DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) ][1-20] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) as being anticipated by Teowee (US. 6,246,505).
Reclaim[1], Teowee discloses A vehicle (see fig. 7) comprising: a first photochromic glass (see 1, 2 fig. 7 and col. 19, lines 43-45, automotive windshield 1 and a UCPC automotive sunroof 2 ); a first sensor configured to detect a first condition inside an interior of the vehicle (see col. 18, lines 33-34, a temperature sensor could be located on the interior of the vehicle); a processor (20, 21 fig. 1B, the circuit controller for opening and closing based on a triggering event, in this scenario a temperature sensor) connected to the first photochromic glass and the first sensor (see col. 17-18 lines 63 - 1, More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color [the circuitry 20-21 which varies a signal based on the temperature of the automobile is connected to both the sensor and sunroof or window), wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether to adjust a transmission rate of the first photochromic glass based on at least the first condition and additional data (see col. 17-18lines 64-13, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, and thereby reducing the amount of solar radiation entering the vehicle. Conversely, when the temperature in the car is below a pre-determined level, the circuit can be activated to keep the device in the bleached state and permit sunlight to enter the car. A photosensor could also be mounted inside the car such that it monitors the light transmission through the UCPC device. This could be used to automatically darken the device to a pre-determined contrast, or to maintain a constant level of light transmission throughout the day. Inputs from other external or internal heat or photosensors could be used in addition to this information to make more complex energy management decisions, [ the temperature in the automobile and other internal heat are considered for example]), wherein the additional data relates to at least one of a condition inside the interior of the vehicle, other than the first condition, or information related to the first photochromic glass (see col. 18 lines 10-13, Inputs from other external or internal heat or photosensors could be used in addition to this information to make more complex energy management decisions); and transmit a signal to the first photochromic glass for changing the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass in response to a determination to change the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass (see cols. 17-.18 lines 63-2, More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, and thereby reducing the amount of solar radiation entering the vehicle).
Reclaim[2], Teowee further discloses , wherein the sensor is configured to detect an amount of sunlight entering the interior of the vehicle (see lines 60-66, For example, a sensor wired to a UCPC glazing for an automobile may be mounted on the interior or exterior of a car to enable the UCPC device to respond to changing environmental conditions. More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level [ changing environmental condition implies amount of sunlight change) .
Reclaim[3], Teowee further discloses , wherein the sensor is configured to detect a temperature of the interior of the vehicle.(see lines 60-66, For example, a sensor wired to a UCPC glazing for an automobile may be mounted on the interior or exterior of a car to enable the UCPC device to respond to changing environmental conditions. More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level)
Reclaim[4], Teowee further discloses , wherein the processor is configured to determine whether to adjust the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass further based on at least one of vehicle location information, a current status of the vehicle, forecast information, a number of instances of changing in transmission rate within a predetermined period of time, or a detected angle of sunlight entering the interior of the vehicle (see lines 60-66, For example, a sensor wired to a UCPC glazing for an automobile may be mounted on the interior or exterior of a car to enable the UCPC device to respond to changing environmental conditions. More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level , [ detecting changing environmental condition implies current status of the interior of automobile, for example hot or colder in the interior of the vehicle])
Reclaim[5], Teowee further discloses, further comprising a second photochromic glass separate from the first photochromic glass (see col. 18 lines 57-60 When the UCPC device of this invention is used as an automotive sunroof, the active area of the sunroof may be a whole unit controlled by one or more sensors and controls or may be broken down into multiple units).
Reclaim[6], Teowee further discloses, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether to adjust a transmission rate of the second photochromic glass based on the data from the sensor, and the determination with respect to the second photochromic glass is independent from the determination with respect to the first photochromic glass (see col. 18 lines 57-63, when the UCPC device of this invention is used as an automotive sunroof, the active area of the sunroof may be a whole unit controlled by one or more sensors and controls or may be broken down into multiple units. For example, it is possible to have controls for various areas of a UCPC sunroof so that the transmissive state for the passenger and driver area may be varied individually).
Reclaim[7], Teowee further discloses, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the signal to the first photochromic glass for adjusting the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass by a first magnitude, and to transmit a second signal to the second photochromic glass for adjusting a transmission rate of the second photochromic glass by a second magnitude different from the first magnitude (see col. 18 lines 57-63, when the UCPC device of this invention is used as an automotive sunroof, the active area of the sunroof may be a whole unit controlled by one or more sensors and controls or may be broken down into multiple units. For example, it is possible to have controls for various areas of a UCPC sunroof so that the transmissive state for the passenger and driver area may be varied individually, [ the individually controlled based the state of the temperature]).
