DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The 12/22/025 Restriction Requirement has been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s 02/23/2026 claim amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: for better claim construction and consistency throughout the claims the examiner suggests the following amendment:
Claim 5, lines 1-2: -- includes a conforming geometry--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: for better claim construction and consistency throughout the claims the examiner suggests the following amendment:
Claim 6: -- The power tool bin of claim 1, wherein the attachment mechanism includes
a conforming geometry, the conforming geometry configured to limit the power tool.—Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: for better claim construction and consistency throughout the specification and claims the examiner suggests the following amendment:
Claim 7, line 5: -- an adapter region, the adapter region configured to – Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the following limitation “strengthening retention of the adapter bits by the friction rubbing region” appears to be a method step claimed within an apparatus claim. Further, the adapter bits were never positively claimed in claims 1, 3, or 4. So it is unclear if the applicant intends to positively claim the adapter bits in claim 4 or not. The examiner suggests the following amendment for claim 4:
Claim 4: -- The power tool attachment of claim 3, wherein the adapter bit holding area further includes an adapter bit magnetized region, the adapter bit magnetized region is configured to strengthen[[ing]] retention of the adapter bits by the friction rubbing region.—Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "The power tool bin" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the weight" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the body of an attached power tool" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 5, the following limitation “transferring some portion of the weight of the attachment to the body of an attached power tool” appears to be a method step claimed within an apparatus claim. The examiner suggests the following limitation:
Claim 5, lines 2-3: -- the conforming geometry configured to transfer[[[ring]] some portion of [[the]] weight of the attachment (Fig 8, #400) to [[the]] a body of the power tool.—Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "The power tool bin" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the weight" in line 7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 19, the following limitation “the attachment region conforming to the power tool in such a manner that the attachment region makes use of existing geometry and existing attachment points to support some portion of the weight of the attachment with the power tool and to stop the attachment from twisting relative to the power tool” it unclear and confusing because the preambles of claim 19 only recites an attachment positively and not the combination of an attachment and a power tool. The power tool in the preamble is only referred to in a functional manner. However, in the body of the claim it recites, “the attachment region conforming to the power tool in such a manner that the attachment region makes use of existing geometry and existing attachment points to support some portion of the weight of the attachment with the power tool and to stop the attachment from twisting relative to the power tool” which creates confusion as to if the power tool is being positively claimed or not. So the claims create confusion as to what is intended to be claimed, either the combination or subcombination. For purposes of examination on the merits, the examiner is treating the claims to be construed as the subcombination.
If the applicant intends to claim the combination, then it is suggested to do so clearly.
If applicant intends to claim the subcombination, a recommended amendment could be -- the attachment region is configured to conform a weight of the attachment with the power tool and to stop the attachment from twisting relative to the power tool – Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-11, 12-14, 19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moss 2021/0237253.
Regarding claim 7, Moss discloses an attachment (Fig 1A, #120) mountable to a power tool, the attachment (Fig 1A, #120) comprising:
an attachment magnetized region (annotated Fig 1A below), the attachment magnetized region (annotated Fig 1A below) including a magnet (Fig 1A, #130, left side) that magnetically retains one or more installable components (annotated Fig 1B below);
an adapter bit region (annotated Fig 1A below) configured to or capable of retaining adapter bits; and
an adapter (Fig 1A, #127), the adapter (Fig 1A, #127) configured to mount the attachment (Fig 1A, #120) to the power tool at a power tool attachment point.
Regarding claim 8, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 1A above) includes an adapter magnetized region (Fig 1B, #130, right side), the adapter magnetized region (Fig 1B, #130, right side) retaining one or more adapter bits (annotated Fig 1B above) in the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 1A above).
Regarding claim 9, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 1A above) includes a friction rubbing region (Fig 1A, #130, right side) capable of holding in place one or more adapter bits.
Regarding claim 7, in a second interpretation, Moss discloses an attachment (Fig 1A, #120) mountable to a power tool, the attachment (Fig 1A, #120) comprising:
an attachment magnetized region (Fig 1A, #130), the attachment magnetized region (Fig 1A, #130) including a magnet (Fig 1A, #130) that magnetically retains one or more installable components (Fig 1B, #140);
an adapter bit region (annotated Fig 1A below) configured to or capable of retaining adapter bits; and
an adapter (Fig 1A, #127), the adapter (Fig 1A, #127) configured to mount the attachment (Fig 1A, #120) to the power tool at a power tool attachment point.
Regarding claim 9, in the second interpretation, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 1A above) includes a friction rubbing region (surfaces of the adapter bit region) capable of holding in place one or more adapter bits.
Regarding claim 10, in the second interpretation, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 1A above) includes detents (slots, i.e. #134) to hold in place one or more adapter bits.
Regarding claim 11, in the second interpretation, Moss discloses attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 1A above) includes a deformable region (annotated Fig 1A below), the deformable region (annotated Fig 1A below) holding in place one or more adapter bits.
