Applicant’s amendment was filed 5/19/2026. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15 were amended. Claims 2, 5, 8, 11, 14 were cancelled. New claims 16-20 were added. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15-20 are pending.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 5/19/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the preparation is configured to increase transcription levels of genes associated with a synthesis pathway of jasmonic acid of corn plants” which is indefinite. Claims 4, 7, 10 and 13 recites “the preparation is configured to increase transcription levels of genes associated with a synthesis pathway of cutin and wax of corn plants” which is indefinite. It is unclear from the specification what the metes and bounds of the terms ‘configured to” are drawn to. The specification states “the fatty acid metabolic pathway is involved in a synthesis process of plant physiological immune substances such as jasmonic acid and physical immune barriers such as cutin and wax” and in samples “a transcriptome sequencing is performed, and an effect of the water emulsion of the present disclosure on the transcription of genes associated with synthesis pathways of cutin, wax and jasmonic acid in metabolic pathways of the corn plants is analyzed [0037-38]. Therefore, it is unclear if transcriptome sequencing is a required step to configure the invention. For the purpose of examination the terms have been treated as inherent properties that come from applying the preparation. Claims 3, 6, 9, 12 and 15-20 are rejected for depending on rejected claims 1, 4, 7, 10 and 13.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/651,700 (herein ‘700). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to the methods of applying higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol to corn plants whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of higher aliphatic alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for increasing content of compounds in legumes. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the teachings of ‘700 to include applying high fatty alcohols to corn plants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/657,707 (herein ‘707). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to methods of applying higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol to corn plants whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of higher aliphatic alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for increasing content of compounds in solanaceae plants. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the teachings of ‘707 to include applying high fatty alcohols to corn plants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/651,711 (herein ‘711). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to methods of applying higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol to corn plants whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for increasing transcription levels in cruciferous plants. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the teachings of ‘711 to include applying high fatty alcohols to corn plants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/651,713 (herein ‘713). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to methods of applying higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol to corn plants whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of higher aliphatic alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for increasing content of compounds in rice or wheat. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the teachings of ‘700 to include applying high fatty alcohols to corn plants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 3,778,509; patented December 11, 1973) in view of Peng (CN109874579; published June 14, 2019).
Applicant claims a method for increasing resistance of corn plants to insects comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 1).
Applicant claims a method for reducing erosion of pests and diseases in corn plants comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 4).
Applicant claims a method for increasing yield of corn plants comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 7).
Applicant claims a method for improving drought resistance of corn plants comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 10).
Applicant claims a method for improving rust disease resistance of corn plants comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 10).
Lewis disclose monohydric alcohols containing 4-12 carbon atoms that are effective in the control of microorganisms which cause disease of plants (abstract). Treating boll rot and other diseases of plants such as cotton and corn with monohydric alcohols with 4-12 carbon atoms is taught which encompasses dodecanol (lauryl alcohol) (column 2, lines 5-30). The primary objective of the invention is to provide improved control of microorganisms responsible for diseases in cotton or other field crops (column 1, lines 62-64). Exemplary alcohols include 1-hexanol, 1-heptano, 1-octanol, 1-nonanol and 1-decanol (column 2, lines 34-53). Treating cotton is exemplified however Lewis also teaches methods of treating cotton disease are also effective in treating corn diseases such as southern leaf blight disease by controlling the microorganism Helminthosporum maydis (column 3, lines 14-24). Water is the preferred liquid carrier along with surfactants selected from polyoxyethylene sorbitan esters (column 3, lines 25-60). Examples 10-18 include polyoxyethylene sorbitan monooleate (Tween 80) and polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate (Tween 20) (column 5, line 53 through column 6, line 63).
Lewis does not specify a method for increasing resistance of corn plants to insects, a method for reducing erosion of pests and diseases in corn plants, a method for increasing yield of corn plants a method for improving drought resistance of corn plants or a method for improving rust disease resistance of corn plants, however Lewis teach methods of controlling microorganisms which are responsible for southern leaf blight disease in corn plants applying solutions and emulsions of the active ingredients by spraying a field at a rate of 50-100 gallons/acre (column 3, lines 14-40). The treated plants exhibited an increase in yield of about 10% (column 6, lines 61-62). Therefore, the above methods are inherently taught since the method steps of application are the same.
