DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carlson (US 20110100045 A1).
As to claim 1, Carlson discloses: A precooling system 100 (Fig. 1) for a data center 101, wherein the data center comprises an enclosure 101 with a containment structure (below 105) located therein, wherein the containment structure, in turn, comprises at least one computer rack 102 configured to pass air therethrough and an enclosed containment space 108, the precooling system comprises:
a first heat exchanger 112 with a first air inlet (right) configured to accept air flowing from the enclosed containment space 108, a first air outlet (left), and a first plurality of heat-exchanging fluid passages (cooling coils; par. 0037) configured to extract heat from and, thereby, cool the air passing from the first air inlet to the first air outlet, wherein the heat is extracted into the fluid circulating therethrough,
a second heat exchanger 118 (direct free cooling embodiment – see par. 0048 and par. 0045) with a second air inlet (into 118) configured to accept air outside the containment structure, a second air outlet (out of 118) configured to exhaust air outside the containment structure, and a second plurality of heat-exchanging fluid passages configured to extract heat from and, thereby, cool the fluid circulating therethrough (direct free cooling - see par. 0048 and 0045), and
a fluid pump (any of pumps 120, 124, 128, 132) configured to circulate the fluid between the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger (in the direct free cooling embodiment),
wherein the containment structure is configured to allow air to flow from the enclosed containment space 108 into the first air inlet of the first heat exchanger 112,
wherein the enclosure of the data center is configured to allow air from the first air outlet of the first heat exchanger 112 to be directed toward and through the at least one computer rack 102, thereby air-cooling thereof, before flowing into the enclosed containment space (exhausted warm air flows through 104 to an inlet of fan 110 and back down to 108; par. 0035, 0092.
As to claim 2, Carlson discloses: wherein the first heat exchanger further comprises a first air pump 110 configured to cause air to pass from the first air inlet to the first air outlet.
As to claim 3, Carlson discloses: wherein the second heat exchanger further comprises a second air pump (see fan on top of 118; Fig. 1) configured to cause air to pass from the second air inlet to the second air outlet.
As to claim 4, Carlson discloses: wherein the first heat exchanger 112 is positioned to facilitate the first air inlet to capture air from the containment structure 108, thereby facilitating cooling thereof while passing therethrough.
As to claim 5, Carlson discloses: wherein the first heat exchanger 112 is located above or on a side (side) of the enclosed containment space 108 with the first air inlet configured to accept air therefrom.
As to claim 6, Carlson discloses: wherein the data center comprises a ductwork (outlet of fan 110, funneled top of plenum 108, attic 105, warm air plenums 104) configured to direct air from the containment structure (below 105) to the first air inlet of the first heat exchanger 112.
As to claim 7, Carlson discloses: wherein the ductwork comprises a chimney 104a, 104b configured to direct air from the containment space toward a ceiling of the data center 101.
As to claim 9, Carlson discloses: wherein the first outlet of the first heat exchanger is configured to direct airflow (at least indirectly) to an air conditioning system (supplemental air conditioner for cooling/dehumidifying/exchanging outside air for the workspace 106; par. 0042-0043;) for additional cooling after passing through the first heat exchanger.
As to claim 10, Carlson discloses: further comprising a controller (system responds to one or more thermostats; par. 0058) equipped with a plurality of temperature sensors (one or more thermostats, sensors 192; par. 0058-0059) configured to (capable of) monitor air temperature in the at least one computer rack (thermostats near the servers; par. 0059), as well as before (in the warm air plenums 104; par. 0059) and after passing through the first heat exchanger (see 192 in Fig. 1).
As to claim 11, Carlson discloses: wherein the controller is configured to (capable of) initiate, terminate, or adjust the operation of the precooling system depending on the temperature reading throughout thereof (“In operation, system 100 may respond to signals from one or more sensors 192 placed in system 100”; par. 0058) or on a time-scheduled basis.
As to claim 12, Carlson discloses: wherein the enclosed containment space is defined by the at least one computer rack 102a on at least one side thereof (left side of the containment space), a floor of the data center on a bottom thereof (floor of the data center), a first inlet of the first heat exchanger 112a on a top or a side thereof (side of the heat exchanger), and wherein other sides of the enclosed containment space are formed by other computer racks 102b or by one or more physical barriers to airflow (ceiling), thereby forming an airflow path through the at least one computer rack and into the first air inlet of the first heat exchanger (see arrows).
As to claim 13, Carlson discloses: wherein other sides of the enclosed containment space are formed by at least one wall of the data center (e.g., front and rear walls, not illustrated) or at least one more computer rack (102b).
As to claim 14, Carlson discloses: wherein each computer rack 102a, 102b is associated with a first heat exchanger 112a, 112b, wherein airflow from each computer rack is passed through the first heat exchanger for precooling purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson (US 20110100045 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Noteboom (US 20100263825 A1).
As to claim 8, Carlson discloses:
wherein the data center comprises two spaced apart rows of computer racks 102a, 102b with backs of computer racks in each of the two rows facing each other and, forming the enclosed space for accepting the air passing through the computer racks on both sides thereof.
Carlson does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the data center comprises two spaced apart rows of computer racks with backs of computer racks in each of the two rows facing each other and, together with the first heat exchanger positioned on top and bridging a gap between two rows of computer racks, forming the enclosed space for accepting the air passing through the computer racks on both sides thereof.
However, Noteboom discloses:
wherein the data center (Fig. 1-5) comprises two spaced apart rows of computer racks with backs of computer racks 304 (server racks; par. 0033; Fig. 3) in each of the two rows facing each other and, together with the first heat exchanger 300 positioned on top and bridging a gap between two rows of computer racks, forming the enclosed space 302 (cold row encapsulation structure) for accepting the air passing through the computer racks on both sides thereof;
in order to cool the servers (par. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Carlson as suggested by Noteboom, e.g., providing:
wherein the data center comprises two spaced apart rows of computer racks with backs of computer racks in each of the two rows facing each other and, together with the first heat exchanger positioned on top and bridging a gap between two rows of computer racks, forming the enclosed space for accepting the air passing through the computer racks on both sides thereof;
in order to cool the servers.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 15, Carlson does not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least one side of the enclosed containment space is formed by an openable physical barrier.
However, Noteboom discloses:
wherein at least one side of the enclosed containment space (cold row encapsulation structure; par. 0023; Fig. 1) is formed by an openable physical barrier (door; par. 0023, 0030);
in order to provide a door/multiple doors for entrance/maintenance (par. 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Carlson as suggested by Noteboom, e.g., providing:
wherein at least one side of the enclosed containment space is formed by an openable physical barrier;
in order to provide a door/multiple doors for entrance/maintenance.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 16, Carlson in view of Noteboom discloses:
wherein the openable physical barrier is a door (par. 0023, 0030; Noteboom), a screen, a curtain, or a temporary partition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tozer (US 20120103591 A1) discloses a free cooling system for a data center.
Endo (US 10299411 B2) discloses a data center cooling system with enclosed containment space.
Keisling (US 8297067 B2) discloses a data center with back to back server racks forming an enclosed containment space and a heat exchanger/cooling system.
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841