Regarding claim 7, in a third interpretation, Moss discloses an attachment (Figs 3A-3D, #320) mountable to a power tool, the attachment (Figs 3A-3H, #320) comprising:
an attachment magnetized region (magnetic surface within box #330) (col 3, lines 18-20), the attachment magnetized region (magnetic surface within box #330) (col 3, lines 18-20) including a magnet that magnetically retains one or more installable components (Fig 3H, #340); an adapter bit region (annotated Fig 3D below) configured to retain adapter bits; and an adapter (Fig 3A, #327 & #324), the adapter (Fig 3A, #327 & #324) configured to mount the attachment to the power tool at a power tool attachment point.
Regarding claim 12, Moss discloses an attachment wherein the attachment (Figs 3A-3H, #320) further includes a bin region (Fig 3D, #330) or (Fig 3D, #330, bottom surface) positioned to catch components dislodged from the attachment magnetized region (left or right wall magnetic surface within box #330) (col 3, lines 18-20) is configured as a bin (Fig 3D, #330).
Regarding claim 13, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the bin region (Fig 3D, #330) has an attached movable lid or cover (Fig 3C, #334).
Regarding claim 14, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the bin region (Fig 3D, #330) has a removable lid or cover (Fig 3C, #334).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Moss discloses an attachment (Figs 3A-3H, #320) mountable to a power tool, the attachment (Figs 3A-3H, #320) comprising:
a bin region (Fig 3B, #330) that magnetically (magnetic surface within box #330) (col 3, lines 18-20) holds a plurality of installable components (Fig 3C, #340);
an adapter bit region (annotated Fig 3D below) configured to hold tool adapter bits; and
an attachment region (Fig 3C, #327 & #324) connected to the bin region (Fig 3B, #330) and the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 3D below), the
attachment region (Fig 3C, #327 & #324) conforming to the power tool in such a manner that the attachment region (Fig 3C, #327 & #324) makes use of existing geometry and existing attachment points to support some portion of the weight of the attachment (Fig 3A, #320) with the power tool and to stop the attachment (Fig 3A, #320) from twisting relative to the power tool.
Regarding claim 21, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 3D above) is a friction rubbing region capable of holding in place one or more adapter bits.
Regarding claim 22, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 3D above) uses detents (annotated Fig 3D above) to hold in place one or more adapter bits (Fig 3D, #342).
Regarding claim 23, Moss discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 3D above) uses a deformable region or springs to hold in place one or more adapter bits.
Claims 7, 9, 12, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stephenson 9,573,197.
Regarding claim 7, Stephenson discloses an attachment (Fig 8, #400) mountable to a power tool, the attachment (Fig 8, #400) comprising: an attachment magnetized region (annotated Fig 8 below), the attachment magnetized region including a magnet (Fig 9, #411) that magnetically retains one or more installable components (Fig 9, #309, #308, or #302);
an adapter bit region (annotated Fig 8 below) configured to or capable of retaining adapter bits; and
an adapter region (Fig 9, #426), the adapter region (Fig 9, #426) configured to mount the attachment (Fig 8, #400) to the power tool at a power tool attachment point.
Regarding claim 9, Stephenson discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 8 above) includes a friction rubbing region (Fig 9, #411) capable of holding in place one or more adapter bits.
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Stephenson discloses an attachment (Fig 8, #400) mountable to a power tool, the attachment (Fig 8, #400) comprising:
a bin region (annotated Fig 8 below) (i.e. portion of a receptacle/bin) that magnetically holds a plurality of installable components (Fig 8, #300, #304, #302, #312 & #314);
an adapter bit region (annotated Fig 8 below) configured to hold adapter bits; and
an attachment region (Fig 9, #426) connected to the bin region (annotated Fig 8 below) and the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 8 below), the
attachment region (Fig 9, #426) is configured to or capable of conforming to the power tool in such a manner that the attachment region (Fig 9, #426) makes use of existing geometry and existing attachment points to support some portion of the weight of the attachment (Fig 8, #400) with the power tool and to stop the attachment (Fig 8, #400) from twisting relative to the power tool.
Regarding claim 20, Stephenson discloses the attachment (Fig 8, #400) wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 8 above) is a magnetized region (magnetized via #411) capable of holding in place one or more adapter bits.
Regarding claim 21, Stephenson discloses the attachment wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 8 above) is a friction rubbing region capable of holding in place one or more adapter bits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Stephenson 9,573,197 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Stephenson 9,573,197 in view of Moss 2021/0237253.
Regarding claim 1, Stephenson discloses a power tool attachment (Fig 8, #400), the attachment (Fig 8, #400) comprising: an attachment mechanism (Fig 9, #426) configured to or capable attaching to a belt clip attachment point of a power tool;
a bin (Fig 8, #400) (Fig 8, #418 & #417) (bin is defined as broad as being a receptacle) attached to the attachment mechanism (Fig 9, #426), the bin (Fig 8, #400) (Fig 8, #418 & #417) having a bottom (annotated Fig 8 below) and at least one side (Fig 8, #417), including a first side (annotated Fig 8 below), wherein the first side (annotated Fig 8 below) includes a magnetized region (Fig 9, #411), the magnetized region (Fig 9, #411) configured to magnetically hold installable components to the magnetized region (Fig 9, #411) (col 9, lines 23-32), an adapter bit holding region (annotated Fig 8 below) or (annotated Fig 9 below).