Reclaim[8], Teowee further discloses, wherein the first photochromic glass is one of a windshield, a sunroof, a rear window or a side window (see 1, 2 fig. 7, UCPC automotive windshield 1 and a UCPC automotive sunroof 2).
Reclaim[9], Teowee further discloses, wherein a default transmission rate of the first photochromic glass is a highest transmission rate of the first photochromic glass (see bleached fig. 5 and .col. 2 lines 31-32, the original high transmissive state).
Reclaim[10], Teowee further discloses, wherein the processor is further configured to prohibit or restrict adjusting the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass based on a current status of the vehicle (see col. 17 -18 lines 60-1, For example, a sensor wired to a UCPC glazing for an automobile may be mounted on the interior or exterior of a car to enable the UCPC device to respond to changing environmental conditions. More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, [when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level, the circuit remain closed there by restricting adjusting to a different state of transmission]).
Reclaim [11], Teowee discloses a vehicle (see fig. 7) comprising: a first photochromic glass (see 1, 2 fig. 7); a sensor configured to detect an amount of light inside a cabin of the vehicle (see col. 17 lines 64-66, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level, [the temperature sensor by the virtue of detecting the temperature in the automobile also impels amount of light entering, high temperature high light amount entering the automobile]); a processor connected to the first photochromic glass and the sensor ( 20, 21 fig. 1B, and the temperature sensor the circuit controller for opening and closing based on a triggering event, in this scenario a temperature sensor as disclosed, in col. 17-18lines 64-13), wherein the processor is configured to: determine an amount of light inside the cabin of the vehicle (see col. 17 lines 64-66, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level, [the temperature sensor by the virtue of detecting the temperature in the automobile also impels amount of light entering, high temperature high light amount entering the automobile]); determine whether to adjust a transmission rate of the first photochromic glass based on the amount of light and at least one additional condition inside the cabin of the vehicle (;see col. 17-18lines 64-13, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, and thereby reducing the amount of solar radiation entering the vehicle. Conversely, when the temperature in the car is below a pre-determined level, the circuit can be activated to keep the device in the bleached state and permit sunlight to enter the car. A photosensor could also be mounted inside the car such that it monitors the light transmission through the UCPC device. This could be used to automatically darken the device to a pre-determined contrast, or to maintain a constant level of light transmission throughout the day. Inputs from other external or internal heat or photosensors could be used in addition to this information to make more complex energy management decisions, [ the temperature in the automobile and other internal heat are considered for example]) and transmit a signal to the first photochromic glass for changing the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass in response to a determination to change the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass (see cols. 17-.18 lines 63-2, More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, and thereby reducing the amount of solar radiation entering the vehicle).
Reclaim[12], Teowee further discloses, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether an environment outside of the vehicle is nighttime, and to determine to adjust the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass in response to a determination that the environment outside of the vehicle is nighttime (see col. 19, lines 8-14, one example would be to link a UCPC sunroof to the twilight sentinel of the vehicle. In this manner, when the twilight sensor detects nighttime conditions, the UCPC device would be in open-circuit mode so that bleaching of the sunroof could be activated automatically) .
Reclaim [13] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [4], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [14] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [5], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [15] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [6], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [16] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [7], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [17] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [8], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim [18] except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claims [1] and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [19], Teowee further discloses wherein transmitting the signal comprises transmitting the signal from outside the vehicle (see col. 20, lines 1-5, . Remote control of any of the UCPC glass in the car is also possible. In this way the user could darken or bleach the windows on the car upon) .
Reclaim [20], Teowee further discloses, wherein transmitting the signal comprises transmitting the signal from inside the vehicle (see col. 18, lines 6-8, A photosensor could also be mounted inside the car such that it monitors the light transmission through the UCPC device).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi (US. 11, 130, 391) discloses: : control circuitry 30 may use sensors 24 to determine that the sun is shining in the upper portion of the front window directly towards the eyes of the driver. In this situation, control circuitry 30 may direct a light modulator on the front window to selectively darken a portion of the front window that lies directly between the sun and the driver's eyes, thereby shadowing the driver's eyes from the glare of the sun. As another example, a vehicle that is located behind the driver's vehicle may be shining its headlights into vehicle mirrors 20. Control circuitry 30 may use sensors 24 to detect this light and to direct a light modulator in the mirror to create darkened areas that prevent reflection of the light into the eyes of the driver. The non-darkened portions of the windows and mirrors in these types of scenarios remain in their normal state, so that the driver can continue to observe the surroundings of the vehicle. In col. 6 lines 46-62.
/AHMED A BERHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639