DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fixing portion” in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanokura et al (JPS6247345-A; with English machine translation) (hereinafter “Tanokura”).
Regarding claim 1, Tanokura discloses a plunger that is inserted into a syringe and moves a solution while reciprocating (FIG. 1: gasket (4)), comprising a porous sintered polymer filter layer configured to swell upon contact with a solution to block movements of the solution and air (see FIG. 1: filter (9); pages 3-4, 8-9, 16 and 19 of the translation document).
Regarding claim 2, Tanokura further discloses wherein, when the polymer filter layer comes into contact with the solution in the syringe, the plunger pushes the solution to an outlet of the syringe as the plunger moves (page 5).
Regarding claim 3, Tanokura further discloses wherein the polymer filter layer is located on a passage that passes vertically through an inside of the plunger (FIG. 1: filter (9) arranged within communication hole (43); page 11).
Regarding claim 4, Tanokura further discloses wherein the polymer includes polyethylene oxide (page 9).
Regarding claim 8, Tanokura discloses a solution-moving module comprising: the plunger according to claim 1 (see claim 1); and a syringe into which the plunger is inserted (FIG. 1: container (1)).
Regarding claim 9, Tanokura further discloses a pushing portion configured to come into contact with at least one portion of the plunger to move the plunger (FIG. 1: plunger (3) configured to come into container with un upper portion of the gasket (4); page 5), wherein the pushing portion extends in a direction perpendicular to an end portion of the plunger (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Tanokura further discloses wherein the plunger includes a packing member in contact with an inner wall of the syringe (FIG. 1: outer projections of the gasket (4) in contact with inner wall surface of container (1)).
Therefore, Tanokura meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claims 1-4, 8-9 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lum et al (already of record, US 10,898,650; hereinafter “Lum”) in view of Cho et al (WO 2022-098065-A1; with English machine translation) (hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding claim 1, Lum discloses a plunger that is inserted into a syringe and moves a solution while reciprocating (FIGS. 2 and 3: stopper (160)), comprising a porous polymer filter layer configured to swell upon contact with a solution to block movements of the solution and air (FIGS. 2 and 3: stopper (160) includes a porous portion (190) including swellable polymer configured to swell upon contact with liquids thereby closing openings or holes of the swellable polymer; air container within a syringe barrel is permitted to scape through the holes prior to contact between the swellable polymer and liquid; col. 14, ll. 22-39 and 54-67). Lum does not explicitly disclose wherein the porous polymer filter layer is a porous sintered polymer filter layer. Cho discloses porous sintered polymer filter layer for blocking movement of fluid through an opening ([0101] of the machine translation document). In view of Cho, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the filter layer of Lum with the material as disclosed by Cho because said modification would have been the substitution of one type of swellable porous filter for another for the predictable result of blocking fluid flow. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lum discloses wherein, when the polymer filter layer comes into contact with the solution in the syringe, the plunger pushes the solution to an outlet of the syringe as the plunger moves (Lum, col. 18, line 63 to col. 19, line 2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lum discloses wherein the polymer filter layer is located on a passage that passes vertically through an inside of the plunger (FIGS. 2-3; col. 18, ll. 4-16).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lum discloses wherein the polymer includes propylene glycol alginate (Cho at [0106]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lum discloses wherein the polymer is a bead with a diameter of 10 μm to 800 μm (Lum at [0093]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lum discloses wherein a porous barrier filter layer in contact with one surface or the other surface of at least one layer of the polymer filter layer (porous portion includes multilayer filter; see Lum at col. 14, line 50 to col. 14, line 34; col. 14, ll. 54-67).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lum discloses wherein the porous barrier filter layer but does not explicitly disclose wherein the barrier filter layer includes polyethylene. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the porous barrier filter layer of modified Lum with polyethylene material because said modification would have been the substitution of one known material for another for the predictable constructing a filter. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lum discloses a solution-moving module comprising: Lum discloses a plunger that is inserted into a syringe and moves a solution while reciprocating (FIGS. 2-3, 8, 28, 29A-29B and 30: stopper (160, 390)), comprising a porous polymer filter layer configured to swell upon contact with a solution to block movements of the solution and air (FIGS. 2-3, 8, 28, 29A-29B and 30: stopper (160, 360) includes a porous portion (190,390) including swellable polymer configured to swell upon contact with liquids thereby closing openings or holes of the swellable polymer; air container within a syringe barrel is permitted to escape through the holes prior to contact between the swellable polymer and liquid; col. 14, ll. 22-39 and 54-67). Lum does not explicitly disclose wherein the porous polymer filter layer is a porous sintered polymer filter layer. Cho discloses porous sintered polymer filter layer for blocking movement of fluid through an opening ([0101] of the machine translation document). In view of Cho, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the filter layer of Lum with the material as disclosed by Cho because said modification would have been the substitution of one type of swellable porous filter for another for the predictable result of blocking fluid flow. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07); and a syringe into which the plunger is inserted (FIGS. 2-3, 8, 28, 29A-29B and 30: stopper (160, 390): syringe (110,310) containing stopper (160, 390)).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lum further discloses a pushing portion configured to come into contact with at least one portion of the plunger to move the plunger, wherein the pushing portion extends in a direction perpendicular to an end portion of the plunger (see FIGS. 8 and 29A-29B: a portion of the stopper (160,390) is in contact with a portion of plunger rod (140, 340)).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lum further discloses wherein the pushing portion includes a protrusion configured to come into contact with at least a part of a surface of the plunger at a lower portion thereof, and includes a passage through which air passes at a side portion thereof. (see FIG. 29A-29B and 30: plunger (340) includes a protrusion (341) in contact with a portion of stopper (390) and includes an opening; see Lum at col. 31, ll. 36-53).
Regarding claim 12, modified Lum further discloses wherein the plunger includes a packing member in contact with an inner wall of the syringe (Lum at FIGS. 3A-3B: seal (170)).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanokura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shoji et al. (US 2005/0186607; hereinafter “Shoji”).
Regarding claim 5, Tanokura discloses a plunger according to claim 1. Tanokura does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer is a bead. However, Tanokura discloses wherein the polymer filter layer can be made of various materials (pages 4, 8-9). Shoji discloses a plunger that is inserted into a syringe and moves a solution while reciprocating (FIG. 1; [0042]), comprising a porous sintered filter layer (FIG. 1: filter (40); [0031]). Shoji further discloses the porous sintered filter layer includes beads ([0041]). In view of Shoji, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the materials of the polymer filter layer to comprise beads as disclosed by Shoji ([0041]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Tanokura discloses that the polymer filter layer can be made of various materials (pages 4, 8-9). Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). Tanokura does not explicitly disclose wherein the bead has a diameter of 10 μm to 800 μm. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diameter of the bead of modified Tanokura to comprise the claimed diameter in order to achieve desired filtration process. Furthermore, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-22 are allowed.
Claims 10 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799