Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (a) – Written Description
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In making a determination of whether the application complies with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, it is necessary to understand what Applicant has possession of and what Applicant is claiming. The claims recite a method for treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of any non-cancer-related chronic inflammatory diseases by administering any sequence that has at least 90% identical sequence to SEQ ID NO: 2, which encompasses a wide genus of agents. Claim 2 is dependent on Claim 1, does not materially limit the genus of agents, and is therefore included in the rejection. These claims do not require that the genus of the claims possess any particular structure or other distinguishing feature that is characteristic of the genus as a whole. Therefore, the claims are drawn to a genus of nucleic acids/peptides capable of the recited function for which there is inadequate written description.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see MPEP 2163(II)(3)(a)(i)(A), reduction to drawings MPEP 2163(II)(3)(a)(i)(B), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus MPEP 2163(II)(3)(a)(i)(C).
From the specification, it is clear that Applicant is in possession of a method of administering a polypeptide with 100% identical sequence to SEQ ID NO: 2 for treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, Huntington's disease, and Alzheimer's disease (Examples 5 & 17-18); preventing and reversing one or more symptoms of osteoporosis (Examples 2-3); alleviating one or more symptoms of MS (Example 6); reducing severity of obesity (Example 9); reducing severity of fatty liver disease (Example 11); and reducing one or more symptoms of Crohn’s disease (Example 12). The claims, however, are not limited to those species, and the specification fails to provide a representative number of species within the recited genus. Regarding Example 10, statistically significant data was not provided to show possession of ‘delaying the incidence of Type 2 diabetes’ and Example 10 explicitly teaches that administration of the composition was not capable of reducing the incidence of Type 2 Diabetes. Regarding Example 13, statistically significant data was not provided to show possession of ‘reducing pancreatitis.’ Regarding Example 14, statistically significant data was not provided to show possession of ‘reducing symptoms of asthma.’ Regarding Example 15, statistically significant data was not provided to show possession of ‘delaying collagen-induced arthritis.’ Regarding Example 16, statistically significant data was not provided to show possession of ‘reducing atherosclerosis.’ Furthermore, the specification fails to show possession of any and all sequences with at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 that are capable of being used in the claimed method. Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus as a whole, or representative number of species within the genus, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (a) – Enablement
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The disclosure only provides enablement for a method of administering a polypeptide with 100% identical sequence to SEQ ID NO: 2 for treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, Huntington's disease, and Alzheimer's disease (Examples 5 & 17-18); preventing and reversing one or more symptoms of osteoporosis (Examples 2-3); alleviating one or more symptoms of MS (Example 6); reducing severity of obesity (Example 9); reducing severity of fatty liver disease (Example 11); and reducing one or more symptoms of Crohn’s disease (Example 12).
The factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation include:
A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d, 1400 (CAFC 1988) and MPEP 2164.01.
The breadth of the claims:
With respect to claim breadth, the standard under 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, entails the determination of what the claims recite and what the claims mean as a whole. As such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed composition is that it covers any sequence that has at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 that’s capable of treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of any non-cancer-related chronic inflammatory diseases defined in the specification and further capable of reducing at least one cytokine. As the breath of the claims encompass a wide scope of compositions, a skilled artisan would not know how to make the composition with a reasonable expectation of success based solely on what is disclosed in the specification.
The amount of direction provided by the inventor and the level of predictability in the art:
The specification does not provide direction as to how any and all sequences with at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 are capable of treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of any non-cancer-related chronic inflammatory diseases. The specification does not provide any direction as to how any variant with at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 can maintain the claimed activities, including any areas that must be conserved to maintain their functional capacities. The specification teaches in Example 10 that administration of the composition was not capable of reducing the incidence of Type 2 Diabetes. The art at the time of filing does not provide enabling guidance and the specification as filed does not provide guidance that overcomes this unpredictability within the art.
The existence of working examples:
What is enabled by the working examples is narrow in comparison to the breadth of the claims: the specification discloses Examples 1-18 and embodiments within the Sequence Listing, but does not provide working examples for the genera recited above. In the working examples, the specification only provides enablement for a method of administering a polypeptide with 100% identical sequence to SEQ ID NO: 2 for treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, Huntington's disease, and Alzheimer's disease (Examples 5 & 17-18); preventing and reversing one or more symptoms of osteoporosis (Examples 2-3); alleviating one or more symptoms of MS (Example 6); reducing severity of obesity (Example 9); reducing severity of fatty liver disease (Example 11); and reducing one or more symptoms of Crohn’s disease (Example 12).
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention:
The standard of an enabling disclosure is not the ability to make and test if the invention works but one of the ability to make and use with a reasonable expectation of success. A patent is granted for a completed invention, not the general suggestion of an idea and how that idea might be developed into the claimed invention. In the decision of Genentec, Inc., V. Novo Nordisk, 42 USPQ 2d 100, (CAFC 1997), the court held that: "[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable" and that "[t]ossing out the mere germ of an idea does not constitute enabling disclosure". The court further stated that "when there is no disclosure of any specific starting material or of any of the conditions under which a process is to be carried out, undue experimentation is required; there is a failure to meet the enablement requirements that cannot be rectified by asserting that all of the disclosure related to the process is within the skill of the art","[i]t is the specification, not the knowledge of one skilled in the art, that must supply the novel aspects of an invention in order to constitute adequate enablement". The instant specification is not enabling for the full scope of the claimed invention because one cannot follow the guidance presented therein and practice the claimed method without first making a substantial inventive contribution.
