CTNF 18/651,532 CTNF 86046 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites ‘the TCI state’. Claim 4, upon which 5 depends, has a first TCI state and a second TCI state. Therefore, it is not clear which of these states ‘the TCI state’ is referring to or if ‘the TCI state is referring to some other TCI state. Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites ‘respectively’. The word ‘respectively’ is used to map a set of items to an equal number of other items in strict sequential order. Using ‘respectively’ to map two settings to an ‘at least one of’ list containing six items is indefinite, as it is impossible to map the two setting sequentially to the options provided. Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites ‘the configuration’. It is not clear what configuration ‘the configuration’ is referring to. Claim 1 mentions a first configuration and a second configuration. Therefore, it is unclear if ‘the configuration’ is the first, second or some other configuration. Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites ‘a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config)…’ These are unclear. It appears that Applicant is attempting to claim ‘…a physical downlink control channel configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH-config)…’ Appropriate action is required. Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites ‘the TCI state’. Claim 11, upon which 12 depends, has a first TCI state and a second TCI state. Therefore, it is not clear which of these states ‘the TCI state’ is referring to or if ‘the TCI state is referring to some other TCI state. Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites ‘respectively’. The word ‘respectively’ is used to map a set of items to an equal number of other items in strict sequential order. Using ‘respectively’ to map two settings to an ‘at least one of’ list containing six items is indefinite, as it is impossible to map the two setting sequentially to the options provided. Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites ‘the configuration’. It is not clear what configuration ‘the configuration’ is referring to. Claim 8 mentions a first configuration and a second configuration. Therefore, it is unclear if ‘the configuration’ is the first, second or some other configuration. Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites ‘a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config)…’ These are unclear. It appears that Applicant is attempting to claim ‘…a physical downlink control channel configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH-config)…’ Appropriate action is required. Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites ‘the TCI state’. Claim 17, upon which 18 depends, has a first TCI state and a second TCI state. Therefore, it is not clear which of these states ‘the TCI state’ is referring to or if ‘the TCI state is referring to some other TCI state. Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites ‘respectively’. The word ‘respectively’ is used to map a set of items to an equal number of other items in strict sequential order. Using ‘respectively’ to map two settings to an ‘at least one of’ list containing six items is indefinite, as it is impossible to map the two setting sequentially to the options provided. Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites ‘the configuration’. It is not clear what configuration ‘the configuration’ is referring to. Claim 15 mentions a first configuration and a second configuration. Therefore, it is unclear if ‘the configuration’ is the first, second or some other configuration. Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites ‘a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config)…’ These are unclear. It appears that Applicant is attempting to claim ‘…a physical downlink control channel configuration (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH-config)…’ Appropriate action is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) Regarding claim 1, Landis discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: (See Landis fig. 12, para. 152; 1200 UE) a transceiver configured to: (See Landis fig. 12, para. 152; 1200 UE with transceiver 1210) receive, from a base station (BS), configuration information including (i) a first configuration corresponding to a first transmission/reception setting and (ii) a second configuration corresponding to a second transmission/reception setting, (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) wherein the configuration information is included in a radio resource control (RRC) message, and (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits configuration using RRC message) receive, from the BS, an indication indicating whether to switch an operating configuration, wherein the indication is included in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or downlink control information (DCI); and (See Landis para. 66; base station may transmit an activation message to activate the TCI state of the plurality of TCI states using a MAC-CE) a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: (See Landis fig. 12, para. 152; 1200 UE with transceiver 1210 coupled to processor 1204 via bus) wherein the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting are associated with a number of transmission layers for a spatial multiplexing operation or a beamforming operation. (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states; para. 88-90; number of layers (rank) is sent to UE using spatial multiplexing or beamforming) Landis does not explicitly disclose determine whether the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, determine, based on the indication, whether to switch the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration, and switch, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the first configuration, the operating configuration from the first configuration to the second configuration. However, Kim does disclose determine whether the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, determine, based on the indication, whether to switch the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration, and switch, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the first configuration, the operating configuration from the first configuration to the second configuration. (See Kim fig. 34, para. 512; UE switches from a first cell group to second cell group based upon a cell switching command (e.g. the operating is being switched); para. 2, 438, 440; switch command is from a source cell to a target cell (e.g. a first configuration to a second configuration) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis to include the teaching of determine whether the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, determine, based on the indication, whether to switch the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration, and switch, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the first configuration, the operating configuration from the first configuration to the second configuration of Kim with the motivation being to reduce latency and interruption in connectivity and further to allow for fast reconfigurations in dynamic wireless environments to ensure connectivity reducing delay and when appropriate faster throughput. Regarding claim 2, Landis in view of Kim discloses the UE of claim 1. Kim discloses switching from a first configuration to a second configuration. Landis in view of Kim do not explicitly disclose switching from a second configuration to a first configuration. