Claims 1-15 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to the “use” of a higher fatty alcohol and does not claim a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10 and 13 recites the use of fatty alcohols without setting form any steps involved in the process. Therefore, it is unclear if the claims are drawn to a process or a composition. Furthermore, the scope of the term “higher fatty alcohol” is unclear. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of what “higher fatty alcohol” encompasses and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention because the only alcohols disclosed in the specification are dodecanol and cetyl alcohol. Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected for depending on rejected base claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: how the higher fatty alcohol is used to effect corn plants to prevent insect pests, reduce erosion, increase yield, drought resistance or rust disease resistance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/657,700 (herein ‘700). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to the use of higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for transcription levels of genes associated with cutin and wax in corn plants whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of higher aliphatic alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for increasing content of compounds in legumes. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the teachings of ‘700 to include use of the same alcohols in corn plants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/657,707 (herein ‘707). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to the use of higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for transcription levels of genes associated with cutin and wax in corn plants whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of higher aliphatic alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for increasing content of compounds in solanaceae plants. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the teachings of ‘707 to include use of the same alcohols in corn plants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/657,711 (herein ‘711). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to the use of higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for transcription levels of genes associated with cutin and wax in corn plants whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for increasing transcription levels in cruciferous plants. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the teachings of ‘711 to include use of the same alcohols in corn plants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/657,713 (herein ‘713). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to the use of higher fatty alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for transcription levels of genes associated with cutin and wax in corn plants whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of higher aliphatic alcohol preferably selected from dodecanol and cetyl alcohol for increasing content of compounds in rice or wheat. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to utilize the teachings of ‘700 to include use of the same alcohols in corn plants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng (CN109874579; published June 14, 2019).
Applicant claims the use of a higher fatty alcohols in preparing a preparation, preferably wherein the preparation comprises the higher fatty alcohol, an emulsifier, a thickener and water.
Example 1 discloses a method of preventing and controlling rust disease with 300 parts dodecanol, 8 parts emulsifier, 40 parts thickener and 800 parts water and spraying the formulation on maize (corn). (Example 1)
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lewis (US 3,778,509; patented December 11, 1973).
Applicant claims the use of a higher fatty alcohols in preparing a preparation (claims 1, 4, 7, 10 and 13).
Lewis disclose monohydric alcohols containing 4-12 carbon atoms that are effective in the control of microorganisms which cause disease of plants (abstract). Examples 1-15 show formulations comprising alcohols including 1-hexanol, 1-octanol and 1-decanol with water and surfactants exhibit inhibitory effects on Helminthosporum maydis which causes southern blight in corn (Table 1; column 5, lines 18-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 8, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 3,778,509; patented December 11, 1973).
Applicant claims the use of a higher fatty alcohols in preparing a preparation (claims 1, 4, 7, 10 and 13).
Lewis disclose monohydric alcohols containing 4-12 carbon atoms that are effective in the control of microorganisms which cause disease of plants (abstract). Treating boll rot and other diseases of plants such as cotton and corn with monohydric alcohols with 4-12 carbon atoms is taught which encompasses dodecanol (lauryl alcohol) (column 2, lines 5-30). Exemplary alcohols include 1-hexanol, 1-heptano, 1-octanol, 1-nonanol and 1-decanol (column 2, lines 34-53). Treating cotton is exemplified however Lewis also teaches methods of treating cotton disease are also effective in treating corn diseases such as southern leaf blight disease by controlling the microorganism Helminthosporum maydis (column 3, lines 14-24). Water is the preferred liquid carrier along with surfactants selected from polyoxyethylene sorbitan esters, polyoxyethylene alcohols, alkylarylpolyether alcohols, phthalic glycerol alkyl resins, ethoxylated imidazoline, decanoic acid, diglycol oleate, polyether sulfonates, and alkylaryl sulfonates and mixtures thereof and are preferably formulated emulsions (column 3, lines 25-60).
Lewis do not specify dodecanol or cetyl alcohol (a C16 alcohol), however C12 fatty alcohol are taught which encompasses dodecanol. However, MPEP 2144.09 states that compounds that are homologs, compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g. by -CH2- groups, are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ (CCPA 1977).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious combine the teachings of Lewis and use dodecanol or cetyl alcohol with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to use higher fatty alcohols on corn because Lewis teach C12 monohydric alcohols are used to control rot disease in corn which encompasses dodecanol.
Claim(s) 3, 6, 9, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 3,778,509; patented December 11, 1973) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13 and 14 in view of White (US 5,288,486; patented February 22, 1994).
Applicant claims the use of a higher fatty alcohols in preparing a preparation.
The teachings of Lewis are addressed in the above 103 rejection.
Lewis does not teach a thickener. It is for this reason that White is joined.
White teach that alcohol evaporation rate of alcohol-based formulations can be reduced by the addition of alcohol-soluble viscosity agents (abstract). Adding the viscosity agents thicken the alcohol/water compositions and retard the rate of evaporation and the agents are preferably selected from hydroxypropylcellulose polymers, polyvinyl pyrrolidones and polymeric quaternary ammonium salts of hydroxyethyl cellulose reacted with a trimethyl ammonium substituted epoxide (column 1, lines 30-65).
Both Lewis and White are drawn to the preparations of alcohol/water based formulations. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious combined the teachings of Lewis and White to include thickeners with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lewis and White to include thickeners because White teaches adding viscosity agents that thicken the formulations retards the rate at which alcohol evaporates from the formulations.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 have been rejected.
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1617
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611