further to meet end user demands by using beamforming when conditions warrant it and disabling when unnecessary which may save limited wireless resources and increase throughput.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990).
Regarding claim 13, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the method of Claim 8, wherein:
the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting include at least one of:
a transmission configuration information (TCI) state, (See Pezeshki para.113; TCI states for configuration mode)
a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission
layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation,
a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission
layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation,
UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation,
a channel state information (CSI) reporting, and
a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set.
the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams)
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang do not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of Shih (2022/0022276).
Regarding claim 14, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the method of Claim 8, the first configuration corresponds to a first parameter and the second configuration corresponds to a second parameter; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams; para. 191)
Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. However, Shih does disclose wherein the configuration information corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. (See Shih para. 412-415; BWP, Pdcch-config which are used to configure BWP) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical down link shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration of Shih with the motivation being the motivation being to reduce interruption in connectivity and further to support devices with limited hardware capabilities and flexible service multiplexing and further to reduce battery usage and further to fine tune necessary parameters to maximize the hardware and available wireless resources and further to allow for fast switching between modes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935).
Regarding claim 15, Pezeshki discloses a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: (See Pezeshki fig. 1; wireless communication system including a BS)
a processor configured to: (See Pezeshki para. 62-63; BS with processor; fig. 2)
generate configuration information including (i) a first configuration corresponding
to a first transmission/reception setting and (ii) a second configuration corresponding to a second transmission/reception setting, and (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); para. 189; UE receives the configuration information via RRC signaling (e.g. from a base station))
generate an indication indicating whether to switch an operating configuration; and (See Pezeshki para. 125; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; para. 128; base station sends the request; para. 160; mode indication is send via MAC CE or DCI)
a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to: (See Pezeshki para. 62-63; BS with transceiver; fig. 2)
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via a radio resource control (RRC) message, the configuration information, and (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); para. 189; UE receives the configuration information via RRC signaling (e.g. from a base station))
transmit, to the UE via a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or
downlink control information (DCI), the indication, (See Pezeshki para. 125; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; para. 128; base station sends the request; para. 160; mode indication is send via MAC CE or DCI)
wherein:
the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration,
the switch of the operating configuration between the first configuration and the
second configuration is based on the indication, (See Pezeshki para. 125, 128; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; UE determines what mode to switch to based upon the message; fig. 6; UE switches and starts communicating using the second configuration) (See Pezeshki para. 125, 128; receiving a request to switch from first to second mode; UE determines what mode to switch to based upon the message)
Pezeshki discloses first/second mode settings. Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose a first zone and a second zone wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other. However, Moon does disclose a first zone and a second zone (See Moon para. 106; narrow beam and wide beam (e.g. first and second zones)) wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and (See Moon para. 108; cell center with SSB use wide beam) the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, (See Moon para. 108; cell edge have narrow beam with SSB (e.g. beamforming)) the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other. (See Moon para. 112; wide beam uses SSB#0-#3 and narrow beam uses SSB#4-#19 (e.g. different from each other; see also para. 110, fig. 5-6) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki to include the teaching of a first zone and a second zone wherein the first zone is identified based on a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a operation and the second zone is identified based on a second set of SSBs associated with a beamforming operation, the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs being different from each other of Moon with the motivation being to increase connectivity based upon UE location which can greatly affect its ability to reliably connect to the network and further to adapt beam operation based upon radio conditions to maximize limited resources and increase coverage.
Pezeshki in view of Moon does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation. However, Yang does disclose wherein the first set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation. (See Yang para. 21; spatial multiplexing in cell center and at edge using a different scheme; ) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon to include the teaching of wherein the first SSB set is associated with a spatial multiplexing operation of Yang with the motivation being to increase capacity when possible (See Yang para. 11) and further to exploit high SNR in center conditions to increase throughput and/or capacity while at the same time maintaining connectivity with edge devices.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of Park (2021/0120529).
Regarding claim 16, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the BS of Claim 15, wherein:
Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. However, Park does disclose the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. (See Park para. 107; UEs in group 1 with beam/TCI settings; para. 108; UEs in group 2 with beam/TCI settings) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki to include the teaching of the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group of Park with the motivation being to reduce redundant individual configuration/signaling by utilizing common group specific control signaling and transmission configurations which reduces control signaling and increases usable limited wireless bandwidth for actual data.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990).
Regarding claim 17, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the BS of Claim 15, wherein:
the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams)
the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs corresponding to beam regimes (See Moon para. 112; wide beam uses SSB#0-#3 and narrow beam uses SSB#4-#19 (e.g. different from each other; see also para. 110, fig. 5-6) The motivation being to increase connectivity based upon UE location which can greatly affect its ability to reliably connect to the network and further to adapt beam operation based upon radio conditions to maximize limited resources and increase coverage.
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang do not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and that SSBs are indicated per beam. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) that SSBs are indicated per beam (See DaSilva para. 124; SSBs are indicated per TRP/beam) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state and that SSBs are indicated per beam of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990) and further in view of Guo (2018/0034515).
Regarding claim 18, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva discloses the BS of Claim 17,
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva do not explicitly disclose wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. However, Guo does disclose wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. (See Guo para. 6; enable/disable beamforming sent to UE; para. 123-125; beamforming enable/disabled for transmission/reception) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang in view of DaSilva to include the teaching of wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state include at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation of Guo with the motivation being to allow for flexibility and reliability in connectivity and further to meet end user demands by using beamforming when conditions warrant it and disabling when unnecessary which may save limited wireless resources and increase throughput.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of DaSilva (2020/0373990).
Regarding claim 19, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the BS of Claim 15, wherein:
the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting include at least one of:
a transmission configuration information (TCI) state, (See Pezeshki para.113; TCI states for configuration mode)
a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission
layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation,
a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission
layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation,
UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation,
a channel state information (CSI) reporting, and
a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set.
the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams)
Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang do not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki (2022/0029688) and further in view of Moon (2023/0064052) and further in view of Yang (2007/0153935) and further in view of Shih (2022/0022276).
Regarding claim 20, Pezeshki in view of Moon in view of Yang discloses the BS of Claim 15, wherein:
the first configuration corresponds to a first parameter and the second configuration corresponds to a second parameter; (See Pezeshki para. 186; configuration information indicates a first set of BWP to a first beamforming mode (e.g. first transmission/reception setting) and a second set of BWP to a second beamforming mode (e.g. second transmission/reception setting); (See Pezeshki para. 113; beam modes with configuration indicating one or more beams and a TCI associated with the beams; para. 191)
Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. However, Shih does disclose wherein the configuration information corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. (See Shih para. 412-415; BWP, Pdcch-config which are used to configure BWP) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical down link shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration of Shih with the motivation being the motivation being to reduce interruption in connectivity and further to support devices with limited hardware capabilities and flexible service multiplexing and further to reduce battery usage and further to fine tune necessary parameters to maximize the hardware and available wireless resources and further to allow for fast switching between modes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stephen J Clawson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461