Lewis do not specify dodecanol, however C12 fatty alcohol are taught which encompasses dodecanol. However, MPEP 2144.09 states that compounds that are homologs, compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g. by -CH2- groups, are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ (CCPA 1977). With respect to claims 3, 6, 9, 12 and 15 Lewis do not teach a thickener. It is for this reason that Peng is joined.
Peng discloses a method of preventing and controlling rust disease with 300 parts dodecanol, 8 parts emulsifier, 40 parts thickener and 800 parts water and spraying the formulation on maize (corn). (Example 1).
Both Lewis and Peng are drawn to methods of applying fatty alcohols to treat rust diseases in maize. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious combine the teachings of Lewis and Peng use dodecanol, and emulsifier, thickener and water to improve plant health with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to dodecanol on corn because Lewis teach C12 monohydric alcohols are used to control disease and Peng specifies using formulations comprising dodecanol, emulsifier, thickener and water in formulations which control rust diseases in maize.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that Peng teaches enhancing photosynthesis of plant but inhibiting further spread of pathogenic bacterial whereas the present preparation is used to increase transcription levels of genes associated with a synthesis pathway of jasmonic acid. Applicant further argues that Lewis teaches the aliphatic alcohol can only be used for fungicidal purposes whereas the present invention can increase resistance of the corn plants to insect pests. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument because Peng and Lewis teach applying dodecanol to corn plants. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition or a scientific explanation for the prior arts functioning does not render the old composition patentable new to the discoverer. Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Applicant further argues Peng and Lewis do not disclose the higher fatty alcohol is one of dodecanol and cetyl alcohol or a mixture of dodecanol and cetyl alcohol because Peng and Lewis do not disclose cetyl alcohol. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument because dodecanol is taught by both Peng and Lewis. The claims requires “one of dodecanol and cetyl alcohol” which only requires one to be present. Since both Peng and Lewis teach dodecanol the limitations of the claim have been met.
Applicant argues Peng teaches a preparation that comprises a co-emulsifiers and is different from the present inventions. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument because the comprising language of the claim allows for the inclusion of other ingredients. Applicant further argues Lewis only includes two substances, water and alcohol and does not include an emulsifier or a thickener. Therefore, Applicant argues that the claimed compositions are different from those of the prior art. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument because Lewis teach that water is the preferred liquid carrier along with surfactants selected from polyoxyethylene sorbitan esters (column 3, lines 25-60). Examples 10-18 include polyoxyethylene sorbitan monooleate (Tween 80) and polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate (Tween 20) (column 5, line 53 through column 6, line 63). Furthermore, Peng discloses a method of preventing and controlling rust disease with 300 parts dodecanol, 8 parts emulsifier, 40 parts thickener and 800 parts water and spraying the formulation on maize (corn). (Example 1). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated formulate a compositions comprising dodecanol, water, emulsifiers and thickeners and apply the formulation of corn plants with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 3,778,509; patented December 11, 1973) in view of Peng (CN109874579; published June 14, 2019) as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15 in view of Newman (US 2006/0008495; published January 12, 2006).
Applicant claims a method for increasing resistance of corn plants to insects comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 1).
Applicant claims a method for reducing erosion of pests and diseases in corn plants comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 4).
Applicant claims a method for increasing yield of corn plants comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 7).
Applicant claims a method for improving drought resistance of corn plants comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 10).
Applicant claims a method for improving rust disease resistance of corn plants comprising applying a preparation comprising a higher fatty alcohol selected from dodecanol, cetyl alcohol or a mixture to corn plants (claim 10).
The teachings of Lewis and Peng are addressed in the above 103 rejection.
Lewis and Peng do not teach the thickener is methyl cellulose. It is for this reason that Newman is joined.
Newman methods of controlling insects comprising blending water, ester of fatty acid of 10-25 carbon atoms and a low molecular weight alcohol, an emulsifying agent and a thickener (abstract). The emulsifier is selected from polyoxyethylene sorbitan esters and the thickener which exhibit non-Newtonian behavior of high viscosity in aqueous media and low viscosity when subjected to high shear forces such as in the spray application is selected from methylcellulose [0013].
Lewis, Peng and Newman are all drawn to the preparations of alcohol/water based formulations with emulsifiers. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious combined the teachings of Lewis, Peng and Newman to include methylcellulose as a thickener with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lewis, Peng and Newman to include methylcellulose as a thickener because Newman teaches that it exhibits low viscosity when applied by spraying.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1617