Given that the nature of the invention is functional peptides, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have to perform multiple further experiments, in human clinical trials, or in animal models that are predictive of treatment, in order to demonstrate the invention could be used with a reasonable expectation of success. The amount of experimentation required for enabling guidance, commensurate in scope with what is claimed, goes beyond what is considered ‘routine' within the art, and constitutes undue further experimentation in order to make every embodiment of the claimed peptide capable of treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of any and all non-cancer-related chronic inflammatory diseases defined in the specification and further capable of reducing at least one cytokine. Therefore, claims lack enablement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadler et al., 2004 (US20040171823A1) in view of Kim et al., 2009 (see instant PTO-892).
The instant claims are drawn to a method for treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of a non-cancer-related chronic inflammatory disease in a subject in need, comprising administering to the subject an agent comprising p62/SQSTM1 nucleic acid that encodes a polypeptide at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2, wherein the agent suppresses the expression of a proinflammatory cytokine in the subject and wherein the proinflammatory cytokine is selected from the group consisting of: TNF-alpha, IL-6, IL-1 beta, RANTES, IL-17, IL-23, CCL-I, MCP-5, and CXCL2.1.
Nadler teaches an isolated polynucleotide that encodes for SQSTM1, where SQSTM1 polypeptide can be administered to a mammalian subject to treat an inflammatory disorder in which SQSTM1 is associated with the disorder either directly or indirectly and/or an inflammatory disorder related to aberrant NF-κB regulation, where the inflammatory disease can include, but is not limited to, hepatic disorders, colitis, inflammatory bowel disease, autoimmune disorders, disorders related to hyper immune activity, or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (claims 1, 6, 9 & claim 13; para[0021, 0027, 0297-0304, & 00306]). Nadler teaches that SQSTM1 with SEQ ID NO: 560, which has 100% identical sequence to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 as shown below, is expressed after 2 hours of inhibition of NF-κB (Table 5). Nadler teaches that “regulation of NF-κB and/or its activation pathway provides a means for treating a wide range of diseases (para[0009]).” Nadler teaches that, as a transcriptional activator, NF-κB plays a central role in regulating the transcription of a number of genes, including those which encode proteins involved in inflammatory and immune responses representative examples of genes controlled by NF-κB include the cytokines tumor necrosis factor (TNF-α), IL-1β, IL-6, and IL-8 (para [0004]). Nadler teaches that upon phosphorylation of IκB by IKK, NF-κB is rapidly released into the cell and translocates to the nucleus where it binds to the promoters of many genes and up-regulates the transcription of pro-inflammatory genes (para[0006]).
While Nadler teaches administration of the p62/SQSTM1 polypeptide can treat asthma, Nadler does not explicitly teach that increasing SQSTM1 will reduce proinflammatory cytokines, such as TNF-α, IL-1β, and IL-6.
Kim teaches that increased expression of p62/SQSTM1 reduces inflammation by reducing proinflammatory cytokines, such as IL-12p40, TNF-α, IL-1β, IL-6, and IFN-β (Abstract & The role of p62 in the regulation of NF-kB activity). Also note that Kim teaches that p62/SQSTM1 is implicated in bone diseases and neuronal diseases like Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease (abstract and page 2131 second column last paragraph through page 2132 first paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Nadler and Kim. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make and use the claimed invention because, in view of Kim’s teaching that p62/SQSTM1 reduces inflammation by reducing cytokines, an ordinary artisan would find it obvious that using the p62/SQSTM1 taught by Nadler would treat inflammatory bowel disease by reducing inflammation and associated inflammatory cytokines. It would be obvious to an ordinary artisan that reducing inflammatory cytokines would treat/ameliorate the inflammation associated with inflammatory bowel disease and therefore treat/ameliorate the symptoms of inflammatory bowel disease in a patient. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the disclosures of these prior art references. Thus, the claims do not contribute anything non-obvious over the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of Patent No. US11098098B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The instant claims are recited above.
Patented claim 1 recites a method for treating, alleviating, ameliorating, relieving, delaying onset of, inhibiting progression of, reducing severity of, and/or reducing incidence of one or more symptoms of a non-cancer-related chronic inflammatory disease in a subject in need, said method comprising administering to said subject an agent comprising p62/SQSTM1 nucleic acid that encodes a polypeptide at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2, wherein said agent suppresses the expression of a proinflammatory cytokine in a subject, and wherein said non-cancer-related chronic inflammatory disease is a neurodegenerative disease selected from the group consisting of: amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, Huntington's disease, and Alzheimer's disease. Patented claim 6 recites the method of claim 1, wherein said proinflammatory cytokine is selected from the group consisting of: TNF-alpha, IL-6, IL-1 beta, RANTES, IL-17, IL-23, CCL-1, MCP-5, and CXCL2.
As the patented claims recite using the same peptide as the instant claims (p62/SQSTM1 nucleic acid that encodes a polypeptide at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2) to treat the same non-cancer-related chronic inflammatory diseases (which includes amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, Huntington's disease, and Alzheimer's disease) and where the same peptide reduces the same proinflammatory cytokines (TNF-alpha, IL-6, IL-1 beta, RANTES, IL-17, IL-23, CCL-1, MCP-5, and CXCL2), the patented claims anticipate the instant claims. Therefore, the instant claims are rejected as being unpatentable over Patent No. US11098098B2.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Advisory Information
/JOSEPH D. CESARE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/JEFFREY STUCKER/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1675