DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) [1-20] have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) [1-20] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over . Teowee (US. 6,246,505).in view of Flanigan (US. Pat. No. 11,878,575).
Reclaim[1], Teowee discloses A vehicle (see fig. 7) comprising: a first photochromic glass (see 1, 2 fig. 7 and col. 19, lines 43-45, automotive windshield 1 and a UCPC automotive sunroof 2 ); a first sensor configured to detect a first condition inside an interior of the vehicle (see col. 18, lines 33-34, a temperature sensor could be located on the interior of the vehicle); a processor (20, 21 fig. 1B, the circuit controller for opening and closing based on a triggering event, in this scenario a temperature sensor) connected to the first photochromic glass and the first sensor (see col. 17-18 lines 63 - 1, More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color [the circuitry 20-21 which varies a signal based on the temperature of the automobile is connected to both the sensor and sunroof or window), wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether to adjust a transmission rate of the first photochromic glass based on at least the first condition and additional data (see col. 17-18lines 64-13, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, and thereby reducing the amount of solar radiation entering the vehicle. Conversely, when the temperature in the car is below a pre-determined level, the circuit can be activated to keep the device in the bleached state and permit sunlight to enter the car. A photosensor could also be mounted inside the car such that it monitors the light transmission through the UCPC device. This could be used to automatically darken the device to a pre-determined contrast, or to maintain a constant level of light transmission throughout the day. Inputs from other external or internal heat or photosensors could be used in addition to this information to make more complex energy management decisions, [ the temperature in the automobile and other internal heat are considered for example]), see col. 18 lines 10-13, Inputs from other external or internal heat or photosensors could be used in addition to this information to make more complex energy management decisions [by the virtue of making energy management based on nature of a photometric glass]); and transmit a signal to the first photochromic glass for changing the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass in response to a determination to change the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass (see cols. 17-.18 lines 63-2, More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, and thereby reducing the amount of solar radiation entering the vehicle).
Teowee discloses determine whether to adjust a transmission rate of the first photochromic glass based on at least the first condition and additional data (see col. 17-18lines 64-13). However Teowee doesn.t seem to explicitly discloses wherein the additional data includes forecast information for the location of the vehicle.
Nonetheless in the same field of endeavor Flanigan discloses a glass transmittance control system as Teowee (see Flanigan fig. 1 ). Flanigan further discloses forecast information for the location of the vehicle (see col.13 lines 35-37, step 1606, computing device determines vehicle 202 position and movement using sensors including GPS and accelerometers).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have been motivated to modify Teowee before the effective filling date of the claimed invention by the teaching of Flanigan since would allow to reduce glare in a vehicle based on a predicted path for vehicle 202, (see col. 13 lines 49-50).
Reclaim[2], Teowee as modified further discloses , wherein the sensor is configured to detect an amount of sunlight entering the interior of the vehicle (see Teowee lines 60-66, For example, a sensor wired to a UCPC glazing for an automobile may be mounted on the interior or exterior of a car to enable the UCPC device to respond to changing environmental conditions. More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level [ changing environmental condition implies amount of sunlight change) .
Reclaim[3], Teowee as modified further discloses , wherein the sensor is configured to detect a temperature of the interior of the vehicle.(see Teowee lines 60-66, For example, a sensor wired to a UCPC glazing for an automobile may be mounted on the interior or exterior of a car to enable the UCPC device to respond to changing environmental conditions. More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level)
Reclaim[4], Teowee as modified further discloses , wherein the processor is configured to determine whether to adjust the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass further based on at least one of vehicle location information, a current status of the vehicle, a number of instances of changing in transmission rate within a predetermined period of time, or a detected angle of sunlight entering the interior of the vehicle (see Teowee lines 60-66, For example, a sensor wired to a UCPC glazing for an automobile may be mounted on the interior or exterior of a car to enable the UCPC device to respond to changing environmental conditions. More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level , [ detecting changing environmental condition implies current status of the interior of automobile, for example hot or colder in the interior of the vehicle])
Reclaim[5], Teowee as modified further discloses, further comprising a second photochromic glass separate from the first photochromic glass (see Teowee col. 18 lines 57-60 When the UCPC device of this invention is used as an automotive sunroof, the active area of the sunroof may be a whole unit controlled by one or more sensors and controls or may be broken down into multiple units).
Reclaim[6], Teowee as modified further discloses, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether to adjust a transmission rate of the second photochromic glass based on the data from the sensor, and the determination with respect to the second photochromic glass is independent from the determination with respect to the first photochromic glass (see Teowee col. 18 lines 57-63, when the UCPC device of this invention is used as an automotive sunroof, the active area of the sunroof may be a whole unit controlled by one or more sensors and controls or may be broken down into multiple units. For example, it is possible to have controls for various areas of a UCPC sunroof so that the transmissive state for the passenger and driver area may be varied individually).
Reclaim[7], Teowee as modified further discloses, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the signal to the first photochromic glass for adjusting the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass by a first magnitude, and to transmit a second signal to the second photochromic glass for adjusting a transmission rate of the second photochromic glass by a second magnitude different from the first magnitude (see Teowee col. 18 lines 57-63, when the UCPC device of this invention is used as an automotive sunroof, the active area of the sunroof may be a whole unit controlled by one or more sensors and controls or may be broken down into multiple units. For example, it is possible to have controls for various areas of a UCPC sunroof so that the transmissive state for the passenger and driver area may be varied individually, [ the individually controlled based the state of the temperature]).
