DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended as filed on 12/08/2025.
Claim 5 is canceled as filed on 12/08/2025.
Claim 21 is new as filed on 12/08/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,021,646 B2, hereinafter 646. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
18/651,690
646
Claims 1, 8, and 15:
A method comprising: hosting, by a group-based communication system and via a user interface, a video meeting that includes a plurality of participants;
maintaining, in association with the video meeting, a thread in which the plurality of participants are authorized to post messages during the video meeting, wherein the thread is maintained within the user interface or within a communication channel associated with the video meeting;
receiving, during the video meeting, within a text entry field of the thread, and from a participant of the plurality of participants, a message to be posted within the thread;
causing display of the message within the thread;
and causing, after an end of the video meeting, the thread to be accessible to the plurality of participants via the group-based communication system
Claim 1:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, perform a method of documenting a synchronous multimedia collaboration session in connection with a group-based communication system, the method comprising:
detecting a live synchronous multimedia collaboration session in a pre-existing messaging channel of the group-based communication system, the live synchronous multimedia collaboration session accessible to a plurality of channel members of the pre-existing messaging channel, the plurality of channel members comprising a plurality of participant users joined to the live synchronous multimedia collaboration session and a plurality of non-participant users not joined to the live synchronous multimedia collaboration session, wherein the pre-existing messaging channel provides a communications environment to display communications posted by the plurality of channel members;
receiving, from a non-participant user of the plurality of non-participant users, a real-time text input during a second time period of the live synchronous multimedia collaboration session; determining an audio segment of the live synchronous multimedia collaboration session that corresponds to the second time period associated with the real-time text input;
updating in real-time during the live synchronous multimedia collaboration session, the collaboration thread displayed to the plurality of participant users and the plurality of non-participant users to include the first message, the second message, and the transcribed audio segment;
wherein the collaboration thread is persisted within the pre-existing messaging channel such that the collaboration thread is accessible to the plurality of channel members after termination of the live synchronous multimedia collaboration session.
Accordingly, claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-21 are also rejected, at least, based on their respective dependencies on claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2022/0191055 A1), hereinafter Christensen, in view of Dorner et al. (Patent No. US 10,536,542 B1), hereinafter Dorner, and in further view of MASTER BEN-DOR et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2022/0414130 A1), hereinafter Dor.
2. With respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, Christensen taught a method comprising: hosting, by a group-based communication system and via a user interface, a video meeting that includes a plurality of participants (title); maintaining, in association with the video meeting, a thread in which the plurality of participants are authorized to post messages during the video meeting, wherein the thread is maintained within the user interface or within a communication channel associated with the video meeting (0064 & figure 5); receiving, during the video meeting, within a text entry field of the thread, and from a participant of the plurality of participants, a message to be posted within the thread (0089); causing display of the message within the thread (figure 5, items 514 & 516).
However, Christensen did not explicitly state causing, after an end of the video meeting, the thread to be accessible to the plurality of participants via the group-based communication system. On the other hand, Dorner did teach causing, after an end of the video meeting, the thread to be accessible to the plurality of participants via the group-based communication system (14:6-21). Both of the systems of Christensen and Dorner are directed towards chat systems and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Christensen, to utilize posting chat histories, as taught by Dorner, in order to improve the marketability of the system by allowing the records of the conference to be made available.
However, while Christensen did teach a communication channel that initiates a video conference under broadest reasonable interpretation (abstract: the groups conferences), in order to promote a more compact prosecution, it will be taken that Christensen did not explicitly state that the video meeting is initiated from within a communication channel and that that thread is persisted with in the communication channel such that that thread is available to the plurality of participants of the communication channel. On the other hand, Dor did teach Christensen did not explicitly state that the video meeting is initiated from within a communication channel and that that thread is persisted with in the communication channel such that that thread is available to the plurality of participants of the communication channel (0082 & fig. 4. See also: 0124). Both of the systems of Christensen and Dor are directed towards chat systems and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Christensen, to utilize posting chat histories to persistent channels, as taught by Dor, in order to improve the marketability of the system by allowing the records of the conference to be made available.
3. As for claims 2, 9, and 16, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). In addition, Christensen taught in response to receiving the message, causing display of a notification within the user interface indicating new activity within the thread (figure 5, item 514, where this is implicitly taught, at least, by displaying the new posted text).
4. As for claims 3, 10, and 17, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). In addition, Christensen taught wherein the video meeting and the thread are displayed simultaneously within the user interface (figure 5, item 514).
5. As for claims 4, 11, and 18, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). In addition, Christensen taught wherein messages posted within the thread are overlaid with respect to the video meeting (figure 5, items 506, 502, & 514, where the chat box 514 is overlaid over the background 502, with respect to the position of the images 506 & 508).
6. As for claims 5 and 12, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 8 (respectively). In addition, Christensen taught wherein, after the end of the video meeting, the thread is accessible via a list of thread conversations or via the communication channel (14:6-21).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen, in view of Dorner, in view of Dor, and in further view of CHHABRA et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2020/0112450 A1), hereinafter Chhabra.
7. As for claim 21, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. However, Christensen did not explicitly state determining, after a start time of the video meeting, that a member of the communication channel has yet to join the video meeting; receiving, from the participant or a different participant of the plurality of participants, a selection of a nudge control that requests that the member join the video meeting; and based at least in part on receiving the selection of the nudge control, one of: joining the member to the video meeting without the member taking affirmative action to join the video meeting; or sending a notification to the member indicating that the member has been invited to join the video meeting.
On the other hand, Chhabra did teach determining, after a start time of the video meeting, that a member of the communication channel has yet to join the video meeting; receiving, from the participant or a different participant of the plurality of participants, a selection of a nudge control that requests that the member join the video meeting; and based at least in part on receiving the selection of the nudge control, one of: joining the member to the video meeting without the member taking affirmative action to join the video meeting; or sending a notification to the member indicating that the member has been invited to join the video meeting (0051 & 0053, where this, at least, teaches the joining limitation. See also: 0013). Both of the systems of Christensen and Chhabra are directed towards chat systems and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Christensen, to utilize providing chat reminders, as taught by Chhabra, in order to improves the system’s usability by ensuring that members are present for their desired conferences.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen, in view of Dorner, in view of Dor, and in further view of Official Notice.
8. As for claims 6, 13, and 19, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). However, Christensen did not explicitly state after the end of the video meeting, causing the thread to be inaccessible to non-participants of the video meeting. However, the examiner gives official notice that controlling access to online content was well known and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of the combination of Christensen and Dorner, to utilize specific access restrictions as posted online content, in order to control who has access to the system as per business/financial considerations.
9. As for claims 7, 14, and 20, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). However, Christensen did not explicitly state determining that the video meeting occurred within the communication channel; and causing, after the end of the video meeting and via the communication channel, the thread to be accessible to non-participants of the video meeting that are members of the communication channel. However, the examiner gives official notice that controlling access to online content was well known and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of the combination of Christensen and Dorner, to utilize specific access restrictions as posted online content, in order to control who has access to the system as per business/financial considerations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443