In the alternative, if element #400 in Stephenson is interpreted to be a channel not a bin; wherein the channel (Fig 8, #400) has a bottom (annotated Fig 8 above) and at least one side (Fig 8, #417), including a first side (annotated Fig 8 above).
Moss discloses an attachment (Fig 3A, #320) comprising an attachment mechanism (Fig 3A, #324 & #327) and a bin (Fig 3A, #330) having four side wall (i.e. box shape) attached to the attachment mechanism (Fig 3A, #324 & #327).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach two additional side walls to the channel (Stephenson, Fig 8, #400) so that the channel is boxed shaped in order to protect the distal ends of the attached components (Stephenson, Fig 8, #300) from becoming damaged. Further, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Stephenson discloses the power tool attachment (Fig 8, #400) wherein the adapter bit holding area (annotated Fig 8 above) or (annotated Fig 9 above) includes a friction rubbing region (surface of adapter bit holding areas) capable of holding in place one or more adapter bits.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Stephenson discloses the power tool attachment (Fig 8, #400) wherein the adapter bit holding area (annotated Fig 8 above, 3rd Interpretation) or (annotated Fig 9 above) further includes an adapter bit magnetized region (Fig 9, #411), the adapter bit magnetized region (Fig 9, #411) is configured to or capable of strengthening retention of the adapter bits by the friction rubbing region.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Stephenson discloses the power tool attachment (Fig 8, #400) wherein the attachment mechanism (Fig 9, #426) includes a conforming geometry, the conforming geometry configured to transfer some portion of weight of the attachment (Fig 8, #400) to a body of the power tool.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Stephenson discloses the power tool attachment (Fig 8, #400) wherein the attachment mechanism (Fig 9, #426) includes
a conforming geometry, the conforming geometry configured to limit rotation of the attachment (Fig 8, #400) when the attachment (Fig 8, #400) is attached to the power tool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephenson 9,573,197 in view of Moss 2021/0237253.
Regarding claim 8, Stephenson discloses an attachment (Fig 8, #400) wherein the adapter bit region (annotated Fig 8 above) includes an adapter magnetized region (Fig 9, #411).
Stephenson has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach the adapter magnetized region retaining one or more adapter bits in the adapter bit region.
Moss discloses an attachment (Fig 1B, #120) comprising an adapter bit region (Fig 1B, #130) that includes an adapter magnetized region (Fig 1B, #130) retaining one or more adapter bits (Fig 1B, #140) in the adapter bit region (Fig 1B, #130).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to magnetically attach one or more adapter bits (Moss, Fig 1B, #140) to the adapter magnetized region (Stephenson, #411) of the adapter bit region (Stephenson, annotated Fig 8 above) of Stephenson in order to secure more objects such as adapter bits to the attachment (Stephenson, Fig 8, #400) of Stephenson.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss 2021/0237253 in view of Cho 2016/0167219.
Regarding claim 15, Moss discloses an attachment (Fig 3A, #320) mountable to a handheld drill, hammer driver, impact driver, or similar device that installs or removes screws, bolts, nuts, or other fasteners or installable components, the attachment comprising: a bin region (Fig 3A, #330) configured to hold one or more of the installable components.
Moss has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach the attachment comprising: an attachment magnetized region that may configured to hold one or more of the installable components magnetically; and the bin region configured to hold one or more of the installable components separate from the magnetized region.
Cho discloses an attachment (Fig 31, #20.6) comprising: an attachment magnetized region (Fig 31, #146.6 and/or #144.6) [0089] [0069] that may configured to hold one or more of the installable components magnetically; and a bin region (Fig 31, #20.6) configured to hold one or more of the installable components separate from the magnetized region (Fig 31, #146.6 or #144.6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a magnetized region (Fig 31, #146.6 & #144.6) to the bin region (Moss, Fig 3A, #330) of Moss in order to attach more items to the attachment (Moss, Fig 3A, #320) of Moss.
Regarding claim 16, modified Moss discloses the attachment wherein the bin region (Moss, Fig 3A, #330) is also magnetized (Moss, magnetic surface within box #330) (col 3, lines 18-20).
Regarding claim 17, modified Moss discloses the attachment wherein the bin region (Moss, Fig 3A, #330) has an attached movable lid or cover (Moss, Fig 3C, #334).
Regarding claim 18, modified Moss discloses the attachment wherein the bin region (Moss, Fig 3A, #330) has a removable lid or cover (Moss, Fig 3C, #334).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DEVIN K BARNETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631