Reclaim[8], Teowee as modified further discloses, wherein the first photochromic glass is one of a windshield, a sunroof, a rear window or a side window (see Teowee , element 1, 2 fig. 7, UCPC automotive windshield 1 and a UCPC automotive sunroof 2).
Reclaim[9], Teowee as modified further discloses, wherein a default transmission rate of the first photochromic glass is a highest transmission rate of the first photochromic glass (see Teowee bleached fig. 5 and .col. 2 lines 31-32, the original high transmissive state).
Reclaim[10], Teowee as modified further discloses, wherein the processor is further configured to prohibit or restrict adjusting the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass based on a current status of the vehicle (see Teowee col. 17 -18 lines 60-1, For example, a sensor wired to a UCPC glazing for an automobile may be mounted on the interior or exterior of a car to enable the UCPC device to respond to changing environmental conditions. More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, [when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level, the circuit remain closed there by restricting adjusting to a different state of transmission]).
Reclaim [11], Teowee discloses a vehicle (see fig. 7) comprising: a first photochromic glass (see 1, 2 fig. 7); a sensor configured to detect an amount of light inside a cabin of the vehicle (see col. 17 lines 64-66, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level, [the temperature sensor by the virtue of detecting the temperature in the automobile also impels amount of light entering, high temperature high light amount entering the automobile]); a processor connected to the first photochromic glass and the sensor ( 20, 21 fig. 1B, and the temperature sensor the circuit controller for opening and closing based on a triggering event, in this scenario a temperature sensor as disclosed, in col. 17-18lines 64-13), wherein the processor is configured to: determine an amount of light inside the cabin of the vehicle (see col. 17 lines 64-66, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level, [the temperature sensor by the virtue of detecting the temperature in the automobile also impels amount of light entering, high temperature high light amount entering the automobile]); determine whether to adjust a transmission rate of the first photochromic glass based on the amount of light and see col. 17-18lines 64-13, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, and thereby reducing the amount of solar radiation entering the vehicle. Conversely, when the temperature in the car is below a pre-determined level, the circuit can be activated to keep the device in the bleached state and permit sunlight to enter the car. A photosensor could also be mounted inside the car such that it monitors the light transmission through the UCPC device. This could be used to automatically darken the device to a pre-determined contrast, or to maintain a constant level of light transmission throughout the day. Inputs from other external or internal heat or photosensors could be used in addition to this information to make more complex energy management decisions, [ the temperature in the automobile and other internal heat are considered for example]) and transmit a signal to the first photochromic glass for changing the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass in response to a determination to change the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass (see cols. 17-.18 lines 63-2, More particularly, for example, a temperature sensor can be linked to the UCPC device so as to determine when the temperature in an automobile exceeds a pre-determined comfort level. At that point the circuit between 20 and 21 could then be shorted, allowing the device to color, and thereby reducing the amount of solar radiation entering the vehicle).
Teowee discloses determine whether to adjust a transmission rate of the first photochromic glass based on the amount of light (see col. 17-18lines 64-13). However Teowee doesn.t seem to explicitly discloses wherein the additional data includes forecast information for the location of the vehicle.
Nonetheless in the same field of endeavor Flanigan discloses a glass transmittance control system as Teowee discloses photochromic device (see Flanigan fig. 1 ). Flanigan further discloses forecast information for the location of the vehicle (see col.13 lines 35-37, t step 1606, computing device determines vehicle 202 position and movement using sensors including GPS and accelerometers).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have been motivated to modify Teowee before the effective filling date of the claimed invention by the teaching of Flanigan since would allow to reduce glare in a vehicle based on a predicted path for vehicle 202, (see col. 13 lines 49-50).
Reclaim[12], Teowee as modified further discloses, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether an environment outside of the vehicle is nighttime, and to determine to adjust the transmission rate of the first photochromic glass in response to a determination that the environment outside of the vehicle is nighttime (see Teowee col. 19, lines 8-14, one example would be to link a UCPC sunroof to the twilight sentinel of the vehicle. In this manner, when the twilight sensor detects nighttime conditions, the UCPC device would be in open-circuit mode so that bleaching of the sunroof could be activated automatically) .
Reclaim [13] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [4], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [14] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [5], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [15] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [6], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [16] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [7], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [17] except its dependency has substantially same limitation as claim [8], and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim [18] except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claims [1] and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [19], Teowee as modified further discloses wherein transmitting the signal comprises transmitting the signal from outside the vehicle (see Teowee col. 20, lines 1-5, . Remote control of any of the UCPC glass in the car is also possible. In this way the user could darken or bleach the windows on the car upon) .
Reclaim [20], Teowee as modified further discloses, wherein transmitting the signal comprises transmitting the signal from inside the vehicle (see Teowee col. 18, lines 6-8, A photosensor could also be mounted inside the car such that it monitors the light transmission through the UCPC device).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED A BERHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639