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of switching from a first configuration to a second configuration. Landis in view of Kim do not explicitly disclose switching from a second configuration to a first configuration with the motivation being it is obvious to try (in that in at the time of the invention, there was a need to maintain connectivity by moving from one cell configuration to another cell configuration; one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with reasonable success; there are no unexpected results of choosing moving back to a cell configuration if a UE moves back and conditions for this configuration improve and are better than the current configuration) and further it is common sense to one of ordinary skill possessing ordinary creativity (e.g. Kim shows in fig. 34/36 a UE moving from one cell to another cell based upon conditions; Kim also discloses the UE moves; therefore it is common sense that the UE may move back towards the first cell)) . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view Park (2021/0120529) . Regarding claim 3, Landis in view of Kim discloses the UE of claim 1. Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. However, Park does disclose wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. (See Park para. 6; 1 st TCI state (e.g. settings) for first UE group which is multicast and a 2 nd TCI state (e.g. settings) for a second UE group which is unicast) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group of Park with the motivation being to maximize limited wireless resources by using a grouping scheme to save bandwidth when possible and further to increase connectivity and prevent connection drops and further to reduce latency and increase throughput . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) . Regarding claim 4, Landis in view of Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein: the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs. (See DaSilva para. 124; SSBs are indicated per TRP/beam) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) and further in view of Guo (2018/0034515) . Regarding claim 5, Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva discloses the UE of claim 4. Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva do not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. However, Guo does disclose wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. (See Guo para. 6; enable/disable beamforming sent to UE; para. 123-125; beamforming enable/disabled for transmission/reception) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva to include the teaching of wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation of Guo with the motivation being to allow for flexibility and reliability in connectivity and further to meet end user demands by using beamforming when conditions warrant it and disabling when unnecessary which may save limited wireless resources and increase throughput . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) . Regarding claim 6, Landis in view of Kim discloses the UE of claim 1. the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting include, respectively, at least one of: a transmission configuration information (TCI) state, (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation, a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation, UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation, a channel state information (CSI) reporting, and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set. Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view Shih (2022/0022276) . Regarding claim 7, Landis in view of Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein: the first configuration corresponds to a first group of parameters; the second configuration corresponds to a second group of parameters. (See Kim para. 439-440; multiple configurations with parameters (e.g. groups of parameters) The motivation being to reduce latency and interruption in connectivity and further to allow for fast reconfigurations in dynamic wireless environments to ensure connectivity reducing delay and when appropriate faster throughput. Landis does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. However, Shih does disclose the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. (See Shih para. 412-415; BWP, Pdcch-config which are used to configure BWP) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration of Shih with the motivation being the motivation being to reduce interruption in connectivity and further to support devices with limited hardware capabilities and flexible service multiplexing and further to reduce battery usage . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) . Regarding claim 8, Landis discloses a method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (See Landis fig. 12, para. 152; 1200 UE) receiving, from a base station (BS), configuration information including (i) a first configuration corresponding to a first transmission/reception setting and (ii) a second configuration corresponding to a second transmission/reception setting, (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) wherein the configuration information is included in a radio resource control (RRC) message; (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits configuration using RRC message) receiving, from the BS, an indication indicating whether to switch an operating configuration, wherein the indication is included in a medium access control element (MAC CE) or downlink control information (DCI); (See Landis para. 66; base station may transmit an activation message to activate the TCI state of the plurality of TCI states using a MAC-CE) wherein the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting are associated with a number of transmission layers for a spatial multiplexing operation or a beamforming operation. (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states; para. 88-90; number of layers (rank) is sent to UE using spatial multiplexing or beamforming) Landis does not explicitly disclose determine whether the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, determine, based on the indication, whether to switch the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration, and switch, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the first configuration, the operating configuration from the first configuration to the second configuration. However, Kim does disclose determine whether the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, determine, based on the indication, whether to switch the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration, and switch, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the first configuration, the operating configuration from the first configuration to the second configuration. (See Kim fig. 34, para. 512; UE switches from a first cell group to second cell group based upon a cell switching command (e.g. the operating is being switched); para. 2, 438, 440; switch command is from a source cell to a target cell (e.g. a first configuration to a second configuration) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis to include the teaching of determine whether the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, determine, based on the indication, whether to switch the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration, and switch, based on a determination that the operating configuration is indicated to be switched and the operating configuration is the first configuration, the operating configuration from the first configuration to the second configuration of Kim with the motivation being to reduce latency and interruption in connectivity and further to allow for fast reconfigurations in dynamic wireless environments to ensure connectivity reducing delay and when appropriate faster throughput. Regarding claim 9, Landis in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 8. Kim discloses switching from a first configuration to a second configuration. Landis in view of Kim do not explicitly disclose switching from a second configuration to a first configuration. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of switching from a first configuration to a second configuration. Landis in view of Kim do not explicitly disclose switching from a second configuration to a first configuration with the motivation being it is obvious to try (in that in at the time of the invention, there was a need to maintain connectivity by moving from one cell configuration to another cell configuration; one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with reasonable success; there are no unexpected results of choosing moving back to a cell configuration if a UE moves back and conditions for this configuration improve and are better than the current configuration) and further it is common sense to one of ordinary skill possessing ordinary creativity (e.g. Kim shows in fig. 34/36 a UE moving from one cell to another cell based upon conditions; Kim also discloses the UE moves; therefore it is common sense that the UE may move back towards the first cell)) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view Park (2021/0120529) . Regarding claim 10, Landis in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 8. Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. However, Park does disclose wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. (See Park para. 6; 1 st TCI state (e.g. settings) for first UE group which is multicast and a 2 nd TCI state (e.g. settings) for a second UE group which is unicast) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group of Park with the motivation being to maximize limited wireless resources by using a grouping scheme to save bandwidth when possible and further to increase connectivity and prevent connection drops and further to reduce latency and increase throughput . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) . Regarding claim 11, Landis in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 8, wherein: the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs. (See DaSilva para. 124; SSBs are indicated per TRP/beam) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) and further in view of Guo (2018/0034515) . Regarding claim 12, Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva discloses the method of claim 11. Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva do not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. However, Guo does disclose wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. (See Guo para. 6; enable/disable beamforming sent to UE; para. 123-125; beamforming enable/disabled for transmission/reception) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva to include the teaching of wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation of Guo with the motivation being to allow for flexibility and reliability in connectivity and further to meet end user demands by using beamforming when conditions warrant it and disabling when unnecessary which may save limited wireless resources and increase throughput . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) . Regarding claim 13, Landis in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 8, wherein: the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting include, respectively, at least one of: a transmission configuration information (TCI) state, (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation, a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation, UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation, a channel state information (CSI) reporting, and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set. Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view Shih (2022/0022276) . Regarding claim 14, Landis in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 8. the first configuration corresponds to a first group of parameters; the second configuration corresponds to a second group of parameters. (See Kim para. 439-440; multiple configurations with parameters (e.g. groups of parameters) The motivation being to reduce latency and interruption in connectivity and further to allow for fast reconfigurations in dynamic wireless environments to ensure connectivity reducing delay and when appropriate faster throughput. Landis does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. However, Shih does disclose the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. (See Shih para. 412-415; BWP, Pdcch-config which are used to configure BWP) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration of Shih with the motivation being the motivation being to reduce interruption in connectivity and further to support devices with limited hardware capabilities and flexible service multiplexing and further to reduce battery usage . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) . Regarding claim 15, Landis discloses a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: (See Landis fig. 15, para. 190; RAN entity) a processor configured to: (See Landis fig. 15, para. 190; RAN entity with processor) generate configuration information including (i) a first configuration corresponding to a first transmission/reception setting and (ii) a second configuration corresponding to a second transmission/reception setting, and (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (generated before transmission) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) generate an indication indicating whether to switch an operating configuration; and (See Landis para. 66; base station may transmit an activation message (generated before transmission) to activate the TCI state of the plurality of TCI states using a MAC-CE) a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to: (See Landis fig. 15, para. 190; RAN entity with processor connected via a bus to the transceiver) transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via a radio resource control (RRC) message, the configuration information, and (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (to a UE) configuration using RRC message) transmit, to the UE via a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or downlink control information (DCI), the indication, (See Landis para. 66; base station may transmit an activation message to activate the TCI state of the plurality of TCI states using a MAC-CE) the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting are associated with a number of transmission layers for a spatial multiplexing operation or a beamforming operation. (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states; para. 88-90; number of layers (rank) is sent to UE using spatial multiplexing or beamforming) Landis does not explicitly disclose wherein the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, the switch of the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration is based on the indication. However, Kim does disclose wherein the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, the switch of the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration is based on the indication. (See Kim fig. 34, para. 512; UE switches from a first cell group to second cell group based upon a cell switching command (e.g. the operating is being switched); para. 2, 438, 440; switch command is from a source cell to a target cell (e.g. a first configuration to a second configuration) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis to include the teaching of wherein the operating configuration is the first configuration or the second configuration, the switch of the operating configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration is based on the indication of Kim with the motivation being to reduce latency and interruption in connectivity and further to allow for fast reconfigurations in dynamic wireless environments to ensure connectivity reducing delay and when appropriate faster throughput . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view Park (2021/0120529) . Regarding claim 16, Landis in view of Kim discloses the BS of claim 15. Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. However, Park does disclose wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group. (See Park para. 6; 1 st TCI state (e.g. settings) for first UE group which is multicast and a 2 nd TCI state (e.g. settings) for a second UE group which is unicast) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of wherein: the first transmission/reception setting corresponds to a first UE group; and the second transmission/reception setting corresponds to a second UE group of Park with the motivation being to maximize limited wireless resources by using a grouping scheme to save bandwidth when possible and further to increase connectivity and prevent connection drops and further to reduce latency and increase throughput . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) . Regarding claim 17, Landis in view of Kim discloses the BS of claim 15, wherein: the first configuration corresponds to a first transmission configuration information (TCI) state and the second configuration corresponds to a second TCI state; (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs. (See DaSilva para. 124; SSBs are indicated per TRP/beam) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and the first state corresponds to a first set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and the second state corresponds to a second set of SSBs of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) and further in view of Guo (2018/0034515) . Regarding claim 18, Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva discloses the BS of claim 17. Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva do not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. However, Guo does disclose wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation. (See Guo para. 6; enable/disable beamforming sent to UE; para. 123-125; beamforming enable/disabled for transmission/reception) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim in view of DaSilva to include the teaching of wherein the TCI state includes at least one of: a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation; a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation; and UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate, to the UE, whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation of Guo with the motivation being to allow for flexibility and reliability in connectivity and further to meet end user demands by using beamforming when conditions warrant it and disabling when unnecessary which may save limited wireless resources and increase throughput . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view DaSilva (2020/0373990) . Regarding claim 19, Landis in view of Kim discloses the BS of claim 15, wherein: the first transmission/reception setting and the second transmission/reception setting include, respectively, at least one of: a transmission configuration information (TCI) state, (See Landis para. 66; base station transmits (UE receives) a plurality of TCI state groups (e.g. a first and a second config at minimum); para. 65 two or more TCI states) a maximum number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission layers for a transmit (Tx) beamforming operation, a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers for a receive (Rx) beamforming operation, UE-Rx-beamforming information used to indicate whether to enable or disable the Rx beamforming operation, a channel state information (CSI) reporting, and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set. Landis in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state. However, DaSilva does disclose the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state; and (See DaSilva para. 72, 75; indexing to indicate configurations) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the indication further corresponds to an index indicating the first state or the second state of DaSilva with the motivation being to save in signaling overhead and further to allow for quick changes and further to ensure connectivity and reduce delay by not needing extensive signaling to make changes . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis (2022/0201695) and further in view of Kim (2024/0147328; Provisional filed 2 Nov 2022) and further in view Shih (2022/0022276) . Regarding claim 20, Landis in view of Kim discloses the BS of claim 15, wherein: the first configuration corresponds to a first group of parameters; the second configuration corresponds to a second group of parameters; (See Kim para. 439-440; multiple configurations with parameters (e.g. groups of parameters) The motivation being to reduce latency and interruption in connectivity and further to allow for fast reconfigurations in dynamic wireless environments to ensure connectivity reducing delay and when appropriate faster throughput. Landis does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. However, Shih does disclose the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration. (See Shih para. 412-415; BWP, Pdcch-config which are used to configure BWP) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Landis in view of Kim to include the teaching of the processor is further configured to identify the configuration corresponding to a group of parameters comprising at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration (PDSCH-config), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH-config), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH-config); and the group of parameters corresponds to a bandwidth part configuration of Shih with the motivation being the motivation being to reduce interruption in connectivity and further to support devices with limited hardware capabilities and flexible service multiplexing and further to reduce battery usage. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEPHEN J CLAWSON whose telephone number is (571)270-7498. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:00 pm est. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy D Vu can be reached at (571) 272-3155. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 2 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 3 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 4 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 5 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 6 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 7 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 8 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 9 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 10 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 11 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 12 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 13 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 14 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 15 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 16 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 17 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 19 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 20 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 21 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 22 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 23 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 24 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 25 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 26 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 27 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 28 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 29 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/651,532 Page 30 Art Unit: 2461